HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Bruges hostels
See all Bruges hotels

Reviews of St Christopher's Inn-Bauhaus Budget Hotel

1 star Hotel | Langestraat 133-137, Bruges, Belgium 8000

84.6% Overall Rating

296 out of 370 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (06/06/2013)

"Big room, 5 min walk to the town centre, great value, friendly staff and incorporated bar which was great"

Read all St Christopher's Inn-Bauhaus Budget Hotel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Photocopying
  • Bicycle hire
  • Express check-in / out
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Bar(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 2.07

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Bruges?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Bruges

St Christopher's Inn-Bauhaus Hostel
23.50 USD

Hostel 83.9% 1286 reviews
Hotel Rosenburg
124.40 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Charlie Rockets
29.03 USD

Hostel 69.0% 210 reviews
Hotel Bryghia
58.05 USD

Hotel 3 star 80.0% 8 reviews
Jacobs Hotel
46.72 USD

Hotel 3 star 88.9% 44 reviews
Hotel Gasthof Groenhove
48.03 USD

Hotel 3 star 89.8% 25 reviews
Hotel Notre Dame
47.68 USD

Hotel 2 star 79.2% 178 reviews
De Castillion Hotel Bruges
124.40 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
84.6%

Overall Rating

296 out of 370 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'St Christopher's Inn-Bauhaus Budget Hotel'

Atmosphere
87.2%
Location
84.8%
Facilities
80.8%
Cleanliness
77.6%
Staff
92.8%
Value
83.2%
Safety
85.6%
Refine your results Showing 211 of 267 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9   Next
Reset filter
54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

02 November 2010

Liked: No Much

Disliked: Rooms smelled disgusting and no lock on shared toilet. The hotel looks like a house that was trashed after a party

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff, great beer, great bar. We had a GREAT time, met some fabulous people in the bar here. Its only about a 10 minute walk to the centre of Brugge, beautiful, clean and secure

Disliked: There was a lack of staff during the rush hour, but that was mainly in the resturant, I felt sorry for the poor girls running around

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

12 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The pub

Disliked: The toilet

The property's response is...

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free breakfast was delicious. Good spread of food choices.

Disliked: Location was ok. About a 10 minute walk to the middle of town. Had to pay ridiculous prices to use the computers. If wifi is free, they should be too. The bathrooms were a bit dirty, mouldy. Shower had a push button like in a caravan park. Expect a bit more in a hotel!! And no toilets in the room. Have to share 1 toilet with the rest of the floor, and there wasnt even a lock. Could be a nice budget hotel if they maintained it. We hired bikes too, which I recommmend. But they were falling apart too, so make sure you pick a good one.

The property's response is...

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 October 2010

Liked: Nothing to like about this place. The room was half finished with holes in the wall, unpainted walls and dirty. It was tired and old with a desperate need to finish fixing and updating it. Overall, a very uncomfortable experience. We put off going back to the room as it was so unpleasant. The only toilet on our floor had a door that didn't close properly but that didn't matter anyway as there was toilet paper stuffed in the door where the hole from the lock used to be. The tiles on the floor were all broken and it felt like I was going to fall through to the level below while on the toilet. The bathroom was so moldy and smelly and pretty much just needs to be demolished and re-done. Beds were horrific! Permanent sag in the middle and pillows are non existent. If I had a dog I wouldn't even let it sleep on it. Seriously - with the prices they charge its not too much to ask for a decent bed. Just because they called themselves a "Budget Hotel" does not mean we have to stay in squalor. I wonder if the owners have actually spent a night here or if they even would. I would say - no.

Disliked: Nothing to like about this place. The room was half finished with holes in the wall, unpainted walls and dirty. It was tired and old with a desperate need to finish fixing and updating it. Overall, a very uncomfortable experience. We put off going back to the room as it was so unpleasant. The only toilet on our floor had a door that didn't close properly but that didn't matter anyway as there was toilet paper stuffed in the door where the hole from the lock used to be. The tiles on the floor were all broken and it felt like I was going to fall through to the level below while on the toilet. The bathroom was so moldy and smelly and pretty much just needs to be demolished and re-done. Beds were horrific! Permanent sag in the middle and pillows are non existent. If I had a dog I wouldn't even let it sleep on it. Seriously - with the prices they charge its not too much to ask for a decent bed. Just because they called themselves a "Budget Hotel" does not mean we have to stay in squalor. I wonder if the owners have actually spent a night here or if they even would. I would say - no.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

29 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Stuff, was friendly and helpful

Disliked: Location - really we didn't expect that it is located in very eastern part. Brugge is very big, really. Breakfast was very simple, but ok.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice location, free breakfast

Disliked: dirty shower, bad smell in the room

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

16 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it was funny but the property was not so clean

Disliked: the property was not so clean

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Eric Clegg

With a large group / tour

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

14 September 2010 Eric would recommend this property

Liked: Basic useable property. Great to use as a base for looking around Brugge.

Disliked: Not the cleanest place, very tired but you have to take it in relation to the cost of the stay.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

07 September 2010

Liked: Staff were very helpful and friendly. Also loved the chillout area.

Disliked: The room smelled of manking old digestive biscuits. And there was no lock on the toilet door. The rooms of the hostel looked much nicer and cleaner to those of the building next door where we stayed.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

05 September 2010

Liked: The hostel wasnt very far from the center of bruges, The rent bikes and have free wireless.

Disliked: It was noisy, the showers were pretty dirty and u couldnt choose the temperature of water, it was too warm. The toilets were also dirty and there were only 2 of them. The walls of the room were like papers u could hear everything of the next room althought they were just speaking low.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 100%

Jan Ocman

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

01 September 2010 Jan would recommend this property

Liked: Nice pub in Hotel, nice place.

Disliked: The hotel room smells very bad.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

01 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere, great tours of the city, very fun place to stay.

Disliked: The showers are too hot and hard to use.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Resat Bako

With friends / other travellers

23 August 2010 Resat would recommend this property

Liked: It was designed for young people

Disliked: nothing

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

12 August 2010

Liked: Not much, some features were average but this is the worst hostel i have ever stayed in.

Disliked: Rude and Unhelpful Staff.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

24 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: pub and restaurant was good, internet facilities were great and staff were really nice and helpful.

Disliked: toilets were small, or had cracked floors

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Juan Jimenez

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

22 July 2010 Juan would recommend this property

Liked: What we liked the most was the "value fir money". The hotel fitted our budget and we received what we expected from.

Disliked: Well.. Srongly... The humidity and smelly air of the room; how the shower got stock; and SPECIALLY it was only possible to take showers with boiling water out of the wall!!!! Terrible, not even warm but hooooot.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

22 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: near the old town centre, friendly staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Adam Watson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 July 2010 Adam would recommend this property

Liked: Great Location, private triple room was a good size and very confortable. Good bar downstairs and close to everything in Bruges

Disliked: The bathroom was very small (in a cupboard and not good if u over 6ft but we managed)

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Calum Darroch

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

03 July 2010 Calum would recommend this property

Liked: One of the best things about the hostel was the bar at Restaurant, which is called "Sacre Coeur". We ate an evening meal there that was delicious and very reasonably priced, and although the service was a bit slow/disorganised we had a great evening. The style and interior decor of the bar was very interesting and welcoming too, and it was a great place to unwind.Your stay at the Hostel also includes a number of perks that will be of great use to backpackers and people trying to get by on a strict budget, such as discount cards that work all over Bruges (this includes restaurants, public transport, museums, bike hire... anything you can imagine really!) and a great deal of insider info about the town. There are lots of interesting places in their info packs that you simply wouldn't discover otherwise, making it worth the cost of a stay alone!Overall, I was very satisfied with Bauhaus. The staff were generally very helpful, the bar/restaurant were great, and the beds were comfy. The rooms weren't great but at the price you pay, very reasonable, so I would say it's definitely worth the money!

Disliked: I only had a few problems staying at Bauhaus. The first was that the shower was almost unusable. The water was incredibly hot and there was no way of changing the temperature (it was just a "push button to get water" kind of shower, like at a swimming pool), so the first time I used it I near burned my back! I ended up using the sink to wash myself instead. Another potential problem is that the area can get quite noisey at night as there are a lot of youths about (it is a hostel, after all!). This is fine if, like me, you can sleep through most things, but on a hot night when you have to leave your windows open it could be a problem for some people. There were a few other problems to do with maintenance, such as the tiled floor in the toilet being broken, but overall I'd say there were very few problems. Considering how much a night there costs and the other benefits of staying, these problems are no-way near deal-breakers, so I would still advise people to go for it and see what they think!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Monica Morales

13 June 2010 Monica would recommend this property

Liked: the private rooms are very good!

Disliked: Monica left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

07 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good service for a good price

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

01 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Included Breakfast

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Silva Yousefian

30 May 2010 Silva would recommend this property

Liked: Our 3 person room was pretty spacious, but the bathroom was tiny and smelled. The breakfast was ok. The staff was very nice and the location was about 10-15 minutes walking from the center. In the end it was pretty good for what we paid.

Disliked: Silva left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

25 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: excellent location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all Bruges hostels
See all Bruges hotels