HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Bruges hostels
See all Bruges hotels

Reviews of Hotel Notre Dame

2 star Hotel | Mariastraat 3, Bruges, Belgium 8000

79.2% Overall Rating

157 out of 178 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (31/12/2012)

stephen sparshott thinks…

"Great value, superb location, friendly and helpful staff, fun to be woken up by church bells and horses hooves."

Read all Hotel Notre Dame reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Bruges?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Bruges

Hotel Het Gheestelic Hof
75.92 USD

Hotel 3 star 86.7% 3 reviews
De Castillion Hotel Bruges
124.24 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Hotel De Goezeput
55.22 USD

Hotel 2 star 81.9% 3 reviews
BRUGES INN CENTER
34.51 USD

Hostel 66.7% 31 reviews
Lybeers Travellers' Hostel
27.61 USD

Hostel 85.9% 796 reviews
Hostel and Gran Kaffee De Passage
34.51 USD

Hostel 77.6% 898 reviews
Hotel Flats Leopold
52.46 USD

Hotel 2 star 91.0% 258 reviews
Charlie Rockets
28.99 USD

Hostel 69.0% 210 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
79.2%

Overall Rating

157 out of 178 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hotel Notre Dame'

Atmosphere
77.6%
Location
96.0%
Facilities
67.2%
Cleanliness
68.0%
Staff
88.8%
Value
76.8%
Safety
80.0%
Refine your results Showing 116 of 146 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

07 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location,very friendly helpful staff

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

stephen sparshott

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

31 December 2012 stephen would recommend this property

Liked: Great value, superb location, friendly and helpful staff, fun to be woken up by church bells and horses hooves.

Disliked: Nothing, ideal base for city Centre tour.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Lee Thompson

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 November 2012 Lee would recommend this property

Liked: Although the hotel was full (there's olny about 10 rooms spread over 3 floors) the hotel was very quiet. Bedding fresh on then gentleman on the reception desk was very helpful. Location is superb - a varierty of restaurants just a few steps left outside the hotel. The hotel is situated 2min walk to either of the main squares. I went 4 of my male friends and would stay somewhere more fancy if I went back to this beautiful city with my girlfriend. But this hotel does the job... free Wifi too which was a bonus.

Disliked: Although the bed sheets were fresh on and the bath room was clean around the lower walls did not look clean at all. There are no rooms on the bottom floors and the spiral stair case was a killer get up them - especially 2 flights after a few strong beers (I'm 28 and do regular sports, so older people will struggle). The hotel looks very dated, although it may be in the process of being updated as one of the three rooms we had was freshly decorated and a new bed was being installed as we arrived.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

08 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: staff are lovely and very helpfull.

Disliked: good do with abit of new wallpaper etc abit on tired side

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

28 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very friendly and they were able to help with all the questions we had about the local area. Location was excellent.

Disliked: We were unable to use our plug adaptor in our room but this may have been down to our plug adaptor. Also a kettle in the room would have be appreciated.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

25 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owner was incredibly helpful and takes a lot of pride in what he does. The location was great, food was good. I intend to stay here again should I ever return to Brugge.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hazel Navarro

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 August 2012 Hazel would recommend this property

Liked: the location is amazing

Disliked: The rooms are very small, and the toillet as well

57.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

07 July 2012

Liked: Location

Disliked: Cleaness

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

05 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the location, it was very near the centrer of Bruges. It was also a very quaint hotel, and had a computer available for use.

Disliked: I did not like the breakfast, it was just bread and jams and a hard boiled egg.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

19 June 2012

Liked: Location only.

Disliked: Cleanliness (it was disgusting). Breakfast was very poor (one bolied egg and a bread basket only)

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Matthew Fenwick

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

11 April 2012

Liked: The location is very convenient. Just a few minutes walk from Markt, so you can make the most of your day. Nice and quiet.

Disliked: Everything smells of smoke, including in the bedrooms. Basic bathroom features like a toilet roll holder or something to attach the shower nozzle to aren't there. It's advertised as free breakfast but that's just bread, jam and a boiled egg.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

28 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast was good and the dining area had a very nice ambience. Our room overlooked the street - normally we would have been worried about traffic noise, but all we got was a periodic horse and carriage. Altogether a very relaxing stay.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

03 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was perfect. It was clean and the breakfast and staff were very good. I love old hotels with atmosphere and this one was charming. Good value for money.

Disliked: Nothing really except the staircase - difficult with a case but then many old hotels have these staircases and no lift. It is part of their charm

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Min Heo

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

02 January 2012 Min would recommend this property

Liked: It is such a beautiful hotel with a good location, and most of all, the staff is very pleasant and friendly !

Disliked: The room was very dirty, old, and cold ...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

31 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Brilliant location, friendly staff, excellent breakfast, warm comfortable, large room. Stones throw from the centre of Bruges.

Disliked: Only thing I can think of is that the beds were rather soft (but that might just be a personal thing) don't let it put you off this lovely hotel!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Family Holiday
Shopping
Visiting friends or family

16 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hotel Notre Dame was in an ideal location for the Christmas markets and the main squares, and only about a ten minute walk from the train station using the directions provided by the hotel on this website. In terms of value for money, to get our own room and ensuite it was good value. It wouldn't have been that much cheaper to share a room in one of the hostels in Bruges (with separate bathrooms) and none of those I looked at could give us such a good location. Breakfast included was basic but good - hardboiled eggs really are HARD. Generally we found it to be a comfortable Bed & Breakfast for the weekend.

Disliked: There was an issue with the front door. It was shut at night and you are provided with a key so you may enter at any time you please, but its too large for its frame (probably due to expanding in the cold weather). The first night my sister and I struggled but eventually managed to get in, our second night we entered without a problem but after we settled in for the night we heard a banging noise. My sister went to the window (we were on the top floor) to see a couple of the girls outside, she went down to let them in only to find the owner herself had been outside for two hours in the cold trying to get in - and then the police turned up! Quite funny, but something to bear in mind.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

09 December 2011

Liked: Great location, close to most places I wanted to see in Brugge.

Disliked: My room smelt really bad and it was difficult to get to my room.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 December 2011

Liked: Friendly staff

Disliked: Very narrow staircase, the state of the room-carpet not clean, skirtings in bad condition, cracks on walls - heating being switched off prior to arrival, radiators not bled-causing the room not being heated properly

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Joana Cunha

With friends / other travellers

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

01 November 2011 Joana would recommend this property

Liked: Muito bem localizado e pequeno almoço bom

Disliked: nada

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

07 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location is great, downatairs was full of character, breakfast good

Disliked: very drab room

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway

31 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, price and tranquillity. It's a cozy place to stay.

Disliked: Little interaction with staff.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stian Skagen Eriksen

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

16 July 2011 Stian Skagen would recommend this property

Liked: Very cosy, the staff were nice and relaxed. A lot of atmosphere. Tasty breakfast that was included in the rent.

Disliked: No aircondition or fan in our room, and had to keep windows closed due to mosquitos that bit us a lot the first night. This was maybe bad luck due to weather conditions though.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: everything.great location, friendly staff, great breakfast!!!

Disliked: nothing at all.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kristýna Tucková

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

14 June 2011 Kristýna would recommend this property

Liked: The location was really great and breakfasts were tasty.

Disliked: I can't say dislike, but the rooms were really small and bathroom too. But its okay if you want just to sleep there.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

04 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: fresh orange juice at breakfast, helpful (male) staff at reception

Disliked: having shower and toilet in the room, if you haven't seen that before is a little weird breakfast is not a buffet and the woman only offers you 1 glass of juice and 1 egg, so ask for more if you want it


See all Bruges hostels
See all Bruges hotels