HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Vienna hostels
See all Vienna hotels

Reviews of Birg-Cyrus

2 star Hotel | Laxenburgerstrasse 14, Vienna, Austria 1100

81.0% Overall Rating

168 out of 210 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (30/08/2014)

Hakan KIZMAZ thinks…

"As a matter of fact, excellent!.. There was no problem about my accomodation. I was in Vienna for a scientific symposium about maths sciences. The symposium was at Vienna Technical University so it…"

Read all Birg-Cyrus reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Express check-in / out
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 53.13
  • Breakfast USD 3.80

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

“When booking more than 3 rooms, different policies and additional supplements may apply by the hotel, these terms and conditions will provide by the hotel after receiving the reservation”

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Vienna?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Vienna

MEININGER Vienna Central Station
15.18 USD

Hostel 88.6% 1037 reviews
Vienna City Hostel
19.92 USD

Hostel 81.1% 471 reviews
A&O Wien Hauptbahnhof
18.12 USD

Hostel 80.0% 103 reviews
Hostel 4
24.04 USD

Hostel 83.8% 49 reviews
A&T Holiday Hostel
21.51 USD

Hostel 83.4% 90 reviews
AllYouNeed Hotel Vienna4***
632.51 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hotel Carlton Opera
44.28 USD

Hotel 3 star 84.0% 31 reviews
Wombats City Hostel at The Naschmarkt
20.24 USD

Hostel 94.4% 625 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
81.0%

Overall Rating

168 out of 210 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Birg-Cyrus'

Atmosphere
68.0%
Location
84.0%
Facilities
76.0%
Cleanliness
76.0%
Staff
87.2%
Value
88.0%
Safety
88.0%
Refine your results Showing 135 of 149 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hakan KIZMAZ

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

30 August 2014 Hakan would recommend this property

Liked: As a matter of fact, excellent!.. There was no problem about my accomodation. I was in Vienna for a scientific symposium about maths sciences. The symposium was at Vienna Technical University so it was close to reach from the Birg-Cyrus hostel. I had everything that i needed in Birg-Cyrus..

Disliked: Nothing.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Dana Atkinson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

25 July 2014 Dana would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean large room, close to hbf station and local shopping district (and metro)

Disliked: Dana left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was very good - close the Vienna HBF and easy to navigate your way around the city via U1, which is a quick walk from the hostel. Staff were friendly enough and the breakfast offered was worth €3.

Disliked: Place could do with a good clean. Bedding was clean but the floors were a bit grungy as where the curtains and shower.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

03 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing value for money. A spacious accommodation with comfortable beds (not bunks). Clean linen daily. Plenty of hot water. Located near a UBahn station so very easy to get into the centre of Vienna.

Disliked: Our rooms was absolutely fine but as non smokers it was obvious that there is smoking elsewhere in the property. This isn't really a criticism of Birg Cyrus because we found that smoking is much more common in Vienna than in England and than we expected. It might be something you wish to think about.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

03 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: what you need, clean

Disliked: needs to be renewed

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Tamás Denke

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals

02 January 2013 Tamás would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly receptionist, helpful staff, kind of close to the city center. Breakfast is great, get it... for 3 eur it's more, then perfect!

Disliked: Tamás left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

02 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean! We had a double room with a private bathroom so I can't speak about the shared rooms. The hotel is really close to the metro stop – which was a few stops from Vienna's center and just one stop from where we had to catch our bus to Bratislava the next day. The breakfast buffet was a good deal: ham, cheese, breads with jam and nutella, coffee, and juice for 3 euro... it was perfect for lazy hungry people like us. They said the internet wouldn't work in our room, but it did... maybe because we were situated more or less over the common space. Reception was nice.

Disliked: It's very bland looking but fine for the price. We got some groceries from the basement market of the mall nearby as we were eating on a budget so that was great for us but there isn't really much to do near the hotel, just outlet shops and some little random food places but you have to take metro to see anything nice.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: No common room, just our private room. Good for when you visit Vienna with your own friends. Location is allright, could be better, but there is a lot of public transport nearby. Very reasonable price for such an expensive city.

Disliked: Nothing

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

16 August 2012

Liked: The location was ok and as soon as works are finished on the now under construction Sued Bahnhof it will be even better.

Disliked: * The room was ok. * Adequate beds and toilet, although everything was a bit old and the last renovation was some time ago. * We could have gone by without the tv for somewhat better bathroom and toilet perhaps. * Also it was a bit noisy due to the heavy traffic on the nearby street and the windows didn't really do much in the way of dampening the noise.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrew Moss

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 August 2012 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: Pretty much a cheap but pretty good hotel - not like a hostel. Staff very friendly and helpful - lots of bag storage space for after checkout Cable TV with Euro sport Shower excellent Beds very comfortable Very large room for a double - had two spare beds! Breakfast decent and quite cheap Wifi works well and did actually work in our room

Disliked: Directions weren't great and the U1 is currently out of service. We would recommend getting the S-Bahn from Meidling to Sudbahnhof (2 stops) at which point you are in walking distance (or 1 tram stop)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

22 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and calm

Disliked: Everithing was excellent

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Vedrana Mukavec

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

19 March 2012 Vedrana would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and helpful guy on front desk, big clean rooms, really close to tube.

Disliked: Nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

21 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, room

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

12 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the friendlyness of the staff and the cleanliness of the hotel

Disliked: nothing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

robert gargon

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 August 2011 robert would recommend this property

Liked: very nice ensuite rooms, one of the best sleeps i had on my travels. using the trains makes everything accessible in minutes

Disliked: no wifi in room

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Kitti Molnár

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

27 July 2011

Liked: The hotel's location is very good, the main attractions reachable in few minutes. It was our main criteria, because we went to the hotel only to sleep.

Disliked: 1. First, they don't find our reservation, but later we got our room, so it was not a big deal. 2. beds are creaks .

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

18 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location

Disliked: Noisy street nearby

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to the train station, and very clean rooms, staff friendly too.

Disliked: Rooms were basic but very clean

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It has a really good location, close to the metro

Disliked: nothing to dislike

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

30 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it has exellent conection to subway,only 2 minutes of walk, so you are in 10 minutes in the center of Vienna. The staff is friendly.

Disliked: the choice for breakfast was always the same during our 5 day stay. They could have made it more diverse, and some fresh fruit would be nice..

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

kristin cochrane

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

25 June 2011 kristin would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were beautiful people, very helpful and very thoughtful

Disliked: nothing bad to say all good

37.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

27 April 2011

Liked: None

Disliked: Not clean. Mattress was bad. Pillow was bad. Furnishing in bedroom was bad.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

07 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly receptionist/owner. Clean and essentially a hotel! Great!

Disliked: Nothing.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

06 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cleanliness and location.

Disliked: Wi-fi didn't work as good as I hoped.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Janez Vonca

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

04 January 2011

Liked: Cheap

Disliked: Location


See all Vienna hostels
See all Vienna hotels