HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels

Reviews of Springfield Lodge

3.5 star Hotel | 9 Springfield Avenue, Potts Point, Kings Cross Sydney, Australia 2011

81.1% Overall Rating

23 out of 24 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (02/11/2012)

Tracy Watts thinks…

"Its a fab building and its really nice and spacious. I booked a private single room and was really happy when i arrived to find a double bed instead of a small single!!!!! Big kitchen area and…"

Read all Springfield Lodge reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

The remaining balance of your booking will be charged to the credit card number provided on your original booking 7 days prior to the arrival date of your booking. If the credit card declines, we will contact you via the email address you provided on your original booking. From the email being sent, you will have 48 hours to provide a credit card that can be successfully charged. If no valid credit card is provided within the 48 hours, or if the new card provided declines, the booking will be cancelled with no further notice. On arrival at the hotel, you will be required to produce photo identification and the credit card used to make the original booking. The name of on the credit card must be the same as the name on the identification in order to be able to check in successfully. 'Customers can cancel their reservation free of charge up to 2 days before arrival (local time). Any cancellations that occur after this will incur a charge of the full amount of the booking. Payments made to agency are non-refundable.'

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Sydney

Funk House Backpackers
27.97 USD

Hostel 71.9% 321 reviews
Brado's Backpackers
18.64 USD

Hostel 62.2% 95 reviews
Backpackers HQ
24.24 USD

Hostel 85.7% 80 reviews
Hump Backpackers
21.44 USD

Hostel 81.8% 34 reviews
Sydney Central Backpackers
24.24 USD

Hostel 73.9% 165 reviews
The Original Backpackers Hostel
25.17 USD

Hostel 84.6% 716 reviews
Jolly Swagman Backpackers
33.56 USD

Hostel 77.7% 202 reviews
Zing! Backpackers
23.31 USD

Hostel 77.9% 111 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
81.1%

Overall Rating

23 out of 24 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Springfield Lodge'

Atmosphere
80.0%
Location
81.7%
Facilities
75.0%
Cleanliness
84.2%
Staff
85.8%
Value
77.5%
Safety
83.3%
Refine your results Showing 19 of 23 reviews
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Meng Yuan

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

30 December 2013

Liked: good

Disliked: Meng left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tracy Watts

Alone

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

02 November 2012 Tracy would recommend this property

Liked: Its a fab building and its really nice and spacious. I booked a private single room and was really happy when i arrived to find a double bed instead of a small single!!!!! Big kitchen area and dining room and a luandry which was alot cheaper than anywhere else i've stayed. As well as a cafe / restaurant which is open daily. Lovelly building and it was really clean and tidy and really well presented. Really random i know but the room had loads of plug sockets so it was easy to charge my phones, camera etc

Disliked: My room was on the top floor and the lift only went to the floor below so i had to carry my luggage up a flight of stairs. In itself thats not a problem but the stairs are quite narrow and i did struggle to carry my case up. Couple of annoying niggly bits were (the point below did not affect my stay but just annoyed me) The walls in my room had odd patches of a lighter colour, It looked like thay were trying out a new colour. The T.V wasn't tuned in very well and the picture cut out a few times. T.V remote had no back so everytime i picked it up the batteries fell out and i had to search them out.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

08 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. Spacious room. The shower water was powerful and the hot water supply was stable. Like the style of the building and the lobby as well as the corridor looked very nice. Staff were helpful, especially the one fixing the toilet for us was professional. One night we came back to the room and found that they not only tidy up our room but also folded the pair of socks for us nicely!!

Disliked: The shower area was a bit small with a big corner there made us difficult to take the shower.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

08 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: own bathroom

Disliked: noisy at night

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

10 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean rooms

Disliked: The kingsize room was smaller than the queen room

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

11 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location.

Disliked: Incredibly loud. Was kept up all night from people outside and in the hotel

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: location

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: boutique atmosphere, with cosy feel

Disliked: room size appears over estimated in photos.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed here because it was cheap over the Christmas period. The room itself was very nice, there was a large double bed, Cable T.V, free WI-FI (which is a bonus and a rarity in Oz) , fridge and the bathroom was good too. It was located near to the tube station which was convenient

Disliked: The location was not great in Kings Cross as there are alot of strip bars around and so you can imagine the kind of people who hung around there. Because the kitchen as advertise at Springfield lodge wasn't a kitchen really - just a microwave, a hob, no pans and cockroaches crawling around - we had to eat our a lot which wasn't great as there are not many nice places to eat in the Kings Cross area.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

19 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: proximity to rail and bus transport; proximity to city and other work-related sites; terrific cafe/bar attached to front of property - good food, good service, reasonable prices

Disliked: Television systems need to be upgraded to digital service; unable to follow latest overseas news on ABC News 24 which was critical to follow events unfolding in Japan tsunami disaster where my family live.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Lorna MARJORY Blackburn

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

28 January 2011 Lorna MARJORY would recommend this property

Liked: Eay to get to good location

Disliked: Lack of sae facilities

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway

20 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the food. location. trains nearby

Disliked: size of rooms not accurately displayed on the web site.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Geoffrey Pemberton

10 April 2010 Geoffrey would recommend this property

Liked: see my previous review

Disliked: Geoffrey left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

06 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Actually it was more a hotel than a hostel. We liked the clean and pretty silent rooms.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Geoffrey Pemberton

04 April 2010 Geoffrey would recommend this property

Liked: This is a budget hostel and as I am not sure what oyhers would concider to be good or bad then my assesment may not be the best to rely on. The location is good although the picture is of the front the view is deceiving, as all I could seeout of my double room ensuit room was other rooms and pipe work.Yoou get what you pay for, this hostel has a tiered feel about it, the tiolet was designed for a dwarf and as I'm 6ft 4in that presented some adjustment but all in all it was friendly close to the city and airport, amoungst a lot of other hostels and backpackers accomadation so it was very busy with young folk. We had no problems and the staff were very helpful.If you are looking for luxuary then this is not the place for you. The room was big enough and had a fridge plates and cultlery ta and coffe making, there is also a kitchen and laundry, which I must say we didn'tuse so cannot comment on them, Our stay did not include breakfast but there were plenty of cheap places to eat around. One word of warning if you have a car there is no parking available at the Lodge. Public parking is available a short walk away but at a price. $30.00 a night discounted by the council if you get your parking ticket stamped by the hostel. We always felt safe and have no real complaints.I would recommend this to the budget concious traveler, we stayed 5 nights.

Disliked: Geoffrey left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kira Hazard

14 March 2010 Kira would recommend this property

Liked: Great proximity to everything sydney has to offer, very short walk from train station. Staff were extremely friendly. Rooms are very clean and spacious for a hostel. Will most definatly rebook next time we are in Sydney

Disliked: Kira left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

16 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Springfield Lodge is so close to main attractions in Sydney, especially the beautiful harbour. The rooms are so cheap but so well appointed and the staff can tell you exactly how to get to where you want to go in Sydney. A great place to stay in the middle of exciting Sydney!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Will Tietje

02 February 2010 Will would recommend this property

Liked: I stay here cause I was just arriving in Sydney from the states, and I was very jet lagged. It was a great place to stay to catch up to Sydney time. Quiet, clean, and alway helpful. I would recommend this place to anyone young or old.

Disliked: Will left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Peter MacKenzie

02 February 2010 Peter would recommend this property

Liked: It was nice and quiet so we could get rested after our 19 hour journey to Australia.

Disliked: Peter left no negative feedback.


See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels