HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels

Reviews of Challis Lodge

3 star Hotel | 21-23 Challis Avenue, Sydney, Australia 2011

68.9% Overall Rating

10 out of 17 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (29/05/2014)

"The staff was extremly kind and friendly. They renovate some parts of the house and renew one part after the other. That "cheaper part" where I was, will be renovated soon. Even during the renovation, there was not that…"

Read all Challis Lodge reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

The remaining balance of your booking will be charged to the credit card number provided on your original booking 7 days prior to the arrival date of your booking. If the credit card declines, we will contact you via the email address you provided on your original booking. From the email being sent, you will have 48 hours to provide a credit card that can be successfully charged. If no valid credit card is provided within the 48 hours, or if the new card provided declines, the booking will be cancelled with no further notice. On arrival at the hotel, you will be required to produce photo identification and the credit card used to make the original booking. The name of on the credit card must be the same as the name on the identification in order to be able to check in successfully. 'Customers can cancel their reservation free of charge up to 2 days before arrival (local time). Any cancellations that occur after this will incur a charge of the full amount of the booking. Payments made to agency are non-refundable.'

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Sydney

Macleay Lodge
27.89 USD

Guesthouse 78.5% 45 reviews
Blue Parrot Backpackers
31.61 USD

Hostel 90.7% 401 reviews
Jolly Swagman Backpackers
31.61 USD

Hostel 77.6% 203 reviews
Sydney Central Backpackers
18.59 USD

Hostel 73.6% 168 reviews
ChiliBlue Backpackers
11.16 USD

Hostel 73.3% 471 reviews
Kanga House
27.89 USD

Hostel 59.8% 100 reviews
Zing! Backpackers
21.38 USD

Hostel 78.7% 114 reviews
Highfield Hotel
31.14 USD

Hotel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
68.9%

Overall Rating

10 out of 17 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Challis Lodge'

Atmosphere
63.5%
Location
85.9%
Facilities
54.1%
Cleanliness
64.7%
Staff
72.9%
Value
67.1%
Safety
74.1%
Refine your results Showing 14 of 16 reviews
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

29 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was extremly kind and friendly. They renovate some parts of the house and renew one part after the other. That "cheaper part" where I was, will be renovated soon. Even during the renovation, there was not that much inconvenience, that you normally have in such cases. The rooms are clean, no bugs, no ants, no other animals, everything I needed and used was working fine.

Disliked: The little TV was very old, but I don't used it anyway. I guess after the renovation, it will be up to date.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nicholas O'Meara

With my spouse / partner

City break

15 December 2013 Nicholas would recommend this property

Liked: The character and location

Disliked: Nicholas left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

14 November 2013

Liked: Location..... That's probably it.

Disliked: Some of the staff were very rude (although some were quite pleasant, so I guess it's luck of the draw) and the rooms absolutely stank of mould and everything I took with me into my room now also sticks of rotten mould. For a similar price there are nicer and probably cleaner rooms around.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

24 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: its close to city

Disliked: the room were not in standart of the money, very cold, smelled of paint or old smell, not enough electricity sockers left in room.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

03 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Floor boards kicken bathroom

Disliked: Stairs

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

dennis sullivan

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 June 2013 dennis would recommend this property

Liked: value location

Disliked: bathroom

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

20 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and close to tourist attractions

Disliked: no wifi available

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

28 July 2012

Liked: if i have to say something good, then maybe location???

Disliked: Very rude and unfriendly staff!! Bad smell in the room. No privacy! you can hear what other people are doing in their rooms. Very insecure! The staff gave me a master key for the main entrance door and he said this key is as well as my room key! how does it work? I couldn't sleep at all!! I really shouldve taken into consideration to what other people commented about the lodge! Anyway that was my mistake! Ive taken my time to write all this for other people!!! "It was not worth it even it was the chapest!

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Matti Tornio

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

25 July 2012

Liked: - Decent location, short walk to Botanic Gardens and the city. Bit of a walk to public transport, though - Staff was pretty helpful

Disliked: - Rooms are pretty small - Lots of noise from upstairs, we were staying at the ground floor - Not really worth the extra price compared to a hostel

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Mary Notenboom Mollet

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

13 March 2012

Liked: can't remember

Disliked: the smell in the room,I had to take extra pills against my allergy

51.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

28 February 2012

Liked: The location was good and the buildung (appart from the room) looked nice.

Disliked: The TV was tiny and old, the shower and the toilet in poor conditions and the bathroom sink that tiny that you couldn’t even fill a glass of water inside it. We had a 50cm barred window with a view on a wall. Our sheets weren’t changed and neither towels were changed nor were beds made, what means that they don’t service the rooms at all, although there has been someone in our room. The staff is uncooperative und inflexible. We payed the full charge for the room, although they should have taken off the amount already payed at hostelbookers.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Sarah Harding

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 January 2012 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: It was the cheapest place with a double bed and in a nice area of the city. Bed and pillows really comfy! Nice to have kettle, TV etc. Basically an ok place. Good for chill out private time, not for partying :)

Disliked: Smells a bit stale and kinda old fogie decor. Had to press in the taps in room to make them work. Had to tune in TV - it had originally 3 channels - we got 7 after tuning.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway

31 October 2011

Liked: ok-ish location, basic but decent facilities

Disliked: Staff could have been nicer. Room sizes were disappointingly small.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Paul Shufflebotham

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Visiting friends or family

31 August 2011 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: location excellent, very nice area, 25mins easy walk through botanic gardens to Sydney Harbour. good facilities in room, fridge, kitchen sink, kettle and ensuite bathroom, building from outside is impressive, very quiet was never disturbed

Disliked: slightly run down, needed a good lick of paint in places, a bit of TLC required, but you get more than you pay for, broken window in bathroom, community kitchen not as appears in the picture!


See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels