HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels

Reviews of Central Railway Hotel & Apartments

3 star Hotel | 240 Chalmers Street, Sydney, Australia 2000

78.1% Overall Rating

32 out of 36 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (16/11/2013)

"I liked about pretty much everything because it looked perfectly clean. Plus the atmosphere was great and also loved how it was close to the central station!"

Read all Central Railway Hotel & Apartments reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Dry cleaning
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 13.03

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Bookings over the New Years eve period (28/12/2013 - 04/01/2014) are for a minimum of 7 nights. A non refundable 20% deposit will be debited from the card provided when making the booking. Bookings must be paid for in full by 25 November 2013. Bookings through this site will presume permission to debit your credit card for the remaining amount of your accommodation on this date. There are no refunds once payment has been made. All bookings arriving outside 27/12/2013 - 04/01/2014 will not be charged a deposit. Full payment will be processed using the card provided on the morning of arrival. Bookings cancelled within 72 hours of arrival will be charged the first nights’ accommodation. Bookings over the New Years eve period (28/12/2013 - 04/01/2014) are for a minimum of 7 nights. A non refundable 20% deposit will be debited from the card provided when making the booking. Bookings must be paid for in full by 25 November 2013. Bookings through this site will presume permission to debit your credit card for the remaining amount of your accommodation on this date. There are no refunds once payment has been made.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sydney?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Sydney

Goodlet Lodge
51.19 USD

Guesthouse 79.0% 20 reviews
Tokyo Village
22.80 USD

Hostel 65.5% 35 reviews
Alfred Park Accommodation
23.27 USD

Hostel 79.9% 642 reviews
Bounce Sydney
35.37 USD

Hostel 93.3% 261 reviews
Leisure Inn Sydney Central
36.76 USD

Hotel 3 star 83.1% 11 reviews
Casa Central Accommodation
26.99 USD

Hostel 78.4% 43 reviews
Railway Square YHA
35.37 USD

Hostel 86.6% 42 reviews
Wake Up Hostel
31.65 USD

Hostel 93.0% 1179 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
78.1%

Overall Rating

32 out of 36 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Central Railway Hotel & Apartments'

Atmosphere
69.6%
Location
82.4%
Facilities
75.2%
Cleanliness
81.6%
Staff
80.8%
Value
77.6%
Safety
79.2%
Refine your results Showing 29 of 34 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

08 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean

Disliked: Nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Megan McKenzie

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture

23 April 2014 Megan would recommend this property

Liked: Close to most places

Disliked: There were mo lifts

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway

16 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked about pretty much everything because it looked perfectly clean. Plus the atmosphere was great and also loved how it was close to the central station!

Disliked: Um I had a counter who didn't came so quick to the front desk when I wanted to check out. I think we have waited more than 5 minutes just to wait for him and ring the bell twice :(.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

21 November 2012

Liked: Clean

Disliked: Small and dark

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

alan rogers

Alone

Work / volunteering

05 September 2012

Liked: it is not far from the train station and China town

Disliked: the pack of lies on the website: After putting my complaint to the staff verbally and in an email, no one ever got back to me. Very tiny room and uncomfortable bed. Shower temperature constantly changing while showering. Too many dislikes to mention. Awful place

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

03 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location, cleaniness and access would have liked more information about buses etc to get back hotel from station etc. as did not want to walk alone in dark.

Disliked: no information given to connect to free wifi No kettle in room when arrived but was fixed once told reception. Although it was not working properly. Fridge seal not stuck down and fridge would not shut properly so it was running a lot of the time. Not using fridge much so had to switch off at night for noise. Thought there was microwave in rooms but not in budget single. One in the courtyard would have been good.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

14 August 2012

Liked: I didn't like anything about it. I checked out of the accomodation 1 hour after I checked in. There was no way I was going to stay in a broom closet with only one window which faced the corridor and everyone saw into the room. With the window closed (for noise) I had no air. There was no air conditioning/heating.

Disliked: See above.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

10 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Locality and facilities

Disliked: Had a bit of a wait before the room was ready

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

celia kettle

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Visiting friends or family

29 April 2012 celia would recommend this property

Liked: A comfortable spacious room for a family of four with en suite bathroom. It was good to have a balcony and there was a nice communal area with tables. It helped to keepdown the cost of eating out by having a fridge, microwave and toaster in the room.

Disliked: They have wi fi but not a computer so to use internet you need to bring your own. However staff did allow me to send a few necessary e-mails from their office.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

As a family with children

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: indoors was reasonably modern and has all the facilities

Disliked: the bathrooms probably needed updating

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

lucy Vickers

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Romantic getaway

01 March 2012 lucy would recommend this property

Liked: Nice hotel not too far away from the town, buses nearby if needed. clean rooms with good facilities eg tea coffee, kettle, shampoos ect.

Disliked: the parking and the toaster didnt work.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

14 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff.close to central station.quiet at night.

Disliked: sofa bed hard to sleep on.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, comfy, large and spacious room.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

24 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was the main reason we chose this hostel. It was very good value for money.

Disliked: We were travelling with heavy holdalls and so the lack of a lift made it a bit more difficult for us. Apart from that there were no other dislikes.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Eric Deighton

As a family with children

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 October 2011 Eric would recommend this property

Liked: walking distance to the cenral railway station

Disliked: nothing

60.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

20 September 2011

Liked: it was ok as a location

Disliked: the other guests were allowed to be ridiculously noisy when they came in late at night and there appeared to be no night management to prevent this. We had a disturbed nights sleep every night that we were there and had to turn the tv on at night to try and drown out all the noise from drunk people shouting and screaming as they made their way back to their rooms trying to deliberately wake up other guests.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

27 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good value and good location

Disliked: nothing much, a few more shared facilities, eg internet might have been useful

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Jenny Goh

With friends / other travellers

City break
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

07 June 2011 Jenny would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were really helpful and accommodating, and this place is in a pretty good location.

Disliked: N/A

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mona McFarlane

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

23 December 2010 Mona would recommend this property

Liked: Our room was perfect for our needs, with a little kitchenette and a little sofa and nice TV, and the kitchen window even had a view of part of the downtown Sydney skyline! The room and the entire premises were extremely clean and well-cared for, and considering the price of accommodation in Sydney we felt we could not have done better. The office staff were very friendly and helpful, too.

Disliked: There wasn't really anything we disliked at all. It was a 10 - 15 minute walk from the Central station, so with heavy bags this felt like a long way, but then again if it had been any closer to the station and the centre of town the price would have been much higher, too!

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

07 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is a standard hotel with all the basic features

Disliked: It was a little far from the centre especially on a Friday or Saturdat night when you will need to budget for a taxi.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Brian Smart

With my spouse / partner

30 November 2010 Brian would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and quiet. Reasonable walking distance to Central Railway Station.

Disliked: Fresh towels only after three days. Cost for taxi to and from the airport was AU$28 quite a bit more than information given when booking. Shuttle is now $14 per person.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Family Holiday

11 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was exactly like a hotel. Hot showers made me very happy! Very comfy beds.

Disliked: They lost our booking at first, although they later found room for us.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Robert Thomson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 September 2010 Robert would recommend this property

Liked: It's more like my idea of a motel than a hotel. It was simple but very comfortable. We had a small kitchenette in the room. We had one small problem with the room, which was fixed promptly when we told them. The older guy at reception had a gruff personality but was actually very friendly and helpful. We'd definitely stay there again.

Disliked: While we didn't have any problems with the noise ourselves, if you're not a deep sleeper, bring earplugs because the walls aren't thick enough if some other guests are a bit loud.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: large rooms, central location, very helpful receptionist

Disliked: a bit dated, not warned about 10am checkout time! no computers or real communal areas

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Events / festivals

27 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: close to where we needed to go and affordable

Disliked: perhaps a hand towel, and a tea towel, but we didn't have time to ask.


See all Sydney hostels
See all Sydney hotels