We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostería Thiamalu

1 star Hotel | Av. Lago del Desierto Nº 99, Provincia de Santa Cruz, El Chalten, Argentina 9301

87.0% Overall Rating

27 out of 28 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/05/2012)

"The staff were very friendly and helpful and gave us good advise about the local treks and restaurants. The room was warm and comfy and the breakfast was basic but good - the usual Argentinian breads, juice and coffee."

Read all Hostería Thiamalu reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to El Chalten?

Contact us directly

See other properties in El Chalten

Rancho Grande
11.79 USD

Hostel 69.3% 155 reviews
PIONEROS DEL VALLE HOSTEL
17.68 USD

Hostel 75.1% 53 reviews
Infinito Sur
22.39 USD

Hostel 94.8% 6 reviews
In.land.sis Guesthouse
8.49 USD

Guesthouse 82.6% 63 reviews
Condor de los Andes
7.07 USD

Hostel 82.2% 41 reviews
Albergue Aylen-Aike
8.25 USD

Hostel 89.8% 147 reviews
Estancia La Quinta
960.00 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
ESTANCIA LA ESTELA
38.78 USD

Hostel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.0%

Overall Rating

27 out of 28 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostería Thiamalu'

Atmosphere
81.6%
Location
88.0%
Facilities
78.4%
Cleanliness
92.0%
Staff
97.6%
Value
81.6%
Safety
89.6%
Refine your results Showing 24 of 28 reviews
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean rooms, very friendly staffs, beer at the reception...

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

John Warren

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 December 2012 John would recommend this property

Liked: Owner was outstanding and very helpful.

Disliked: Rooms were very modern (especially the bathroom) but basic carpentry/maintenance and water pressure for the shower was in need of a work. Cost of staying in El Charlton was very expensive

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very friendly and helpful and gave us good advise about the local treks and restaurants. The room was warm and comfy and the breakfast was basic but good - the usual Argentinian breads, juice and coffee.

Disliked: The hostel seemed a little expensive to us, but having said that it was inline with others on offer at the time in El Chalten so maybe its just an expensive town.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly atmosphere, staff and proprietress were excellent help, room cleaned daily, Fantastic breakfast.

Disliked: Rooms very tiny for two people

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

erik de held

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 February 2012 erik would recommend this property

Liked: Staff is fantastic.. Rooms are very good en very clean! Location is excellent!! They made our stay in el chalten!! We will come back to thiamalu

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: really friendly landlady, clean cosy rooms with ensuite. great value for money in a good location. would stay here again

Disliked: nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The best coffee in argentina!! - The lady owner is super friendly - one of the nicest hosts i met during my travels in argentina, really down to earth.. the water was hot 24/7 which is a godsend after getting soaked trekking in the locality. pressure from it was alos great. host great for suggestions on trekking also. like the fact that we had our own outside entrance to the room

Disliked: nothing really.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Louisa Forrest

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 January 2012 Louisa would recommend this property

Liked: Nice relaxed place, very helpful owner, easy walking distance to bus station and restaurants and start of walks.

Disliked: There seemed to be a lot of flies around. It was a bit noisy, fine if you were getting up early but difficult to lie in

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ANA SILVA

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 May 2011 ANA would recommend this property

Liked: very nice a clean

Disliked: nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendliness

Disliked: Nothing tbh

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Joe Glover

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 February 2011 Joe would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful staff. Allowed us to change our booking when we managed to organise a 3 day trip to Marconi pass. Also let us leave our bags there all day on the final day.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sanne Slot

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 February 2011 Sanne would recommend this property

Liked: The owner of Thiamalu was very friendly and eager to help us.

Disliked: Nothing

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very friendly staff, clean and comfortable rooms.

Disliked: Very ordinary breakfast, even by Argentinian standards. Not real coffee, stale bread and Tang, not juice.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Patric Niffeler

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 January 2011 Patric would recommend this property

Liked: .

Disliked: Its not a hostel!

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Matthew Wilson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 January 2011 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: Nice breakfast - just croissants and coffee, but good quality. Very comfortable beds.

Disliked: A bit expensive considering the hostel is very basic.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Paul Mills

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

06 November 2010 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: My second day of hiking was washed out, but I felt welcome sitting in the common area, and was even offered a cup of tea. The staff were helpful while I was planning my hiking.

Disliked: Paul left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The front desk was very friendly and spoke English to us as our spanish is not very good. The room was lovely and comfortable and the hostel is conveniently located between bus and Main part of town.

Disliked: The lack of a normal common room meant it was difficult to meet others at the hostel. There was also no general computer to use Internet.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Teresa Allen

07 May 2010 Teresa would recommend this property

Liked: very friendly and helpful staff, however no kitchen facilities available

Disliked: Teresa left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marie Antoniewski

10 April 2010 Marie would recommend this property

Liked: Even though the staff did not speak very much English, they were very friendly and accommodating. It was in a great location for restaurants after the hike and the bus stop in the morning.

Disliked: Marie left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

02 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very nice hosts exact informations about trekkings in the area

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

05 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very nice owners, quiet.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

27 December 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice and clean rooms. Friendly family who runs the hostería. If you are looking for a quiet, clean and cosy place - this is the one to choose.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

amy sixsmith

29 November 2009

Liked: it was a very nice place but it is not suitable for backpackers. There are no facilities available like there are in other hostels. And i didnt feel welcome to approach the staff.

Disliked: amy left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

03 August 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I'd like the place, the staff, etc.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.