We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Fawlty Towers

Hostel | 216, Mosi Oa Tunya Rd, P.O. Box 61170 Livingstone, Zambia 217

92.2% Overall Rating

48 out of 50 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (06/05/2015)

Christine Maynard thinks…

"The location was great. Airport pick up was great. Pool was great except a little cold at this time of year. Rooms were fine"

Read all Fawlty Towers reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

What's Included

  • Airport Pickup
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Livingstone?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Livingstone

Sunbird Guest House
25.00 USD

Guesthouse 79.6% 7 reviews
Jollyboys Backpackers
15.00 USD

Hostel 89.5% 82 reviews
Comfort Corner Guesthouse
21.67 USD

Guesthouse 87.4% 5 reviews
Tabonina Guesthouse
17.26 USD

Guesthouse 95.8% 15 reviews
Kaazmein Lodge and Resort
35.00 USD

Hostel 71.8% 8 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
92.2%

Overall Rating

48 out of 50 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Fawlty Towers'

Atmosphere
91.2%
Location
94.4%
Facilities
88.8%
Cleanliness
95.2%
Staff
86.4%
Value
92.8%
Safety
96.8%
Refine your results Showing 33 of 38 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Christine Maynard

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture

06 May 2015

Liked: The location was great. Airport pick up was great. Pool was great except a little cold at this time of year. Rooms were fine

Disliked: Extremely noisy. There is an open nightclub at the back of the property. Felt like I was asleep in a nightclub, you could sing all the words it was that loud. I paid $350 for a tour and was kept awake until 1amwjen we had to be up at 6am. Was far from impressed when the same thing happened 2 nights before. This needs serious addressing . Staff seems very unhappy except for Joyce she was so lovely

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jemma Phillipson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

29 January 2015 Jemma would recommend this property

Liked: The location was ideal for what we wanted in Livingstone. Also, it provided an idyllic setting for a relaxing stay away from the busyness of every day life. I really wanted to stay for longer and there was a real calm atmosphere about the place.

Disliked: Jemma left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

17 October 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and very helpful staff! Located near many restaurants, currency exchanges, and a supermarket. A short taxi ride away from the Zambia/Zimbabwe border. Very safe facilities! All day trips and tours at great prices can be booked right at the hotel. Laundry services are offered at a good price. Rooms are cozy and come with mosquito nets. The beds are comfortable and clean. The lounge and pool area are great places to hang out or relax after a long day. There is also a free daily shuttle to Victoria Falls. Overall great stay and value!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

12 October 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Overall very good. Opposite a supermarket and ATMs. The security staff was excellent: friendly and able to organise taxis. Sadly can't say the same of the receptionists who were universally rude and disinterested.

Disliked: As above

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free pancakes!!

Disliked: Nothing

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Elizabeth Peck

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 July 2014 Elizabeth would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to stay! Excellent location with supermarket, ATMs, cafés and restaurant nearby. The staff were really friendly and super helpful and you can book lots of tours with them too (although I wish they didn't advertise for elephant rides and lion encounters). I had a great time staying here and would highly recommend it. I made lots of friends here (being on my own) and would definitely go back if I ever travelled here again :-)

Disliked: Nothing

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Ali asger Dawoodbhai

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 July 2014 Ali asger would recommend this property

Liked: The location is convenient and in the middle of the town, not far from the shops, the fall and the bus station. The general atmosphere is excellent and the rooms are nicely decorated.

Disliked: Wifi limited to just around the reception area and was at times quite slow. The reception staff are not quick at fixing issues. We reported a couple of things not working in our room a few times but these were not fixed during our stay. In addition, the receptionist also told someone who had come to collect us for an activity that we were not staying at the hostel.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Samantha Divers

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 June 2014 Samantha would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, lots of room to sit back and relax

Disliked: It was a bit weird they only have one key per room and you have to share with 5other people

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Wonderful spacious garden with a pool and poolarea. Free pancakes at 3 o´clock was a good opportunity to have a chat with other travellers. Free wi-fi in reception worked all time. Very good communal kitchen. Small but clean rooms. Excellent location with a shoppingcenter opposite the road.

Disliked: Nothing.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

jamie jacobs

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

03 May 2014 jamie would recommend this property

Liked: Everything you could possibly need on premises...

Disliked: Nothing!

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We liked the staff, the pool and our room. Great place to stay.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sonja Bass

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

26 November 2013 Sonja would recommend this property

Liked: The facilities including the pool are well maintained and offer great value for money whether that's the accomodation or the bar and kitchen area. It is located on the falls side of town opposite a small shopping centre with a large supermarket and eateries. Some of the bars can be noisy at the weekend but we found the having the aircon on drowned it out.

Disliked: See above

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Renee Dekker

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 October 2013 Renee would recommend this property

Liked: Nice clean cool quiet private rooms. Nice lawn and swimming pool.

Disliked: The night porters looked a little doped.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Antonia Laundy

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 October 2013 Antonia would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely hostel, nice pool, great rooms with mosquito nets, very clean. Staff also very helpful especially in the activities booking office

Disliked: Internet didn't work

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

23 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendliness, cleanliness, the pool.

Disliked: Other (drunken) guests shouting in the middle of the night.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

22 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good place to stay

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

27 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything. Especially that the staff is soooooo nice!

Disliked: Well, nothing.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was right, withh arelaxes atmosphere.

Disliked: The price of the activities.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Henk Olwage

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

14 August 2012 Henk would recommend this property

Liked: Central location, value for money

Disliked: Room rather small

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

06 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beds come with mosquito nets which is nice (although some are ripped).

Disliked: It was absolutely dead compared to Jollyboys (where I also stayed but couldn't book additional nights). I'm guessing when its full, it would be buzzing because they have a sweet pool and plenty of rooms but just when I was there, it was very quiet.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: One could fully relax in the garden near the pool

Disliked: I was not so happy that there were no towels in the room and the extra-payment for them.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Peter Deverson

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

07 August 2011 Peter would recommend this property

Liked: We had a fantastic stay, so good that we kept coming back! The managers were great, the staff friendly and helpful, the room was good value (clean and comfortable with a safe and an en-suite), the location is very handy and it is a calm and relaxing place to spend your time in Livingstone. Free pancakes in the afternoon topped it off, pity we only worked it out so late in our stay!

Disliked: Our only criticism would be that internet is quite expensive and doesn't always work, but for most people this shouldn't be too much of a hassle - enjoy being away from daily communications!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great location

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Sightseeing & culture

12 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I was welcomed by name on arrival. On booking with them they emailed to offer assistance with booking activities and arranging airport pick up. Due to advice of not walking around in the hours of darkness there were places to eat and a supermarket across the road which was convenient.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Barbara Fairman

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Sightseeing & culture

08 November 2010 Barbara would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely pool, garden, proximity to good local restaurants. Free pancakes every afternoon. Good atmosphere. Very laid back.

Disliked: Very hot at night. Good mosquito net over bed but no mosquito net at windows so windows had to kept shut at night. Very noisy fan which had to be kept on at night due to heat. Bedding thin and tended to get dislodged during night, with sweaty plastic sheet underneath. No ceiling fan. Very stained toilet.