HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Fawlty Towers Livingstone

Hostel

216s Musi o Tunya Road, Livingstone, Zambia

Atmosphere 91%

Cleanliness 94%

Facilities 89%

Location 94%

Safety 97%

Staff 87%

Value 93%

What's Included

  • Airport Pickup
  • Linen

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Airport Transfers
  • BBQ
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Common Room
  • Free Airport Transfer
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Meals available
  • Outdoor Swimming Pool
  • Parking
  • Pool Table
  • Restaurant
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Shuttle Bus
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 15:00

Latest Check-out: 10:30

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Livingstone?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 91%

Cleanliness 94%

Facilities 89%

Location 94%

Safety 97%

Staff 87%

Value 93%

Showing 1-10 of 17 reviews

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, City break, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities, Work / volunteering

Liked: All the staff are helpful, they keep the price down and the WiFi is free. They offer free pancakes at 15:00 everyday and a shuttle to Victoria falls at 10am everyday. The staff are happy to help you book things at cheaper rates as well. The pool is lovely and the lounge areas are very relaxing. They also have a spa on-site, all treatments are less than 100 kwacha.

Disliked: Some mosquito nets are torn and the beds are rickety. The kitchen closes for certain hours throughout the day.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for your great review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
We are due to do a mosquito net revamp as the current ones are rather old now. I was away on annual leave whilst you were here, so I am sorry I missed you. I am not sure why our kitchen was closed during the day. It is usually open all day from 7h00 - 18h00. I will discuss this with our chef. Thank you for bringing this to my attention.

With best wishes,

Elissa

GM

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
As a family with children

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The location was great. Airport pick up was great. Pool was great except a little cold at this time of year. Rooms were fine

Disliked: Extremely noisy. There is an open nightclub at the back of the property. Felt like I was asleep in a nightclub, you could sing all the words it was that loud. I paid $350 for a tour and was kept awake until 1amwjen we had to be up at 6am. Was far from impressed when the same thing happened 2 nights before. This needs serious addressing . Staff seems very unhappy except for Joyce she was so lovely

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Work / volunteering

Liked: The location was ideal for what we wanted in Livingstone. Also, it provided an idyllic setting for a relaxing stay away from the busyness of every day life. I really wanted to stay for longer and there was a real calm atmosphere about the place.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for your lovely review. We are so pleased you found our lodge relaxing. With best wishes, Elissa - GM

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Oct 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Overall very good. Opposite a supermarket and ATMs. The security staff was excellent: friendly and able to organise taxis. Sadly can't say the same of the receptionists who were universally rude and disinterested.

Disliked: As above

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great location and very helpful staff! Located near many restaurants, currency exchanges, and a supermarket. A short taxi ride away from the Zambia/Zimbabwe border. Very safe facilities! All day trips and tours at great prices can be booked right at the hotel. Laundry services are offered at a good price. Rooms are cozy and come with mosquito nets. The beds are comfortable and clean. The lounge and pool area are great places to hang out or relax after a long day. There is also a free daily shuttle to Victoria Falls. Overall great stay and value!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for a fabulous review. Lovely to receive the positive feedback.

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Free pancakes!!

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for the lovely feedback. Delighted to hear you enjoyed an free pancakes. With best wishes, Elissa - General Manager

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: The location is convenient and in the middle of the town, not far from the shops, the fall and the bus station.The general atmosphere is excellent and the rooms are nicely decorated.

Disliked: Wifi limited to just around the reception area and was at times quite slow.The reception staff are not quick at fixing issues. We reported a couple of things not working in our room a few times but these were not fixed during our stay. In addition, the receptionist also told someone who had come to collect us for an activity that we were not staying at the hostel.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Our Wifi can be slow but we are delighted to be able to offer this free facility to guests, given that the internet is so expensive in Zambia. We use the largest service provider in Zambia, and unfortunately, we can't make the wifi any better. I am sorry about the misunderstanding about your activity and that you had a couple of issues with your room. Beyond that, I am glad you enjoyed yourselves.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great place to stay! Excellent location with supermarket, ATMs, cafés and restaurant nearby. The staff were really friendly and super helpful and you can book lots of tours with them too (although I wish they didn't advertise for elephant rides and lion encounters). I had a great time staying here and would highly recommend it. I made lots of friends here (being on my own) and would definitely go back if I ever travelled here again :-)

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Delighted to hear that you had such a good time with us. With best wishes, Elissa - General Manager.

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Good location, lots of room to sit back and relax

Disliked: It was a bit weird they only have one key per room and you have to share with 5other people

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you very much for your great review. We are glad you found Fawlty Towers a good place to sit back and relax. With regard to the one key per dormitory situation, we have this policy for security reasons. If there are several keys for one door floating about, there is a higher risk of the keys going missing, landing in the wrong hands and putting our guest's belongings at risk. Dorm guests are requested to leave the key at reception for the next person. With best wishes, Elissa - GM

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Family Holiday, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Everything you could possibly need on premises...

Disliked: Nothing!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you very much for your wonderful review. Happy travels to your next destination, whether it be home or some other exotic location. With best wishes, Elissa - General Manager.

Check Availability