HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Cwm Pennant Hostel Porthmadog Hostel

Garndolbenmaen, Gwynedd, Porthmadog, Wales

Atmosphere 86%

Cleanliness 92%

Facilities 87%

Location 82%

Safety 89%

Staff 100%

Value 92%

What's Included

  • Linen

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • BBQ
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Common Room
  • Free Parking
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Vending Machines
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast 6.27USD
  • Towel 2.35USD

Important Information

Reception opens from 16.30 for check-in and we ask that you contact us if you are going to arrive later than 21.30 so we can ensure a member of staff is available to greet you. There will be no check-in after 22.30

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 16:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Pet Friendly"
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Porthmadog?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 86%

Cleanliness 92%

Facilities 87%

Location 82%

Safety 89%

Staff 100%

Value 92%

Showing 1-8 of 8 reviews

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Apr 2016

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: It was a very nice stay, We had the whole property all for us. It is a nice building deep in the countryside with a particular charm and amazing for those who really want to enjoy the Welsh lifestyle.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 May 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Wifi was a bit slow, which is understandable considering the remoteness of the location, but the staff are very friendly and informative. I would recommend it to friends.

Customer would recommend this property

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Family Holiday, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: the staff were very friendly. I liked the character of the building. good location for walking and cycling.make sure you have a car too!buses/trains to this property don't exist.lounge was nice, showers powerful

Disliked: no security. we stayed in a 4 bed dorm. no key for the room and no lockers.could do with a little tart up here and there!

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 May 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Suoer helpfull staff and nice location

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 May 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: The friendliness/helpfulness of the staff was second to none. Special mention to Ander (think that was his name) as he went way beyond the call of duty ... Fantastic facilities with great value for money ... stunning location as well !!!

Disliked: N/a

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With a large group / tour

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: A quaint property nestled away from the hustle and bustle of city life. Friend and informative staff. The ambiance of the rustic rooms.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: A nice house in the farm with a good breakfast and friendly staff

Disliked: Little bit noisy as the other guests' doors were slamming all night long

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Nice location (if you travelling in a car) Quiet hostel. Helpful and friendly staff. Stayed there for 2 nights in a 4-bed dorm room Hebog, good wifi connection, handbasin in the room. The hostel has range of facilities such as table tennis!!! (we loved it), a massive lounge room with selection of different board games and piles of TRAIL magazines for all of the walking and hiking fans. Nice kitchen for guests and overall well kept and clean hostel. Perfect for both groups and independent travellers alike. Breakfast was awesome, to your usual cereal and toast you get Full English Breakfast, which is a bit unusual for a hostel, but that makes them a BETTER hostel than the rest in the area!!!Hope to be back soon with a big group of people to keep one of the friendliest hostel managers/chefs/all-rounder Luke busy cooking and catering for hungry travellers. Defenitely recommend. Keep up the good work!!!

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: There was a substantial breakfast spread available each day. There were board games available in a large lounge area. My friend and I got given the option of a smaller dorm when we checked in due to the place being quiet at the time of our stay.

Disliked: I could not get WiFi access in the lounge area and there were no power points in my room so had to sit in the unheated corridor. I stayed three nights. The first night I was barely warm enough, the second night I was using two duvets because I was freezing and the final night I was really hot. I don't know what was up with the heating but I never knew what to expect.

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Relaxation / spa

Liked: Bedding - PROViDED (and cosy and clean), Breakfast - PROVIDED (and plenty and yummy). Hostel very well appointed, cared for, and welcome by Linda was exceptional.It is an ideal place for school parties, groups of friends or family, or for a weekend of solitude. Cannot believe I've not discovered it before.

Disliked: It's not a dislike, just a comment - that a vehicle (bike is fine) is quite necessary if wanting to get out to the surrounding area as the hostel is beautifully situated way up the Cwm Pennant valley.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability