HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Cardiff hostels

Reviews of NosDa Studio Hostel

Hostel | 53-59 Despenser Street, Cardiff, Wales CF11 6AG

90.1% Overall Rating

423 out of 454 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (27/09/2014)

"lovely private room with ensuite; amazing location; great staff; live music on the night we arrived; good breakfast"

Read all NosDa Studio Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.62

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

***Photo ID required on check-in*** ***Minimum 2 nights stay over a Saturday*** ***groups of 6 or more are also subject to backpackers terms Please contact us directly for further information*** ***Under 18 please book a private room***

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Cardiff?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Cardiff

Riverhouse Backpackers
27.33 USD

Hostel 97.0% 760 reviews
The city Garden apartment
27.59 USD

Apartment 92.3% 13 reviews
Bunkhouse Hostel
20.29 USD

Hostel 87.4% 221 reviews
Nomad Hostel
16.23 USD

Hostel 79.0% 887 reviews
Bute107
81.14 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Campanile Cardiff
49.50 USD

Hotel 2 star 48.6% 4 reviews
Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Airport
21.10 USD

Hotel 77.9% 4 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.1%

Overall Rating

423 out of 454 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'NosDa Studio Hostel'

Atmosphere
89.6%
Location
96.0%
Facilities
88.0%
Cleanliness
82.4%
Staff
93.6%
Value
86.4%
Safety
94.4%
Refine your results Showing 316 of 334 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 12 | 13   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

27 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: lovely private room with ensuite; amazing location; great staff; live music on the night we arrived; good breakfast

Disliked: nil.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very friendly and helpful. They even let me keep my mountain bike inside.

Disliked: The bed was a bit average

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference

01 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent central location with great facilities and very friendly staff

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sarah Demirel

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

31 July 2014 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: Everything! Very clean, situated in the centre of the city, excellent free breakfast, felt like a home from home.

Disliked: Nothing really, can't think of any criticisms

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sarah Evans

Alone

Events / festivals

27 July 2014 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: Bar and common room are great, comfy beds, and they serve local Welsh beers.

Disliked: Sarah left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Valentina Davidoiu

With my spouse / partner

City break

22 July 2014 Valentina would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: the cleanliness

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

30 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This property had a very nice atmosphere and friendly staff. The bar downstairs offered a relaxed place to meet locals and travelers alike. The hostel offered a kitchen where you could cook your own meals to save money and also had a place to do your own laundry at a reasonable rate. The room we stayed in was clean and comfortable. For the price, it was a very nice place to stay in Cardiff.

Disliked: Overall I really liked this property. My only complaint (and it is a very small one) is that it is noisy. Not that the guests were rowdy, but that there is no way to quietly go up and down stairs or to open/shut doors without making a fair amount of noise. I was woken up often by other guests coming home late at night.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

09 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Rooms are clean and spacious, with table and chairs (things you will not always find even in the best rated hostels), good bar downstairs, great atmosphere, all what you need to have a comfort stay and meet new people

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

08 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff, good location, cleanliness

Disliked: noise at night from the pub

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Justin Marsh

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 May 2014 Justin would recommend this property

Liked: It was ok for a hostel

Disliked: When I had to reschedule due to my own mistake, they only let me book 1 night there as opposed 3 due to being full up. It looked as if myself and 1 more individual were the only people there.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: bathrooms were not bad and it was relatively clean. good location

Disliked: wifi was very spotty

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Feraz Mustafa

With friends / other travellers

City break

12 February 2014 Feraz would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, helpful staff and great value for money

Disliked: Could do with wifi in rooms

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniel Mosca

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

11 February 2014 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: A fantastic place to stay with such a great atmosphere about the place. The staff were kind and welcoming and the facilities were ace! Our room was spacious and beds very comfortable. I have stayed in hostels that have been the same price as Nosda and they dont even come close to the level Nosda sits at!

Disliked: Nothing to dislike, all was top notch!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mayra Delfino

With friends / other travellers

City break

10 February 2014 Mayra would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed in a great private room, and I would stay there again, and recommend it to anyone. All clean, nice, TV working well...

Disliked: Wi-fi didnt work in the room.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

28 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is great, the staff was very friendly and the most important thing, the place has its own pub.

Disliked: It is a little bit pricey.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Daithi O Murchu

Alone

Work / volunteering

14 December 2013 Daithi would recommend this property

Liked: Warm welcome, staff couldn't do enough to make you feel at home.

Disliked: Kitchen could have been a little cleaner, but that's not the fault of the staff as they have notices up everywhere saying clean up after yourself.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Richard Cleverley

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

07 December 2013 Richard would recommend this property

Liked: Charmingly decorated. The bar and terrace were lovely. Good facilities and a fantastic central location.

Disliked: The breakfast could have been more varied and the room we stayed in wasn't as large as we hoped.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

30 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location, friendly and informed staff, reasonably priced, easy to find and free secure parking. What more could you need?!

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sarah McDermott

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 November 2013 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: Sarah left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Penny Oxley

With my spouse / partner

City break

13 November 2013

Liked: Good venue by the river

Disliked: Bedrooms not like the photos on the website. In need of a paint, new carpets and a good clean.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Silvana Bulcao

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 October 2013 Silvana would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice place, good location and very friendly staff. I recomend!

Disliked: Silvana left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Alfred Tan

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

08 October 2013 Alfred would recommend this property

Liked: proximity to train station and hospitality of staff

Disliked: none

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

07 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I thought the location was fantastic. The member of staff at the front desk (Australian dude) was very helpful and friendly. I thought the room was small as we stayed in a six bed mixed dorm I expected it to be a bit bigger for the money we paid.

Disliked: Room size, everyone went to bed too early and the showers were pretty dirty!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Huw Davis

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 October 2013 Huw would recommend this property

Liked: Location, location, location. Perfectly situated for all of the local attractions and public transport. Easy walking distance from train, bus and aquabus services as well as shopping and attractions.

Disliked: The mattresses were old and a little well worn. Made sleep a little difficult without extra padding

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

24 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location. Right next to the station, city centre and Millenium stadium

Disliked: Breakfast stopped at 10am, so we missed it - but this is to be expected in most hostels.


See all Cardiff hostels