We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Cwm Pennant Hostel

Hostel | Cwm Pennant Hostel, Golan, Garndolbenmaen Caernarfon, Wales LL51 9AQ

89.7% Overall Rating

23 out of 25 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (28/07/2014)

sonia marwood marwood thinks…

"the staff were very friendly. I liked the character of the building. good location for walking and cycling.make sure you have a car too!buses/trains to this property don't exist. lounge was nice,…"

Read all Cwm Pennant Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 6.50
  • Towel USD 1.62

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

Reception opens from 16.30 for check-in and we ask that you contact us if you are going to arrive later than 21.30 so we can ensure a member of staff is available to greet you. There will be no check-in after 22.30

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Caernarfon?

Contact us directly

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.7%

Overall Rating

23 out of 25 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Cwm Pennant Hostel'

Atmosphere
88.0%
Location
82.4%
Facilities
85.6%
Cleanliness
92.0%
Staff
97.6%
Value
91.2%
Safety
91.2%
Refine your results Showing 22 of 24 reviews
Reset filter
62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

sonia marwood marwood

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 July 2014 sonia marwood would recommend this property

Liked: the staff were very friendly. I liked the character of the building. good location for walking and cycling.make sure you have a car too!buses/trains to this property don't exist. lounge was nice, showers powerful

Disliked: no security. we stayed in a 4 bed dorm. no key for the room and no lockers. could do with a little tart up here and there!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Bartosz Kaczmarczyk

With my spouse / partner

City break

18 May 2014 Bartosz would recommend this property

Liked: Suoer helpfull staff and nice location

Disliked: Bartosz left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The friendliness/helpfulness of the staff was second to none. Special mention to Ander (think that was his name) as he went way beyond the call of duty ... Fantastic facilities with great value for money ... stunning location as well !!!

Disliked: N/a

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tijo Thomas John

With a large group / tour

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

22 April 2014 Tijo would recommend this property

Liked: A quaint property nestled away from the hustle and bustle of city life. Friend and informative staff. The ambiance of the rustic rooms.

Disliked: Tijo left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Filipe Beretta

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 April 2014 Filipe would recommend this property

Liked: A nice house in the farm with a good breakfast and friendly staff

Disliked: Little bit noisy as the other guests' doors were slamming all night long

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Triin Teevali

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 July 2013 Triin would recommend this property

Liked: Nice location (if you travelling in a car) Quiet hostel. Helpful and friendly staff. Stayed there for 2 nights in a 4-bed dorm room Hebog, good wifi connection, handbasin in the room. The hostel has range of facilities such as table tennis!!! (we loved it), a massive lounge room with selection of different board games and piles of TRAIL magazines for all of the walking and hiking fans. Nice kitchen for guests and overall well kept and clean hostel. Perfect for both groups and independent travellers alike. Breakfast was awesome, to your usual cereal and toast you get Full English Breakfast, which is a bit unusual for a hostel, but that makes them a BETTER hostel than the rest in the area!!! Hope to be back soon with a big group of people to keep one of the friendliest hostel managers/chefs/all-rounder Luke busy cooking and catering for hungry travellers. Defenitely recommend. Keep up the good work!!!

Disliked: Triin left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Fiona McKee

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

29 April 2013

Liked: There was a substantial breakfast spread available each day. There were board games available in a large lounge area. My friend and I got given the option of a smaller dorm when we checked in due to the place being quiet at the time of our stay.

Disliked: I could not get WiFi access in the lounge area and there were no power points in my room so had to sit in the unheated corridor. I stayed three nights. The first night I was barely warm enough, the second night I was using two duvets because I was freezing and the final night I was really hot. I don't know what was up with the heating but I never knew what to expect.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Relaxation/spa

11 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Bedding - PROViDED (and cosy and clean), Breakfast - PROVIDED (and plenty and yummy). Hostel very well appointed, cared for, and welcome by Linda was exceptional. It is an ideal place for school parties, groups of friends or family, or for a weekend of solitude. Cannot believe I've not discovered it before.

Disliked: It's not a dislike, just a comment - that a vehicle (bike is fine) is quite necessary if wanting to get out to the surrounding area as the hostel is beautifully situated way up the Cwm Pennant valley.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

02 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: excellent location for everybody seeking quiet sorrounding and privacy; not too far from the main road on one hand but but close to the walking paths and true nature on the other hand; self-catering facilities, friendly people, quite a big choice for breakfast having in mind the fact that we are talking about a hostel.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were incredibly friendly and welcoming. The place was very clean and had all the facilities you could want. Stunning location and little purpose-built nature trails in the grounds of the hostel, plenty of wildlife to see. Fantastic breakfast!

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was clean, tidy and in a beautiful stone building. The lady running the place was friendly and helpful. The wifi was good, the lounge area was great, and the dining area and self serve kitchen had everything you could need. The location was stunning with some nice walks and drives nearby.

Disliked: Nothing - it was fantastic.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful and friendly staff and a tabel tennis table!

Disliked: It was exactly what we were looking for!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

City break
Family Holiday

30 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful staff

Disliked: Everything was fine!

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

28 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was a nice big old house, probably needed a little bit of maintenance. The couple who ran the place were lovely and there was a cooked breakfast included in nights accommodation.

Disliked: Was a bit tricky to find. Would be good had more signposts to direct you.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

22 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice, perfect!

Disliked: nothing to complain about

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Robin Karfoot

06 June 2010

Liked: The above ratings won't necessarily make sense without reading the whole story! In summary, a great facility, but treat with caution until the organisation is improved.We had to wait 90 mins for someone to turn up to open the hostel, despite having phoned ahead with an arrival time (which was actually the same as the estimate given when we booked). It was only in the last 30 mins of the wait that we knew anyone was coming at all. There is also no mobile reception at the hostel so we had to go about 2 miles to get some to try to find out what was happening. When our host arrived he was very well meaning, but did not seem familiar with the building, which meant we didn't have hot water until late at night and there was no gas so our (inclusive) breakfast was cooked using a microwave. He did give us a lift to the pub in Porthmadog and back, which was probably all that stopped us from asking for a reduction in the price. The location is very remote being about 2 miles from the main road, about 3 miles from a pub and about 7 from a shop (I think), which you should bear in mind, especially if like us you don't have a car. The building itself is really a mountain centre fit to cater for large groups rather than a traditional hostel, but everything is at a high standard, especially the brand new kitchen, which is definitely finished and useable regardless of what the webpage may say. It is one of the few places I have stayed where there is literally zero traffic noise!

Disliked: Robin left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

06 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: absolutely loved the place! the staff was super friendly and helpful, and the location was gorgeous. would highly highly recommend. also great value for the money as a free English breakfast is part of the package.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

James Kemp

06 April 2010 James would recommend this property

Liked: -

Disliked: James left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

MAGDALENA OSOJCA

01 September 2009 MAGDALENA would recommend this property

Liked: Good, clean place to stay.

Disliked: MAGDALENA left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

15 August 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The service offered by the hostel was brilliant. The location was very good. The rooms and the lounge were new, clean and offered a nice relaxed atmosphere.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bartosz Drzewiecki

24 July 2009 Bartosz would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful staff, good location, mountain hostel atmosphere. Great!

Disliked: Bartosz left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Christopher Davies

19 July 2009 Christopher would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to stay!

Disliked: Christopher left no negative feedback.