HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Blacksheep Backpackers

Hostel | 24 Station Road, Abergavenny Abergavenny, Wales NP7 5HS

81.3% Overall Rating

138 out of 182 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (01/07/2014)

Kathryn Ezra thinks…

"Across the street from the train station & 10-15 minute walk to town. Small kitchen was adequate. Breakfast included assorted cereals & white bread/toast and spreads."

Read all Blacksheep Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour hot showers

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Abergavenny?

Contact us directly

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
81.3%

Overall Rating

138 out of 182 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Blacksheep Backpackers'

Atmosphere
76.0%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
72.8%
Cleanliness
70.4%
Staff
90.4%
Value
83.2%
Safety
82.4%
Refine your results Showing 119 of 126 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

06 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Low Price, high value-price relation

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Visiting friends or family

25 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location, informality, cheapness, simpleness

Disliked: A tough climb up to my bunk. Dorm room could do with modernising.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

19 July 2014

Liked: Late check in was available on request and staff are very friendly

Disliked: General cleanliness can be better. Every aspect of the experience could use some updating. Considering we spent nearly same amount of money in a travelodge which has much better standards only made it worse looking back at our stay.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Kathryn Ezra

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 July 2014

Liked: Across the street from the train station & 10-15 minute walk to town. Small kitchen was adequate. Breakfast included assorted cereals & white bread/toast and spreads.

Disliked: Booked a 4 bed dorm 1 week in advance, arrived & they had no record of my reservation & put me in a 10 bed dorm (but only 5 people total). It's the pub basement so there's some mold on the walls, mattresses were very worn, wifi was spotty, only 1 toilet & 2 showers, no hand soap in the bathroom and dish soap was watered down. Didn't really feel comfortable hanging out in the pub so I stayed in the basement lounge in the evenings. It's not the worst place I've stayed but 2 nights there was plenty.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

18 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I absolutely loved this place! I extended my stay it was that fantastic! The people were great and it's also pub but the balance was just perfect... If you didn't want to be in the pub you could go downstairs!

Disliked: I didn't like it when they ran out of pies!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

02 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Warm friendly staff that went out of their way to help

Disliked: Nothing

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

01 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Not great, but you get what you pay for.

Disliked: Not particularly clean, and the whole place is pretty outdated.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location - next to the train station and 5-10min walk from the centre of the town. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Good choice for this money.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

As a family with children

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

01 April 2014

Liked: Very handy for Abergavenny centre and the surrounding walks/countryside. Nice to have pool table and darts for evening entertainment for us and our teenagers.

Disliked: The heating was on all night so far too hot and i didn't sleep properly. The toilets and shower rooms were not clean or of the appropriate standard - paint peeling off ceiling, hair in plug hole of shower, shower bracket had broken, sink not clean round taps. i know it's cheap accomodation but i expect it to be clean as in other hostels I've stayed in. The cooling facilites were not very good - no grill or frying pan for sausages/bacon, only minimal amount of crockery & cutlery.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very kind and helpful people in the hostel and a very ncie atmosphere! Welsh people are very friendly. Price more than acceptable, with the breakfast included and a kitchen where we can cook. The town is beautiful, with all the mountains surrounding the region. I recommend this place !

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Alan Gillott

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

23 December 2013 Alan would recommend this property

Liked: The location to the Brecons is formidable. In all, found the area and local folk enchanting.

Disliked: found nothing that I disliked of the property... it was old and need of a few repairs,... but for location, I found it adequate.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

13 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, cheep and cheerful

Disliked: No lockers in my dorm,

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Jorge Gonçalves

With friends / other travellers

City break

07 October 2013 Jorge would recommend this property

Liked: Location and environment

Disliked: Rooms could be better cleaned

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very welcoming staff upon arrival. Great location- so close to the train station.

Disliked: The Internet connection is far from consistent- if you are wanting to use the wifi you are better off using the connection at the information centre a few minutes walk away.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

01 August 2013

Liked: Ability to use kitchen to make tea

Disliked: A lot of dust in room which caused allergies. Bed was dusty. Window sould not shut. Decoration scruffy. Loo seat unstable. Atmosphere, nil.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

16 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: BASIC BUT GOOD LOCATION, VALUE FOR MONEY ,FREINDLY STAFF, GOOD BAR

Disliked: SHOWER VERY BASIC. NEEDED SOME MAINTEANCE TO IMPROVE THE ABOVE RATINGS

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

16 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good hostel

Disliked: people coming in and out of the rooms early hours in the morning to take duvets etc

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

30 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is ideally located almost across the street from the train station, and only about 7 minutes' walk from the town center (and about 5 minutes from the bus station, where you can get buses to Brecon, Monmouth, Cardiff, etc). The hostel was very quiet while I was there, so I had a room to myself. As a young woman travelling alone, I felt quite safe.

Disliked: The internet was spotty, but this was not a major problem (I didn't even ask the staff about it, so it may have been easily fixed). Things could have been more clearly spelled out -- "Can we eat the food in the kitchen? What about the milk? What do we do to check out?". Otherwise, it was a great, low-key place to stay.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

17 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Super close to the train station. Friendly staff

Disliked: Pretty run down. There's some noise that travels up from the pub below but not too late at night. About a mile's walk to town.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was just across the street from the train station, which was great. The people are really nice, as are the facilities.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, good location. Great pub downstairs :)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to stay - v. close to train station. Staff were really helpful, and great that breakfast is included.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Robert Baker

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 November 2012 Robert would recommend this property

Liked: Gary has created a really good hostel experience for a wide range of clientele, especially walkers. Really friendly welcome, flexible arrangements, excellent value. Highly recommended.

Disliked: Nothing.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

05 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap and cheerful, friendly staff and great location next to the station

Disliked: Could do with a refurbish, looking a bit tired and dated

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

rui carneiro

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

29 August 2012

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Avoid the matresses as you are better of on the floor! Confirm your type of accomodation as hostels and hostelbookers are mis selling by advertising one type of room but selling other of considerable lower cost. You are only told when you get there although your reservation says the opposite!