We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hien Mai

Guesthouse | 55/6 Nguyen Thien Thuat St, Nha Trang, Vietnam 0084

87.4% Overall Rating

54 out of 57 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (11/02/2014)

Michael Fitzgerald thinks…

"Spotless big rooms. Good beds. Good WiFi. Only 500 metres from great beach. Loads of good value restaurants all around. No Russians in the hostel!!! Receptionist Miss Trang was a gem!! So helpful…"

Read all Hien Mai reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Currency Exchange
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Room service (24 hour)
  • Wake-up calls
  • Café

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 22.32

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Nha Trang?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Nha Trang

Dong Hai Hostel
5.11 USD

Hostel 77.9% 8 reviews
Remi hotel
7.44 USD

Hotel 1.5 star Not yet rated
iHome Nha Trang
6.00 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
The River Hotel
5.50 USD

Hotel 1 star 76.6% 11 reviews
Mojzo Inn
7.90 USD

Hostel 96.6% 208 reviews
Bao Long Hotel
6.00 USD

Hotel 1 star Not yet rated
SUN CITY HOTEL NHA TRANG , VIET NAM
11.00 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
True Friends Inn
5.86 USD

Hostel 87.6% 17 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.4%

Overall Rating

54 out of 57 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hien Mai'

Atmosphere
81.6%
Location
90.4%
Facilities
84.0%
Cleanliness
88.0%
Staff
90.4%
Value
90.4%
Safety
87.2%
Refine your results Showing 51 of 55 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
31.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Michael Fitzgerald

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 February 2014 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: Spotless big rooms. Good beds. Good WiFi. Only 500 metres from great beach. Loads of good value restaurants all around. No Russians in the hostel!!! Receptionist Miss Trang was a gem!! So helpful with the train ticket problem.Always with a lovely smile!! Please export her to Eastbourne asap!!

Disliked: A bit side alleyish

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rainer Dams

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 December 2013 Rainer would recommend this property

Liked: very friendly and helpful staff. good location. good breakfast incl.. change my booking wasn't a problem at all

Disliked: nothing to comment

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

13 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Thé staff

Disliked: nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rhianne Evans

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

11 June 2013 Rhianne would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were very helpful and nice. Breakfast was good and the room was decent.

Disliked: The ac in our room did not work

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are a credit to them, don't speak fluent English but plenty of smiles and help. Organised our Vin Pearl trip and ordered taxi etc, just stuff you don't have to do. Room cleaned every day. Extremely secure and safe. Located on main backpacker street.. Breakfast basic but cooked fresh for you! Exceptional value for money! Would recommend to all.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff very helpful, clean room and good location. Staff were very kind and let us use the kitchen facilities.

Disliked: Guesthouse also used as family home so felt a bit intrusive.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Most modern place I've stayed in Vietnam, especially for the cost. It was clean, spacious and just nice. Staff were friendly and helpful. Good location, but there are plenty of places just as close.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

08 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were absolutely lovely and bent over backwards to help us during our stay - Jiang and Bi in particular!

Disliked: Nothing about Hien Mai, but beware of surrounding hotels trying to poach you on the way in from the airport/bus station. We had one of Hien Mai's neighbouring hotels try to tell us he owned both and had put us in another building so as to steal their business. Also, beware of Asia Smile/Cuc Thung Bus Company...it's the WORST and they're out to rip off foreigners

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year

30 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms are good sized and the location is good. Breakfast is great and friendly staff.

Disliked: The rooms were not cleaned every day, but when very clean otherwise. The owner can be a bit abrupt and unfriendly at times. But good intentions.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We loved our stay in this hotel. Great location, just 5 minutes walk from the beach, a lot of restaurants around. Very clean room, great breakfast, family atmosphere. The owner recommended and arranged a lot of trips for us, she also advised us a lot of tips regarding the sightseeing (what not to miss, where to be careful).

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

orly FLAX

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 August 2012 orly would recommend this property

Liked: Location is great- just in the center of town. Our room was changed immediately at night because of a public lantern that was lighting our room.

Disliked: We had ants in our room at night. Breakfast included a sandwich (the bread they gave us had mold) and coffee/tea. The receptionist couldn't speak English.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jessica O'Malley

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 July 2012 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: Easy to find,plus it's only a 5 minute walk to the beach and even less to the bars and restaurants/shops. The room was terrific,near new,very clean and everything electrical was in perfect shape...even the wifi worked well. It's also nice and quiet being down a very short street/alleyway off of the main drag. Staff are great,with a 24 hour reception and the main guy speaks quite good English.

Disliked: Bland breakfast,but hey...it's free!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

16 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really friendly staff, very clean rooms and two towels. I booked the wrong date but they were fine about it and I returned for another couple of nights and they gave me a good discount.

Disliked: nothing

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Jonathan Singers

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

28 June 2012 Jonathan would recommend this property

Liked: Location to the beach, clean room, good price.

Disliked: Nothing really.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Julia Bevis

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

24 June 2012 Julia would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice modern hotel! Rooms are immaculate and we had one with a balcony, handy to dry swimmers and towels from being at the beach. 10 mins walk to all the bars, restaurants, beach Breakfast was pretty good too!

Disliked: Julia left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

28 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good value for money, nice quiet location down a little alley and the staff were happy to let us in when we arrived at 0600h off the night train.

Disliked: Room was only cleaned on the first day and not again

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

linda clarke

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

30 March 2012 linda would recommend this property

Liked: very good location rôom was comfortable cleaned daily ìf you asked . staff were extremely helpful. free internet . basic breakfast but all fresh

Disliked: no dílikes

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ingmar Gruendel

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

27 March 2012 Ingmar would recommend this property

Liked: It was a nice and quite guesthouse in a small alley but everything was in near walking distance since it is in the heart of the tourist area and near the beach. The staff was nice and helpfull to get information or to book scooters. We stayed in the VIP room which was nice, clean and comfortable.

Disliked: The room wasn't cleaned every day.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

14 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I freakin loved my loved my stay here. If you are a backpacker lookin to splurge from your usual $5 shared rooms or cheap single rooms or if you are just traveling looking for a super nice private room for under $20 this is it! I had private room on 1st floor and loved it! 24" marble tile, slate bathroom, rain showerhead, etc. it was such a nice place to get some rest after days of traveling and tours, etc. Beach was 2 blocks away and some good restaurants just a block away too.

Disliked: Only thin I could say is I wish it was cheaper, but you get what you pay for. Also if you want more party atmosphere you can just walk 1 block away an there are restaurants/bars etc..

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Ben Johnston

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 March 2012 Ben would recommend this property

Liked: Super friendly staff and a great location walkable from where the bus dropped us off.

Disliked: Breakfast finished at 9am so a little earlier than usual. We arrived to eat at 9.15am and missed out but our fault as we did not check.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Julie Neilson

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

03 March 2012 Julie would recommend this property

Liked: Good value for.money, quiet but central location. We had a room with a small balcony (you couldn't sit on it) but at least we had light. Basic breakfast but ok for money. Cleaned roo first day but not second but we asked for more towels and were given them. Nha Trang so good we stayed another day. Can recommend Verandah restaurant on beach front, very classy!

Disliked: Can't think of anything to dislike..

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Wir kamen um 8 Uhr morgens nach einer langen Busfahrt an. Das Zimmer war noch belegt, jedoch wurde uns sofort eine Duschmöglichkeit angeboten. Die Angestellten waren sehr freundlich und hilfsbereit. Am nächsten Tag sind wir schon wieder abgereist und bekamen sogar das Frühstück eine halbe Stunde vor der offiziellen Frühstückszeit serviert.

Disliked: Das Frühstück war etwas mager.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Koen en Linda

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 February 2012 Koen would recommend this property

Liked: Location, people and cleanliness of the rooms are good. You can also get extra towels to take to the beach. Furthermore we booked our easy rider tour via the hotel (Mr Thi) and the trip was great. We can recommend you do this tour with Mr Thi

Disliked: It's not standard that they clean your room everyday but when you ask they do.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice and friendly stuff and very clean rooms!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Daniel Hoppie

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 February 2012 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and helpful staff

Disliked: The room we had was a little bit hot but I don't think that the other rooms would be the same.