HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Backpackers House

Hostel | 54G Nguyen Thien Thuat Street, Nha Trang, Vietnam 0000

71.5% Overall Rating

157 out of 197 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (20/08/2013)

Lorenz Geng thinks…

"Hostel was alright think most the hostels around here are very similar. Can't complain for the price so you get what you pay for."

Read all Backpackers House reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Nha Trang?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Nha Trang

Son & Daughter Guesthouse
3.72 USD

Guesthouse 77.8% 139 reviews
Hien Mai
8.83 USD

Guesthouse 87.4% 57 reviews
iHome Nha Trang
6.00 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Dong Hai Hostel
5.11 USD

Hostel 77.9% 8 reviews
Mojzo Inn
7.90 USD

Hostel 96.6% 209 reviews
Remi hotel
7.44 USD

Hotel 1.5 star Not yet rated
SUN CITY HOTEL NHA TRANG , VIET NAM
11.00 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
The River Hotel
4.50 USD

Hotel 1 star 76.6% 11 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
71.5%

Overall Rating

157 out of 197 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Backpackers House'

Atmosphere
72.0%
Location
87.2%
Facilities
69.6%
Cleanliness
64.8%
Staff
65.6%
Value
70.4%
Safety
71.2%
Refine your results Showing 175 of 180 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

07 August 2014

Liked: The location was alright

Disliked: Dirty bedsheets, bad showers, very loud music until 10pm, air con not working properly, no cleaning of the room in between 2 nights... Not recommendable, sorry!

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

amalia berastegui

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

17 June 2014

Liked: Location

Disliked: Not working ac, dirty bathroom, they charged us more than agreed, decided to break down a wall at 7.30 am till 9 am just next to our heads and didnt even let us know... and the worst, it s NOT a party hostel. at all!!!!!!

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location

Disliked: No elevator, no breakfast, very uncomfortable beds

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Lorenz Geng

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

20 August 2013 Lorenz would recommend this property

Liked: Hostel was alright think most the hostels around here are very similar. Can't complain for the price so you get what you pay for.

Disliked: No common room only bar downstairs that plays such old loud music on repeat no one actually sits inside.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

02 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nicely located near to the beach.

Disliked: Dorm had a broked toilet door and the AC was put to way too cold. They had the remote in the reception and went once to ask them to put it warmer but it was still pretty cold. We didn't have proper blankets so I got I bit cold during the night.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 July 2013

Liked: The location is good, they have free internet and the double room is nice. They also have an on site doctor

Disliked: BEWARE THE SCAM THE HOSTEL OPERATES. We booked the cheapest double room on hostel bookers- the $12 a night room. However, when we arrived they said the cheapest room had been already sold to a person who stayed more nights than us. They told us we had to pay to stay in the $14 a night room. I told them this is very unfair as we are backpackers on a very small budget and it is unfair to have to pay extra- after we already booked the cheapest room- and it isnt our fault they double booked the room. After bargaining with them- I managed to pay just $13 a night- but i told them that they are very unfair.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Jacob Kneen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 July 2013 Jacob would recommend this property

Liked: If you're looking for a party atmoshphere then this is the place for you. Located above a popular bar with some great offers, pretty much everyone staying at backpackers is out to get drunk.

Disliked: I was in a dorm of 6 with 1 shower but there were also 2 doors off of my dorm which had about 4-6 beds in each who also had to share the shower. More showering facilities are required.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 June 2013

Liked: Locarion, good air con, wifi was good, breakfast was included, mini bar in room

Disliked: Not private room, cleanliness of bathroom - there was a lot of people using the tiny bathroom that wasn't being cleaned enough for this level of use.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The travel company in the hostel is really helpful probably more so than the reception, and their wifi is quicker if you ask them nicely they will give you the password. Good location for bars and places for a feed, close to the beach. Breakfast is pretty good

Disliked: When we arrived we were told we can check in at 12, dropped our bags off and went to the beach, came back to be told we can't check in until 1. Not too much of a problem but would have been nice to know that to start with. Booked a twin room but was given a double they said their were only doubles available.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Sean Kirwin

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

19 May 2013

Liked: The staff at this hostel were friendly and helpful and the room was great value for money in an awesome location and came with a free drink and breakfast.

Disliked: The only bad thing I could say about this hostel was that we had to leave our room at 1am due to our bed being full of bed bugs, luckily the night staff were sympathetic and moved us to another room, the day staff were not so sympathetic and tried to imply that we should pay for 2 rooms, as they would have to clean them both! It's a shame we had this experience as we really enjoyed our evening in this hostel and were planning on staying a few nights.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Shay Bryant

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

18 May 2013 Shay would recommend this property

Liked: Good location and easy to meet other travellers. Good good and reasonable prices at the restaurant and the free breakfast isn't bad. Close to the beach and other bars and food.

Disliked: Reception staff attitude varies between the lady in the morning and the afternoon. Morning is unfriendly and seemingly uninterested. While the lady in the afternoon couldn't be any more friendly and willing to Help or even just chat. I booked a private room and the bed felt like it was just a base rather than a mattress.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

LE BUI THANH

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals

01 May 2013 LE would recommend this property

Liked: very cheap price

Disliked: very noisy place

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Charlotte Hazell-Jackson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 April 2013

Liked: I liked the bar that it was next to...they play pretty cool music!

Disliked: Well in my whole travelling I have never writen a bad review...but this is my first. On arrival I got in and given my room. I had lockers etc so I thought all was fine. The man showed me to the room...and wait! Which bed? They had all been slept in and the one he had shown me had mucky sheets with crums and stuff in the linen. I went and told the staff to which I was given the responce "well can't you just sleep in it?" I politly told him no, I wasn't comfortable with that. So after a further 3 requests (the lady cleaned the rest of the dorms but not mine) they finally sorted it out. I went for dinner AND when I got back I was to discover that my female only dorm was infact a mixed...well I say mixed but out of the 4 in my room and the 10 in the ajoining room we share a loo with I am the only girl. Lucky Im not a nun or something like that...The lads Im sharing with are nice though so it seems a shame to complain incase they think its about them. Also the bathroom...there is a big hole in the bath so water goes EVERY where...but because it is not a wet room it has nowhere to go so the floor is covered in a sea of gross dirty water all day. They clean it daily but one bathroom for 14 people is just not enough. Also there isn't a lock on the door so I have been walked in on while using my "female only" toilet... :S The staff have pretty bad attitudes when you have a small problem. I asked for a towel and that was a big issue...and well I just wouldn't stay here. I didn't book the cheapest hostel in Nah Trang as I have learnt they are grotty...however you get what you pay for and the last 10 places I have stayed have all been about $7 and been fine. This however is the worst place I have EVER stayed and I sleep pretty much anywhere...save yourself some money...don't stay here.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

10 April 2013

Liked: location from the beach , free internet (3 in number) in the open space, breakfast was more or less good with 3 options...

Disliked: the night club is owned by the hotel and within the same premises. A good night's sleep is a premium (till 12.30 pm i guess)...wont let you check-in till it is 12 noon..which is very inconvenient if you are coming by open bus (not walking distance if you are coming by open bus).....but location is quite good at that price......they did not give deserts in the breakfast and was given only when it is asked...Water is supposed to be given during...was not given , since we forgot to ask them...!! you have to ask for everything...there is no key given for the locker ! bathroom is shared with too many people in different rooms (which are considered as separate unit)

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

joana pinto

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 March 2013 joana would recommend this property

Liked: good backpacker atmosphere

Disliked: not many facilites

54.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 March 2013

Liked: Breakfast.

Disliked: The hostel was very loud due to a nightclub being downstairs. Further, the staff appeared to be quite disdainful of the guests and were not very helpful. Our impression of Nha Trang was that it attracts pleasure and party seeking tourists that in turn makes the local people somewhat hostile to all travellers, which I can understand really given the effect it has had on local culture. This was more than exemplified by our experience in Backpacker's Hostel. If you are interesting in anything other than partying from your time in Nha Trang, look elsewhere.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

steven roffe

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

19 February 2013 steven would recommend this property

Liked: Love the cheapness 7 dollors US. had free breakfast the next morning (3 different things), easy to get to beach and the sights in the area... helpfulness the whole time, easy check in.. should have stayed for longer, awesome night life where people will just sit outside the hostel, with Apple red gives u a free beer/cocktails/wine for staying..

Disliked: you do need a TOWEL, they will charge but dont have many.. Make sure you BOOK dont just turn up.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 February 2013

Liked: Atmosphere was OK, nice to meet people. Was very loud, music banging till 2 am.

Disliked: definitely the service of the staff. Very rude, double booked a lot of rooms, but their solution was to shove in more mattresses in rooms. WiFi hardly works, but it is available so shouldn't complain I suppose.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Thomas Jones

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

15 January 2013 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: Wifi is pretty terrible but there are other hot spots nearby so I can get over that - wifi isn't what I came for anyway. Really close to places where you can book snorkelling and flights which is great. Staff are great and friendly, helped with bags from the taxi. Some really friendly people around and bar has free pool (win) and restaurant is great for veggies.

Disliked: Birds are in very very small cages which is ridiculous. One bird is in a cage so small it can't even think about opening it's wings - I didn't enjoy looking at that whilst eating my Pho. Bathrooms aren't great (I don't like showering next to the toilet but that's Vietnam style I suppose). No lockers but I was told leaving stuff behind the counter was safe (I didn't like leaving my photography gear there though). No plugs in my room - had to unplug the fridge.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is awesome, only a 5 minute walk to all the bars, beach, and night market. The staff is very helpful, and ended up extending my stay 2 nights.

Disliked: The aircon that was suppose to come on at night never did for two nights. Other then that I really enjoyed my stay!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the breakfast and welcome drink included are a touch of class

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: You get what you pay for. Good location, easy to meet people and were able to have a shower post-checkout time.

Disliked: The staff were pretty rude and unhelpful. Also the Wifi did not work at all and even the computers downstairs worked sporadically.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

David Weston

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 September 2012 David would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to stay if you like a bit of a party atmosphere, it does get quite loud at night as the bar is just downstairs but its cheap clean and good to meet people! Free breakfast is great as well!

Disliked: Not a place to get an early night!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

colin hart

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

26 August 2012

Liked: Complimentary drink on arrival.

Disliked: Rats running around in garden.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Yassmine Yssef

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 August 2012 Yassmine would recommend this property

Liked: they offer dorm room of 19 pax, but each dorm is separated in a smaller "room" of 8 pers approx within the big room, which was not described like that on the website... Dorms are finally much more friendly then we can think I had a room for myself with my own shower for only 17$ per night, breakfast included, and its a room for 2, so if shared, its only approx 8$ with wifi and air con, and a mini bar. Room is cleaned during the stay not like in other hostels of Vietnam

Disliked: There is no common room except for the small internet room where there is only 3 computers The hotel is just above the Red Apple bar, so it is very noisy at night