HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Mui Ne hostels

Reviews of Mui Ne Backpackers Resort

Hostel | 88 Nguyen Dinh Chieu, Mui Ne, Mui Ne, Vietnam N/A

80.7% Overall Rating

67 out of 77 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (04/04/2014)

Jamie Sutherland thinks…

"The staff were incredibly welcoming and friendly, and the hostel itself was excellent. In one of the best locations in Mui Ne of all the hostels, with a great pool and waterside lounge area. The…"

Read all Mui Ne Backpackers Resort reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Further payment information will be required upon booking. Please use a credit card only to make the booking. We thank you in advance. Cancellation or modification to Reservation If cancelled or modified up to 30 days before date of arrival, no fee will be charged. If cancelled or modified later or in case of a no-show, 100% of the room fee will be charged. We do not accept bookings of more that 6 persons in our dormitories

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Mui Ne?

Contact us directly

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
80.7%

Overall Rating

67 out of 77 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Mui Ne Backpackers Resort'

Atmosphere
77.6%
Location
85.6%
Facilities
80.0%
Cleanliness
85.6%
Staff
76.0%
Value
72.0%
Safety
88.0%
Refine your results Showing 68 of 74 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it has a pool, you really get what you pay for, nothing special

Disliked: wifi not good, they turn off air con at 9am while you are still sleeping and doesn't turn back on until you ask them to sometimes til 6pm. cleaning lady comes in early morning to clean the room while everyone is still sleeing, very disruptive! and check out time suppose be at 11:30am but two cleaning ladies are already waiting in the room for you to get out before 11:30am, kinda annoying cuz my plan is to leave exactly 11:30am because my bus leaves at 1:30pm but i was kinda force to leave before 10am. Air con was not cool enough it's always set to 24 celcius no remote control in the room to adjust it.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jamie Sutherland

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

04 April 2014 Jamie would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were incredibly welcoming and friendly, and the hostel itself was excellent. In one of the best locations in Mui Ne of all the hostels, with a great pool and waterside lounge area. The hostel was relaxed but also quiet in the evenings - a great place to come back to after a hard day at the beach or a big night out! A top place.

Disliked: Jamie left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Nina Arvidsson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 March 2014 Nina would recommend this property

Liked: Over all a nice place.

Disliked: To exenspive.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

alan hamilton

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 March 2014 alan would recommend this property

Liked: it is a well run backpackers beach resort and is a great location for a relaxing`stay on the vietnamese coast-----great internet wi-fi---good swimming pool-----good gardens facing the ocean front----great live music bar next door

Disliked: nothing really-------people need to book before arriving as it appears to be very popular and the only backpackers in mui ni to cater for the travel market

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to Nice cafes Friendly staff and everything is clean Beds by the sea (not a beach!) Big locker for values and even your backpack Pool is nice

Disliked: There's not really a beach but that is just mui ne itself and has less to do with the hostel Cleaning start sometimes at 8.30 am! Airco is set. Starts at 5 pm till 9 am. At 6 am you'll wake up cause of the sun (and traffic). There are no good curtains You cant lock the door

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Katie Dzierozynski

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 February 2014 Katie would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and spacious rooms. Especially liked the shower - made a nice change not flooding out the whole bathroom when having a shower. The place is in a good location and the staff are friendly. We booked a tour through them as well which was really good.

Disliked: Wifi connection is terrible - especial in our room. Rooms were good but not what we expected for the price we paid. I think the hostel does over charge and the rates of rooms are way too high. We have been staying in accommodation similar throughout our trip in Vietnam and have been paying half the price compared to here. There are also signs everywhere telling you what you're not allowed to do ( with lots of exclamation marks). Thought this was pretty unnecessary. However we did enjoy our stay and if you don't mind paying the rates then its a good hostel.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Baolv Liu

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 February 2014

Liked: stuff on bed is clean

Disliked: not friendly at all; the price is not reasonable. If you wanna hire bikes in the hotel, you must must must check the bike before you ride it on road, as there may be broken one, but if you ride on the road then it will be your fault whatever it is or not, what worse, if you are Chinese, the staff may say"You people from China always broke things", then the old lady at the front desk who can't smile will even more show you an expressionless face. This must be the tinniest resort my friend and I have ever known and imagined; it also must be the worst place we stayed in Vietnam,

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Liam Hanlon

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

15 January 2014 Liam would recommend this property

Liked: Has access to the beach, is away from the really touristy part, can hire bicycles for cheap.

Disliked: Was a bit warm in the dorms at night as the A/C was usually set to about 25C.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

nelusha amaladas

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

03 January 2014 nelusha would recommend this property

Liked: everything. location, staff, clean dorms, beach access. the owner also recommended a nice seafood place for me for dinner. she also called the bus company when i was anxious about them picking me up. thank you for that!

Disliked: nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Right on the beach, loved the relaxed atmosphere

Disliked: Some of our things went "missing" Travel agent attached is terrible! Worst bus company ever, DO NOT USE!!!!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Annabel Werumeus Buning

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 December 2013 Annabel would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the little patio you could sit and chill out. Really close to the beach.

Disliked: It was okay, but quite expensive compared to other places I stayed in.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Birgit Melzer

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 November 2013 Birgit would recommend this property

Liked: very central, very friendly stuff, but a bit noisy from bar next door

Disliked: noise from bar next door

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Ignacio Varone

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 October 2013 Ignacio would recommend this property

Liked: The Beach Access is incredible! With a couple of loungers facing the beach, it is the perfect place to spend a sunny afternoon. The Resort in general is pretty nice.

Disliked: We had an ant problem when we were there, they kept appearing and we didn´t know from where. Mui Ne in general is pretty far away, so I advice maybe renting a bike and doing the sand dunes tours on your own.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

15 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very backpacker feel with a friendly atmosphere. A lot of people here taking the same route or have been to places you might be travelling. The staff is very helpful and extremely friendly. Not the least expensive, but great value for the money (secure, pool, clean, etc.)

Disliked: No hot water for tea!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Julien Trottier

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 October 2013 Julien would recommend this property

Liked: Everything!

Disliked: Nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very friendly and accomodating with everything from washing clothes to insights into the country, what was worth seeing and doing. The grounds were immaculate and it was really nice to come home and relax there after a kitesurfing lesson.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lorenz Geng

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

17 August 2013 Lorenz would recommend this property

Liked: Good cheap hostel. Really great location right on the beach with beach chairs to chill and also right near some good restraunts and beach bars. Would defiantly come back to stay again.

Disliked: Only thing was there was a lot of families staying here which did make it feel a little more like a resort rather than a hostel. But in saying that its still quite easy to meet fellow travellers.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Mathew Ladley

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 August 2013 Mathew would recommend this property

Liked: Small but nice room overlooking pool. Very nice and helpful staff

Disliked: Overpriced. The beach was a 5 minute walk away though I'm told the wind moves the sand around a lot so could be closer/further

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

29 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Booked for 3 nights and stayed for 6! Loved the location right on the beach. Booked a private with ocean view. Clean with good AC and ok showers. Rachel and her team are super nice and friendly. Would go back there anytime!!!!

Disliked: Could use a few more beach loungers as some days you have to fight for the few available. But there is also a grassy area to put your towel down.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Rachel the manager is very friendly and helpful. The 6 bed dorm has ensuite bathroom and air con. the hostel has its own part of the beach. They have free wi-fi, tv room, swimming pool and games.

Disliked: The hostel is expensive for asian standards- but for Mui Ne it is a good price

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Angie Lemmer

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2013 Angie would recommend this property

Liked: Everything. The best place to stay. Wished I could have stayed longer! Fun, friendly, safe. Rachel who was managing the place is fantastic, does the most amazing job. She makes you feel welcome as soon as you step in the door. Awesome lady. Close to lots of places to eat and drink. I've been travelling for 2.5 months and it was without a doubt the best place I have stayed in on my travels so far. I met so many lovely people here. Its right on the beach and if the wind gets up a little you can take yourself off to the pool instead. The room was perfect, the bed comfy. Especially liked the fact the room seemed sound proof which was an unexpected bonus. I was so sad to leave and the week I spent here will be in my memories for years to come as one of the best weeks of my travels.

Disliked: Leaving.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 100% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was amazing, right on the beach and in the centre of the main strip. It has a great small pool and the dorms were clean. It's a really good place to meet people.

Disliked: We found the staff to be quite rude and pushy. The American lady was pretty rude on a number of occasions and swore unnecessarily. The dorm room could not be locked and bags could not be put on the floor or beds and had to be kept in the lockers at all time. The aircon is only from 5pm to 9am and in the morning the woman just opened the door to the room waking everybody up to turn it off. It is also kept at quite a high temperature!

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Jonas Jäger

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 May 2013 Jonas would recommend this property

Liked: Wie liked the room and the fact that it was so close to the Beach. The staff was nice and helped us with booking a Tour and bus Tickets.

Disliked: Nothing really. It should be noted that its important to lock your room when you go out. One oft the guests had all his stuff stolen when he didnt lock the room (which was a stupid thing To do).

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

valerie anderson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 May 2013 valerie would recommend this property

Liked: nice room great location, helpful owner

Disliked: nothing

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Kerry Jechilevsky

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

11 May 2013

Liked: The beds were comfy with power points for each bed in the dorm. The room and bathroom were clean. The property is pretty much on the water, which was beautiful.

Disliked: DO NOT USING THE TOUR DESK! They tried to scam us into catching the bus telling us there were no available tickets on the train when there were! Other than that the staff were not all that friendly. The signs all over the place telling you what you cannot do are really unwelcoming. This hostel was not good value for money and I'm sure you could find better value elsewhere!


See all Mui Ne hostels