HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Hue hostels

Reviews of Phong Lan

Guesthouse | 12/66 Le Loi Street, Hue, Vietnam N/A

95.2% Overall Rating

17 out of 18 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (27/06/2014)

"Very friendly helpful staff with adequate English. Walking distance from train station. Offers single rooms, so less expensive for singles. Great breakfast included in room rate."

Read all Phong Lan reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Currency Exchange
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Café
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 0.01

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Hue?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Hue

Gold Hotel
25.57 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Victory Hotel Hue
20.00 USD

Hotel 3 star 78.6% 4 reviews
Song Cam Hotel
10.00 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Huenino hotel
9.07 USD

Hotel 2 star 98.5% 29 reviews
Tran Ly Hotel
3.44 USD

Hotel 5 star 88.9% 307 reviews
Amigo Hotel
7.47 USD

Hotel 4.5 star 88.1% 56 reviews
Binh Duong hotel
6.00 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 88.6% 33 reviews
Google Hotel
4.65 USD

Hostel 82.7% 51 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
95.2%

Overall Rating

17 out of 18 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Phong Lan'

Atmosphere
92.2%
Location
96.7%
Facilities
91.1%
Cleanliness
96.7%
Staff
100.0%
Value
95.6%
Safety
94.4%
Refine your results Showing 14 of 17 reviews
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

27 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly helpful staff with adequate English. Walking distance from train station. Offers single rooms, so less expensive for singles. Great breakfast included in room rate.

Disliked: Minor quibble: WiFi dropped out a bit.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

01 April 2014

Liked: Breakfast was nice. I had an omelette and bread and my husband had fried eggs and toast. Nice Vietnamese drip coffee.

Disliked: 1) No water pressure at all on the 3rd floor. We have been staying in hostels for the past 9 months and this was the worst water pressure I've seen. It literally dripped straight down out of the shower head. I mentioned this to them and they said that it was a hot day and there was no water pressure in the whole city, which wasn't true (our friends staying a few blocks away confirmed). The next morning, we tried again, and the water was only slightly stronger. 2) Wifi on the 3rd floor was weak. We asked them to reset the router and it worked a bit better after that. Not terrible, but not particularly fast. 3) It was a very hot day in Hue and we were so ready for some air con... but our air con didn't do much to cool the room. 4) One staff member asked us just too many questions about what we were doing; where we were going; how much we paid for our motorbikes; where our friends were staying... it was just too much. I know they are trying to be friendly, but we don't need to have 20 questions when entering and leaving the building. 5) No topsheet on the bed. Only a bottom sheet and a thin duvet that barely covered the top of the mattress... and in this heat, I'd personally always prefer a sheet over any type of blanket.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly and helpfull staff. Bicylcle for free, motorcylce for rent

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Run by a lovely , helpful family this hotel is very central .

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Christoph Smrz

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 March 2014 Christoph would recommend this property

Liked: quiet place and good location with a lot of bars and restaurants around, fantastic breakfast with excellent homemade jam!

Disliked: Christoph left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The family was so sweet and helpful. I had made a mistake with my dates and they allowed me to cancel my last night without charging me; very gracious of them.They booked my train/bus for me and even prepared me breakfast very early in the morning so that I could eat before taking the early bus. A parting gift was even offered as thanks; I would stay here again and recommend it (although bear in mind that it's a hotel, it's not a hostel).

Disliked: Until they fix it with HostelWorld, don't rely on their map to get to the hotel; it is totally incorrect and will lead you on a wlld foot chase across the city.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

01 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cleanliness and friendly owners

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

16 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, quiet and comfortable. A good place for a family to stay. The family room was a good size and the balcony was a nice place to sit in the morning and evening.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rainer Dams

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 December 2013 Rainer would recommend this property

Liked: very nice family running hostel. family and staff are very friendly and helpful. excellent location.

Disliked: nothing to comment here

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

21 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful and friendly staff. Staying for two nights in Hue during miserable weather, but the staff at Phong Lon made it very easy!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

19 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: incredibly easy going and friendly family that run the hotel, it was a pleasure being there. They made me feel like it was my home.

Disliked: The single room was a little small but no big issue. The disco across the way was a little loud but not enough to bother my sleep.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

KONGMONG MOUA

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

13 June 2013 KONGMONG would recommend this property

Liked: One of the most friendly staff I have encountered. They recommended places to eat, arranged a motorbike, gave me directions to the tombs and citadel, and arranged by bus ticket to the airport. I had a early bus to catch in the morning and they even came to check on me to make sure I woke up. The mother of packed breakfast and gave me a bracelet as I was leaving.

Disliked: it's off the main road in alley and can get a little dark walking back at night.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

04 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were excellent, very helpful and friendly and organised everything for us at good rates. Excellent value for money.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kang Hong Tuck

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 December 2012 Kang would recommend this property

Liked: I really enjoyed my stay at Phong Lan! The staff is really friendly and they made me feel right at home. The room was really clean and nice, and the bed was extremely comfortable. Breakfast every morning was great as well; do try their homemade jams! I am also very thankful to the young lady who helped me with my t-shirt that had dropped down onto the roof of the restaurant next door. All in all, I would highly recommend staying at Phong Lan while in Hue!

Disliked: It's not exactly the cheapest place, but you really do get what you pay for =)


See all Hue hostels