HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Hoi An hostels

Reviews of Cam Chau homestay

Guesthouse | 157 Tran Nhan Tong, Thanh Nam hamlet, Cam Chau ward Hoi An, Vietnam 0510

86.1% Overall Rating

14 out of 17 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (24/08/2014)

Esmeralda Feenstra thinks…

"Good; we stayed at the house of kay. The people where very nice and the room clean and perfect. The breakfast was also very good! They don't speak english at the homestay but that was not a problem."

Read all Cam Chau homestay reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Currency Exchange
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room
  • Sofa

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 11.62

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Hoi An?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Hoi An

Loc Phat Hoi An Homestay - Villa
12.23 USD

Guesthouse 95.4% 53 reviews
Hoi An Pacific Hotel & Spa
39.20 USD

Hotel 4 star 92.9% 8 reviews
Saclo Homestay and Hostel
9.00 USD

Hostel 91.0% 6 reviews
Hoi An Riverside Bamboo Resort
28.00 USD

Hotel 3.5 star Not yet rated
LOTUS HOI AN HOTEL
16.25 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
THE EARTH VILLA
23.25 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
HOI AN LANTERN HOTEL
25.00 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Ha An Hotel
35.00 USD

Hotel 3 star 95.9% 185 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
86.1%

Overall Rating

14 out of 17 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Cam Chau homestay'

Atmosphere
83.5%
Location
80.0%
Facilities
82.4%
Cleanliness
94.1%
Staff
87.1%
Value
83.5%
Safety
91.8%
Refine your results Showing 14 of 16 reviews
Reset filter
74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Esmeralda Feenstra

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 August 2014 Esmeralda would recommend this property

Liked: Good; we stayed at the house of kay. The people where very nice and the room clean and perfect. The breakfast was also very good! They don't speak english at the homestay but that was not a problem.

Disliked: Bad; the girl who arranged the tours for us, scammed us for a lot of money. She arranged traintickets for us from danang to hue. We paid her 700.000 dong. Afterward we find out that there was another fake paper stampled over the price. The normal price was 182.000 dong. Also the taxi to my son was overcharged. We did give her a tip and she took it with no shame. We were sad to find out because we had such a nice stay. We recommend you always arrange your own traintickets at the trainstation and check first the lonely planet. Even if people are so nice to you.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: staying in a vietnamese home was a nice break from the generic rowdy experience of a hostel. i was pleased to find that my room had its own entrance so i felt as though i could come and go as i pleased without disrupting my host. peaceful yet close to everything.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Baolv Liu

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 February 2014

Liked: clean and tidy, nice people, the first breakfast is tradition, delicious and well prepared

Disliked: actually it's the host's bedroom, if you live in the house, they'd go to stay with their friends. the breakfast had in the second morning is not good, pho bought outside, no yogurt though had seen the host took them out from the fridge,

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Corinne Ratcliffe

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 January 2014 Corinne would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely family in beautiful Hio An. We stayed with Van Huyen which I would recommend asking for. Great that our money is going directly to a Vietnamese family. Simple room and ensuite but that's all you need. free bicycles to ride to the old town. The best experience we have had so far in Vietnam.

Disliked: Bed was a little springy but I'm only being picky. Everything else was great

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: really good homestay. had mom's birthday-dinner with the family

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Richard Parry

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 March 2013 Richard would recommend this property

Liked: Hoi An is a must-see on any Vietnam journey and staying with a Vietnamese family in a homestay is a great way to immerse yourself in the culture. Very quite location, friendly helpful staff and only a few minutes bike ride from the centre of town.

Disliked: There were no working internet facilities or wifi and no one in my home spoke any English so it was a bit interesting getting information. The main office was helpful though and being a bit isolated was almost a positive of the experience.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mark Wager

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 January 2013 Mark would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed with Mr Dung and his family and couldn't have been more comfortable. Our room was lovely with a comfortable bed, mosquito net, air conditioning and an en suite bathroom. The room was spotlessly clean and breakfast was FANTASTIC. There were also free bikes for us to use which were great and Mr Dung gave us a really useful map so that we could find our way into town and back again. We had a really lovely time staying here and were sad to leave!

Disliked: We have absolutely no complaints.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Patrick Luna

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 September 2012 Patrick would recommend this property

Liked: The awesome girl that translated and provided any services needed while in the city. very helpful! since the host family didn't speak English well. Free bike to use to travel back and fourth to town.

Disliked: nothing

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 March 2012

Liked: It was very clean

Disliked: Very far from the center, The adress on the site is not the one I stayed in since it was a "network" of homestay. The toilet and shower were outside of the room. If you are a woman travelling by yourself it is very scary to come back after dark. No one speaks English so you can't communicate if you need something

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Alexander Decker

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 March 2012 Alexander would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and helpful family, very nice food for breakfast and dinner (on request). Regular contact to homestay agency manager with good English skills. Very nice and clean room. Friendly and recommendable airport-pickup (DaNang).

Disliked: Very limited English was spoken by the family we stayed and thus no real 'insight into the Vietnamese culture' was possible. The rental bikes would need some maintenance

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

19 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The family we stayed with we're lovely and friendly and the house was clean. We had a budget room but it was still good. Breakfast was usually local food and very nice too. Location is halfway between beach and main town. We enjoyed our stay and would recommend it.

Disliked: The family spoke very little English so sometimes it was difficult to communicate but then again I don't speak any Vietnamese so who am I to complain and there was a management company on hand at all times if required. Main town is approx 3km away but there are bikes for hire. Overall good value stay.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mariette Mooij

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals

06 March 2012 Mariette would recommend this property

Liked: The people are so helpful and friendly. They go out of their way to make everything pleasant for you. We have no complains whatsoever. Very good value for money.

Disliked: Nothing.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A lovely experience with a really lovely family; the host speaks very little English but is a very sweet, warm, happy gentleman. He made ginger tea for me on my first day as had a bad journey and offered his bike to me when he bumped into me walking into town. His wife ironed my clothes, made me nice breakfast and even invited me to join the family for dinner. The younger son was the main translater. You can hire a bike from them and get your laundry done for a small fee. The room was also spacious with a sweet 4 poster bed. A heart warming experience that made Hoi An a far more personal experience; highly recomended.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sara Han

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2011 Sara would recommend this property

Liked: The location is good, near the ancient city, friendly host provided bicycle so to visit around. Room is clean with WIFI, also can use computer in the living room!

Disliked: No dislike.


See all Hoi An hostels