HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Sunflower Hotel Hoi An Hoi An Hostel

397 Cua Dai Road, Downtown, Hoi An, Vietnam

Atmosphere 72%

Cleanliness 62%

Facilities 70%

Location 62%

Safety 65%

Staff 62%

Value 73%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Breakfast
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • Airport Transfers
  • Cafe
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Hair Dryers
  • Housekeeping
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Swimming Pool
  • Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup 250.00USD

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:30

Policies

  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Hoi An?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 72%

Cleanliness 62%

Facilities 70%

Location 62%

Safety 65%

Staff 62%

Value 73%

Showing 51-60 of 131 reviews

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: If you are looking for a loud backpacker hangout than this is your place. I was looking more for the "flashpacker" style accommodation and did not find it. The place is big and so therefore comes with a lot of noise, music is pumping by the pool all day, which is fine but on both nights I was woken up by drunk idiots screaming and yelling in the hallway for prolonged periods of time. I clearly just wasn't matched for this place and yes there is a pool but its small and of course people reserve all the lounge chairs in the morning and you have no chance of ever capturing one. The room itself was a bit dingier than I expected from what I saw of the pictures. It was definitely not completely clean there was dust and hairs all over the bathroom and our rooms were missing the sheets on arrival. The front desk staff was helpful and nice but the breakfast ladies clearly looked like they hated their jobs. The breakfast was okay, not the best or worst, get there early and you'll be fine. It's not a far walk to the old town and 3km from the beach. There are tons of restaurants around, I highly recommend the place right next door as well as tailor shops and bike rental right out front. If you are looking for your typical hostel than this is your place but if you're looking for something a bit nicer look elsewhere. Free pickup from the bus station was a nice bonus!

37% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 40%
37% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The breakfast is really big and they offer differant kind of eggs, if you get up early you can get pancakes aswell. They have a nice swimmingpool.Nice terasse outside, but you are not allowed to stay there after 10pm

Disliked: The Hostel is really big. There are a lot of people who are checking in and out every day. So there are like 5o bagbacks in the corner. There is no secruity watchig the bags. Because of the crowds the staff is really unfriendly. They are shouting the whole time. Breakfast is really expensive and the stay aswell. The rooms are really dirty. My matress and the one above me was full of mould. The walls aswell. They didn't really clean the room. and didn't care about the bathroom. It was so dirty with a lot of hair, sand and dirt. They didnt clean it once in the 4 days i stayed there. At about 10pm you are not allowed to stay in the garden nor to play pool until u finished. I wasn't tired so i went to the area at the reception to read there on a couch. But i wasnt allowed to sit there either. they told me to go to bed and sleep now.

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Fantastic hotel in mid distance between the old town and the beach. The free breakfast is amazing with all you can eat. Surrounded with cafes, restaurants and travel agents. Very customer-oriented staff. I highly recommend Sunflower as one of the best options in beautiful Hoi An.

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife

Liked: Always stuff going on and people to meet. The main front desk girl was very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Asked for a bath at for the room and was told they don't have them.

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: It's huge and all the rooms are dorms so there's loads of people there to meet and chat to. staff were very helpful and arranged us everything that we needed, and we're happy to hang out maps and directions as well as recommend plenty of good tailors. The bar had reasonable food at a good price and was a good place to hang out and meet people

Disliked: Still feels a little like a hotel, a good chill out area and a few more comers would be awesome

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 40%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: It has a great breakfast and the staff are really friendly, it has a cool outdoor area too.

Disliked: The breakfast is $3 which bumps the room price up to $9. It's not possible to get a room and no breakfast but you can easily get a breakfast from the market for less than $1.

Customer would recommend this property

46% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 60%
46% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, City break, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Nothing spectacular, it was average, the location was ok but can get closer to the main area and river.

Disliked: It's far from decent restaurants and nightlife, also far from beach. Semi clean but quite mouldy in bathrooms (although typical for SEA). Not really hotel, more hostel. Do not stay if looking for a quite place as people party night through in the hallways! Staff not helpful or pleasant to deal with.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The pool and breakfast are fantastic. There are tons of backpackers staying here and there is a nice vibe about the place. Good location between town and the beach even if it does mean a bit of walking/cycling

Customer would recommend this property

43% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 40%
43% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The pool area was nice and the breakfast is delicious.

Disliked: Definitely a party hostel with dormmates getting back at 4am every night, very loudly. Bathroom and room weren't particularly clean. The hostel overcharges for their bus tickets so make sure you book elsewhere.

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Nice swimmingpool, clean and spacious bathroom, they'll give you water if you book something with them, like a busride. If you leave late in the afternoon for another destination you can still take a shower. Staff is very friendly and helpfull!

Disliked: Not really a place to lounge as the seats were not comfortable.10-15 min walk to the old town.Booked a sleeperbus for quite a lot of dollars which was supposed to be the best bus with hardly any locals sleeping on the floor and so on.. That's what the staff said. Turns out the bus was really old (been in better for less money), people sleeping on the floor and no toilet in the bus!

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability