HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Sunflower Hotel Hoi An Hoi An Hostel

397 Cua Dai Road, Downtown, Hoi An, Vietnam

Atmosphere 72%

Cleanliness 62%

Facilities 70%

Location 62%

Safety 65%

Staff 62%

Value 73%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Breakfast
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • Airport Transfers
  • Cafe
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Hair Dryers
  • Housekeeping
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Swimming Pool
  • Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup 250.00USD

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:30

Policies

  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Hoi An?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 72%

Cleanliness 62%

Facilities 70%

Location 62%

Safety 65%

Staff 62%

Value 73%

Showing 21-30 of 136 reviews

34% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
34% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 May 2015

Travel Type:
With a large group / tour

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: It was close enough to walk to the town centre

Disliked: The beds weren't changed during our stay. We asked for clean towels and were refused. There were bugs everywhere. The wifi was temperamental. The air con was not working properly. The staff were rude and unwelcoming. The food at dinner was disgusting. The vegetarian pasta option had meat in it. We ate in it once and never again. Flies were sitting on the breakfast every morning. The receptionist lost my friends passport and after asking him to search (he was not apologetic or helpful) found it among other travellers passports. Ridiculously overpriced for an awful hotel. Would never stay here or recommend this hotel.

51% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 40%
51% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 May 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Good free breakfast and affordable

Disliked: My room and locker didn't lock. This is also kind of a party hostel so it's noisy.

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 100%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Mar 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Good private rooms! Awesome breakfast (buffet)

Disliked: Party place, if you want to sleep, avoid the dorms.Quite far from the old city.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The hostel is conveniently located close to the old town where most eateries and tailor shops are. The pool is pretty clean and nice to hang around by. Dorms are clean and en-suite.

Disliked: Staff is okay, but not the most friendly and accommodating I've met. Serious lack of power outlets in room!!!! Only 2-3 in a 56-person dorm.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Nice bar and pool. Good breakfast.

Disliked: The staff in general weren't very friendly, accept those working at the bar.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The room was nice, as was the bathroom. The breakfast buffet is quite decent, too.The staff here are very friendly and helpful. We had to check out early because we couldn't get much sleep (see below), and the staff were really chilled about it.

Disliked: The noise. It's not the staff's fault, more that it's a noisy backpacker spot where the music goes till past midnight and the guests don't stop drunkenly shouting and singing till 2 or 3 in the morning.That said, it seems a good place for those whose priorities in Hoi An are drinking and socialising.

49% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
49% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Breakfast was good, cheap bicycle rent.

Disliked: It really depends what you're looking for in a hostel/hotel. There is a party atmosphere in the hostel, but that doesnt appeal to some travelers. Which includes roommates coming home really drunk, being loud and puking in the bathroom. Luckily i had a private room, but these are the stories i've heard from my friends who stayed in the dorms. Sheets are not clean at all, and there are many beds overbooked as they tell you to just 'pick a bed'. There are definitely much better hotels or guest houses to find in Hoi An. Go look for them. I wouldnt recommend this hotel, at all.

43% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 40%
43% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The breakfast at Sunflower is great, the pool table and pool area is okay too.

Disliked: The staff didn't seem very happy at all, and the room probably had the worst upkeep of any place I have stayed- there was mould on the sheets and I never witnessed anyone clean the bathroom for the two days I was there. Our friends on the first floor had rats in their room at one point. I changed to DK's house for the rest of my stay in Hoi An, which is much more expensive but so worth it!

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: The Sunflower is predominately for youger backpackers who mostly stay for 2 or 3 days but it does have range of facilities to suit low to medium budget travelers. It was a fun place with very good staff, especially the breakfast/dining staff who were like clockwork. Food was good and the bar and pool area was a good social place.

Disliked: Nothing much. What you see is what you get, and for the money what you get is plenty.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Dec 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great social scene! Definitely an awesome place to meet other travelers. Rooms are fine. Showers have good hot water. A short bike ride (7 mins) or walk (20 mins) to the main town.

Disliked: It's a bit strange that they keep your passport until checkout. Everywhere else that I've been they take down the required information and then return your passport. When I asked to have my passport back the same day, the receptionist got angry.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability