HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Sunflower Hotel Hoi An Hoi An Hostel

397 Cua Dai Road, Downtown, Hoi An, Vietnam

Atmosphere 74%

Cleanliness 64%

Facilities 73%

Location 62%

Safety 67%

Staff 64%

Value 76%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Breakfast
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • Airport Transfers
  • Cafe
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Hair Dryers
  • Housekeeping
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Swimming Pool
  • Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup 250.00USD

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:30

Policies

  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Hoi An?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 74%

Cleanliness 64%

Facilities 73%

Location 62%

Safety 67%

Staff 64%

Value 76%

Showing 101-92 of 92 reviews

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: This place is a bit overpriced for a dorm. There is nothing particularly special about the accommodation, and I think charges higher due to lack of dorm accom in hoi an. That said the buffet breakfast really is very good and probably makes up the value. A lot of big groups come through here. Difficult to meet people if solo.

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Breakfast was really good, lots of fruits, omelet, rice, spaghetti etc.Swimming ool is small and full of chlorine but nice.

Disliked: It is absolutely a party hostel. people are going out and coming in in the middle of the night and not caring if someone is sleeping.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Really good hostel, v social and food is cheap and nice

Disliked: Quite expensive, but is probably the best place to stay in hoi an if youre wanting a social atmosphere

Customer would recommend this property

51% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 40%
51% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Work / volunteering

Liked: The people it attracts are worth going for, and it offeres a nice seclusion when you've had enough of exploring and just want to stay in a nice cocoon. The breakfast is great too, and the pool.

Disliked: I really didn't care of the staff. I was expecting from the reviews that they would be helpful but I found them to be rude, unhelpful, and generally was mistreated by them. They understood English perfectly yet went out of their way to ignore guests or give explanations when I would ask them for things like a receipt, they would just say "no." They did not explain that they soldl locks at the hostel, and refused to help me with booking my transportation home. Overall this place is overrated in terms of service, and the location is quite far from Old town so you have to rent a bicycle.

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Ya know what? I don't understand when people gave a low rating for this place just because of they had to deal with uncivilized drunken backpackers that shared same room as them. Seriously? This place is awesome. The staffs are friendly and helpful although at point sounded a lil bit fierce (probably because they gotta deal with lots of no-manners backpackers). The room and bathroom/toilet is clean. Good mattress, good bed sheet, good duvet, good pillow, good a/c control... There's nothing for me to complaint about! And the buffet breakfast... AWESOME!!! I feel like I am actually pay for the breakfast rather than the room! Oh, and outside of the cafe, there is a swimming pool! Good place to hang out with other backpackers.

Disliked: None. I like this place.

Customer would recommend this property

51% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 40%
51% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Good place to meet people

Disliked: Lots, reception staff very ride and always to busy to help, on checkout they made us. Get a taxi when we knew the bis was goong to the same bustop to collect people arriving on the bus we were going on to hue, also lied about festival that was on on town to try get is to stay at hotel bar to drink, money grabbers

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The breakfast buffet was awesome, the best we had in hostels in this price category so far. The room was small and simple, but very cute (we stayed under the roof). The garden bar and the pool are really beautiful, though crowed all the time. But it's nice to meet people :)Some of the staff could speak English, but many didn't...

Disliked: The guests in this hostel are quite young and eager to party. If you just want to relax a bit, maybe lay down on the pool, it is not the best place to go, since it is loud most of the time and you will never find a free spot at the pool (everyone used towels to block the seats...). We couldn't sleep one night without disturbance, since our neighbors came back from party at 5 in the morning and screamed ten minutes and hammered on the door next to us or rang the room bell.Moreover, DON'T book bus tickets etc. with the hotel, you pay nearly double than if you would purchase them at the many ticket offices...I wouldn't stay there again, I experienced better value for money in many other places in Vietnam (though the breakfast was really great :)

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Very easy place to meet other travellers, with an outdoor pool and bar, buffet breakfast. It is a little way from the old town but closer to the beach. It's best to hire a bicycle from the front only 20,000 d and you can get around easier.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: the Sunflower is more a hotel than a youth hostel even though the offer dorms. they have a beautiful location (building wise definately a hotel) with a pool and their own bar/restaurant where they also serve breakfast (included in the price!). good thing was that they do (motor) bike rentals!

Disliked: the Sunflower is really comfortable and the only downside was the poor airconditioning; the lobby was really warm and the room did have an aircon but wasnt functioning too well...

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The pool was nice and it looks nice met some great people here.

Disliked: the shower was broke and didn't work properly, the floor in our dorm was always dirty, they lie about bus and trains how full they are so we had to stay an extra night even though we know there was spaces! They say there are no rooms to some people but others ask and they get a room! They close everything too early it forces you to either go out or go to your room!

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability