HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Saigon Backpackers Hostel @ Pham Ngu Lao Ho Chi Minh Hostel

373/20 Pham Ngu Lao, District 1, Ho Chi Minh, Vietnam

Atmosphere 73%

Cleanliness 83%

Facilities 80%

Location 91%

Safety 87%

Staff 90%

Value 86%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Late Check-out
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Cable TV
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Currency Exchange
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Reading Light
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Restaurant
  • Steam room
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup 13.00USD

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 13:30

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Ho Chi Minh?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 73%

Cleanliness 83%

Facilities 80%

Location 91%

Safety 87%

Staff 90%

Value 86%

Showing 1-10 of 10 reviews

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Nov 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Free breakfast and balconies were definitely a plus

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: It's modern and clean and way better than I would have expected for the price. Staff is really friendly and helpful - it was a great place to stay!

Disliked: I didn't know that there were 2 Saigon Backpacker Hostels so I ended up at the wrong one first. However, as they are close by it wasn't a big issue.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location. Room size

Disliked: Approach road was conjusted

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: I booked a bed through HostelBookers only to get a mail 5 minutes later from the hostel saying that the bed wasn't available and due to technical glitch, HostelBookers had allowed me to book it. Instead they were willing to give me another bed (which was more expensive) but at the same rate I paid online. They were quick and apologetic to my emails and I felt comfortable to carry on the booking. On arriving in HCMC, I found it a little difficult to get there since its in one the back alleys. But turned out to be a good thing because it's away from the chaos and noise yet at very close walking distance to the main streets of Pham Ngu Lao. I stayed here for a night when I first arrived in Ho Chi Minh. The receptionists (2 young girls) were extremely efficient and helped me book tickets for bus/train/flights to places in Vietnam. On my way out of Vietnam, I had 5 hours to kill in Ho Chi Minh so thought I'd take a chance and see if they would let me leave my bags with them. As expected the staff was very friendly, even though I doubt they recognized me from staying there just 2 weeks back. But they let me keep my bags, use the internet, and make calls. Saigon Backpackers truly understand the needs of a backpacker and helps you out in every way!

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. There are cheap places to eat at both ends of the alley and it is a 1minute walk to the large park where there is always something going on. Freee breakfast, movies, close to everything and free pool.

Disliked: Book your bus tickets on the main road.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Friendly staff, great location, fast Internet, clean and reasonable price. Couldn't ask for more!

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Spent a really nice week in the hostel! The staff was fantastic and always available! They organised a tour to see mekong delta.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Rooms and toilets are clean, good location& accommodating staff. i like the common area where you can relax and meet other guests. I will definitely recommend this place to my friends who wants to visit Saigon.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 May 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The receptionists were both extremely helpful and kind. Very knowledgeable on the city too.

Customer would recommend this property

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Mar 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: friendly staff, nice living room

Disliked: bathroom, dirty pillow

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability