HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of A Kim Dung Hotel Ho Chi Minh Hostel

184 Tran Quang Khai, P. Tan Dinh ward, Dist. 1,, Ho Chi Minh, Vietnam

Atmosphere 81%

Cleanliness 91%

Facilities 85%

Location 80%

Safety 87%

Staff 91%

Value 81%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Airport Transfers
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • Free Internet Access
  • Internet Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Mini Supermarket
  • Reading Light
  • Steam room
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 12:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Ho Chi Minh?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 81%

Cleanliness 91%

Facilities 85%

Location 80%

Safety 87%

Staff 91%

Value 81%

Showing 1-2 of 2 reviews

29% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
29% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It wasn't far from the airport.

Disliked: First of all, the staff had no English ability whatsoever upon arrival. I have never had to give my passport to a hotel overnight before, and the staff couldn't communicate why they needed it.Next, when we checked out, the staff charged us the wrong price. As a result, and whilst still travelling through SE Asia, I had the stressful experience of dealing with emails about the payment issue from the hotel. They had charged my card the full price, which meant that I had paid for the hotel in euros at a terrible exchange rate, instead of the Vietnamese Dong I had specifically prepared beforehand. Your website stated that the full amount would be payable in local currency, so I feel hostelbookers and the hotel were solely responsible for this error, but I paid for it. I will not be using either in future, and I deeply regret doing so in the first place.

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 40%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: This place is very nice and the rooms are clean and tidy. It is effectively a budgetr hotel the issue I had was that it was so far away from the centre of town.

Disliked: The distance from the centre and that fact that there was no atmosphere as it is a budet hotel not a hostel. You could get better value for money osmeehere else

51% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 20%
51% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Sep 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Location ok near a normal part of Saigon and a nice walk to the center through market.

Disliked: Overpriced, awful tourist information includes trying to con you into $33 bus to Mui Ne, etc... its $6 on a nice bus from the north bus station.

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 40%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Sep 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The property was clean, it turned out to be in quite a good location, the complimentary breakfeast was also quite nice. Overall I found the place to be much better than average. The owners English and conversation skills are quite excellent. The fact that he managed to pick me up at the airport with such late notice was also commendable.

Disliked: I would not recommend booking your excursions with them as the prices are slightly inflated. ie: a half day journey lasted around 5 hours and had us back quite earlier than would be expected. They are very helpful with giving you options for turther travel, but don't be suprised to find the commission a bit higher than expected. (for myself a difference of 20 USD) No hot water in the dorms.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Sep 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Family Holiday

Liked: Great service. I got a pick up from the airport because i was arriving at midnight and everything from pick up to check in happened seamlessly. Free wi-fi and phone calls, great dorms and close to the airport.

Disliked: Nothing.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Aug 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Most of the staff are absolutely lovely. They are more than happy to help.

Disliked: The managers wife at this hostel is over friendly. Quite intrusive at times...

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Aug 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Amazing Hostel, the concierge Xavier made sure that everyone of my needs was met immediately and made me feel right at home. I even had my room upgraded for free!

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Jul 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The free breakfast was served on the rooftop and the manager was so helpful and friendly. Room was nice and big and the location was near the central sights.

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Jul 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The owner & his family were very,very helpful. I loved the sun terrace on the roof and a good breakfast.

Disliked: The shower was poor.

Customer would recommend this property

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Jun 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Friendly staff

Disliked: No locks on the doors of the dorm room and no lockers available made me feel very uneasy in the place. Also although the owner was very friendly he did seem to be trying to push a lot of tours onto you. The rooster in the building across the way will also ensure there is no chance of a lie in if that is what you want and its location on a main road leads to a lot of traffic n oise aswell. It is also not located near any of the tourist sites.

Check Availability