HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Phan Lan 2 Ho Chi Minh Hostel

283/6 Pham Ngu Lao, District 1, Ho Chi Minh, Vietnam

Atmosphere 83%

Cleanliness 93%

Facilities 83%

Location 93%

Safety 95%

Staff 88%

Value 88%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • Airport Transfers
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Cable TV
  • Card Phones
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • Currency Exchange
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Parking
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Vending Machines

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Ho Chi Minh?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 83%

Cleanliness 93%

Facilities 83%

Location 93%

Safety 95%

Staff 88%

Value 88%

Showing 1-4 of 4 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities, Visiting friends or family, Work / volunteering

Liked: Great place to stay in the center of Ho Chi Minh City. The staff were particularly friendly - available 24h and always very ready to help. They organised day trips at last minute and these were all of very high quality. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. Being just off Pham Ngu Lao the hostel managed to be right in the center of action yet with quiet rooms. Cold drinks were available at reception at cheap prices.Earlier in the year I spent 1 month at Pham Lan whilst working and had a great time. They were able to offer me a generously discounted rate and I made good friends with the staff. In all, whether you are looking for a place to spend a short or long period of time, I could not reccommend Phan Lan 2 more highly: cheap, relaxing, comfortable and friendly.

Disliked: Very little to dislike. The toilets are a bit small, but this was not a problem. They were always clean and with running hot and cold water.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Clean and hospitable with great security, and staff willing to assist with your experience in vietnam- Van and his team are ultimate professionals. Washing service available, great WIFI, and superb location. I booked and additional 5 nights and used the hotel as my base for exploring Vietnam.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The staff here are amazing. Initially we were only meant to stay one night but we ended up staying for 5!

Disliked: N/a

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: It was located just off the main backpacker strip so it was a short walk to bars and food but not tô busy or noisy . The staff made good recommendations in terms of where to eat and places to see in HCMC.

Disliked: No wifi

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The rooms were spacious and clean and the staff were extremely friendly and happy to help. They allowed us to pay for half a day in the room when we were leaving late on the evening, and we found booking our ongoing bus tickets hassle free. The location is great as there are plenty of bars, coffee shops and restaurants within a few minutes walk, and being set back from the main street it was quiet at night.

Disliked: We arrived at 5pm and had to wait until 6.30 until our rooms were ready to check in to.

Customer would recommend this property

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 80%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The place was clean and comfortable and in a good location. We had no complaints about the actual accommodation itself. Would be happy to recommend the place if you're planning on booking tours/scooters/etc elsewhere anyway (or not planning on doing any of that at all).

Disliked: We felt that the one of the members of staff was trying to screw us around on a couple of occasions.First, we asked one evening to hire motorbikes for the next day. We asked for manuals (because they were cheaper and we didn't care), and were told that would be fine. Then the next morning, we got a long story about how it was really hard to get manuals, and got offered one that (we were told) belonged to the boss, and told another was on its way. We tried the first one, and found it had basically no front brake -- we were told we should just use the foot brake instead. No thanks. We went down the road and hired bikes from somewhere else instead, so it was all fine, but it wasted nearly an hour of our day, which meant we missed seeing some of what we'd planned to see in the Mekong Delta.Second, we asked whether he could book bus tickets to Siem Reap for us, and we asked to go with Mekong Express. He made a phone call and told us they were full. He then dealt with some other customers for a moment, and then told us he'd called a second company (which we also would have been happy with) and that they were full too. I hadn't seen him use the phone, so am a little suspicious whether he even made the call. He then called a third company we'd never heard of, and booked us on that. We got him to cancel that booking (he hadn't checked with us whether we were OK with that company before booking the tickets -- and we weren't) and we walked around the corner to the Mekong Express agents and bought tickets directly. We noticed on their screens that the bus was not even close to fully booked at that stage.We had this place recommended by a friend who really enjoyed their tours, so maybe you'll be fine too. But personally I wouldn't trust dealing with these guys again.

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Mar 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Almost everything, the staff is very friendly, everything is very nice. The breakfast is ok.

Disliked: No Window in my room, no map of the city including all the district (but one of the central area)

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Feb 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Family Holiday, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Clean, safe and conveniently located with a very helpful staff who booked us an excellent trip to the Cao Dai Temple and Cu-Chi Tunnels

Disliked: Nothing - but for the price we have had toiletries provided and a more extensive breakfast.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Jul 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: I spent a month at Phan Lan while taking an ESL teaching certification course. It was an excellent stay. Both receptionists speak English pretty well, and were genuinely concerned about our stay being a good one. We had some good conversations with them too. Tours were never pushed on us, but they do book them for their guests. We found the staff honorable and trustworthy, something important for us when staying a long time. The decor is classy. The rooms had a small fridge, TV and lockable storage locker. Beds had sheets and blankets. Room was clean. For breakfast there, we usually had an omelet, bread, banana(s), pineapply juice and tea or coffee. It was a good breakfast, and better than what some cafes offer for breakfast. If you'd like more food variety, Sozo and Highlands cafes are nearby. Overall, a great experience, and I will stay there anytime I need a hotel in HCMC.

Disliked: They don't have a common area, like a lounge, as some people have noted, but quite a few guesthouses don't. Phan Lan does have a receptionist area and dining room though.

Customer would recommend this property

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Jun 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: I like where the hotel was located. Right on the main strip of bars and restaurants, but behind where the action was. So it was not too loud.

Disliked: There are many other hotels that are in the area that are cheaper, and have the same facilities to offer. We were going to stay for 3 nights, but only stayed for 1, and moved somewhere that was cheaper.We booked a pick up from the airport, but our flight was delayed. Nobody was there to pick us up, so we payed for our own ride, and the owner also made us pay for half of the pick up that we did not use.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability