HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Budget Hostel 2

Hostel | 10 Nguyen Van Trang Street, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam N/A

77.4% Overall Rating

16 out of 20 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (08/04/2014)

Henriette Wulff thinks…

"I slept very comfortable, although it was very hot, because the beds were very comfy and they all had a fan. The location i very good."

Read all Budget Hostel 2 reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Fax
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Café
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 14.69
  • Towel USD 0.70

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Ho Chi Minh City?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Ho Chi Minh City

Ngoclinh Hotel
11.00 USD

Guesthouse 89.6% 103 reviews
Golden Wind Hotel
10.77 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
The King Hotel
11.19 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
NGOC THAO GuestHouse
8.00 USD

Guesthouse 92.5% 100 reviews
VY KHANH GUESTHOUSE
8.70 USD

Guesthouse 91.7% 114 reviews
Thanh Thuong Guesthouse
7.00 USD

Guesthouse 91.7% 367 reviews
Rang Dong Hotel
20.27 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
ANH DAO GUESTHOUSE
8.39 USD

Hostel 70.5% 3 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
77.4%

Overall Rating

16 out of 20 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Budget Hostel 2'

Atmosphere
68.0%
Location
94.0%
Facilities
67.0%
Cleanliness
68.0%
Staff
85.0%
Value
86.0%
Safety
74.0%
Refine your results Showing 17 of 20 reviews
Reset filter
74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very cheap, decent beds, good location

Disliked: Somewhat dirty

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Henriette Wulff

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

08 April 2014 Henriette would recommend this property

Liked: I slept very comfortable, although it was very hot, because the beds were very comfy and they all had a fan. The location i very good.

Disliked: It's hard to find because it's on top of a cafe. The bathrooms smelled like sewage and there was just a shower in the small toilet room. The wifi was slooow

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Hendry William

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 March 2014 Hendry would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap accomodation , friendly staff . its enough for 5usd for dorm AC

Disliked: no dislike

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Madonna Crouse

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

26 January 2014 Madonna would recommend this property

Liked: Could not ask for a better location, it's right in the middle of everything and close to everywhere. Staff is very friendly and helpful. It's a very sociable place to stay, the guests mingle and hang out together. You can not get a better price for a clean, comfortable bed.

Disliked: Finding out they didn't offer a luggage room or laundry service, as stated in the property's description, when we arrived at the location. If you want the free breakfast, you will need to be there by 8-8:30 or it will be gone. They offer a discounted price if you stay longer. We were staying for 5 days so we got the discounted price but when we decided to stay an additional 2 days they wanted to charge us the higher rate because in order to get the discounted price you must prepay for the entire stay at the same time. Huh?!? After a little arguing, they let us stay at the discounted rate but the policy inconveniences travelers and discourage people from staying additional days. I'm not sure why they would want to do that.

The property's response is...

57.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Emiliano Altavista

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 December 2013 Emiliano would recommend this property

Liked: The worker

Disliked: The safe, and the clean

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Minh Pham

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 September 2013 Minh would recommend this property

Liked: It was cheap and the staff were friendly.

Disliked: Possibly how many beds they crammed into a room, but then it is what you pay for.

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

adam kesterton

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 August 2013 adam would recommend this property

Liked: the people were very friendly, the lady who ran the kitchen area couldnt speak a word of english but we comunicated easily enough and the 2 people who seemed in charge were very helpful and had good english skills, not that its a problem for me but i was aware that it was flagged by previous visitors. so very cheap although the price went up to 4 dollars on our 2nd day as the first was a "special rate" but it was still the cheapest by far in the region.

Disliked: although the rooms had lockers the top room didnt have a door on but was fine for us. im never very security minded so i didnt care much but others might.

The property's response is...

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Noor Anita Mohd Tahir

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 July 2013

Liked: Friendly and helpful staffs. And nice Pho (noodle soup) at the cafe below. That's it.

Disliked: Despite very friendly and helpful staffs, this hostel is such a major turn down, at least for me. Nothing quite like in the pictures. Nothing. When I was there, the so-called common area has no sofa, just few wooden chairs and 2 tables; and the public computers cramped next to each other right next to the receptionist table. The a/c room or even the fan room was pathetic. I felt like I sleep in a chicken cub. 3-tiers bunk beds situated next to another left no space (just about 3 inches, sort of) between me and my "neighbor" although there's a curtain to separate us. And the foam mattress is thin. If you opted for fan room, take note that the wall fan is just right above your head. Doesn't matter 21-beds dormitory or 18-beds, every floor only have 1 little tiny bathroom cum toilet. At points you probably could smell the funny smells from the the toilet right inside your room although its clean. I booked for 2 nights but ended up just stay for 1 1/2 only as the second night I ran away to another place that much better at only $1 more.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel cost $1, the rooms have triple height bunk beds which all have fans and a locker which was fine for me, there is good wifi in the rooms, the guy sorted out our buses and a 5 minute walk to the main market, lots of food choices around.

Disliked: The bathrooms could do with a clean

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: For four dollars a night I got more than I expected. All was good enough.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Emily Fitzpatrick

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 May 2013 Emily would recommend this property

Liked: 5 mins walk from backpackers main area but nice and quite.perfect location for me

Disliked: Emily left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and cheap beds for backpackers

Disliked: The dorm room was cramped but for one night it was a great place to stay

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

11 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is good. Good staff,very clean and new Price is cheap. I would recommend.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Inez Rahmadyani

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference

07 April 2013 Inez would recommend this property

Liked: Convenient location, easy to get around. Bed is comfortable and clean. Overall, for 5 US$ per night is a cost saver if you only seek a place to crash on.

Disliked: When I stayed here, there is a construction beside the hostel so it's quite noisy. Room consists of 12 or 15 beds , with a curtain separates each bed but the room is quite small considering the number of people stay here. If you're a Muslim, there's no space in room left to do daily prayers, the alley is very narrow approx 1 meter wide. In the beginning, I am having argument with the owner because I've given fan room although I did book for an AC room. Apparently, it is because the information on the hostelbookers page doesnt explain that the room I've booked is non AC room, I thought it was an AC room because the description said so.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 March 2013

Liked: It is dirt cheap while still in this opening promotion. Location is good. They let us check in early.

Disliked: They haven't finished building it yet, and the actual rooms are not like the photos. Picture a huge line of triple bunks, all in a line hard against eachother. Will be so terrible when it is full, but it is fine when 3/4 empty. The staff seem very un-familiar with how to run a hostel. Also couldn't find my booking. Although they did check us in early (about 7am), they could have done it when we arrived 3 hours earlier. There was plenty of room. They said we could go in if we paid for the night before. Locks on bathrooms don't really work, a few accidental walk-ins occurred. Whoever designed the Laurie of the bathrooms deserves to be shot. Tried to overcharge when leaving, but relented when shown hostelbookers info.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

29 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really comfortable rooms and nice bathrooms. Great rooftop bar, very windy and best place to relax at night. Staff are very friendly, breakfast with noodle is perfect. Few minutes to Ben thanh market and other interesting place. I recommend

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Wonderful hostel, very new, very clean, good breakfast. Cheap and good location, minutes away to backpackers area, closed to bar, pub. Definitely recommend this hostel. Staffs are very helpful and professional

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...