We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Budget Hostel

Hostel | 102/4 CONG QUYNH, DISTRICT 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam 848

77.5% Overall Rating

40 out of 47 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/05/2014)

Dominik Zeilinger thinks…

"cheap, good location, friendly staff, breakfast was simple but we could eat as much as we want"

Read all Budget Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Fax
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 13.95

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Ho Chi Minh City?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Ho Chi Minh City

Lily's Hostel
8.00 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Viet Nghi Bui Vien Hotel
11.00 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Koniko Backpackers Hostel
8.00 USD

Hostel 88.8% 13 reviews
New Saigon Hostel
8.00 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Nhat Thao Guesthouse
9.76 USD

Guesthouse 87.8% 165 reviews
Seventy Hotel – former Phan Lan Hotel
11.00 USD

Hotel 1 star 91.1% 339 reviews
Duc Vuong Hotel
19.81 USD

Hotel 2 star 87.6% 6 reviews
Bizu Hotel District 1 – 198 Bui Vien
27.89 USD

Hotel 86.7% 3 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
77.5%

Overall Rating

40 out of 47 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Budget Hostel'

Atmosphere
69.6%
Location
89.6%
Facilities
69.6%
Cleanliness
71.2%
Staff
86.4%
Value
84.0%
Safety
72.0%
Refine your results Showing 41 of 46 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

03 October 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is really nice and helpful, they do anything for you

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Dominik Zeilinger

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

14 May 2014 Dominik would recommend this property

Liked: cheap, good location, friendly staff, breakfast was simple but we could eat as much as we want

Disliked: bathroom wasn't very clean, the house is very tiny, so there is no place to hang out

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jennifer McKie

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

16 April 2014 Jennifer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to main attractions and staff were very helpful. The rooms were super cheap!

Disliked: We had to share an aircon remote with the room next door so if you wanted it on or off you had to knock the door. Not a major problem!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

mario leon

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

01 April 2014 mario would recommend this property

Liked: the cold, cold, room. I started calling it "heaven" after cycling through the HOT ass city.

Disliked: no room to keep bicycle inside, and when stored outside there is a restaurant that gets poppin' in the evening. They take your bicycle to be stored elsewhere and I was SCARED I would not see it again.

The property's response is...

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 February 2014

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Being woken up by staff members at 5.30am while they showered and washed clothes in our room!! No aircon in room, more staff in and out of room to use toilet No keys for room and no safety at all.

The property's response is...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Felipe Jesus Gimenez Reyes

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 February 2014 Felipe Jesus would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location at the backpacking area of HCMC. The staff are helpful.

Disliked: They have taken maximum use of the space in here. A problem if a claustrophobic.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Louis Lau

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

11 February 2014 Louis would recommend this property

Liked: Hostel had amazing value for money. Rooms were quite clean and spacious. Location was super convenient for travel to all the major attractions and landmarks. The staff was very kind and helpful--even helped book my train ticket--a service not advertised. Overall, turned my stay in Saigon from great to brilliant!

Disliked: Nothing

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: breakfast with bread and jam

Disliked: nothing

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were nice, but their english is quite limited. Never the less they were reasonably helpful. The facilities were fine and I was happy with what I got from my money.

Disliked: Though to be honest, "linen" is not provided- only a fleece blanket. Admittedly it's enough but still. Also breakfast is very very plain--half a baguette and margarine/jam plus coffee. The social area is very small, and right at the street level- fine but not great. You do pay for what you get.

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

22 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice stuff, wich is very friendly and helpful. We could have left our luggage all day after Checkpoint out.

Disliked: The breakfast was really bad, except from bread and margarine there were only bananas. Besides, there is no warm water available.

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Michaela Kamp

With friends / other travellers

City break

27 October 2013 Michaela would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, good location, clean room

Disliked: There was no key to the door. You could ask for keys to a safety looker. However, it did not feel good to leave the bags in an unlocked room.

The property's response is...

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

23 September 2013

Liked: It had a good central location

Disliked: I know it's budget but it really was poor. Only one working lightbulb in a dorm of 6 so it was always dark. We asked for more and was told there wasn't any..., the fans had dust on them, the air con does very little and there is lol social space.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

31 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The 6 bed dorm is en suite with aircon. They offer locker in the room and the staff are very friendly and helpful. the breakfast is basic- but good enough for the price. They printed off our plane ticket for free which was very nice.

Disliked: The room wasnt cleaned every day.

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: - nice and friendly staff - breakfast (bred, coffee) - close to the party street

Disliked: - noisy (next to the street) - bed is a little bit uncomfortable

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

23 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: price, location, good value for money overall.

Disliked: aircon got switched off really early each morning so we always woke up hot despite paying extra for it! rooms werent that clean, lots of stuff on floors around the bedrooms.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great staying and excellent service in here !!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

10 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location is exceptional..very close to the main part but without any noise....breakfast is very ordinary though...but it is okay with us considering the rates are very low, very near to the open bus route and also somewhat near from the bus station (which goes to the airport)

Disliked: nothing

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Andrea Szenasi

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 March 2013 Andrea would recommend this property

Liked: Its really clean. They cleaned every day

Disliked: Andrea left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

17 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: cleaning woman every day! very friendly staff nice breakfast for the cheap price in the backpackers area

Disliked: first nightm while we booked a female dorm, we were in a mixed dorm... someproblems with the locks..but finally they found a solution for us!

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Backpacking / gap year

15 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is great hostel, they have tour desk that can help you to choose the tour you want . Friendly staff, great location. the bathroom are clean and bedroom are comfortable. it is near the backpacker area that we can go many places nearby. fanstatic serivce!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 March 2013

Liked: Location is alright, and the staff was very friendly

Disliked: The beds and pillows were horrible

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

07 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, great staff. value for money.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 March 2013

Liked: The location was good. The 2 receptionist ladies were kind.

Disliked: Let's go through everything. I just felt like this place needed a proper review because many of these reviews are innaccurate. Blatant Lies: 1. There is no 10 minute foot massage and I don't know why they list this on their site as an amenity. 2. Breakfast is not breakfast. It is a loaf of bread with butter. This should not be listed as breakfast but rather as "free bread". Atmosphere: There is no hangout area but just a couch downstairs and the lobby is often overcrowded with travellers. Friendliness of staff: The staff are quite friendly although I was a bit unimpressed when I was told that local transport to cuchi tunnels was not running during Tet and that we should book a tour, even though there were a ton of buses and we ended up bussing ourselves there. Location: It is close to everything! Lots of restaurants and convenience stores; as well as local food. Cleanliness: The facility itself is clean and new. I was very annoyed when the man cleaning repacked all my stuff, moved my towels and clothing from on top of my bed, then put them on top of the locker which he moved to the other side of the door. When I came into the room, he was sleeping on a lawn chair in the middle of the dorm. Although he "overcleaned" the room and made me uncomfortable because I felt like my stuff had been gone through; the bathroom had not been cleaned at all. After the cleaning, one of the guy's in my dorm had a camera missing and it is uncertain if it was staff or a traveller. They had left their stuff in the room because none of the keys were matching the doors and only staff had keys. Since they newly opened, all the wrong keys were labelled with the wrong rooms and lockers...I don't know how they managed that. So, those guys left their stuff in the room trusting the staff and the door had been locked behind them but when they came back the camera was gone... Facilities and services: Not really sure although they had some tours offered but the street close by has lots of travel agents anyways. Safe and secure: Safe if you lock things up. Do not leave your stuff out on the bed or in the bag! Value for money: At $5, most people would say you can't go too wrong but I've been travelling for 6 months and I've stayed in many places that were $5 or less and much better. The manager and his friend even made a sexual innuendo when I first arrived. There keys weren't fitting into the locks so they said, "Oh, I guess you can sleep in his bed." Then told me afterwards I could have a bed in their room but I was so offended by that comment and found it extremely offhand from a manager. I thought he was an older tourist and didn't even realize he was the manager until afterwards. I know that many other travellers who stayed for a couple days here, didn't really like the place. One night, the place is tolerable for $5, especially with the good location. FINALLY, I forgot to mention how it is supposed to be a 6 person dorm but because they over booked, they had tons of people sleeping on lawn chairs in every room which made it impossible to get from your bed to the washroom at night. Ridiculous.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
Visiting friends or family

02 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is brand new and staff were extremely helpful. Everything is very modern with everything you need to travel comfortably. Great location. Amazing atmosphere! Breakfast with fried egg or noodle, I love it!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family

26 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic! Excellent value for money. Great staff. Perfect location. Central and easy access to everything.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...