We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Budget Hostel

Hostel | 102/4 CONG QUYNH, DISTRICT 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam 848

76.7% Overall Rating

43 out of 50 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/05/2014)

Dominik Zeilinger thinks…

"cheap, good location, friendly staff, breakfast was simple but we could eat as much as we want"

Read all Budget Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Fax
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 13.55

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Ho Chi Minh City?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Ho Chi Minh City

Lily's Hostel
8.00 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Koniko Backpackers Hostel
8.00 USD

Hostel 89.5% 15 reviews
New Saigon Hostel
8.00 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Nhat Thao Guesthouse
9.94 USD

Guesthouse 87.8% 165 reviews
Seventy Hotel – former Phan Lan Hotel
11.00 USD

Hotel 1 star 90.7% 341 reviews
Bizu Hotel District 1 – 198 Bui Vien
24.84 USD

Hotel 86.7% 3 reviews
Saigon Odyssey Hotel
11.56 USD

Hotel 2 star 89.3% 246 reviews
Nguyen Khang Hotel
11.92 USD

Hotel 2 star 91.1% 229 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
76.7%

Overall Rating

43 out of 50 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Budget Hostel'

Atmosphere
70.4%
Location
87.2%
Facilities
68.8%
Cleanliness
70.4%
Staff
84.8%
Value
82.4%
Safety
72.8%
Refine your results Showing 44 of 49 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Krishna Lou Ayungao

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 February 2015 Krishna Lou would recommend this property

Liked: Simple breakfast, the room is bright during the day.

Disliked: I just have to warn you, they didn't let me pay my remaining balance by cash. They wanted me to sign something so they could charge me online, plus they charge an extra 2% for that! Better not book online if you wanna stay here. Also, you have to pay for the lock for lockers.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean And modern hostel

Disliked: Rooms were very full with beds. Only the double room had warm water. Breakfast wasn't really good just coffee and tea and bananas and plain toast or a 5 minute soup which didn't taste good.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

05 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice receptionist

Disliked: Small common area

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

03 October 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is really nice and helpful, they do anything for you

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Dominik Zeilinger

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

14 May 2014 Dominik would recommend this property

Liked: cheap, good location, friendly staff, breakfast was simple but we could eat as much as we want

Disliked: bathroom wasn't very clean, the house is very tiny, so there is no place to hang out

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jennifer McKie

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

16 April 2014 Jennifer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to main attractions and staff were very helpful. The rooms were super cheap!

Disliked: We had to share an aircon remote with the room next door so if you wanted it on or off you had to knock the door. Not a major problem!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

mario leon

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

01 April 2014 mario would recommend this property

Liked: the cold, cold, room. I started calling it "heaven" after cycling through the HOT ass city.

Disliked: no room to keep bicycle inside, and when stored outside there is a restaurant that gets poppin' in the evening. They take your bicycle to be stored elsewhere and I was SCARED I would not see it again.

The property's response is...

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 February 2014

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Being woken up by staff members at 5.30am while they showered and washed clothes in our room!! No aircon in room, more staff in and out of room to use toilet No keys for room and no safety at all.

The property's response is...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Felipe Jesus Gimenez Reyes

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 February 2014 Felipe Jesus would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location at the backpacking area of HCMC. The staff are helpful.

Disliked: They have taken maximum use of the space in here. A problem if a claustrophobic.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Louis Lau

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

11 February 2014 Louis would recommend this property

Liked: Hostel had amazing value for money. Rooms were quite clean and spacious. Location was super convenient for travel to all the major attractions and landmarks. The staff was very kind and helpful--even helped book my train ticket--a service not advertised. Overall, turned my stay in Saigon from great to brilliant!

Disliked: Nothing

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: breakfast with bread and jam

Disliked: nothing

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were nice, but their english is quite limited. Never the less they were reasonably helpful. The facilities were fine and I was happy with what I got from my money.

Disliked: Though to be honest, "linen" is not provided- only a fleece blanket. Admittedly it's enough but still. Also breakfast is very very plain--half a baguette and margarine/jam plus coffee. The social area is very small, and right at the street level- fine but not great. You do pay for what you get.

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

22 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice stuff, wich is very friendly and helpful. We could have left our luggage all day after Checkpoint out.

Disliked: The breakfast was really bad, except from bread and margarine there were only bananas. Besides, there is no warm water available.

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Michaela Kamp

With friends / other travellers

City break

27 October 2013 Michaela would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, good location, clean room

Disliked: There was no key to the door. You could ask for keys to a safety looker. However, it did not feel good to leave the bags in an unlocked room.

The property's response is...

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

23 September 2013

Liked: It had a good central location

Disliked: I know it's budget but it really was poor. Only one working lightbulb in a dorm of 6 so it was always dark. We asked for more and was told there wasn't any..., the fans had dust on them, the air con does very little and there is lol social space.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

31 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The 6 bed dorm is en suite with aircon. They offer locker in the room and the staff are very friendly and helpful. the breakfast is basic- but good enough for the price. They printed off our plane ticket for free which was very nice.

Disliked: The room wasnt cleaned every day.

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: - nice and friendly staff - breakfast (bred, coffee) - close to the party street

Disliked: - noisy (next to the street) - bed is a little bit uncomfortable

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

23 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: price, location, good value for money overall.

Disliked: aircon got switched off really early each morning so we always woke up hot despite paying extra for it! rooms werent that clean, lots of stuff on floors around the bedrooms.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great staying and excellent service in here !!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

10 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location is exceptional..very close to the main part but without any noise....breakfast is very ordinary though...but it is okay with us considering the rates are very low, very near to the open bus route and also somewhat near from the bus station (which goes to the airport)

Disliked: nothing

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Andrea Szenasi

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 March 2013 Andrea would recommend this property

Liked: Its really clean. They cleaned every day

Disliked: Andrea left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

17 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: cleaning woman every day! very friendly staff nice breakfast for the cheap price in the backpackers area

Disliked: first nightm while we booked a female dorm, we were in a mixed dorm... someproblems with the locks..but finally they found a solution for us!

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Backpacking / gap year

15 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is great hostel, they have tour desk that can help you to choose the tour you want . Friendly staff, great location. the bathroom are clean and bedroom are comfortable. it is near the backpacker area that we can go many places nearby. fanstatic serivce!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 March 2013

Liked: Location is alright, and the staff was very friendly

Disliked: The beds and pillows were horrible

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

07 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, great staff. value for money.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...