HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Saigon Backpackers Hostel @ Cong Quynh

Hostel | 200 Cong Quynh, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam 84

86.5% Overall Rating

78 out of 87 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/08/2014)

Hans Christian Sick thinks…

"Great location, cheap prices, and a sick rooftop. When I stayed there the atmosphere was great - people were cool, and you were to decide for yourself whether to go out, go sightseeing or stay in to…"

Read all Saigon Backpackers Hostel @ Cong Quynh reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Fax
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

check in policy whereby if customer do not show up before 21.00 then we will give the reserve bed to the next customer. Please inform us for late check in.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Ho Chi Minh City?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Ho Chi Minh City

Phan Anh Backpackers Hostel
8.00 USD

Hostel 93.0% 156 reviews
Nam Long Hotel
10.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 84.4% 15 reviews
PP BackPackers
8.00 USD

Hostel 87.1% 84 reviews
Long Guesthouse
6.93 USD

Guesthouse 92.9% 36 reviews
Que Huong - Liberty 4 Hotel
33.00 USD

Hotel 3.5 star Not yet rated
Green Suites Hotel
14.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 92.9% 4 reviews
THU THUY HOSTEL
19.06 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Saigon Backpackers Hostel
6.00 USD

Hostel 79.7% 50 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
86.5%

Overall Rating

78 out of 87 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Saigon Backpackers Hostel @ Cong Quynh'

Atmosphere
80.8%
Location
92.8%
Facilities
84.8%
Cleanliness
86.4%
Staff
88.8%
Value
88.8%
Safety
83.2%
Refine your results Showing 81 of 85 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hans Christian Sick

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

15 August 2014 Hans Christian would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, cheap prices, and a sick rooftop. When I stayed there the atmosphere was great - people were cool, and you were to decide for yourself whether to go out, go sightseeing or stay in to read a book, and chill on the rooftop.

Disliked: nothing really

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Irene Shemaria

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

09 August 2014 Irene would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the people working there. It is somewhat noisy but Saigon is very noisy in general. Great breakfasts with several choices. Tea and coffee all day long. Very clean place. In fact I am staying a couple of days longer.

Disliked: Traffic noise.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kathryn McIlveen

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

18 March 2014 Kathryn would recommend this property

Liked: Good clean double bedroom with a great matress, we both slept like logs. It is right in the backpacker district and has a great Greek takeaway place 2 doors down. The breakfast was really nice and you had a choice to choose from. Staff were nice and friendly helping us sort out bus tickets to nah trang.

Disliked: The door to the room locked really odley, it was really stiff to turn the key - needed some oil I think. Wi fi was down when we visited but there was a man trying to fix it and they had computers upstairs for you to use. Other than that it was great.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Near the thamstreet (around the corner) but quiet at night. Hostelbookers doesnt say it serves breakfast but they do! And its included. Hot shower, not that much pressure but enough! friendly staff

Disliked: Rooms are too small to fit 8 beds and backpacks. Laundry not ready till 9 pm. Tours are a bit overpriced. You can get it cheaper at another travel agency. Just ask around WiFi was only working downstairs near the recepetion and was still very slow. Aircon was set to 17 degrees which was very cold but I didnt bother asking the staff to change it so maybe its possible after all.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Rubens Mariano Junior

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 March 2014 Rubens would recommend this property

Liked: Good place to stay in Ho Chi Min, good location e extremely friendliness people! Breakfast very good.

Disliked: NO dislikes.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sonya Tuia

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 January 2014 Sonya would recommend this property

Liked: Great friendly people. The tours they offer are great and are super cheap. Great location, super close to nackpacker district.

Disliked: Nothing

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

john cunningham

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 January 2014 john would recommend this property

Liked: good location, at the street at the end of bui vien...the drinking street. far enough away so that its quiet though. rooms are spacious, comfy beds but the place lacks a bit of atmosphere. brekkie is basic.

Disliked: services like tickets, laundry, even drinks are way overpriced. i got laundry done literally 2 mins walk away for 15k per kg. here wanted 35k! we get ripped off enough on the streets in vietnam, you dont need it where you stay too. water for 10k a small bottle, such a joke!

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Liam Hanlon

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break

02 January 2014 Liam would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the central backpackers area, pubs and restaurants.

Disliked: The WiFi wasn't very good in the room I was in.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: wifi covers in the room, there is a big balcony outside the room

Disliked: sometimes the floor is not so clean

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Emily Dellit

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 October 2013 Emily would recommend this property

Liked: Liked this place - close to bia street without being on it. Rooms were solid but nothing special

Disliked: Nothing really

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

rosy jane

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

29 May 2013 rosy would recommend this property

Liked: Lofi inn was a quiet location off a busy area near Backpacker street. The place was super clean and i was surrounded by friendly staff and other travelers. One of the best hostels i have stayed in over the past few months that had a good wifi range in the rooms without having to migrate to the common area for a signal. Lofi provides a simple complimentary all day coffee/tea and some fruits which is really nice.

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

29 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really friendly atmosphere, staff are amazing, very welcoming. Good location. We can get cheap tour tickets at the reception counter and the staffs are helpful enough to explain about every tour packages available.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michelle Wong

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

29 May 2013 Michelle would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely place - the place is new, tidy, and well-maintained, the staff were super-friendly, and it's very close to public transportation and useful stuff like markets. It's just beside the backpacker scene but not really a party hostel anyway that's not what I was looking for, so it was perfect.

Disliked: Michelle left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Vyen Kristy

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

13 May 2013 Vyen would recommend this property

Liked: The dorms in this hostel were great. The beds are very sturdy and it's slightly bigger than the normal single dorm bed. Although the mattress seems to be a little hard but at least all linen are very clean. Nice and cosy common area on the roof top and self service 24/7 coffee and tea is awesome.

Disliked: Room facing the street is alittle noisy.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

winnie cruz

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

17 April 2013 winnie would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is located in a quieter part of town and still in walking distance to some of the main attractions. The rooms are basic (stayed in a dorm) but cosy enough with large balcony in my dorm. The staff is amazing, always helpful and friendly.

Disliked: During the day time is abit noisy because of the traffic and my dorm is facing the street.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

John Corlando

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family

16 April 2013 John would recommend this property

Liked: Lofi Inn was in an awesome area of Saigon City, far enough from the craziness but still really close with your own personal night market and food places. Hostel price was very reasonable with attached bathroom, free towel. It was a beautiful place with lovely staff, very friendly.

Disliked: nil

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

youngmi huh

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 April 2013 youngmi would recommend this property

Liked: Bed was comfy, well- air conditioned, lockers, clean sheets and blankets, quite friendly staffs, and...what else...it's located a bit away from the busiest area though(not much...5min more?) it must be much quieter than the ones in the center. I've stayed there two times. Since it is clean and cool in a dorm, I will stay there again next time I visit HCMC.

Disliked: Some dorms have their own toilets inside the dorm but the problem is that they are just separated by a thin door and even the upper part is just open, which means all the sound you make in the toilet can be heard by everyone in the dorm~ Wow! Embarrassing!

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 April 2013

Liked: The chick that works the front desk is very sweet and helpful.

Disliked: The guy that works the front desk could use an attitude adjustment. What really pissed me off about this place is the fact that they cram everyone into one room. I only stayed for two nights in the end (was booked for four) because there are people arriving and leaving at all hours. There was another dorm room right opposite (plus one downstairs) that were totally empty but rather than spread people out they cram them all into the same eight-bed dorm. That pissed me off a bit. When you've got empty rooms and all of eight guests, why don't you spread them around a bit?

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Kim Owen

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 March 2013 Kim would recommend this property

Liked: AC

Disliked: Street noise

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

STEPHEN BUCKLEY

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

27 February 2013 STEPHEN would recommend this property

Liked: I enjoyd staying in this accommodation for 3 nights. I stayed a 6 bed dormitory, the room was very clean and come with attached bathroom. All staffs were kind even though I left there early in the morning (3:00am) and the security guard actually woke up and help me to get a taxi.

Disliked: Hotshower water was under servicing, have to use the common shower.

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Agustina Calcagno

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 February 2013 Agustina would recommend this property

Liked: It's very well located. It's clean and it's more than we expected for the price we paid.

Disliked: .

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Stacee Humphreys

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 February 2013 Stacee would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very friendly and although it no longer provides breakfast as such they do bring in bananas every morning for the guests. I fould them to be very helpful and they took good care of me.

Disliked: There is no lift but I know about that when I booked. Also it is a little hard to find, abut again they gave good directions to get there.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great location!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

robin collman

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 February 2013 robin would recommend this property

Liked: Great Location, Helpful english speeking staff and there where many other travelers froom around the world staying there witch made for some great advice. The balconey is great at night. AC was a life saver.

Disliked: Can be a bit noisey but then its in a big city so this was expected. The maid is a little odd ....

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

NIKKI EVELYN CHRISTENSEN

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

03 February 2013 NIKKI EVELYN would recommend this property

Liked: Nice clean friendly helpful palce to stay, all place easy access from here, cheap food and drinks very close to hostel overall all good very helpful staffs as well

Disliked: nil