HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of RUBY Hostel

Hostel | 241/19A1 PHAM NGU LAO, DISTRIC, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam -

89.6% Overall Rating

40 out of 42 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (04/04/2014)

"Nice location n rooftop bar, very clean public washroom and all facilitileies work efficiently."

Read all RUBY Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Ho Chi Minh City?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Ho Chi Minh City

Thanh Thuong Guesthouse
7.00 USD

Guesthouse 91.7% 367 reviews
VY KHANH GUESTHOUSE
8.70 USD

Guesthouse 91.7% 114 reviews
Thien Hong Hotel
6.94 USD

Hotel 3 star 88.9% 43 reviews
Saigon Youth Hostel
8.00 USD

Hostel 84.9% 29 reviews
My My Arthouse
5.57 USD

Hotel 4 star 85.7% 379 reviews
96 GUEST HOUSE
7.00 USD

Guesthouse 83.8% 58 reviews
Tuan Anh Hostel
7.56 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Ngoclinh Hotel
11.00 USD

Guesthouse 89.6% 103 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.6%

Overall Rating

40 out of 42 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'RUBY Hostel'

Atmosphere
78.4%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
85.6%
Cleanliness
88.0%
Staff
94.4%
Value
92.8%
Safety
94.4%
Refine your results Showing 38 of 41 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice location n rooftop bar, very clean public washroom and all facilitileies work efficiently.

Disliked: Not recommend four-beds dorm because of the weird big bed which makes me feel vey odd, and there is no any thing like veils or shields to hide yourself from other roommates, you totally feel like sleep at the public beach.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location and affordable costs.

Disliked: Aircondition in the dorm was too cold throughout the night and if in the "wrong" bed, it was blowing directly in your face ... not that confortable.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good value, good location and good service.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family

18 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I believe this property has now moved and is now the Vietnam Inn on Le Lai Street - which is where I stayed. The rooms are quite clean and spacious with lockers for valuables. Fairly quiet but only about a 5 min walk to the 'backpacker area' for the nightlife! Oh and there is a lift which is great as there are 9 floors. I extended my stay here for a few more nights so it does the job!

Disliked: The shower/toilet area is quite hot with limited ventilation and the water doesn't drain very well - ends up very wet!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Peter Jose

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 March 2013 Peter would recommend this property

Liked: GREAT value for money. Seemed like staying at a nice hotel but for $6 a night

Disliked: Almost nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break

24 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The best dorm room I've been in.Clean, spacious, with lockers and sooo cheap... Wonderful rooftop bar

Disliked: Nothing

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Saigon Village Inn (no longer called Ruby Hostel) is ideally located mid-backpacker area. Plenty of common area for you to get to meet other backpackers in the hostel, including a beautiful rooftop. Staff is polite--I would not go so far as to say warm and friendly, but they are reasonably nice.

Disliked: The name and address given on hostelbookers is not correct...making arriving at the hostel more than a little stressful. The food is overpriced. If you try to book a tour through the hostel, it will cost about twice as much as a tour you book at Pham Ngu Lao (just across the street). The key cards sometimes do not work, and you have to go downstairs all the time to get them fixed so you can re-enter your room.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stephanie Whyms

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

18 February 2013 Stephanie would recommend this property

Liked: clean and nice rooftop view

Disliked: n/a

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sandeep Karun

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 February 2013 Sandeep would recommend this property

Liked: My stay was v pleasant. Firstly the staff is very helpful, n friendly.the location is great - just next to the nightlife but yet not too close - divided by a park which keeps away the noise n crowd. U feel very safe n the facilities like food, game areA, a great rooftop givin a good place to relax n nice view is well enjoyed.

Disliked: Try to get a door locking system thats less noisy.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

30 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: When I booked, I actually got an e-mail saying I'd be staying at a new, bigger and better hostel called Vietnam Inn Saigon. I got picked-up at the airport for 15 dollars, which was nice. And the hostel was very new, aircon dorms, friendly staff. Really good value for money.

Disliked: Bathrooms were a bit untidy at times and flooding with showerwater.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The dorm room was a good size for 8 people, lots of space. The temperature in the rooms was perfect with air con. As it is a new hostel, everything is shiny and modern. the roof terrace is great!!!!! Amazing view, hopefully they put a bar up there to make the hostel more social. The staff were very helpful with good-value tours available for booking.

Disliked: Ruby hostel has recently opened a second branch, it has 9 floors and half of it is a building site. There was construction work going on, dust/dirt everywhere and rubbish piled up. The bathrooms were often dirty (from people's dirty flip flops) and rubbish was not taken out. There needs to be a bin in the dorm room. BUT I am sure once construction is finished, it will be a great hostel. it has been open only for 1 week so it is understandable to have problems.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everyone was very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

12 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely staff, very clean and location was very good....I will be back soon...Thanks

Disliked: ...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Amilyn Quah

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

01 October 2012 Amilyn would recommend this property

Liked: Ms. Tam and her brother was very helpful and friendly, upon booking I received an email to ask if we required airport pickup. Upon arrival, we were given a map, and explained where we can go for sightseeing. The lockers were in the dorm, bathroom ensuite. Free drinks, bananas, wifi in the room. Ms. Tam helped us book all our tours and offered helpful solutions to meet our tight timeline.

Disliked: The dorm room was 4 flights of stairs up, travellers with big/heavy luggages need to take this into consideration. Alleyway that leads to the hostel can be wet during monsoon season, and narrow. Not convenient for travellers with big luggages.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Firman Adi Prayogo

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 September 2012 Firman would recommend this property

Liked: Tam as the owner is very helpful and friendly. She provides the most well know Vietnamese coffee's brand and banana in the living room for free. The hostel is very clean and the linen and towel is fragrant also. Very comfortable to stay at this hostel.

Disliked: Located in the small alley but it is okay, at first you might get confuse.. :)

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joshua Colby

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 August 2012 Joshua would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and helpful owner, good clean rooms :) Great location - within easy walk of places like the reunification palace and museums.

Disliked: Nothing :)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Elin Bankel

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

17 August 2012 Elin would recommend this property

Liked: Good staff and clean and cool rooms. Mrs Tam helped us to book trips around the area and also recommended places to visit while here (Ngon restaurant is a must!!). If there isn't room at Ruby hostel you can stay at her brothers just a few metres away, which she'll also help you with. Overall really happy with our stay!

Disliked: Dorms (for 4 people) were small and the room got really bright early in the morning.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 August 2012

Liked: There are many other hostels out there that offer better facilities and character.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is right in the heart of the backpackers district in the city, makes it easy to get around. Never hard to find a place to eat or taxi, just walk out the alley and you're there on the main street. It is well maintained, clean and not too large of a hostel. AC and fan in room, free towel, lockers, TV, etc makes it even better. I didn't see much of the owner at the hostel as she was managing other hostels also, but her son or family member managed it well for her. He knew everything, had great customer service, very attentive to all your needs. Made sure your stay was enjoyable, I stayed there for 3 nights and wouldnt hesitate staying longer if I had to.

Disliked: Nothing really, everything was up to par. I'm not a picky person so really had no complaints. This was the first time staying at a hostel by myself so it was a good experience.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mark Hoffman

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

20 July 2012 Mark would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, good price

Disliked: Mark left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: There was free drinking water, coffee, tea, and bananas. The family who owns the guesthouse is very nice, polite, and quiet. They only have one dorm room at the very top of the stairs (5 flights) which is a bit small and cramped when four people are all there with their bags. But it's manageable. In and around e location there's lots of restaurants and bakeries to eat out at.

Disliked: When I arrived it was night time and dark. If I was not in the group I was unsure how I would of found the location by myself at night. Luckily the group needed a place to stay and I stayed in the group to help find a hostel for them. If the older gentleman hadn't been at the bus promoting his guesthouse I wouldn't have found my guesthouse. It's in a small alley off of the main backpackers alley off of the main road. it would of been nice if they had met me at the bus stop, especially in how close it was to the guesthouse location.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bobby Huang

Alone

Business / conference

04 July 2012 Bobby would recommend this property

Liked: Arrived super early and the guy in the lobby let me stay there till folks checked and had room ready for me nearly instantly. Place is clean, Staff is friendly, free Bananas and tea, and in a great quiet location. And even now when I don't have a place to go till later tonight, they are letting me stay till my ride comes.

Disliked: Bobby left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ari Josue Peiro Lopez

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

25 June 2012 Ari Josue would recommend this property

Liked: Tam, the lady that runs the hostel, is lovely and very helpful. The place is very well located right in the backpacker area with everything that you need and really close to the most important sightseeing spot of the city. It is neat, tidy and very clean. Air conditioning in the shared room. There is free coffee and snacks all the time, free drinking water as well. I recommend this place 100%

Disliked: Nothing disliked me.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrew Brown

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 June 2012 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and helpful staff, Clean, Comfortable. Pretty much a flawless hostel.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Karen Armstrong

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

10 May 2012 Karen would recommend this property

Liked: The owner was extremely welcoming and very helpful. The hostel was spotless, excellent value for money with a relaxed, friendly atmosphere!

Disliked: Nothing, everything was excellent.