HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Phan Anh Backpackers Hostel

Hostel | 373/6 Pham Ngu Lao Str, Pham Ngu Lao Ward, Dist 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam 84

93.0% Overall Rating

154 out of 156 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (16/10/2014)

Shirley Browne thinks…

"very clean and modern. has air con and lockers in dorms. Close to market and buses.. very helpful staff."

Read all Phan Anh Backpackers Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Fax
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 14.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Ho Chi Minh City?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Ho Chi Minh City

Nam Long Hotel
10.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 84.4% 15 reviews
PP BackPackers
8.00 USD

Hostel 87.1% 84 reviews
Long Guesthouse
6.93 USD

Guesthouse 92.9% 36 reviews
Que Huong - Liberty 4 Hotel
33.00 USD

Hotel 3.5 star Not yet rated
Saigon Backpackers Hostel @ Cong Quynh
5.50 USD

Hostel 86.5% 87 reviews
Saigon Backpackers Hostel
6.00 USD

Hostel 79.7% 50 reviews
PHAN LAN 2 HOTEL
10.00 USD

Hotel 88.9% 103 reviews
Green Suites Hotel
14.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 92.9% 4 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
93.0%

Overall Rating

154 out of 156 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Phan Anh Backpackers Hostel'

Atmosphere
88.8%
Location
92.0%
Facilities
88.0%
Cleanliness
98.4%
Staff
94.4%
Value
96.0%
Safety
93.6%
Refine your results Showing 135 of 151 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Shirley Browne

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 October 2014 Shirley would recommend this property

Liked: very clean and modern. has air con and lockers in dorms. Close to market and buses.. very helpful staff.

Disliked: sitting and dining area very small but adequate

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ian Cuthbertson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

21 September 2014 Ian would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome small hostel. Has really friendly staff and a chilled ot atmosphere. It's really close to the war remnants museum, the unification palace and ban ten markets.

Disliked: Nothing to dislike, however if you were looking for the party hostel in Ho Chi Minh just go to the hideout. Though you still have awesome nights out fro m here it is NOT the party place

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Robert Tlatlik

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

13 September 2014 Robert would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, friendly atmosphere, qualified receptionist :-)

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel, would definitely stay again! More like a hotel in terms of facilities. Free pick up and free happy hour drinks were definitely a strong selling point!

Disliked: None

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, good breakfast

Disliked: Area very dangerous with bag-snatching gangsters

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Romi Levine

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 August 2014 Romi would recommend this property

Liked: Good location and helpful staff - organised an excellent tour for us to see the Cu Chi tunnels (with Mr Bean!). Room was clean and spacious. Elevator! Free breakfast! Free happy hour beer!

Disliked: If you're travelling from HCMC to Nha Trang DO NOT go with the bus company they book through the hostel. It's a ten hour trip and they only stopped once for an official bathroom / food break. If we didn't ask them to stop for a bathroom, we would've gone 8 hours without one. No safety deposit box in the rooms. Wifi is really slow and patchy.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Elwyn Panggabean

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 August 2014 Elwyn would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, friendly staffs, good wifi.

Disliked: The bed is quite hard ;)

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and helpful staff, nice rooms with windows, ac. Clean rooms and free breakfast. The Hotel is located in the backpacker quarter with a lot of bars, restaurants and shops around it. Parks and sightseeing by foot possible.

Disliked: Not enough hot water to take a shower.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A good price hostel that felt like a hotel with bunkbeds in! Clean rooms, towels changed everyday. A locker with padlock supplied in the dorm room. Friendly and helpful staff. Short walk from shops and restaurants. About 40 minutes walk from the war remnants museum. I would highly recommend this hostel to anyone :)

Disliked: Nothing, can't fault it.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jennifer Lowther

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 June 2014 Jennifer would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic hostel, clean and peaceful. Staff are so helpful

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

07 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean room and bathroom (6 person dorm), towel provided, basic breakfast but at least it's something. very nice staff, very friendly and helpful and they spoke English. 2 public internet computers in the reception area. Elevator.

Disliked: I could only get the wifi to work in the (small) reception area, not in my room on the 3rd floor. Not sure if others had this problem.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great cooked breakfast, aircon rooms, lift, big backpack size lockers in the dorms, although the dorms themselves are quite small.

Disliked: There was some things that were miscommunicated with the staff. One girl's English was only very basic.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean, friendly, breakfast was basic and good. Spacious bathroom!!! incomparison to hostel I stayed in in Hanoi.

Disliked: Very difficult to find (walked past the street numerous times), tours were full so I was unable to go with their recommendations, no lockers for storing stuff on checkout date, but they are willing to put small items behind the reception desk if asked.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean rooms, friendly and english-speaking staff, well organized, decent (though not great) breakfast, elevator, luggage storrage, GREAT AIR CONDITIONING, good value for money!

Disliked: Breakfast could be a bit better.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

14 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, nice, clean bathroom. Quiet.

Disliked: Nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

ARIELA FRIEDMANN

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

19 March 2014 ARIELA would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were phenomenal. Very welcoming and friendly.

Disliked: Breakfast eating area was unventilated and extremely tiny. The food itself was really really basic.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rosemary Ormerod

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

14 January 2014 Rosemary would recommend this property

Liked: We were very happy with Phan Anh. The location in a quiet lane way made it relaxing and easy to sleep whilst still being in the centre of the action of Pham Ngu Lao. The elevator was a bonus for an oldie with bad knees!!! Surrounded by some wonderful restaurants & bars. Our rooms were comfortable and the complimentary breakfast was very good. I must comment on the honesty of one of the receptionists and I am sorry I do not remember her name. One evening when I was putting on my shoes I put my back pack down on the ground and proceeded to walk off to dinner without it. I realised I didn't have it with me when I was enjoying my meal so rushed back to the hostel and as soon as I walked in the receptionist handed it to me with a lovely smile. She had seen it out the front of the hostel and immediately took it inside. Everything was intact including some money so I was very relieved. Thank you for your honesty and kindness.

Disliked: No coat hangers in the wardrobe. I am sure it would make a difference to other travellers too. Also the bathroom floor leaked water and water also dripped from the ceiling when the room upstairs was using the shower. This problem needs attention.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

06 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything!

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andreja Mesaric

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

01 January 2014 Andreja would recommend this property

Liked: very friendly and genuinely helpful staff; on a quiet side street

Disliked: small reception area, doesn't have a cafe

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, lift!

Disliked: Rooms a bit smelly

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Orla Doyle

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 November 2013 Orla would recommend this property

Liked: Great location within walking distance to stores, restaurants, bars and all the major sights. Rooms are spacious, modern and clean and are cleaned daily. Dorms have great lockers that fit your whole bag and the bathrooms have the best shower I've had in months! The private double is more like a hotel room so great value for money.

Disliked: The tours and ticket bookings are overpriced. Go to an agent on the main road and if you are booking train tickets go to the office on 275C Pham Ngu Lao. You get them at cost price as it's the official train office but not a lot of people know about them. This is where the hostels go to buy the tickets NOT the train station like they tell you.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Feodor mak

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 November 2013 Feodor would recommend this property

Liked: Located just off an alley, which has a signboard at the start to tell you you are on the right alley. Quiet location, away from the watering holes ensures you can get a good rest. Rooms are clean, simple, with an attached bathroom. Breakfast is included in the price, which I found to be food value and convenient way to start the day. Staff were helpful with questions and getting you sorted out.

Disliked: Wi-fi was a bit difficult to get connected to initially, but alright once it is sorted. The hostel keeps your passport for the duration of the stay and returns to you at the end of your stay, which I think most travelers will dislike, but it seems to be a Vietnamese practice.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I can highly recommend this hostel - although it is more like a hotel than a hostel. The rooms are spacious and clean, the bathrooms are compact and also surprisingly spacious and the staff are very friendly and helpful. (they even got up early to give us breakfast takeway before we went on a long trip)The breakfasts were very delicious and they do great iced coffee. It has a great location, close enough to the night life but far enough away to get a good nights sleep. Drinks were always offered when we got back to the hotel which was nice touch (more like the service you get in a 5 star place) Free wi-fi with a fast connection. We wil def recommend this hotel to everyone we know Thanks you guy, we enjoy very much.

Disliked: N/A

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Loved this place. Easy to locate in Backpackers area, value for money. I Stayed 1 night and extend 2 more night. Good A/C in the 6 bed mixed dorm. Huge bunks for a great nights sleep. Nice Breakfast included and towles replaced and the room clean everyday. Very clean so you should have no problem taking your shoes off at the door. Staff were very friendly and very helpful. Good guideline prices for cyclo, food etc. Nice and good place to meet others - Fast internet with good working and special is have elavator even just 5floors Def stay here again for next trip.

Disliked: No

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice facility - looks like it is well maintained. Great lockers, very large and secure.

Disliked: Quite tricky to find - down a poorly-marked back alley along with a few other hostels. Some staff friendly (though not chatty) others seem as if the don't want to be there.