HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Phan Anh Backpackers Hostel

Hostel | 373/6 Pham Ngu Lao Str, Pham Ngu Lao Ward, Dist 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam 84

89.7% Overall Rating

136 out of 138 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/01/2014)

Rosemary Ormerod thinks…

"We were very happy with Phan Anh. The location in a quiet lane way made it relaxing and easy to sleep whilst still being in the centre of the action of Pham Ngu Lao. The elevator was a bonus for an…"

Read all Phan Anh Backpackers Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Fax
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 14.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Ho Chi Minh City?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Ho Chi Minh City

Nam Long Hotel
10.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 84.4% 15 reviews
PP BackPackers
6.00 USD

Hostel 87.3% 77 reviews
Long Guesthouse
7.42 USD

Guesthouse 92.0% 26 reviews
Que Huong - Liberty 4 Hotel
33.00 USD

Hotel 3.5 star Not yet rated
Saigon Backpackers Hostel @ Cong Quynh
6.00 USD

Hostel 85.8% 85 reviews
Saigon Backpackers Hostel
8.00 USD

Hostel 79.7% 50 reviews
PHAN LAN 2 HOTEL
10.00 USD

Hotel 88.2% 102 reviews
Green Suites Hotel
14.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 92.9% 4 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.7%

Overall Rating

136 out of 138 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Phan Anh Backpackers Hostel'

Atmosphere
83.2%
Location
88.8%
Facilities
84.0%
Cleanliness
94.4%
Staff
92.0%
Value
94.4%
Safety
91.2%
Refine your results Showing 121 of 135 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

14 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, nice, clean bathroom. Quiet.

Disliked: Nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

ARIELA FRIEDMANN

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

19 March 2014 ARIELA would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were phenomenal. Very welcoming and friendly.

Disliked: Breakfast eating area was unventilated and extremely tiny. The food itself was really really basic.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rosemary Ormerod

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

14 January 2014 Rosemary would recommend this property

Liked: We were very happy with Phan Anh. The location in a quiet lane way made it relaxing and easy to sleep whilst still being in the centre of the action of Pham Ngu Lao. The elevator was a bonus for an oldie with bad knees!!! Surrounded by some wonderful restaurants & bars. Our rooms were comfortable and the complimentary breakfast was very good. I must comment on the honesty of one of the receptionists and I am sorry I do not remember her name. One evening when I was putting on my shoes I put my back pack down on the ground and proceeded to walk off to dinner without it. I realised I didn't have it with me when I was enjoying my meal so rushed back to the hostel and as soon as I walked in the receptionist handed it to me with a lovely smile. She had seen it out the front of the hostel and immediately took it inside. Everything was intact including some money so I was very relieved. Thank you for your honesty and kindness.

Disliked: No coat hangers in the wardrobe. I am sure it would make a difference to other travellers too. Also the bathroom floor leaked water and water also dripped from the ceiling when the room upstairs was using the shower. This problem needs attention.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

06 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything!

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andreja Mesaric

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

01 January 2014 Andreja would recommend this property

Liked: very friendly and genuinely helpful staff; on a quiet side street

Disliked: small reception area, doesn't have a cafe

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, lift!

Disliked: Rooms a bit smelly

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Orla Doyle

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 November 2013 Orla would recommend this property

Liked: Great location within walking distance to stores, restaurants, bars and all the major sights. Rooms are spacious, modern and clean and are cleaned daily. Dorms have great lockers that fit your whole bag and the bathrooms have the best shower I've had in months! The private double is more like a hotel room so great value for money.

Disliked: The tours and ticket bookings are overpriced. Go to an agent on the main road and if you are booking train tickets go to the office on 275C Pham Ngu Lao. You get them at cost price as it's the official train office but not a lot of people know about them. This is where the hostels go to buy the tickets NOT the train station like they tell you.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Feodor mak

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 November 2013 Feodor would recommend this property

Liked: Located just off an alley, which has a signboard at the start to tell you you are on the right alley. Quiet location, away from the watering holes ensures you can get a good rest. Rooms are clean, simple, with an attached bathroom. Breakfast is included in the price, which I found to be food value and convenient way to start the day. Staff were helpful with questions and getting you sorted out.

Disliked: Wi-fi was a bit difficult to get connected to initially, but alright once it is sorted. The hostel keeps your passport for the duration of the stay and returns to you at the end of your stay, which I think most travelers will dislike, but it seems to be a Vietnamese practice.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I can highly recommend this hostel - although it is more like a hotel than a hostel. The rooms are spacious and clean, the bathrooms are compact and also surprisingly spacious and the staff are very friendly and helpful. (they even got up early to give us breakfast takeway before we went on a long trip)The breakfasts were very delicious and they do great iced coffee. It has a great location, close enough to the night life but far enough away to get a good nights sleep. Drinks were always offered when we got back to the hotel which was nice touch (more like the service you get in a 5 star place) Free wi-fi with a fast connection. We wil def recommend this hotel to everyone we know Thanks you guy, we enjoy very much.

Disliked: N/A

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Loved this place. Easy to locate in Backpackers area, value for money. I Stayed 1 night and extend 2 more night. Good A/C in the 6 bed mixed dorm. Huge bunks for a great nights sleep. Nice Breakfast included and towles replaced and the room clean everyday. Very clean so you should have no problem taking your shoes off at the door. Staff were very friendly and very helpful. Good guideline prices for cyclo, food etc. Nice and good place to meet others - Fast internet with good working and special is have elavator even just 5floors Def stay here again for next trip.

Disliked: No

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice facility - looks like it is well maintained. Great lockers, very large and secure.

Disliked: Quite tricky to find - down a poorly-marked back alley along with a few other hostels. Some staff friendly (though not chatty) others seem as if the don't want to be there.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ruth Carr

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

01 October 2013 Ruth would recommend this property

Liked: Its, clean, safe and in a great location. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Will most definitely stay there again.

Disliked: Ruth left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

steve holton

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 September 2013 steve would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome little hostel with a lift which is great after a long trip or tour

Disliked: Not much of a communal meeting area but the staff were amazing helpfula nd friendly. A great place to stay if a couple or mates travelling togther and location is awesome for markets and exploring the city

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

19 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: All staff were very happy to help and were very friendly. Great value for money

Disliked: Very little

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I really enjoyed my stay here! The staff was very friendly and helpful. They took the time out to ask how my day was everyday. And they were able to book tours for me on the go and gave plenty of suggestions of places to eat and things to see in Ho Chi Minh. And this was very helpful being that I travelled solo who wanted to be engaged in the culture! Definitely recommend staying here! The room was nice and clean! The breakfast was also decent! Huge value for the money! Can't complain!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 May 2013

Liked: Cleanliness

Disliked: The are better choices around the area at this price

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

27 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Room was big and spacious for the price I paid. Toilet was clean. There were actually a lot of TV channels available. MIni fridge had enough space to fit 1.5 litre bottled drinks.

Disliked: Hot water wasn't available all the time when showering. Sink often got stuck and water couldn't flow properly for a few minutes.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Edward Schlechter

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

18 April 2013 Edward would recommend this property

Liked: Liked the friendliness of the staff, clean private rooms which were big enough and offer great value for money, good located in alley near crowded street, great services such as laundry and taxi

Disliked: n.a.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. Most of the staff very nice. Good tours from the hostel.

Disliked: Saw cockroaches in the kitchen. The tall skinny male staff member is not nice. Breakfast though free wasnt good.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was close to the main tourist areas but away from the noise and crowds. The free breakfast was a nice idea but see comments further down. The rooms were nice and clean and the bathroom was gorgeous!

Disliked: The cleaner came in while everyone was sleeping and took all the towels even though I wanted a shower that morning. She came in later and used our bathroom and we were trying to get organized to check out. she also came in one morning before 8 am and stripped the bed on the top bunk and woke me up. She should not be in there until after checkout. They kept running out of food at breakfast. Out of three days there was only bananas once, they were out of noodles once and eggs another. Also I don't recommend the fried noodles, it's instant noodles with the power dumpd on top. The girls at reception were sweet and one guy was awesome but the other guys were rude and creepy. They didn't do anything but sit around.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

02 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We booked the double room with a big TV and well-working wlan. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Since we accidently booked one night to long we even could check-out spontaneously without paying the last night. It wasn't allowed to wear shoes inside which lead to a clean and familiar atmosphere. The room service did its job also late and without disturbing. The hotel is well located in the backpackers area but also protected from the street noise.

Disliked: I would recommend to have breakfast outside where you can get better noodle soups.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: - Nice hostel close to everything. - Very friendly and helpfull staff. - Breakfast included - Free wifi and computers provided

Disliked: - Low water pressure in the shower in the room we had first - The provided free wifi didn't work very well - Location: in a small dirty alley

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

24 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very clean and nice rooms with a lot of natural light!

Disliked: nothing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Comfy bed with good air con

Disliked: Not a very social hostel as the 'common room' is just the entrance to the hotel which is very small and no one congregates there. Not great if solo but very good place to stay if you're in a group or with a partner.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Karoliina Toivakka

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 March 2013 Karoliina would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, next to the backpackers' area. Easy to reach from the HCM airport as well (~1km from the bus station of local buses). The staff was super friendly and helpfull. They offered to book a bus ticket for me helped with other things as well. Hot shower, wifi, lockers. Great breakfast. Clean rooms with an AC. Warm athmosphere.

Disliked: Karoliina left no negative feedback.