We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Saigon Youth Hostel

Hostel | 241/32 Pham Ngu Lao, Dist 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam 84

80.3% Overall Rating

39 out of 45 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (16/04/2015)

"It is very central in district 1, where all the hostels are. They also offer trips and bus tickets to other destinations"

Read all Saigon Youth Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Ho Chi Minh City?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Ho Chi Minh City

Thien Hong Hotel
6.81 USD

Hotel 3 star 87.2% 57 reviews
RUBY Hostel
8.00 USD

Hostel 88.0% 45 reviews
Tuan Anh Hostel
6.95 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
96 GUEST HOUSE
7.00 USD

Guesthouse 81.9% 61 reviews
Saigon Odyssey Hotel
9.50 USD

Hotel 2 star 88.2% 244 reviews
Thanh Thuong Guesthouse
6.50 USD

Guesthouse 91.0% 372 reviews
VY KHANH GUESTHOUSE
8.50 USD

Guesthouse 96.3% 129 reviews
My My Arthouse
5.01 USD

Hostel 81.5% 429 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/04/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/04/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
80.3%

Overall Rating

39 out of 45 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Saigon Youth Hostel'

Atmosphere
72.0%
Location
91.2%
Facilities
75.2%
Cleanliness
80.0%
Staff
78.4%
Value
80.0%
Safety
85.6%
Refine your results Showing 38 of 44 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is very central in district 1, where all the hostels are. They also offer trips and bus tickets to other destinations

Disliked: In one room the toilet didn't work but it was no problem at all to switch rooms right away!

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was close to a busy Part of a City and also we could check in by 11 pm

Disliked: Booked a female dorm good a mixed dorm. It was not bad because of the nice guys on the room. Also really small and dirty blankets in the room

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

daniel perez pedraza

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa

14 February 2015 daniel would recommend this property

Liked: En general es el hostal ideal en situacion. A 15 segundos de la zona de bares, y del bar donde vendian bia hoi (tan buscada por la gente). Esta en un callejon que no aparece en los mapas locales, es seguro. Habitaciones limpias y luminosas. Camas un poco duras. Personal amable. Y cafe gratis todo el dia.

Disliked: Cuando reservas en euros el hostel SIEMPRE sales perdiendo. En la web saliaa. 5.54 eur la noche y con su cambio a dolares y despues a moneda local se subiwron a 6 eur y pico, insignificante en euros pero en moneda local te da para cenar bien.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

22 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We took a private room, it was nice. Especially that the room had a window, which can be quite rare in the cities in Vietnam.

Disliked: /

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alistair Sim

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 January 2015 Alistair would recommend this property

Liked: The beds and rooms are really clean - well mine was - and it was on 5th floor so far away from the noise of the main roads. The bathroom was very clean and the shower was hot and with a brilliant shower head which covers you in water - a pleasant change from the usual dribbles around the rest of South East Asia. The Wifi is also very good downstairs and in the dorms. Lockers are medium size, so won't fit your big bag, but they are plenty big enough for valuables.

Disliked: Atmosphere isn't the best in terms of meeting people.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jack Shaw

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 September 2014 Jack would recommend this property

Liked: district one so good location, breakfast basic but good,

Disliked: not very social but its easy to make friends in saigon as so many backpackers (district one is the backpacker district)

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michael Glen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 August 2014 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very helpful and pleasant, and answered any questions I had. Thumbs up!

Disliked: The cleanliness and location.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I really like the huge windows in the rooms, the breakfast were delicious and the staff very friendly and helpfull ! Good backpackers atmosphere and the location is perfect for going everywhere to visit during the day or to party the night

Disliked: We had a little problem of bad smell in our shower

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location in backpackers area but off on side alley near really nice, small local food. Was awesome to stay in a place that smelled and felt clean. We booked our tour to cu chi tunnels and it was a really good deal, about $7 each for the bus with a guide all morning (entry is not incl though).

Disliked: Not much space to mingle, but not a big deal :)

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Josie Hough

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 June 2014 Josie would recommend this property

Liked: free breakfast!

Disliked: we were on the bottom floor room which meant we had to go through the kitchen to get to our room and felt like we were interrupting the family when they were eating/sitting in the kitchen etc. Not that big of a deal though.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good hostel! the staff is extremely friendly and helpful. bathroom is clean! and you can bring your own food from the street stores and eat it in the lobby! i would come back everytime when in HCMC

Disliked: nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Donna Newton

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 June 2014 Donna would recommend this property

Liked: I enjoyed my stay here and extended my stay by an extra night, great location and dorm was clean and spacious. Air con worked well in dorm and was comfortable. Clean with a really good shower. Reception and all staff were really helpful and I booked my tours and onward travel through them at good prices. Breakfast was really good with lots of choice and all cooked fresh for you,. Would recommended staying here on your visit.

Disliked: Nothing.

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

23 January 2014

Liked: Bad experience. Avoid it.i

Disliked: Avoid this place!! When we came back from dinner some money kept in our bagagge was stolen. The door of the room was close, so, it must have been someone with access to the key. Also, we asked in advance to be picked up at the airpot and nobody appeared, until the third call the recepcionist told us that the taxi wasn't coming, and we should take a taxi by our own.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

03 December 2013

Liked: Nicely appointed rooms and comfy beds.

Disliked: The bathroom in our room had a vent which led into a central tower and it smelt of damp really badly. Our room was very noisy from 6am. We booked the hostel based on the price including breakfast which I found to be inedible- an egg and tomato drowned in oil and coffee with oil floating in it! I'd rather save the money and buy breakfast elsewhere. WIFI did not work at all in the bedrooms which really is a must for me when travelling.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

31 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is good and just near to bus stations and restaurants. On the main street just a few steps away from the hostel, you can see a lot of people came from different places gather around every weekend dining and chatting in the street. A chance for you to meet new friends.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Stijn Debuysscher

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

03 August 2013

Liked: Central location, good airco

Disliked: Staff not really friendly and helpful

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great location, really helpful staff! good breakfast to start the day, nice rooms- one of best hostels have stayed in!

Disliked: cant think of anything.......

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Lamar van Frederikslust

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

25 July 2013 Lamar would recommend this property

Liked: Good, clean hostel. Although it could be a little bit cheaper comparred with others around town

Disliked: a little hard to find when we arrived

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alison Jones

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 July 2013 Alison would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were so helpful and the hostel was overall an enjoyable experience! My friend was moto mugged on the street outside our hostel and the staff went above and beyond to help her file a report with the police. They were SO HELPFUL! Also, the laundry service was fast and very nice.

Disliked: Nothing!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Jose Cervantes

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 July 2013 Jose would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is in a good location (backpacker area). There are many other hostels, bars, and tour services nearby. It is not far from tourist sites. We walked but most would probably choose a short cab ride. The hostel was clean and the staff was friendly.

Disliked: There was a mistake with our booking so we were put in other rooms. The wifi and Internet wasn't great.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

18 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Had a great time at Saigon Youth Hostel. Initially planned to stay 4 nights but I stayed for almost two weeks. The staff is great and very helpful, the free breakfast, coffee and tea is a nice extra. The rooms are very clean, there is a nice collection of movies to watch and the Wifi worked well. I stayed in a 4 bed dorm which is a perfect size and I really liked the matresses: my back is happy :) Location in a small alley in the middle of the backpackers district is also perfect to meet people and have a drink at night. Thanks again and I definitely recommend checking this place out if you're visiting HCMC.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

FAIZULAZHAR MADZLAN

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 June 2013 FAIZULAZHAR would recommend this property

Liked: Easier to find and very good location. Centre of Saigon.

Disliked: Wifi not really good recepient.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniel Alexander

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 May 2013 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, Good facilities and atmospere

Disliked: Daniel left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Emanuel Kunz

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 April 2013 Emanuel would recommend this property

Liked: Our room was good, especially for the price. The staff was helpful and very friendly. The location is very good, it's close to the "backpacker street", where a lot of restaurants and bars are.

Disliked: The security isn't very good, there ask always for the room key, but then there let the keys on the desk, so everybody could take the key. Sometimes the staff was sleeping, we took our key be ourselves. The breakfast is not very good.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very central, quite and very clean. Some of the personal is very, very friendly, some not.

Disliked: At first they did not accept the booking price from hostelbookers. They wanted 15 Dollar more for three nights. But finally they accepted, but it has needed some efforts (for luck I had a copy of the booking papers!).