HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Saigon Youth Hostel

Hostel | 241/32 Pham Ngu Lao, Dist 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam 84

84.9% Overall Rating

25 out of 29 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (31/10/2013)

"The location is good and just near to bus stations and restaurants. On the main street just a few steps away from the hostel, you can see a lot of people came from different places gather around every weekend dining and…"

Read all Saigon Youth Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Ho Chi Minh City?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Ho Chi Minh City

Thien Hong Hotel
6.90 USD

Hotel 3 star 88.9% 43 reviews
RUBY Hostel
6.00 USD

Hostel 89.9% 43 reviews
Tuan Anh Hostel
7.51 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
96 GUEST HOUSE
7.00 USD

Guesthouse 83.8% 58 reviews
Saigon Sports 1 Hotel
10.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 87.8% 242 reviews
Thanh Thuong Guesthouse
7.00 USD

Guesthouse 91.7% 367 reviews
VY KHANH GUESTHOUSE
8.70 USD

Guesthouse 91.7% 114 reviews
Duc Vuong Hotel
20.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 87.6% 6 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
84.9%

Overall Rating

25 out of 29 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Saigon Youth Hostel'

Atmosphere
79.2%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
80.8%
Cleanliness
89.6%
Staff
83.2%
Value
82.4%
Safety
85.6%
Refine your results Showing 26 of 28 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

23 January 2014

Liked: Bad experience. Avoid it.i

Disliked: Avoid this place!! When we came back from dinner some money kept in our bagagge was stolen. The door of the room was close, so, it must have been someone with access to the key. Also, we asked in advance to be picked up at the airpot and nobody appeared, until the third call the recepcionist told us that the taxi wasn't coming, and we should take a taxi by our own.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

03 December 2013

Liked: Nicely appointed rooms and comfy beds.

Disliked: The bathroom in our room had a vent which led into a central tower and it smelt of damp really badly. Our room was very noisy from 6am. We booked the hostel based on the price including breakfast which I found to be inedible- an egg and tomato drowned in oil and coffee with oil floating in it! I'd rather save the money and buy breakfast elsewhere. WIFI did not work at all in the bedrooms which really is a must for me when travelling.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

31 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is good and just near to bus stations and restaurants. On the main street just a few steps away from the hostel, you can see a lot of people came from different places gather around every weekend dining and chatting in the street. A chance for you to meet new friends.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Stijn Debuysscher

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

03 August 2013

Liked: Central location, good airco

Disliked: Staff not really friendly and helpful

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great location, really helpful staff! good breakfast to start the day, nice rooms- one of best hostels have stayed in!

Disliked: cant think of anything.......

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Lamar van Frederikslust

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

25 July 2013 Lamar would recommend this property

Liked: Good, clean hostel. Although it could be a little bit cheaper comparred with others around town

Disliked: a little hard to find when we arrived

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alison Jones

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 July 2013 Alison would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were so helpful and the hostel was overall an enjoyable experience! My friend was moto mugged on the street outside our hostel and the staff went above and beyond to help her file a report with the police. They were SO HELPFUL! Also, the laundry service was fast and very nice.

Disliked: Nothing!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Jose Cervantes

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 July 2013 Jose would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is in a good location (backpacker area). There are many other hostels, bars, and tour services nearby. It is not far from tourist sites. We walked but most would probably choose a short cab ride. The hostel was clean and the staff was friendly.

Disliked: There was a mistake with our booking so we were put in other rooms. The wifi and Internet wasn't great.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

18 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Had a great time at Saigon Youth Hostel. Initially planned to stay 4 nights but I stayed for almost two weeks. The staff is great and very helpful, the free breakfast, coffee and tea is a nice extra. The rooms are very clean, there is a nice collection of movies to watch and the Wifi worked well. I stayed in a 4 bed dorm which is a perfect size and I really liked the matresses: my back is happy :) Location in a small alley in the middle of the backpackers district is also perfect to meet people and have a drink at night. Thanks again and I definitely recommend checking this place out if you're visiting HCMC.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

FAIZULAZHAR MADZLAN

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 June 2013 FAIZULAZHAR would recommend this property

Liked: Easier to find and very good location. Centre of Saigon.

Disliked: Wifi not really good recepient.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniel Alexander

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 May 2013 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, Good facilities and atmospere

Disliked: Daniel left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Emanuel Kunz

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 April 2013 Emanuel would recommend this property

Liked: Our room was good, especially for the price. The staff was helpful and very friendly. The location is very good, it's close to the "backpacker street", where a lot of restaurants and bars are.

Disliked: The security isn't very good, there ask always for the room key, but then there let the keys on the desk, so everybody could take the key. Sometimes the staff was sleeping, we took our key be ourselves. The breakfast is not very good.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very central, quite and very clean. Some of the personal is very, very friendly, some not.

Disliked: At first they did not accept the booking price from hostelbookers. They wanted 15 Dollar more for three nights. But finally they accepted, but it has needed some efforts (for luck I had a copy of the booking papers!).

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Alexander Nosov

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 January 2013 Alexander would recommend this property

Liked: Nice location and good internet here.

Disliked: I've booked a private single room and got dorm bed. Of course, for one me. But…

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break

13 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great location, helpful staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Daniel Duma

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 January 2013 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Well situated, good beds, clean and nice.

Disliked: Wifi doesn't reach all rooms, no A/C and not enough fans at reception, you sweat like an old cow.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is amazing for solo travellers - really friendly atmosphere and incredibly easy to meet other people. It's right in the centre of the backpacker zone and only 15min walk from Ben Thanh market. Breakfast is an added bonus too! As a single female I felt really safe here even though the hostel is situated in one of the alleyways in Saigon - all adds to the atmosphere!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location. People. Breakfast

Disliked: Open ticket bus ticket over priced, no proper common room

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Maria Jesamine Palarca

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

09 November 2012 Maria Jesamine would recommend this property

Liked: Our room is pretty clean and big. We even had a mini ref. Great location (near pubs but isn't noisy at all) so it's not that scary to walk around at night. The staff is very friendly! Shoutout to Ha & Fu Ang (I hope I remembered that right).

Disliked: I know it's part of the Vietnamese culture but I didn't like removing my slippers/footwear before coming in. I wouldn't have had a problem with that if the common room area is cleaner.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Denis Prendergast

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 June 2012 Denis would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location right in the heart of the backpacker district. Very clean and professionally run. The staff here are excellent, very friendly and always willing to help and offer impartial advice. Stayed in a 4 bed dorm that had a spacious private bathroom with a great hot water shower. Beds are huge and super comfy. I highlt recommend to anyone looking for a safe hostel with all the comforts of home!

Disliked: Denis left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, with a lot of nightlife around the area even though it looks sketchy compared to western countries. The staff and the people in the hostel were really helpful and friendly. I was able to check in right away and had no problems. This breakfast was my first in Southeast Asia and I cannot complaint about it, good and FREE. Extremely clean and nice with an awesome presentation although I was at first shocked by how cramp everything seemed. Stayed in a 4 bed dorm. The room was very clean, the beds were large and very comfortable. The private bathroom in the room which was clean, with hot-water. The location of the hostel was great!!! It was quite during the night and I enjoyed interacting with the staff, who were kind enough to answer all my questions, book last minute trips, and teach me Vietnamese. I spent my time in the small restaurants drinking cheap drinks and eating cheap food. Awesome way to start my trip.

Disliked: It is not like your typical hostel since it is in a huge city, space is very precious and the price is a bit higher when compared to other places around the area but the dollar difference did not bother me at all.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Matteo Dubini

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 May 2012 Matteo would recommend this property

Liked: Cleanliness of the room, helpfull staff, good location

Disliked: nothing

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

MUTHIA ISMAULIYANI

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

01 May 2012

Liked: Location was great, everything is around.

Disliked: Too much hassle during check-in. I needed to move from one dorm to another, within 2 days. Could have been better!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

09 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were extremely helpful, friendly and hospitable. The free breakfast is reasonable as well. We were extremely impressed with the cleanliness and presentation of the rooms and the hostel as a whole. Our room was serviced everyday which made our stay very comfortable. We stayed in a 4 bed dorm. The room is very clean, the beds are large and very comfortable. We had a bathroom in our room which was very clean, with an excellent hot-water shower. The location of the hostel is great - close to all the action, some great restaurants - but hidden down a small alley making it quiet. There is a great park across the road where the locals meet - we spent some time there and it is a great way to meet the local people.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Wonderfully friendly and clean! However, paid and booked for a private room abd got out with two other people.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.