HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of PP BackPackers

Hostel | 283/41 pham ngu lao street, district 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam 70000

87.1% Overall Rating

79 out of 80 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (04/05/2014)

Kuan Yee Chan thinks…

"the people there are friendly and helpful. they willing to help you solve the problem."

Read all PP BackPackers reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 15.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Ho Chi Minh City?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Ho Chi Minh City

Long Guesthouse
7.84 USD

Guesthouse 92.9% 36 reviews
Nam Long Hotel
10.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 84.4% 15 reviews
Phan Anh Backpackers Hostel
8.00 USD

Hostel 92.5% 148 reviews
Que Huong - Liberty 4 Hotel
33.00 USD

Hotel 3.5 star Not yet rated
Saigon Backpackers Hostel @ Cong Quynh
6.00 USD

Hostel 85.8% 85 reviews
Saigon Backpackers Hostel
7.00 USD

Hostel 79.7% 50 reviews
PHAN LAN 2 HOTEL
10.00 USD

Hotel 88.9% 103 reviews
Koniko Backpackers Hostel
8.00 USD

Hostel 87.5% 11 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.1%

Overall Rating

79 out of 80 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'PP BackPackers'

Atmosphere
78.4%
Location
97.6%
Facilities
81.6%
Cleanliness
79.2%
Staff
96.8%
Value
89.6%
Safety
86.4%
Refine your results Showing 72 of 76 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Timakos D

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 July 2013 Timakos would recommend this property

Liked: Very good value for the money, central location, safe, super friendly staff. I loved that place, best hostel in Saigon!!! Cảm ơn mẹ

Disliked: Timakos left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very friendly and helpful. Furthermore their english was really good. I would definitely stay there another time.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

John-Paul Panelli

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 July 2013 John-Paul would recommend this property

Liked: The owner is a super cute Vietnamese woman. And she was super, super helpful in everything we wanted to do.

Disliked: It was the city I disliked, not the property.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were as described and provided a cheap, comfortable place to stay in Ho Chi Minh City. The location was awesome, close to many restaurants, bars, and attractions. Ms. Bich (owner) was incredibly helpful and friendly!

Disliked: Dorm room lacked a hot water shower. Need to book a private room for that service.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Super nice staff and prompt service. Cheap drinks/water, and A/C dorm. Secure lockers. No elevator but staff carried my luggage up for me, which was very nice.

Disliked: Cold showers.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Trenton Lum

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

22 June 2013 Trenton would recommend this property

Liked: The owner is very friendly and helpful. The first day, we arrived before check-in time, so the owner watched our bags for us as we explored HoChiMinh City. She gave a map and advice on where to travel (tip: Cu Chi tunnel tours can be taken from this hostel and it rocks!) She also exchanged currency for us and sold sealed, bottled water for very cheap~ Unfortunately, our AC broke the 1st day, but the next morning after she apologized and had it quickly fixed. Overall, I would definitely recommend this place to travelers. It's very clean, rooms are big, beds are big/comfortable, and has hot water, haha. P.S. There's a Circle K (a convenience store) nearby if u need to buy extra shampoo or razors or something~

Disliked: keep in mind that this place is run by 1 woman with other Vietnamese women who help her out but can't really speak English much. So, if you are planning on arriving between 10:30pm - 7am, I think it would be best to email her beforehand and let her know. The doors are locked between these hours (this is standard for all hostels), but you can ring the bell and one of the other Vietnamese helper ladies can let you in~ Overall, not a dislike, but rather just something to keep in mind and be understanding about!^^

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

06 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice room and the staff is very kind and helpful. I liked it here so much I extended my stay for another two nights!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

James Duffin

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 June 2013 James would recommend this property

Liked: Good atmosphere, and extremely helpful staff.

Disliked: It would have been nice to have a lock on the dorm room, but lockers were provided free of charge.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Chris Bowes

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 May 2013 Chris would recommend this property

Liked: Owner is really friendly.

Disliked: Bathrooms rarely get cleaned. No common room. Though you can't expect a lot for the prices.... right??

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff. Room was clean, air conditioned. Location was great, right in HCMC backpacker central, not a long walk (about 30 min) from the War Remnants Museum. They sold cheap bottles of water too.

Disliked: The aircon remote's display was unreadable.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Celia Robb

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 May 2013 Celia would recommend this property

Liked: Double rooms are very large with a spacious ensuite bathroom. The room is immaculately clean and the beds are very comfortable. Also the room has aircon and a TV. It was a calm and quiet place to come back to after sight-seeing in Saigon. Also the location is faultless. The staff too are very welcoming, helpful and friendly.

Disliked: Nothing: we really enjoyed our stay and didn't want to leave!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: lovely owner who came to meet me from my bus and didnt mind when it was late! very friendly nice atmosphere homely dorm room with comfy beds.

Disliked: air con could be little stronger and bathroom a little more modern but these can be easily overlooked by visitors after meeting the lovely owner!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is very friendly and helpfull! And it is in the middle of the citycentre!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jolie Baskett

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 March 2013 Jolie would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were wonderful, our private room was great and a very cheap price. Nice air conditioning. Centrally loacted in the backpacker district and within walking distance to everything. Provided a laundry service and called us a cab as well as held our bags all day when we had a night train at 11 pm. Will miss our friends!

Disliked: Nothing, it was perfect!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Neringa Vaiciuleviciute

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

23 February 2013 Neringa would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpfull staff. Great place to hide from all the noise in the streets and still be in the midle of the action! Great tour to Cu Chi Tunnels. The guide was the best ever! Crazy old war veteran told a very good info!

Disliked: Neringa left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very friendly and helpful, and the location was excellent.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rastislav Navara

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 January 2013 Rastislav would recommend this property

Liked: Very good place. Staff amazing. They couldn't be more helpful. I really like this place and I can just highly recommend it.

Disliked: Rastislav left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

17 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: There is one staff that speaks english and she (as other travelers have reported) seems always on hand - i arrived at 11pm and when i was checking out at 7:30am whe was there!). While on the internet, i heard a number of other backpackers telling her how helpful she was to them.

Disliked: one toilet for 8 beds/floor is not the best odds, drains were a problem and not the cleanest, but OK...also no common space, for travelers, they use every room as dorm rooms. The ground floor (USA not UK) use to be a cafe (my friend had the rent on the same building from 2007-2010) so seats could be set up here. to the next question, was hostelbookers promoted, not sure)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff extremely helpful, booked our ferry tickets to Phu Quoc, organized the bus for us, and even accompanied us to the bus station to make sure we got there okay. All in all, a brilliant place to stay. Staff also speak very good English. Hotel in great location and walking distance to all the main sights.

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

angelica castillo

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 December 2012 angelica would recommend this property

Liked: bich, the lady at the reception speaks really good english. the dorm was clean and they have 2 toilets which guests can use. it's got a good location, really close to the bus stop and the travel agencies offering cheap tours and bus tickets. it's also a short walk to the benh tanh market and other must-see buildings in ho chi minh.

Disliked: angelica left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Marilyn Reveret

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 November 2012 Marilyn would recommend this property

Liked: Really appreciated the receptionist's hospitality and helpfulness. Dorm bed was really comfy and noise levels were next to none compared to the busy streets of HCMC. Met some lovely people and a, glad that the first leg of my journey started on such a positive note.

Disliked: No real lounge area. Just 2 tables. Best way to meet people in this hostel is to sleep in the dorm.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

hyunsun park

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 October 2012 hyunsun would recommend this property

Liked: cozy.. homely.. I was like a uncle who visited as a vip. was a marvellous comfortable experience.

Disliked: hyunsun left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

sophie crowther

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 September 2012 sophie would recommend this property

Liked: Really friendly staff, always willing to help. They helped me with buses and planning trips, and even gave me discounts when I booked. The dorm is decorated with quirky drawings and paintings on the wall. There is just the one dorm of 10 beds and all the other rooms are private so in the dorm there is definitely a good backpacker vibe here. It's a very chilled hostel smack bang in the middle of the chaos of Saigon, location is perfect for great places to eat, the bus station is very close by and overall I really enjoyed my stay.

Disliked: Only one bathroom for the dorm....not good when you need the loo in the morning after too many beers the night before! The dorm room doesn't have a key but does have lockers for your valuables, although I think a key is a standard for most places these days. Not much bad to say about the place, for all the positives there are very little negatives.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Blas Descallar

Alone

City break

20 July 2012 Blas would recommend this property

Liked: Location is perfect since it is walking distance to all tourist attractions in the city including Ben Than Market. It is also right where all bus companies have pick up stations. Bith (not Beth), the manger/owner speaks English well and can tell you where and how to go to places. The other staff, a guy could hardly speak English but very nice to assist in whatever you need. I stayed in an eight bed double decker dorm type room and did not have any problems with other guests. The price of $6/night is so fitting for me travelling in a tight budget.

Disliked: Blas left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

12 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Located on main street near resturants and bars, also war reminants museum And reunification palace etc are within walking distance. Staff were amazing and couldnt do enough for us

Disliked: Lacked a bit of character