We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Saigon Backpackers Hostel

Hostel | 373/20 Pham Ngu Lao, Dist 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam 84

79.7% Overall Rating

42 out of 50 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (22/08/2013)

"The free tea and coffee all day is a bonus and the communal area looks like a living room so has a nice feel. Also the dorms have individual lockers for backpacks, always a good idea."

Read all Saigon Backpackers Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 13.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Ho Chi Minh City?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Ho Chi Minh City

Que Huong - Liberty 4 Hotel
33.00 USD

Hotel 3.5 star Not yet rated
Long Guesthouse
6.93 USD

Guesthouse 92.9% 36 reviews
PP BackPackers
8.00 USD

Hostel 87.1% 84 reviews
Nam Long Hotel
10.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 84.4% 15 reviews
Phan Anh Backpackers Hostel
8.00 USD

Hostel 93.0% 156 reviews
PHAN LAN 2 HOTEL
10.00 USD

Hotel 88.9% 103 reviews
New Saigon Hostel
8.00 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Koniko Backpackers Hostel
8.00 USD

Hostel 88.8% 13 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
79.7%

Overall Rating

42 out of 50 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Saigon Backpackers Hostel'

Atmosphere
66.4%
Location
87.2%
Facilities
76.8%
Cleanliness
87.2%
Staff
80.0%
Value
77.6%
Safety
82.4%
Refine your results Showing 46 of 48 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The free tea and coffee all day is a bonus and the communal area looks like a living room so has a nice feel. Also the dorms have individual lockers for backpacks, always a good idea.

Disliked: When i arrived i got a pack with towel, bed covers etc in, i then had to go upstairs and make my own bed, slightly unnecessary and could be a pain if your arriving late at night.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

07 August 2013

Liked: It is cheap so you cannot expect much, that is ok. But nearby it there are many HOTELS which are almost the same price as the Hostels but with private rooms. We paid a bit more for a triple room in a hotel named SEVENTY HOTEL than staying here in a 6 bed room

Disliked: The surrounding is quite scaring, the rooms are grey, smelly and old

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast included and friendly atmosphere with helpful staff.

Disliked: Shame about the people having non discrete sex in dorm rooms, not cool!

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very close to the backpacker district but off the main road so it is very quiet and walking distance to the city markets and museums. you can book bus tickets and tours at the reception and they are very helpful with directions and places to go

Disliked: the door to our dorm did not lock but you have lockers for all your valuables

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Svend Fieldes

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 May 2013 Svend would recommend this property

Liked: Nice tidy backpackers, close to the main backpackers hub but tucked down a nice quiet alleyway.

Disliked: Not a huge amount of atmosphere for meeting or having a drink...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

colin dixon

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 April 2013 colin would recommend this property

Liked: Located easy walk to bue vein street, shops and city attractions. Staff very friendly and welcoming. Free breakfast every morning, rooms cleaned and beds made fresh. Would highly recommend staying at this hostel, you will not be disappointed. Also surround sound tv, play station, pool table

Disliked: nothing I disliked about property, could not fault, a credit to the management

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 March 2013

Liked: It had computers and a big tv downstairs which was perfect for chilling out! Also the majority of the beds in our dorm were 3/4 beds! I loved the extra room!

Disliked: There's not a very big social area and the place overall lacked any kind of atmosphere! Also had problems with the booking of a bus to phnom penh! We were misinformed about the time we needed to be at the hostel for and so missed our morning bus. They booked us on the later one and said that it would pick us up at the hostel any time after 1 to leave at half past. Only at about 1.20 they told us that the bus wasn't coming to the hostel and that we had to go to a random travel agents to get it! With only 10 minutes until it left we had to run with all our stuff to catch it! It was also clearly a bus for locals! We were the only non Vietnamese on the bus! Overall not impressed with the hostel!

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Central to everything, and helpful staff.

Disliked: Breakfast was awful!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: spacy room/friendly staff

Disliked: nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sabrina Vande Cotte

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

02 January 2013 Sabrina would recommend this property

Liked: - staff is very helpful - it's clean

Disliked: Nothing really, all in all we had a pleasant stay

71.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location.

Disliked: It seems more like a hotel. 0 atmosphere.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Jascha Braun

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 December 2012

Liked: Location ís good because its quiet.

Disliked: All in all the standard is okay for the money you pay but its definitely not good ant the Worst I experienced in a hostel in South-East-Asia: bathrooms are in a bad condition (broken basin, sometimes only cold Water), the included breakfast is miserable and exists just of a small baguette With a miniportion cheese or a small cup of soup. For more you have to pay. Location ís okay. The room, especially the bathrooms are not in the bét condition.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Valentine Richon

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 November 2012 Valentine would recommend this property

Liked: smiling personal, good situation

Disliked: breakfast maybe short...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sheila Armstrong

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 November 2012 Sheila would recommend this property

Liked: The staff! especially Ut!

Disliked: No lift :( but maybe we needed the exercise

85.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Extremely nice and helpful staff and good size room with en suite and telly. Good location.

Disliked: It's much more of a backpackers with some 'hotel style' rooms than a hotel with a backpacker clientele. If you go expecting a hotel you may be a bit disappointed by the hostel feel (the photos show a large spacious areas but in reality this is full of people and stuff). This unalignment of the marketing pitch and reality is actually a bit of a shame for the Backpackers becasue it's a lovely place with superb staff but doesn't manage atmosphere expectations quite right in my view. Other thing is, this hostel is down a slightly dingy alley. I had no issues with it but if you're a lone traveller and worry about things like that then it might bother you.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Right in the centre of the backpacker area, and close to lots of the attractions, this hostel has fantastic staff that are always cheery, particularly Oi who helped me book my train ticket but didn't try to flog any commission, instead he told me how to get to the station and told me it was cheaper and very easy to buy it myself there. Expect tight living quarters but the room had lockers and the beds were lovely and big. I would definitely recommend this hostel.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free Wifi and could use the pc's. The room had aircon and was reasonably priced. One lady that spoke good English and when our friend got mugged she went to the police station with her, translated and emailed the documents to her as we had to leave for Cambodia. We would have been lost without her.

Disliked: Staff weren't very friendly or helpful. However there was one lady that spoke good English and when our friend got mugged she went to the police station with her, translated and emailed the documents to her as we had to leave for Cambodia. We would have been lost without her. Be careful with your valuables outside the hostel and in the city.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location Arranged airport transfer for me

Disliked: No atmosphere in the hostel

60.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 February 2012

Liked: Big lockers provide a secure place to keep your backpack. There was an individual key issued to you to unlock each dorm that provided an extra level of security.

Disliked: It's a couple blocks away from the 'actual' backpacker area, in a sketchy road. Stay vigilant at night. The staff were rude… they wanted to take your money or rip you off at all possible times. Everything I asked for, like requesting a taxi or a tour was DOUBLE the price. I caught on to their antics, and went down the street to the five star hotel and got taxis at local rates, and tours half the price they were offering. Will never, EVER, stay at this place again. The staff here were so incredibly money hungry.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: everything

Disliked: nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

23 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice and flexible staff, cheap and good location

Disliked: n/a everything was oke

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 January 2012

Liked: Not a lot!

Disliked: On arrival at 8pm I was told that my room was 'not ready' and that I should wait an hour or so. I was offered the use of a shower in the kitchen area but there was already someone in there and I had planned to drop my bags and go out and meet friends in town so opted to leave my bags at reception and come back later. When I got back I discovered that my room was not a 4 bed dorm as I had booked but was in fact a 6 bed dorm, in addition to this there was a mattress placed on the floor and some of the beds had two people in them. In total there were 9 people sleeping in my dorm as opposed to the 4 I had expected. I went downstairs to ask for another room but was told the hostel was full and if I didn't like it I should go somewhere else. At this point I pointed out that if they had told me that the room was different at 8pm I would have had time to find somewhere else! The hostel is also down a very quiet alley a long way away from the main backpackers area and my locker didn't lock. I booked two nights but checked out after one.....

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Joseph Ormrod

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 November 2011 Joseph would recommend this property

Liked: Very high spec rooms, nice dorms, cooking facilities which is a bit of a rarity in hostels in this part of the world.

Disliked: Difficult to find, staff in general are BAD at English so not really very good at helping out if there's any problems, e.g. bathroom door stuck locked. Didn't really feel like there was much 'going on'

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

25 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Dorm rooms were massive and beds were super comfy, we even fitted 2 people on the beds with room to spare

Disliked: Not much atmosphere, there's a sort of common room with tv/couch/internet in reception but not exactly a party kind of place. Also was a little difficult to find as its down a small alley to the side of the main street but apart from that was a good experience!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Comfortable, clean room. Friendly staff.

Disliked: Our floor was on the fifth floor, so it was a bit of a work out, but not unbearable.