We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Saigon Backpackers Hostel

Hostel | 373/20 Pham Ngu Lao, Dist 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam 84

83.9% Overall Rating

52 out of 60 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (30/08/2015)

"It's modern and clean and way better than I would have expected for the price. Staff is really friendly and helpful - it was a great place to stay!"

Read all Saigon Backpackers Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 13.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Ho Chi Minh City?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Ho Chi Minh City

Que Huong - Liberty 4 Hotel
33.00 USD

Hotel 3.5 star Not yet rated
Long Guesthouse
7.36 USD

Guesthouse 92.7% 46 reviews
Nam Long Hotel
10.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 84.4% 15 reviews
Phan Anh Backpackers Hostel
8.00 USD

Hostel 90.1% 176 reviews
PHAN LAN 2 HOTEL
10.00 USD

Hotel 88.9% 103 reviews
New Saigon Hostel
8.00 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Koniko Backpackers Hostel
8.00 USD

Hostel 89.5% 15 reviews
Nguyen Khang Hotel
11.57 USD

Hotel 2 star 91.1% 229 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
83.9%

Overall Rating

52 out of 60 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Saigon Backpackers Hostel'

Atmosphere
71.2%
Location
91.2%
Facilities
80.8%
Cleanliness
83.2%
Staff
88.8%
Value
84.8%
Safety
87.2%
Refine your results Showing 55 of 58 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

30 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's modern and clean and way better than I would have expected for the price. Staff is really friendly and helpful - it was a great place to stay!

Disliked: I didn't know that there were 2 Saigon Backpacker Hostels so I ended up at the wrong one first. However, as they are close by it wasn't a big issue.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

ARVIND CHOUDHARI

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

22 August 2015 ARVIND would recommend this property

Liked: Location. Room size

Disliked: Approach road was conjusted

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Sunhera Cariappa

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 August 2015 Sunhera would recommend this property

Liked: I booked a bed through HostelBookers only to get a mail 5 minutes later from the hostel saying that the bed wasn't available and due to technical glitch, HostelBookers had allowed me to book it. Instead they were willing to give me another bed (which was more expensive) but at the same rate I paid online. They were quick and apologetic to my emails and I felt comfortable to carry on the booking. On arriving in HCMC, I found it a little difficult to get there since its in one the back alleys. But turned out to be a good thing because it's away from the chaos and noise yet at very close walking distance to the main streets of Pham Ngu Lao. I stayed here for a night when I first arrived in Ho Chi Minh. The receptionists (2 young girls) were extremely efficient and helped me book tickets for bus/train/flights to places in Vietnam. On my way out of Vietnam, I had 5 hours to kill in Ho Chi Minh so thought I'd take a chance and see if they would let me leave my bags with them. As expected the staff was very friendly, even though I doubt they recognized me from staying there just 2 weeks back. But they let me keep my bags, use the internet, and make calls. Saigon Backpackers truly understand the needs of a backpacker and helps you out in every way!

Disliked: Sunhera left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

faye bailey

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 June 2015 faye would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. There are cheap places to eat at both ends of the alley and it is a 1minute walk to the large park where there is always something going on. Freee breakfast, movies, close to everything and free pool.

Disliked: Book your bus tickets on the main road.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Helene Choi

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 June 2015 Helene would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, great location, fast Internet, clean and reasonable price. Couldn't ask for more!

Disliked: Helene left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Yamada Yuki

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 June 2015 Yamada would recommend this property

Liked: Rooms and toilets are clean, good location& accommodating staff. i like the common area where you can relax and meet other guests. I will definitely recommend this place to my friends who wants to visit Saigon.

Disliked: Yamada left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jonas Brows

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 June 2015 Jonas would recommend this property

Liked: Spent a really nice week in the hostel! The staff was fantastic and always available! They organised a tour to see mekong delta.

Disliked: Jonas left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The receptionists were both extremely helpful and kind. Very knowledgeable on the city too.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff, nice living room

Disliked: bathroom, dirty pillow

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The free tea and coffee all day is a bonus and the communal area looks like a living room so has a nice feel. Also the dorms have individual lockers for backpacks, always a good idea.

Disliked: When i arrived i got a pack with towel, bed covers etc in, i then had to go upstairs and make my own bed, slightly unnecessary and could be a pain if your arriving late at night.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

07 August 2013

Liked: It is cheap so you cannot expect much, that is ok. But nearby it there are many HOTELS which are almost the same price as the Hostels but with private rooms. We paid a bit more for a triple room in a hotel named SEVENTY HOTEL than staying here in a 6 bed room

Disliked: The surrounding is quite scaring, the rooms are grey, smelly and old

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast included and friendly atmosphere with helpful staff.

Disliked: Shame about the people having non discrete sex in dorm rooms, not cool!

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very close to the backpacker district but off the main road so it is very quiet and walking distance to the city markets and museums. you can book bus tickets and tours at the reception and they are very helpful with directions and places to go

Disliked: the door to our dorm did not lock but you have lockers for all your valuables

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Svend Fieldes

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 May 2013 Svend would recommend this property

Liked: Nice tidy backpackers, close to the main backpackers hub but tucked down a nice quiet alleyway.

Disliked: Not a huge amount of atmosphere for meeting or having a drink...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

colin dixon

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 April 2013 colin would recommend this property

Liked: Located easy walk to bue vein street, shops and city attractions. Staff very friendly and welcoming. Free breakfast every morning, rooms cleaned and beds made fresh. Would highly recommend staying at this hostel, you will not be disappointed. Also surround sound tv, play station, pool table

Disliked: nothing I disliked about property, could not fault, a credit to the management

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 March 2013

Liked: It had computers and a big tv downstairs which was perfect for chilling out! Also the majority of the beds in our dorm were 3/4 beds! I loved the extra room!

Disliked: There's not a very big social area and the place overall lacked any kind of atmosphere! Also had problems with the booking of a bus to phnom penh! We were misinformed about the time we needed to be at the hostel for and so missed our morning bus. They booked us on the later one and said that it would pick us up at the hostel any time after 1 to leave at half past. Only at about 1.20 they told us that the bus wasn't coming to the hostel and that we had to go to a random travel agents to get it! With only 10 minutes until it left we had to run with all our stuff to catch it! It was also clearly a bus for locals! We were the only non Vietnamese on the bus! Overall not impressed with the hostel!

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Central to everything, and helpful staff.

Disliked: Breakfast was awful!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: spacy room/friendly staff

Disliked: nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sabrina Vande Cotte

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

02 January 2013 Sabrina would recommend this property

Liked: - staff is very helpful - it's clean

Disliked: Nothing really, all in all we had a pleasant stay

71.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location.

Disliked: It seems more like a hotel. 0 atmosphere.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Jascha Braun

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 December 2012

Liked: Location ís good because its quiet.

Disliked: All in all the standard is okay for the money you pay but its definitely not good ant the Worst I experienced in a hostel in South-East-Asia: bathrooms are in a bad condition (broken basin, sometimes only cold Water), the included breakfast is miserable and exists just of a small baguette With a miniportion cheese or a small cup of soup. For more you have to pay. Location ís okay. The room, especially the bathrooms are not in the bét condition.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Valentine Richon

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 November 2012 Valentine would recommend this property

Liked: smiling personal, good situation

Disliked: breakfast maybe short...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sheila Armstrong

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 November 2012 Sheila would recommend this property

Liked: The staff! especially Ut!

Disliked: No lift :( but maybe we needed the exercise

85.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Extremely nice and helpful staff and good size room with en suite and telly. Good location.

Disliked: It's much more of a backpackers with some 'hotel style' rooms than a hotel with a backpacker clientele. If you go expecting a hotel you may be a bit disappointed by the hostel feel (the photos show a large spacious areas but in reality this is full of people and stuff). This unalignment of the marketing pitch and reality is actually a bit of a shame for the Backpackers becasue it's a lovely place with superb staff but doesn't manage atmosphere expectations quite right in my view. Other thing is, this hostel is down a slightly dingy alley. I had no issues with it but if you're a lone traveller and worry about things like that then it might bother you.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Right in the centre of the backpacker area, and close to lots of the attractions, this hostel has fantastic staff that are always cheery, particularly Oi who helped me book my train ticket but didn't try to flog any commission, instead he told me how to get to the station and told me it was cheaper and very easy to buy it myself there. Expect tight living quarters but the room had lockers and the beds were lovely and big. I would definitely recommend this hostel.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.