We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Mai Guest House

Guesthouse | 241/41 Pham Ngu Lao Street, 10, 76976, 106, 69467, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam 084

89.6% Overall Rating

25 out of 27 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (10/05/2014)

Eva-Maria Nadine Hantle thinks…

"Very friendly owner, he gave us a huge room with balcony, although we had just booked a standard room. Good location in quiet street, but next to everthing useful and interesting."

Read all Mai Guest House reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 15.00

What's Included

  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Ho Chi Minh City?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Ho Chi Minh City

The King Hotel
11.16 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Golden Wind Hotel
10.74 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Hong Hac hotel
19.53 USD

Hotel 2.5 star Not yet rated
Tan My Dinh Hotel
100.00 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Ellyse Nga Khanh Hotel
12.78 USD

Hotel 5 star Not yet rated
Rang Dong Hotel
33.19 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Gia Linh Hotel
22.25 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
DUNA HOTEL
10.74 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 83.3% 13 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.6%

Overall Rating

25 out of 27 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Mai Guest House'

Atmosphere
83.2%
Location
96.8%
Facilities
86.4%
Cleanliness
91.2%
Staff
92.8%
Value
87.2%
Safety
89.6%
Refine your results Showing 24 of 27 reviews
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Eva-Maria Nadine Hantle

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 May 2014 Eva-Maria Nadine would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly owner, he gave us a huge room with balcony, although we had just booked a standard room. Good location in quiet street, but next to everthing useful and interesting.

Disliked: Eva-Maria Nadine left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Michael Smith

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

20 October 2013 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: Great incredibly helpful owner. The hotel is off an alley, the alley starts at no. 241, the hotel is 41 down. It's easier to find than it sounds but the alley could easily be missed. The alley itself is just off the main backpacker area so you have easy access but no noise. Overall great place.

Disliked: Michael left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owner and his family are very, very friendly and will help organize anything you need. The airport taxi is relatively cheap, and saves you from being scammed by Saigon cab drivers.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

19 May 2013

Liked: Good Location, but Not well described in the confirmation Mail.

Disliked: We decided not for the cheapest but the best rated Place, a mistake. The First Night we Got a better called room of average Quality, no explanations given. The next Morning we had to leave the luggage, there was no room. The Night we got no Double room as booked but a dorm with a door Not lockable and coackroaches And lizards as nightly guests. The next Day there should have been a room and a cheaper Price was promised, nothing fullfilled and Even tried to Rip us of - just Stay away, Not a Place to Stay and there are Many better options in HCMC.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bridget Lensen

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 May 2013 Bridget would recommend this property

Liked: Really helpful, friendly staff. Clean comfortable rooms with wi fi.

Disliked: Bridget left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Backpacker location, clean, very friendly staff, good price for HCMC, can't go wrong

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

18 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's very clean and the staff are friendly.

Disliked: Wi-fi was switched off at some stage and there are not enough sockets for all our electric gadgets

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday

21 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms are new and clean, with a fridge and flat screen TV.

Disliked: The beds were a bit hard

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

katie teede

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 November 2012 katie would recommend this property

Liked: nice friendly staff/family.. ausome location for everything.. booked tours and buses for us (cheap) ... felt well at home.. would definatly recommend to any other travellers!!

Disliked: katie left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owners are very friendly and helpful. The guesthouse is located extremely close from the bus stop from Phnom Penh. Brilliant views over HCMC.

Disliked: The 6th floor room had no aircon but we were only put there for one night as we had changed our dates. We were moved to another room the next day which had aircon. No safe in the room.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Hannah Yvonne

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

21 July 2012

Liked: The location in the small alley with many better hostel and cheaper than here.

Disliked: Mai guesthouse is running a strange business. We called the previous night to arrange pickup and confirm the booking. Nobody went to pick us up or answered the phone so got there by taxi only $10/car (they said $15). We arrived at 3am, she told us she didn't have a room so we should looking for another one. US$25-$28 per room without breakfast is quite expensive. I could write more....

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was in a great location and the alley was surrounded by good food. The family who lives there is very nice and the children are adorable.

Disliked: If you're looking for a social atmosphere where you can meet other backpackers, this place is not for you. The family was always hanging out in the common area, and I never saw any other backpackers there.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa

24 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Passionate boss,helping us to book the taxi and tickets.

Disliked: None

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jason Sigmon

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 May 2012 Jason would recommend this property

Liked: It was in the backpackers area which meant access to a lot of cheap food, while also providing individual rooms for a fair price. Furthermore they were great for arranging day trips.

Disliked: If you are obsessed with Facebook, it's blocked on the wireless but works on the computer downstairs. It can be a little confusing dealing with them to purchase tickets to other cities so I recommend doing that yourself

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jessamine Tuo

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

05 May 2012 Jessamine would recommend this property

Liked: The whole family is really friendly and helpful, the room is also very tidy and clean. I stronly recommend this guest house to anyone who would like to stay in Saigon.

Disliked: N/A

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

30 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful family!

Disliked: Our room was without an window which is quite often there though.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it was not a crappy spring bed.

Disliked: the one place i ran out of soap and shampoo they didn't have. but no biggy

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Lynette Callender-Easby

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 March 2012 Lynette would recommend this property

Liked: The whole family were super-friendly and helpful... even organised a micro sim for my iPhone with credit etc for my trip. Mai is very well located, and we were very happy that it was in an alley as this is much quieter than on the main road, and the alley links into two excellent streets for getting to tourist sights and the other right in the centre for excellent bars and restaurants. They booked the Cu Chi tunnel tour with a stop at the Cao Dai temple - highly reccomended. Also, they booked our bus to Mui Ne, and although it was an older bus and our next guest-house had somehing to say about this, it was actually a much more spacious sleepr bus than the newer ones we took later on our trip, so was actually a good choice!

Disliked: No breakfast, but lots of delicious options in the alley.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owners of the hotel were so helpful, it really made our stay in Saigon worthwhile repeating!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

23 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very friendly and helpful. Decor is cute, and room overlooking the alley was especially nice! Also, very cheap/large water on hand! Also, when I left super early in the morning and it was pouring rain, staff gave me a poncho and helped me put it on over my backpack. Thank you so much!!

Disliked: Walls are dirty and could use a fresh coat of paint.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Jacob Nien

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

11 February 2012 Jacob would recommend this property

Liked: The location is in the downtown and not far from the bus station; the staff are very friendly and helpful and care about traveller's safety in HCM City; it's very clean in the room and the bathroom as well.

Disliked: It's a bit noisy in the morning so not a perfect place for sleeping in.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We enjoyed our stay here.

Disliked: The alleyway where it is situated is a bit stinky...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Olivia Szwabo

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

17 January 2012 Olivia would recommend this property

Liked: The owners bend over backwards for their guests. I have lived, worked, and traveled throughout Asia over the past 3 years - and this guest house is by far the most wholesome place I've stayed at. Thank you for the clean, comfortable stay and the great memories. We will definitely be back soon.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Susie Verth

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 July 2011 Susie would recommend this property

Liked: Everything! Owners were really friendly and helpful.

Disliked: no