HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of LY Guesthouse

Guesthouse | 84/24B Bui Vien Street, Pham Ngu Lao Ward, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam -

74.9% Overall Rating

13 out of 19 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (21/01/2014)

Selena Kuo thinks…

"The family especially grandmother is very friendly and kind people. Every room on the floors is simple and clean like vietnamese home. I ll definitely come back and stay there again in the future."

Read all LY Guesthouse reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Currency Exchange
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 12.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Ho Chi Minh City?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Ho Chi Minh City

Bali Boutique Hotel
13.71 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Saigon Mini Hotel 5
9.33 USD

Hotel 2 star 88.6% 68 reviews
96 GUEST HOUSE
7.00 USD

Guesthouse 83.8% 58 reviews
Saigon Youth Hostel
8.00 USD

Hostel 84.9% 29 reviews
Tuan Anh Hostel
7.46 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
ANH DAO GUESTHOUSE
8.39 USD

Hostel 70.5% 3 reviews
Thien Hong Hotel
6.86 USD

Hotel 3 star 88.9% 43 reviews
RUBY Hostel
6.00 USD

Hostel 89.9% 43 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
74.9%

Overall Rating

13 out of 19 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'LY Guesthouse'

Atmosphere
61.1%
Location
87.4%
Facilities
69.5%
Cleanliness
81.1%
Staff
68.4%
Value
72.6%
Safety
84.2%
Refine your results Showing 19 of 19 reviews
Reset filter
62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 March 2014

Liked: location

Disliked: They do not speak much english if you phone there is not answer, they very lay down

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Selena Kuo

Alone

Events / festivals
Visiting friends or family

21 January 2014

Liked: The family especially grandmother is very friendly and kind people. Every room on the floors is simple and clean like vietnamese home. I ll definitely come back and stay there again in the future.

Disliked: I dont mean i dislike the shower because of no hot shower. It is just room temperature water and i am okay with it. Sometimes for cold weather in early morning and night, the water s a bit colder. I wish for the family to fix the heater as soon as possible.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean

Disliked: n/a

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Susan Bentley

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 March 2013

Liked: It was well located near where the bus dropped us and the bars for the evening. The rooms was large and clean. Good AC and fan.

Disliked: The window did not close fully although bars cover the window so not really a safety issue. We had a cockroach but that can't be helped really. Staff were consistently friendly, although they were informative and helpful. Some couldn't speak English.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, clean room and very spacious.

Disliked: Over our budget and found cheaper around the surrounding area.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Asif Quadri

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 February 2012 Asif would recommend this property

Liked: the bus from phonm penh lets off around the corner so follow their directions how to find the place thru the alleyways. i had a private room and was of a really nice standard much better than cambodia. also the water is clean and some hot water too. good cable package provided but no foreign news channels. this is a busy backpacker area but room is very quiet. there are lots of tour companies that will book your trips and exchange your money. all the city sights can be done in a half days walking. convenience store open 24 hours at the end of the alley but the hostel also sells 1.5L water bottles for 7000 VND which is cheaper than the convenience store. the family living room is the reception and the sleep there are night. they are not too chatty and sociable. free internet.

Disliked: shower hook was broken

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

20 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We had a massive room and the location is great.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Kane sloan

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife

08 January 2012 Kane would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, out the way of a busy street, but not far to some nice bars..

Disliked: probably walking to far upstairs to get to the room, and the cage blocking viewing on the balcony.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

02 December 2011

Liked: Location, quiet on higher floors

Disliked: Absolutely unmaintained, fittings falling off wall in bathroom, winch machine for handling baggage not working so we had to drag our bags up many stairs, rooms so small that no space between wall and beds or between beds, room cleaned once in 4 night stay, soap not supplied and toilet paper and dry towels only when asked for them, no hot water in the mornings. I am unsure on the following question - I did not see any advertisement for hostelbookers

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

EDWARD FERNANDO

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

15 September 2011 EDWARD would recommend this property

Liked: i like the location is near to the sightseeing...we can just walk away

Disliked: no breakfast...

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kevin Amarell

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 August 2011 Kevin would recommend this property

Liked: It is so close to the city but still very quiet. I only walk one minute to find a restaurant or a shop. It's just great and very convenient. I've got Internet in my room which is nice, I've got a little balcony, ok the view is limited, but it's great value for your money. The staff helps with everything, even though their English skills are limited. But when I checked out the owner shook my hand and smiled to say goodbye. It's a very nice family business.

Disliked: Nothing!

The property's response is...

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

FIGON serge

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing

04 August 2011 FIGON would recommend this property

Liked: good

Disliked: no problems

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

19 April 2011

Liked: Quiet.

Disliked: Poor facilities. The old man there is not friendly. Unable to meet anyone there.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

henry wu

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 March 2011 henry would recommend this property

Liked: great location. quiet since in the alley off the main road.

Disliked: none.

The property's response is...

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

10 March 2011

Liked: The air-conditioning was extremely effective.

Disliked: The young lad on the front desk was rather rude, the internet wasn't working (not a great big issue but still, I expected it to at least work!), the journey down the lane could be a little daunting for Female travellers late at night and the shower was bitterly cold.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Stephen Thornton

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 February 2011 Stephen would recommend this property

Liked: Large room very close to main backpacker area but down a back alley so stays quiet

Disliked: We seemed to be the only ones staying there! Staff don't speak very good english and sink broken in bathroom. Minor complaints though.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

17 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff are helpful if you ask but I'd like to see more smiles!

Disliked: I'd like to see more smiles and stayed 5 days room was never cleaned

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hendrik Schaefer

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

07 February 2011 Hendrik would recommend this property

Liked: clean rooms, nice staff, central location but in a quiet alley, good value for money.

Disliked: nothing

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Alessandro Ghiori

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

23 January 2011 Alessandro would recommend this property

Liked: clean

Disliked: at 5 am the band next to the hotel start to play the instrument and finish at 5.30.