HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Thanh Guesthouse

Guesthouse | 84/26 BUI VIEN St, PNL Ward, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam 84

81.5% Overall Rating

32 out of 39 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (25/05/2014)

Tracey Pedersen thinks…

"We loved our stay at Thanh Guesthouse. Our room was clean and modern with fans, aircon and a small fridge to put cold drinks in - what a godsend in the heat. Great location - just back from the main…"

Read all Thanh Guesthouse reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 13.92
  • Breakfast USD 6.33

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Ho Chi Minh City?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Ho Chi Minh City

Sunflower Saigon Hotel
92.98 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
HA MY HOTEL
31.99 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Royal Lotus Hotel Sai Gon
35.00 USD

Hotel 4.5 star Not yet rated
Asian Ruby 1 Hotel
51.14 USD

Hotel 3.5 star Not yet rated
Sanouva Saigon Hotel
60.00 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Thien Xuan Hotel
39.22 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Ruby Hotel
11.00 USD

Hotel 3.5 star Not yet rated
Que Huong - Liberty 2
29.00 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
81.5%

Overall Rating

32 out of 39 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Thanh Guesthouse'

Atmosphere
66.4%
Location
94.4%
Facilities
76.0%
Cleanliness
84.0%
Staff
80.8%
Value
82.4%
Safety
86.4%
Refine your results Showing 36 of 39 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tracey Pedersen

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

25 May 2014 Tracey would recommend this property

Liked: We loved our stay at Thanh Guesthouse. Our room was clean and modern with fans, aircon and a small fridge to put cold drinks in - what a godsend in the heat. Great location - just back from the main tourist road. We could hear no noise from the road and we were on the third floor. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff and they always had a ready smile for us. We realised once we were on the bus out of town that we had left an ipod on one of our beds. We called them late at night and they called us back to confirm they had the iPod. Then we sent a friend to pick it up a few days later. Excellent service - Will definitely stay here next time we are in Ho Chi Minh!

Disliked: It's not a dislike but those who haven't visited Ho Chi Minh before should be aware that these little guesthouses mostly have stairs up to the rooms and no elevators.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Michael Kerschbaumer

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 January 2014 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: Had a big room in a side alley of the busy backpacker street, so it was quiet. Sometimes you could hear a moped in the morning, but all in all it was quiet. We arrived at 11 pm, so the doors were already locked, but we rang and somebody opened for us.

Disliked: Our sheets were dirty, so we slept in our sleeping bags.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was good

Disliked: The room was nothing special....

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good hostel, clean friendly, is a bit like a family home.

Disliked: The end price was in euro for some reason, may have had a slightly inflated price in dong

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Veronica Daniels

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

30 May 2013

Liked: Location!

Disliked: We booked for 1 night as we were leaving for Hoi An the next night, but the lady who helped us at arrival kept insisting that we should stay another night !No toilet paper supplied! She also did not speak any english. After a while she called someone who could speak a little english. She also overcharged us, explaining that she converted our dollars to euros (??)! I did not have a print out so looked up my confirmation email from hostelbookers where balance due showed USD amount ( and I paid in dollars!) She refused to look , but gave my money back! Of course after this argument she was angry with me the whole time. Would NOT recommend this hostel!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

derek bond

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

19 March 2013 derek would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly helpful proprietor. This was in the travellers budget no frills range with all the basic facilities, up a claustrophobic ally (welcome to Ho Chi Min where personal space is a premium) right off the centre of the backpacker/travellers street - Bui Vien st. one road over from where many buses drop off.

Disliked: Having to share the bed with my mate. The harsh cold echoy-feeling of the small room

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Valeria Diez

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

30 January 2013 Valeria would recommend this property

Liked: El hostel es recomedable. Excelente ubicacion del centro, los restaurantes y las agencias de viaje. Muy tranquilo, se puede dormir en silencion. Limpio y seguro. Han cumplido con todo lo acordado. Relacion precio/calidad, muy buena.

Disliked: Nada / Anythings

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Fiona Henderson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

30 October 2012 Fiona would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean room with air con and fan, comfy beds and basic bathroom. Location is amazing, 30 second walk from main busy street with countless resturants, bars and mini shops. Best fruit shakes in Ho Chi Minh just on the corner, cheap and yummy! Staff are lovely but do not speak very much english.

Disliked: Fiona left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owner is very friendly.

Disliked: You have to navigate three flights of steep stairs to reach your room.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

07 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked that the room was spacious, clean and well kept. It felt safe and secure and yet was perfectly centered in the heart of backpacker area. The staff was pleasant and would definitely stay there again.

Disliked: I disliked that there was some mold in my fridge. That should definitely have been checked. Although the bathroom was clean, there was a bad smell in the bathroom, likely due to an issue with blocked pipes. They need to fix this.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Duong Quy Do

Alone

Visiting friends or family

19 February 2012

Liked: If it is Y Nhi: great hospitality from the owner couples. Nice and clean room. Centrally located.

Disliked: As I mentioned: the confusion between Y Nhi and Thanh Guesthouse. I booked a double room in Thanh Guesthouse and the guy took me to Y Nhi with a twin bedroom, and I had to loose my deposit of my booking to change to a 2 bed bedroom. Anyone please tell me if I am mistaken when I choose a double bedroom understanding it is a 2-bed room, or the guy was pulling my legs?

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

DAVID SYKES

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 February 2012 DAVID would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely clean rooms, friendly staff, great location.

Disliked: DAVID left no negative feedback.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Richard Thessin

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 February 2012

Liked: Definately mixed feelings about this one, it was pretty cheap for Saigon in this area, so well placed if you want to be in the Westerners district. On the corner there's an old lady who makes great fruit milkshakes for 75 cents.

Disliked: Strange atmosphere, not professional. It's run by an ever shifting range of family members who mill about in the "Lobby" - a small room at the entrance where they sleep at night (so your shut in from about midnight to 7am. We actually arrived at 5am on a night bus and another guy who had been shut out of his hotel showed us how to find it (it's completely hidden) and then we waited on the stoop til 7. Tiny bathrooms

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Siew Chern Fang

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

31 January 2012 Siew Chern would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed 3 nights at Thanh Guesthouse. Very nice, clean and reliable. They are down one of the alleys along Bui Vien, so you need to look for it, as a taxi will drop you at the head of the alley. No problems with our HostelBookers reservation (USD$15 per night). They have 3 houses around an alley intersection, so don't be surprised if you are taken to a different house from where you check in. The family based staff are all very friendly and helpful, many speak some English and are able to help out with plans, directions, bookings etc... We had a double room a few floors up that overlooked the alley. Air-con, fan, cable TV, wifi, hot water all good. Small, neat, clean room, safe environment and very close to Saigon's main attractions and transport hubs. Highly recommended!

Disliked: Note: There's no lift though we had no problem because we had backpacks.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap, good location and good wifi

Disliked: No hot water but it was hot enough outside to not need it

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Work / volunteering

18 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice clean rooms, helpful staff, great location.

Disliked: Bathroom was a bit small.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, room large and clean with bathroom included and TV! Location was spot on, would recommend for the price.

Disliked: The guy spoke better English, the lady got a little confused but thats more our fault for not speaking Vietnamese.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is nice and clean on a top location. The staff is nice but don't speak english that well.

Disliked: the staff doesn't speak english that well.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

17 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, close to everything but off the main road. Friendly staff and clean room.

Disliked: I had the room closest to the foyer and the staff and family were noisy

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ROLANDO BELTRAMINI

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

29 November 2011 ROLANDO would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, fantastic people, great position .....

Disliked: ROLANDO left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Andrew Grogan

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 November 2011 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: location is excellent and the staff are very friendly and helpful. the room is clean and very nice. comfortable bed and pillows are great!

Disliked: the bathroom is tiny

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rachael Allis

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

31 October 2011 Rachael would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, great location and good value for money.

Disliked: The man who came banging on my door to rearrange our extra nights stay despite the fact I had just sorted it all out with his sister. All to add on one dollar.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room has a big bed, TV, Fridge, A/C and WiFi. Its close to everything you need and the owners are very helpful with anything you need!

Disliked: No

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

05 October 2011

Liked: Friendly staff

Disliked: off main road

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Lisette Bos

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 October 2011 Lisette would recommend this property

Liked: A very good location and a reasonable price.

Disliked: A very small bathroom