We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of 96 GUEST HOUSE

Guesthouse | 96 Bui Vien Street, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam 84-8

82.5% Overall Rating

54 out of 59 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (17/05/2014)

Neil Pollick thinks…

"Clean, cheap, good A/C, quiet during the day and not room was big for the price Hot water. Secure. My room had a desk and lots of wardrobe space."

Read all 96 GUEST HOUSE reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Room service (24 hour)
  • Room service (limited hours)
  • Wake-up calls
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Onsite shop(s)

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 14.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Ho Chi Minh City?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Ho Chi Minh City

LY Guesthouse
7.00 USD

Guesthouse 74.9% 19 reviews
Saigon Mini Hotel 5
12.69 USD

Hotel 2 star 88.6% 69 reviews
Bali Boutique Hotel
13.67 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Saigon Youth Hostel
8.00 USD

Hostel 83.3% 39 reviews
Thien Hong Hotel
5.86 USD

Hotel 3 star 88.6% 50 reviews
Tuan Anh Hostel
6.97 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
RUBY Hostel
8.00 USD

Hostel 88.8% 44 reviews
ANH DAO GUESTHOUSE
8.37 USD

Hostel 70.5% 3 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
82.5%

Overall Rating

54 out of 59 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend '96 GUEST HOUSE'

Atmosphere
73.6%
Location
89.6%
Facilities
77.6%
Cleanliness
83.2%
Staff
87.2%
Value
82.4%
Safety
84.0%
Refine your results Showing 50 of 56 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Neil Pollick

Alone

Work / volunteering

17 May 2014

Liked: Clean, cheap, good A/C, quiet during the day and not room was big for the price Hot water. Secure. My room had a desk and lots of wardrobe space.

Disliked: I hate this location, in the middle of the backpacker zone, and this hotel is in the noisiest street of all and at night becomes a bar. Incredibley noisy at night, every night - till the early hours. Loud music, shouting, drunken cheering + jeering coming up from the ground floor. Unfortunately there is no cheap accomodation outside this ugly tourist ghetto otherwise I wouldn't be here.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

david langley

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 March 2014 david would recommend this property

Liked: Location, room cleanliness. HOT SHOWER!!!

Disliked: No windows in room!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Zdravko Grigorov

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

06 March 2014 Zdravko would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice location!

Disliked: Zdravko left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Tamara Elisabeth Hibler

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

06 February 2014 Tamara Elisabeth would recommend this property

Liked: very good location, nice staff, wireless, clean rooms, good price. Of course a bit noisy but that was expected with all the bars arround that area. They do even have a small shop downstaires where you can everything you need. I would definitely book this place again.

Disliked: Tamara Elisabeth left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Matthew Long

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

21 January 2014 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: I was prepared for the noise in the hotel, so it was not a problem for me. Seemed like a nice family running the property, hard working. Manager woke up to show me where to buy fish sauce down the street at 7am, which I thought wasa very big effort.

Disliked: Nothing.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, really lively

Disliked: Nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Donald Schaeffer

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

03 January 2014 Donald would recommend this property

Liked: Convenient location and good price!

Disliked: Very noisy and no windows.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mikaila Hogan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping

29 December 2013 Mikaila would recommend this property

Liked: This hotel is very centrally located an close to anything you might need. Big bed, lots of tv channels, the mini fridge worked well. Good supply of hot water.

Disliked: I couldn't get the a/c in my room to work. I asked them to help me and they said they had forgotten to turn it on, I watched her flip the breaker but I still did not work. Both remotes for tv and a/c didn't work.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Paul Labar

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

16 December 2013 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean, location was convenient and the English speaking staff member was very attentive and helpful with our needs.

Disliked: It's on a street bustling with night life but the staff put us on an upper floor in the back which minimized the noise.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Simon Piparo

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

03 July 2013 Simon would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, right in the heart of the backpacker district. Rooms are very cheap.

Disliked: Bui Vien Street is loud at night, this can cause problems if your trying to get an early nights sleep/

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break

30 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was cheap

Disliked: Noisey

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff. Clean and quiet room. Located in the backpacker area with the city centre plus museums in walking distance. Nice drinking are just outside during nightime.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

steven roffe

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

27 February 2013 steven would recommend this property

Liked: Its is in the centre of the main street and team up with a few other hostels for beers on the road and easy to chat to other people. Got the lift to airport very well. has a shop for food ect down stairs... easy to find

Disliked: nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jessica fornelli

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 December 2012 jessica would recommend this property

Liked: Good, clean rooms with smashingly comfortable beds, clean bathrooms, aircon and an in room fridge, right in the heart of the backpacking district. This is a family run business and everyone was very helpful. It was great to have the store right downstairs for those late night snack runs!

Disliked: It was quite noisy but considering the location its to be expected. Bring your earplugs and you should be all good!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Michele Andolina

Alone

Partying / nightlife

25 December 2012 Michele would recommend this property

Liked: right in the center of district 1. I booked a private room. Ac worked! Great spot to walk from to see city and get some food. I recomend getting food outside district 1 because all the prices are for travelers. The place did laundry for me (at a price) and there is a little store downstairs where you can purchase anythig you need. good place to touch down after a long flight and get some energy for the beach. i was in a private room.

Disliked: Very noisy outside hotel. they make drinks moslty with redbull so people party till 4am right on the steps to the hotel. So if you don't really like to party you might not want to stay here. but it's hard to escape that in ho chi minh city anyways. no window in room. but size was ok. again if partying bothers you don't stay here. but if you want to drink all night and meet people it's the place for you,

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Ron Read

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

12 September 2012 Ron would recommend this property

Liked: It is very secure, centrally located and has helpful staff. By South East Asian budget backpacker standards the air conditioners are awesome. They have nice widescreen tv's and the WiFi works well in all rooms.

Disliked: There is no CNN, BBC or Australia Network news channel.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice staff. The location of the hotel is great in the tourist area.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, free wi fi and staff

Disliked: No elevator and the street was very noisy at night

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Paul Gebhard

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 May 2012 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: Location, facilities, clean, the help of Miss Hanh, the friendliest lady I have met in Vietnam, besides being the most beautiful lady in this country!

Disliked: There is nothing to dislike.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

30 March 2012

Liked: Very convenient location

Disliked: My room was on the NOISY side - and as the window didn't close properly was VERY noisy and kept me awake every night - so we moved to a different hotel. Also my air conditioning was old and had numbered settings rather than temp settings - so was either freezing or boiling - which also ruined my sleep!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

veranio concepcion

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

10 March 2012 veranio would recommend this property

Liked: The location is where the fun is.. tourists of various nationalities converge in front of the many establishments for partying. It is a backpackers' haven. In addition, the managers especially Hanh is very helpful, showing us where to go with a map that goes with it. The room we had was big and neat.

Disliked: No elevator to go up to the third floor.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

09 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is good value for money, decent sized rooms and bathrooms. clean, staff are friendly, helpful and can book tours for you. The location is great too being in the backpacker area of Saigon and above a cheap convienece store by day and a street bar by night. It is also walking distance to Ben Thahn market and some good restaurants. We really enjoyed our stay here.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Francis Mercier

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 March 2012 Francis would recommend this property

Liked: I was supposed to stay 3 days but ended up staying there for 12 days. Room was very clean and staff friendly. The lady at the reception was very kind and I was even offered to share a meal with the family once, which I really enjoyed (It's family-operated). The hostel is also a convenience store, meaning you won't have to go further to gather supplies (snack, water, sunblock, shampoo, alcohol, universal power adapter, map, etc...). They offer a laundry service that is a bit expensive (25k/kg) compared to what you can find in the street (around 10k/kg) but still, it was nice to have it offered (hassle free). The bed (no spring) was very comfortable but very firm. For me, it was not a problem, i like it that way. Some people complained that the A/C was cut when you leave the room. That's true but it take about 5 min. once back and the room is cool again so it was not a problem for me. There seemed to have quite a lot of people sleeping there so if you want to acquaintance, it's a good place for that too since they have a "street bar" right on the side of the hostel. The place felt very safe also. The family looked honest and I would not have worried to let my laptop (if I had one) or valuables there while I was going out. I didn't book tours but they can book you tours directly at the hostel. To conclude, I would say that I totally loved the place. ♥

Disliked: Noisy, but stil, It was a minor inconvenience and if you start the room fan, it cut out all exterior noise (traffic and tourist) for a peaceful and even noise.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and has a shop below that you can get anything you need. The lady at the front desk was extremely helpful and gave up a lot of great information about the city. Rooms were clean.

Disliked: nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Its ok. quite a busy spot for backpackers.

Disliked: The keep turning off the airconditioning during the day. No elevator.