We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of NGOC THAO GuestHouse

Guesthouse | 241/4 Pham Ngu Lao St, WARD Pham Ngu Lao, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam 00848

92.1% Overall Rating

97 out of 101 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (27/03/2014)

"When I'm backpacking I look for hostels with a good atmosphere, and Ngoc Thao had exactly that. For me the basics have to be in place, that is the hostel is clean, it's safe and I get a comfortable bed. All of that was…"

Read all NGOC THAO GuestHouse reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Ho Chi Minh City?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Ho Chi Minh City

ANH DAO GUESTHOUSE
8.37 USD

Hostel 70.5% 3 reviews
Thanh Thuong Guesthouse
7.50 USD

Guesthouse 91.5% 368 reviews
VY KHANH GUESTHOUSE
9.25 USD

Guesthouse 95.4% 124 reviews
Le Le Hotel
12.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 86.3% 49 reviews
DUNA HOTEL
10.74 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 83.3% 13 reviews
RUBY Hostel
8.00 USD

Hostel 88.8% 44 reviews
Ngoclinh Hotel
11.00 USD

Guesthouse 89.6% 103 reviews
96 GUEST HOUSE
6.00 USD

Guesthouse 82.5% 59 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
92.1%

Overall Rating

97 out of 101 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'NGOC THAO GuestHouse'

Atmosphere
88.0%
Location
96.0%
Facilities
90.4%
Cleanliness
92.0%
Staff
95.2%
Value
90.4%
Safety
92.8%
Refine your results Showing 95 of 98 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, friemelt sttaff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

27 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: When I'm backpacking I look for hostels with a good atmosphere, and Ngoc Thao had exactly that. For me the basics have to be in place, that is the hostel is clean, it's safe and I get a comfortable bed. All of that was excellent here. What makes one hostel stand out from another, for me, is whether it's easy to socialize with other guests and if the staff is nice. Both were great at Ngoc. The staff made feel very welcome and were super sweet and I found this a great place to me fun people and explore Saigon.

Disliked: I can't think of anything.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: free water, tea and coffee. cheap tours. great staff!

Disliked: nothing

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Kristin Volsky

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 March 2014 Kristin would recommend this property

Liked: I flew in and they had arranged for pick up for me at the airport. As soon ás I came out of the gate they were waiting for me. Staff was really friendly and had lots of ìnformation about local tours and buses. Right in the centre of tourist area so alot of access to tour agencies and food options. Walking distance to all major sights.

Disliked: Bathrooms for the 8 bed dorm were outside and the doors didn't shut properly so you couldn't lock them while you were using the facilities.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Vincent Wester

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 February 2014 Vincent would recommend this property

Liked: Fine hostel really. Goog place to meet fellow backpackers, located in a quiet alley in backpacker area. The tour booking service is quite good.

Disliked: Facilities could be better but nothing too bad

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff members were very friendly and the location was good enough so that we could walk to all the major tourist sites.

Disliked: Contrary to what others have said, we did not find this place to be clean at all. There were days when no one came to clean our room, and even when they did, the floors and bathroom were clearly not cleaned. The room looked really old and the beds made so much noise. The mattress was also very thin and uncomfortable.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Thomas Dippert

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

30 January 2014 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff, free wifi, computer available, free hot drinks

Disliked: simplicity in sanitary equipment

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alberto Gomez Garcia

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

12 January 2014 Alberto would recommend this property

Liked: Nice place, well located, friendly staff, recommended!

Disliked: None

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice location, friendly staff. clean bed. they arranged city tout just for USD 8. Next day the arranged trip to Ku chu tunnels just for USD 5. Lots of food stalls nearby. I loved my stay here and would recommend it.

Disliked: I liked everything.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Centrally located in a nice alley very close to the busy nightlife street but surprisingly quiet.

Disliked: The common area is not very big...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Julie Boule

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 December 2013 Julie would recommend this property

Liked: the staff was accomadating and helpful.

Disliked: rooms needed to be cleaned and replenished daily. hey were not

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: My time here was great. All of the workers were very kind. Every morning when I came down, I was greeted by name and they inquired about my sleep. It was in a great location, within walking distance to many attractions. The Indian restaurant next door, Taj Mahal, is absolutely fantastic as well.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is our faviroute hostel that we have stayed in during three months in SE asia. The staff are incredibly helpful (for instance we had a nightbus the evening adter we stayed and they offered to let us have a shower in their bathroom) and helped us out with a couple of tough situations. The family also have an incredibly cute baby called Nee, who was a highlight!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Elke Daelemans

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 October 2013 Elke would recommend this property

Liked: It was a pleasant stay. Really nice family, nice to meet other backpackers, good location. I had a "home"feeling. They really do the best they can for everybody

Disliked: Elke left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

09 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This was a fantastic place to stay and I would highly recommend it to everyone. The staff were incredibly helpful and welcoming and made my first visit to Vietnam and absolute delight. The location and facilities are both great and the advice you get from the staff is invaluable.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

22 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nothing. Except maybe that I had to leave.

Disliked: First, it’s the staff that makes the place: Attentive, helpful, honest, friendly and committed to a quality place to stay. I spent an extended time in this guesthouse and I have no interest in leaving, but soon I must! Everything is well maintained, clean and tidy. Relaxed atmosphere and a good place to meet other travelers! They've got the basics covered: shared computers, free coffee/tea, laundry service, and individual lockers with keys in the dorm. They also arrange tours through competent and affordable tour companies. While it’s in the heart of the backpacker’s district, it is the maximum value for your dollar. Stay in the dorm room for the added perk of the attached balcony. I’m thoroughly pleased with my experience at Ngoc’s, as you would be too.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michelle Goodall

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 September 2013 Michelle would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, awesome location.

Disliked: Michelle left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Anna Forshaw

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

24 August 2013 Anna would recommend this property

Liked: Very polite and helpful staff and a very clean hostel with free wifi. Excellent location in the backpacker area but on a side street so less noisy

Disliked: Rooms were very plain and dull with no windows but this is normal for Saigon. Lack of real communal area.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and very helpful staff.

Disliked: -

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sruthi Boppana

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 June 2013 Sruthi would recommend this property

Liked: It is a hostel run by a family and that makes all the difference. You feel like you're coming home at the end of a long day out or trips out of Ho Chi Minh. The staff are extremely helpful and go out of their way to make your stay pleasant and the convenience of being able to book your tours with them (at very reasonable prices) and be so close to the major bus companies makes it a great choice if you are making Ho chi Minh your base and doing trips in the region. All in all- this was one of my favourite hostels I've stayed at during my SEA trip and would strongly recommend it.

Disliked: It would be nice to have a larger common area for people to meet. But otherwise, no qualms

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

06 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is excellent, really comfortable bed, massive lockers so you don't have to worry about your things, great air-conditioned computer/cafe space downstairs.

Disliked: nothing at all

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christiane Zettl

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

01 June 2013 Christiane would recommend this property

Liked: Great located, really nice and helpfull staff, clean, coffee, tea and internet for free. We stayed at a twin double and had a really good time!!!

Disliked: Christiane left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Laetitia RELLA

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 May 2013 Laetitia would recommend this property

Liked: Good hostel, with nice and helpful receptionnists, cozy reception to hang around. My shared room (4 beds) had a private bathroom, and was overall clean and secure (with lockers). The location is nice: in a tiny street in the backpacker area.

Disliked: A bit expensive compared to the offer around. The only bad point is that there is no secure place to leave the backpack on check-out (just in the kitchen, in an open space near the staircase, so with a lot of people passing by, and no secure system for the luggage.... maybe giving a ticket with a number or labelling the backpack, or securing the backpack in a room closed by a key?)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

John Burnett

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

22 May 2013 John would recommend this property

Liked: We have stayed here 4 times now. The staff are always very friendly & all the bookings they have made for us have been really good value with great companies. In the centre of the backpackers area, so good value meals & drinks close by.

Disliked: John left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, good value and very honnest. I will be back soon.

Disliked: .