We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of NGOC THAO GuestHouse

Guesthouse | 241/4 Pham Ngu Lao St, WARD Pham Ngu Lao, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam 00848

91.3% Overall Rating

102 out of 106 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (18/03/2015)

"Great place to stay, clean, well organised. The management can help in everything to get sorted."

Read all NGOC THAO GuestHouse reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Ho Chi Minh City?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Ho Chi Minh City

Thanh Thuong Guesthouse
6.50 USD

Guesthouse 91.0% 372 reviews
VY KHANH GUESTHOUSE
8.50 USD

Guesthouse 96.3% 129 reviews
Le Le Hotel
11.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 85.5% 50 reviews
DUNA HOTEL
10.68 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 83.3% 13 reviews
RUBY Hostel
8.00 USD

Hostel 88.0% 45 reviews
Ngoclinh Hotel
11.00 USD

Guesthouse 89.9% 105 reviews
96 GUEST HOUSE
7.00 USD

Guesthouse 81.9% 61 reviews
LY Guesthouse
7.00 USD

Guesthouse 74.9% 19 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.3%

Overall Rating

102 out of 106 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'NGOC THAO GuestHouse'

Atmosphere
86.4%
Location
95.2%
Facilities
88.8%
Cleanliness
92.0%
Staff
94.4%
Value
88.8%
Safety
93.6%
Refine your results Showing 100 of 103 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to stay, clean, well organised. The management can help in everything to get sorted.

Disliked: N\A

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Louise Waring

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

02 February 2015 Louise would recommend this property

Liked: Central location but down a quiet side street. Very friendly helpful staff, helped us book our bus tickets to Cambodia and change money and we did the Cuchi tunnels trip which was great! We had AC and a fan in the room. They let us leave our bags and have a shower before we left for the night bus

Disliked: The fridge in the room did not work. Cold shower

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Irving Smith

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 January 2015 Irving would recommend this property

Liked: Clean Quiet Easy access to bus for airport Everything close - shops, park Early breakfast (6:30am) Friendly Helpful Nice showers Lockers Balcony

Disliked: Custom of 'shoes off' has benefits but surely causes more problems for weary feet, - they made me climb barefoot up 85 steps of stone spiral staircase carrying all my luggage to the room - I already have bad feet. I wonder how many verucas, and other foot infections from international globetrotters are passed on in these places

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

fiona wilkie

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 January 2015 fiona would recommend this property

Liked: Super helpful staff, they organize trips and travel without taking commission, helped me get a SIM card and credit, and we're always available to give advise or help. Rooms were well set up with bedside shelf night light and plug for charging. Lockers were spacious and there is plenty of room under the beds to push back packs under. Cool balcony on the 5th floor dorm room was great to have a private chill out area. Let us shower before we left on a night bus. Liked the no shoes policy :)

Disliked: Mattresses were a bit lumpy, and bathrooms were shower over the toilet so seemed to be constantly flooded - annoying if u just want to use the toilet as u get wet feet and the toilet seat is soaked, not a huge issue for me but some newer backpackers might be put off.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

22 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was really nice and friendly. They provided us with a map and gave us good advice where to eat. We really liked the pho place that they recommended. There is a nice atmosphere in the hostel.There is a common place to hang out. We took the private room, which was nice and clean.

Disliked: Nothing.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, friemelt sttaff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

27 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: When I'm backpacking I look for hostels with a good atmosphere, and Ngoc Thao had exactly that. For me the basics have to be in place, that is the hostel is clean, it's safe and I get a comfortable bed. All of that was excellent here. What makes one hostel stand out from another, for me, is whether it's easy to socialize with other guests and if the staff is nice. Both were great at Ngoc. The staff made feel very welcome and were super sweet and I found this a great place to me fun people and explore Saigon.

Disliked: I can't think of anything.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: free water, tea and coffee. cheap tours. great staff!

Disliked: nothing

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Kristin Volsky

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 March 2014 Kristin would recommend this property

Liked: I flew in and they had arranged for pick up for me at the airport. As soon ás I came out of the gate they were waiting for me. Staff was really friendly and had lots of ìnformation about local tours and buses. Right in the centre of tourist area so alot of access to tour agencies and food options. Walking distance to all major sights.

Disliked: Bathrooms for the 8 bed dorm were outside and the doors didn't shut properly so you couldn't lock them while you were using the facilities.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Vincent Wester

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 February 2014 Vincent would recommend this property

Liked: Fine hostel really. Goog place to meet fellow backpackers, located in a quiet alley in backpacker area. The tour booking service is quite good.

Disliked: Facilities could be better but nothing too bad

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff members were very friendly and the location was good enough so that we could walk to all the major tourist sites.

Disliked: Contrary to what others have said, we did not find this place to be clean at all. There were days when no one came to clean our room, and even when they did, the floors and bathroom were clearly not cleaned. The room looked really old and the beds made so much noise. The mattress was also very thin and uncomfortable.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Thomas Dippert

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

30 January 2014 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff, free wifi, computer available, free hot drinks

Disliked: simplicity in sanitary equipment

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alberto Gomez Garcia

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

12 January 2014 Alberto would recommend this property

Liked: Nice place, well located, friendly staff, recommended!

Disliked: None

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice location, friendly staff. clean bed. they arranged city tout just for USD 8. Next day the arranged trip to Ku chu tunnels just for USD 5. Lots of food stalls nearby. I loved my stay here and would recommend it.

Disliked: I liked everything.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Centrally located in a nice alley very close to the busy nightlife street but surprisingly quiet.

Disliked: The common area is not very big...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Julie Boule

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 December 2013 Julie would recommend this property

Liked: the staff was accomadating and helpful.

Disliked: rooms needed to be cleaned and replenished daily. hey were not

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: My time here was great. All of the workers were very kind. Every morning when I came down, I was greeted by name and they inquired about my sleep. It was in a great location, within walking distance to many attractions. The Indian restaurant next door, Taj Mahal, is absolutely fantastic as well.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is our faviroute hostel that we have stayed in during three months in SE asia. The staff are incredibly helpful (for instance we had a nightbus the evening adter we stayed and they offered to let us have a shower in their bathroom) and helped us out with a couple of tough situations. The family also have an incredibly cute baby called Nee, who was a highlight!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Elke Daelemans

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 October 2013 Elke would recommend this property

Liked: It was a pleasant stay. Really nice family, nice to meet other backpackers, good location. I had a "home"feeling. They really do the best they can for everybody

Disliked: Elke left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

09 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This was a fantastic place to stay and I would highly recommend it to everyone. The staff were incredibly helpful and welcoming and made my first visit to Vietnam and absolute delight. The location and facilities are both great and the advice you get from the staff is invaluable.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

22 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nothing. Except maybe that I had to leave.

Disliked: First, it’s the staff that makes the place: Attentive, helpful, honest, friendly and committed to a quality place to stay. I spent an extended time in this guesthouse and I have no interest in leaving, but soon I must! Everything is well maintained, clean and tidy. Relaxed atmosphere and a good place to meet other travelers! They've got the basics covered: shared computers, free coffee/tea, laundry service, and individual lockers with keys in the dorm. They also arrange tours through competent and affordable tour companies. While it’s in the heart of the backpacker’s district, it is the maximum value for your dollar. Stay in the dorm room for the added perk of the attached balcony. I’m thoroughly pleased with my experience at Ngoc’s, as you would be too.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michelle Goodall

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 September 2013 Michelle would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, awesome location.

Disliked: Michelle left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Anna Forshaw

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

24 August 2013 Anna would recommend this property

Liked: Very polite and helpful staff and a very clean hostel with free wifi. Excellent location in the backpacker area but on a side street so less noisy

Disliked: Rooms were very plain and dull with no windows but this is normal for Saigon. Lack of real communal area.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and very helpful staff.

Disliked: -

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sruthi Boppana

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 June 2013 Sruthi would recommend this property

Liked: It is a hostel run by a family and that makes all the difference. You feel like you're coming home at the end of a long day out or trips out of Ho Chi Minh. The staff are extremely helpful and go out of their way to make your stay pleasant and the convenience of being able to book your tours with them (at very reasonable prices) and be so close to the major bus companies makes it a great choice if you are making Ho chi Minh your base and doing trips in the region. All in all- this was one of my favourite hostels I've stayed at during my SEA trip and would strongly recommend it.

Disliked: It would be nice to have a larger common area for people to meet. But otherwise, no qualms