HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of VY KHANH GUESTHOUSE

Guesthouse | 241/11/6 Pham Ngu Lao, district 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam -

91.7% Overall Rating

113 out of 115 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (13/04/2014)

Carolyn McGinty thinks…

"The family who own this place are just fantastic warm and welcoming. Fabulous location can walk everywhere. Very clean and comfortable a little oasis in the middle of chaos."

Read all VY KHANH GUESTHOUSE reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Currency Exchange
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Room service (24 hour)
  • Wake-up calls
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room
  • Sofa

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 15.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Ho Chi Minh City?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Ho Chi Minh City

Thanh Thuong Guesthouse
7.00 USD

Guesthouse 91.7% 367 reviews
RUBY Hostel
6.00 USD

Hostel 89.9% 43 reviews
Thien Hong Hotel
6.86 USD

Hotel 3 star 88.9% 43 reviews
My My Arthouse
5.50 USD

Hotel 4 star 86.3% 380 reviews
Ngoclinh Hotel
11.00 USD

Guesthouse 89.6% 103 reviews
Saigon Youth Hostel
8.00 USD

Hostel 84.9% 29 reviews
ANH DAO GUESTHOUSE
8.39 USD

Hostel 70.5% 3 reviews
96 GUEST HOUSE
7.00 USD

Guesthouse 83.8% 58 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.7%

Overall Rating

113 out of 115 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'VY KHANH GUESTHOUSE'

Atmosphere
87.2%
Location
90.4%
Facilities
87.2%
Cleanliness
94.4%
Staff
97.6%
Value
92.8%
Safety
92.0%
Refine your results Showing 102 of 113 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Carolyn McGinty

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

13 April 2014 Carolyn would recommend this property

Liked: The family who own this place are just fantastic warm and welcoming. Fabulous location can walk everywhere. Very clean and comfortable a little oasis in the middle of chaos.

Disliked: Nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

04 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: THIS GESTHOUSE IS VERY CLEAN AND STAF HELPFUL AND FRIENDLINESS.

Disliked: LOCATION IS NOT THE BEST.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrian Alfonso

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

31 January 2014 Andrian would recommend this property

Liked: Vy Khanh is known for the people running it. Miss Vy answered our questions dutifully and even warned us of pickpockets. Her cousin's wife from Hanoi is very warm and welcoming. She regularly offers free cup of coffee and banana every morning.

Disliked: The stairs to the superior rooms! :( Really narrow. It would have been great if each room has its own safe. :)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ALAN ROSS

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

08 December 2013 ALAN would recommend this property

Liked: Very welcoming and helpful owners. Quiet at night yet close to all amenities. Clean, tidy and good coffee

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff are extremely helpful and friendly

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Danielle Roderick

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

20 September 2013 Danielle would recommend this property

Liked: Great location albeit hard to find. lovely and helpful guests, very clean room and great little set up.

Disliked: A common type area would be handy as some of the other guesthouses in the area have.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Eric Jimenez

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

22 August 2013 Eric would recommend this property

Liked: When the taxi driver dropped us off on the main road we were a little confused where the hostel was. You have to go down the side street (between a smoothie bar and an Indian restaurant) and turn left and you can see it (takes 20 seconds if that). The hostel is run by a kind family. Upon our arrival we were given a map with different sites (the market, Saigon river, War Remnants museum, etc.) along with recommended places to eat which were great! From this location it is easy to get everywhere by foot although it may take 25~30 minutes to get to the War Remnants museum area. Also, when we were leaving we left are bags in their kitchen while we went out because it felt safer rather than leaving it in the main room/'front desk' although someone is always there. Very friendly and helpful. They even called our taxi to the airport and ordered on 'Water Puppet' tickets and Cu Chi tunnel tour (discounted) for us.

Disliked: All rooms have double beds. No two single beds so be prepared to share.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Donna Cottle

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

20 July 2013 Donna would recommend this property

Liked: The situation was great. Right in the centre of Ho Chi Minh City. The friendly family atmosphere made us feel welcome and at home and willing to help with all our travel requests from day tours to airport drop off and pick up at great prices.

Disliked: Donna left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Angela Donaldson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

15 July 2013 Angela would recommend this property

Liked: The location is awesome, right in the middle of district 1. The room was very basic but spotlessly clean and the staff were really helpful and kind.

Disliked: The street noise is loud and you can here the people above you taking a pee but hey it is HCMC! It is loud!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Walter Pirovano

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

23 June 2013 Walter would recommend this property

Liked: Very (very) friendly family which really do a good effort to make your stay as pleasant as possible. Location is very central, rooms are spotless and for the low price true value for money. Also very good indications are given for dinner, tours, taxis, busses etc., we did really feel at home in this family.

Disliked: A tiny dodgy street needs to be taken before arriving at the hostel. Room on first floor right in front of the kitchen, but owners are already taking care of better isolation.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

06 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The operator's mum was a friendly and tried her best to assist us. She provided us with relevant information once we stepped in and served us welcome drinks. Nice & very comfortable bed.

Disliked: Narrow stairs and no elevator.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

14 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Located in city center, very clean, helpful staff

Disliked: Nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really clean, friendly place. Ms Vy was very welcoming and helpful. She gave us the most useful map of any city we've ever been too - I'm not kidding... multiple different colour-coded highlights for places to eat, places to visit etc. Really great! We felt very comfortable here - highly recommended.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

09 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's only small, but it is very friendly and Ms Vy shows kindness and personal interest in the welfare of her guests.

Disliked: Our lower floor room was a bit noisy (including drains) but I think the problem might have been another guest coming in late and snoring for a while on the couch in the foyer.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

08 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice guesthouse in the heart of district 1. The hotel is located next all major attractions, markets and restaurants. Room was really clean and cool. The owners are really nice and friendly people. Good value for money.

Disliked: nothing

The property's response is...

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Paradise Joy Mendoza

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture

31 March 2013 Paradise Joy would recommend this property

Liked: accommodating, near to our favorite hang out place (fresh fruit shake and baguette)

Disliked: None

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Claire Leigh

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

26 March 2013 Claire would recommend this property

Liked: They provided us with an excellent map which was colour coded with areas of interest, most helpful. Vy and her mother also offered us Vietnamese coffee, which was very nice and much appreciated. Vy and her family are lovely people and will go out of their way to help you. Clean, tidy and safe - host who were very helpful and welcoming - Couldn't ask for much more. Great value for money.

Disliked: Nothing.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jose Pedro Urrestarazu

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 March 2013 Jose Pedro would recommend this property

Liked: It's a great place to sleep. Very clean, well located, simple, and so cheap! Not a great place to meet other travellers, since there's no common areas. It would be stupid to ask more to the place for the price you pay!

Disliked: The shower is not separated of the rest of the toilet, so when you shower, everything gets wet.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

24 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Vy was extremely helpful with recommending areas to check out. She provided a great map highlighted in different colors to represent food, entertainment and important sites around the city. Highly recommended.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lei Qin

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

22 February 2013 Lei would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed in a double room. The room was very clean. AC, TV, showers, towels, all nice. Very close to the main street and city center, lots of restaurants and bars nearby. The host was super friendly and helpful. Very good value of money.

Disliked: Nothing big deal. They charge 3% more if you use a credit card. The room is a bit small. Hard to find the house since it is located in a small alley, but once you know the way it is not a problem.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Shannon Sullivan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 February 2013 Shannon would recommend this property

Liked: The owners are SO helpful, they really went out of their way to help with anything that you needed. Their english is excellent, and Vy provided a colour coded map with all of the recommended restaurants, sites and entertainment options. Booking tours and buses was so easy and I felt very safe and comfortable. I couldn't recommend highly enough!

Disliked: There was nothing to dislike!

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

19 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean room; very friendly and helpful host; very good and quite location.

Disliked: None.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: FANTASTIC. The staff are more than kind. They made sure I had everything I needed and more. I mentioned in passing that I loved fruit, and so one of the ladies went out and bought fruit for me. They do everything possible to make you comfortable and welcomed. I would definitely recommend this to anyone!

Disliked: Nothing - just simply fantastic!

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

10 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean, cheap, and the staff were extremely friendly and helpful

Disliked: It was small, but u can't complain when it was so cheap

The property's response is...