HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of VY KHANH GUESTHOUSE

Guesthouse | 241/11/6 Pham Ngu Lao, district 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam -

95.4% Overall Rating

121 out of 124 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (29/07/2014)

Frank Preusche thinks…

"The guesthouse was spotlessly clean, The staff were always friendly and very helpful."

Read all VY KHANH GUESTHOUSE reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Currency Exchange
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Room service (24 hour)
  • Wake-up calls
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room
  • Sofa

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 15.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Ho Chi Minh City?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Ho Chi Minh City

Thanh Thuong Guesthouse
7.50 USD

Guesthouse 91.5% 368 reviews
RUBY Hostel
7.00 USD

Hostel 88.8% 44 reviews
Thien Hong Hotel
5.86 USD

Hotel 3 star 88.6% 50 reviews
My My Arthouse
6.00 USD

Hostel 81.7% 410 reviews
Ngoclinh Hotel
10.00 USD

Guesthouse 89.6% 103 reviews
Saigon Youth Hostel
8.00 USD

Hostel 83.3% 39 reviews
ANH DAO GUESTHOUSE
8.37 USD

Hostel 70.5% 3 reviews
96 GUEST HOUSE
7.00 USD

Guesthouse 82.5% 59 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
95.4%

Overall Rating

121 out of 124 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'VY KHANH GUESTHOUSE'

Atmosphere
94.4%
Location
96.0%
Facilities
90.4%
Cleanliness
96.8%
Staff
98.4%
Value
95.2%
Safety
96.8%
Refine your results Showing 111 of 123 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

John Burnett

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

27 August 2014

Liked: Location

Disliked: No hot water!

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Frank Preusche

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

29 July 2014 Frank would recommend this property

Liked: The guesthouse was spotlessly clean, The staff were always friendly and very helpful.

Disliked: There was nothing to dislike

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

10 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Centrally located, very helpful staff with very adequate English, better value than fancy hotels that essentially offer the same facilities.

Disliked: Nothing to dislike.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Peter Moody

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 July 2014 Peter would recommend this property

Liked: With a warm welcome and knowledgable host - my stay at Vy Khana was a great choice for Ho Chi Minh City. It is situated perfectly to explore the city on foot and offer a range of tour options to suit every budget. Clean, safe and quiet with superb wifi and all the amenities you would expect in the finest hotel. Staying at Vy Khana will make your Vietnam experience all the more memorable.

Disliked: N/A

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Ms. Is really friendly, she welcomed us warmly and gave us a wounderful Map with her recommondations in places to eat, sightseeing spots, bars and spas. Not the typically Touristlocation. She was always helpful. The rooms are very clean and quiet with everything you need. The guesthouse is not a partyhostel, which was good for us. Many Bars and partyoptions down the street. We really liked the Place and stayed 2 days longer as planned.

Disliked: Only small things: No Safe in the room, some power points did not work

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the action, friendly staff and small but nice and clean room

Disliked: Its a bit light in the room because both window and door shine through a lot of light so you wake up quiete early but natural in the morning

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The service. Take care about the customer Alto of good edvice worth Alto of many and help for my confidence

Disliked: All good

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

28 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owner was extremely helpful & warm. she helps every customer from the begining (inquiry) untill we check-out. very customer oriented. The guesthouse very clean, very comfortable. the location also very strategic.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

20 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This was a home away from home. The place was clean, with strong aircon, wifi and hot showers. I was picked up from the airport without any issues, served a welcome drink, and given a wonderful hand-drawn map around the area. There were even bottles of water conveniently placed along the stairwell for guests to take and pay (at decent prices) later. Vy and her family were extremely helpful in arranging for our bus tickets to Dalat, a nice dinner on a boat and advising us on anything from snatch thieves to directions. Great place to stay!

Disliked: This wasn't something I disliked, but if there was another set of handrails along the open side of the stairwell, it would make carrying luggage up and down much easier.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Carolyn McGinty

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

13 April 2014 Carolyn would recommend this property

Liked: The family who own this place are just fantastic warm and welcoming. Fabulous location can walk everywhere. Very clean and comfortable a little oasis in the middle of chaos.

Disliked: Nothing

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

04 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: THIS GESTHOUSE IS VERY CLEAN AND STAF HELPFUL AND FRIENDLINESS.

Disliked: LOCATION IS NOT THE BEST.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrian Alfonso

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

31 January 2014 Andrian would recommend this property

Liked: Vy Khanh is known for the people running it. Miss Vy answered our questions dutifully and even warned us of pickpockets. Her cousin's wife from Hanoi is very warm and welcoming. She regularly offers free cup of coffee and banana every morning.

Disliked: The stairs to the superior rooms! :( Really narrow. It would have been great if each room has its own safe. :)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ALAN ROSS

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

08 December 2013 ALAN would recommend this property

Liked: Very welcoming and helpful owners. Quiet at night yet close to all amenities. Clean, tidy and good coffee

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff are extremely helpful and friendly

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Danielle Roderick

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

20 September 2013 Danielle would recommend this property

Liked: Great location albeit hard to find. lovely and helpful guests, very clean room and great little set up.

Disliked: A common type area would be handy as some of the other guesthouses in the area have.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Eric Jimenez

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

22 August 2013 Eric would recommend this property

Liked: When the taxi driver dropped us off on the main road we were a little confused where the hostel was. You have to go down the side street (between a smoothie bar and an Indian restaurant) and turn left and you can see it (takes 20 seconds if that). The hostel is run by a kind family. Upon our arrival we were given a map with different sites (the market, Saigon river, War Remnants museum, etc.) along with recommended places to eat which were great! From this location it is easy to get everywhere by foot although it may take 25~30 minutes to get to the War Remnants museum area. Also, when we were leaving we left are bags in their kitchen while we went out because it felt safer rather than leaving it in the main room/'front desk' although someone is always there. Very friendly and helpful. They even called our taxi to the airport and ordered on 'Water Puppet' tickets and Cu Chi tunnel tour (discounted) for us.

Disliked: All rooms have double beds. No two single beds so be prepared to share.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Donna Cottle

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

20 July 2013 Donna would recommend this property

Liked: The situation was great. Right in the centre of Ho Chi Minh City. The friendly family atmosphere made us feel welcome and at home and willing to help with all our travel requests from day tours to airport drop off and pick up at great prices.

Disliked: Donna left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Angela Donaldson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

15 July 2013 Angela would recommend this property

Liked: The location is awesome, right in the middle of district 1. The room was very basic but spotlessly clean and the staff were really helpful and kind.

Disliked: The street noise is loud and you can here the people above you taking a pee but hey it is HCMC! It is loud!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Walter Pirovano

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

23 June 2013 Walter would recommend this property

Liked: Very (very) friendly family which really do a good effort to make your stay as pleasant as possible. Location is very central, rooms are spotless and for the low price true value for money. Also very good indications are given for dinner, tours, taxis, busses etc., we did really feel at home in this family.

Disliked: A tiny dodgy street needs to be taken before arriving at the hostel. Room on first floor right in front of the kitchen, but owners are already taking care of better isolation.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

06 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The operator's mum was a friendly and tried her best to assist us. She provided us with relevant information once we stepped in and served us welcome drinks. Nice & very comfortable bed.

Disliked: Narrow stairs and no elevator.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

14 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Located in city center, very clean, helpful staff

Disliked: Nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really clean, friendly place. Ms Vy was very welcoming and helpful. She gave us the most useful map of any city we've ever been too - I'm not kidding... multiple different colour-coded highlights for places to eat, places to visit etc. Really great! We felt very comfortable here - highly recommended.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

09 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's only small, but it is very friendly and Ms Vy shows kindness and personal interest in the welfare of her guests.

Disliked: Our lower floor room was a bit noisy (including drains) but I think the problem might have been another guest coming in late and snoring for a while on the couch in the foyer.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

08 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice guesthouse in the heart of district 1. The hotel is located next all major attractions, markets and restaurants. Room was really clean and cool. The owners are really nice and friendly people. Good value for money.

Disliked: nothing

The property's response is...