We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of VY KHANH GUESTHOUSE

Guesthouse | 241/11/6 Pham Ngu Lao, district 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam -

95.1% Overall Rating

136 out of 139 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (21/08/2015)

Joanne Brewer thinks…

"The hostel had very friendly and helpful staff. It was in a good location within walking distance to a lot of sights and restaurants and shops. The room was spacious and clean. The staff were…"

Read all VY KHANH GUESTHOUSE reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Currency Exchange
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Room service (24 hour)
  • Wake-up calls
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room
  • Sofa

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 15.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Ho Chi Minh City?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Ho Chi Minh City

Thanh Thuong Guesthouse
6.50 USD

Guesthouse 91.0% 372 reviews
RUBY Hostel
8.00 USD

Hostel 88.0% 45 reviews
Thien Hong Hotel
5.51 USD

Hotel 3 star 87.9% 59 reviews
My My Arthouse
5.20 USD

Hostel 75.2% 447 reviews
Ngoclinh Hotel
11.00 USD

Guesthouse 90.2% 107 reviews
Saigon Youth Hostel
6.00 USD

Hostel 81.8% 51 reviews
96 GUEST HOUSE
6.00 USD

Guesthouse 80.2% 62 reviews
NGOC THAO GuestHouse
7.00 USD

Guesthouse 89.4% 112 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 04/09/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 04/09/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
95.1%

Overall Rating

136 out of 139 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'VY KHANH GUESTHOUSE'

Atmosphere
92.0%
Location
98.4%
Facilities
92.0%
Cleanliness
95.2%
Staff
96.8%
Value
94.4%
Safety
96.8%
Refine your results Showing 124 of 138 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Joanne Brewer

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 August 2015 Joanne would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel had very friendly and helpful staff. It was in a good location within walking distance to a lot of sights and restaurants and shops. The room was spacious and clean. The staff were welcoming and even rushed upstairs with a welcome drink, even though it was 11:30pm as our flight was delayed! Really good value place to stay.

Disliked: The bathroom smelled a bit of urine. Also it was noisy from outside but this was not the hostels fault at all-just bring ear plugs!

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

gordon boyd

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 August 2015 gordon would recommend this property

Liked: Located in a really good district. Everything really clean

Disliked: The owner can be quite condescending in the way she talks, I honestly don't think it's as good as trip advisor makes it out to be.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

09 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful. Fantastic location!

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Julia Zhu

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

06 August 2015 Julia would recommend this property

Liked: Good location. Shower had good water pressure. Room had working AC and cable TV. They sell cheap water as well and helpful with tours.

Disliked: Shower was small but manageable.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ross McKeown

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2015 Ross would recommend this property

Liked: Vy Khanh who runs this quaint hostel stretched across two buildings is an absolute gem in an otherwise hectic metropolis. Her insights into local Ho Chi Minh life, sightseeing and general everyday safety tips were invaluable. Additionally, the property ticks all necessary boxes in terms of backpacking requirements - perfect for a short stay in Ho Chi.

Disliked: Nothing.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

26 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything... All of the staff went out of their way to help with all our needs but owner Vy was particularly brilliant at sharing local knowledge, providing important information and making suggestions for how we could spend our time in HCMC. Fabulous location with loads of cheap and scrumptious food right around the corner. A super clean, welcoming and calm space to rest our heads despite being amongst the noise and busy-ness of the city. Also recommend transfer direct to the guesthouse from the airport - Vy arranges this as well.

Disliked: Nothing. We are coming back at the end of our stay.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Adam Brown

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 June 2015 Adam would recommend this property

Liked: My wife and I stayed here for 5 nights in June 2015. Ms Vy and family could not have been better hosts. They give you lots of information on arrival about sightseeing, museums and (most importantly) where to eat! We recommend the standard rooms which are good and clean, not luxury but you know what to expect for this price. We booked the Cu Chi tunnels and 1 day Mekong Delta trip with her, both were good (see if you can get Mr Bean for the Cu Chi tour). She also booked our bus to Nha Trang and made sure we got one of the good buses. These are just normal things all the good hostels will do. What made Ms Vy the best was taking us on a long walk thru the city to a great spot to see the skyline (for free). She also took us to get some famous banh mi one night. My wife's wrist was sore so one afternoon she brought us to a Chinese doctor to get treatment - an experience for us westerners! Bottom line, stay here you won't regret it. We will certainly be back next time we're in Saigon.

Disliked: Nothing.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Natasha Balfe

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 May 2015 Natasha would recommend this property

Liked: Location was great, near ATMs, shops, bars, restaurants and walking distance to museums and places of interest. Vy was so helpful and friendly and gave us a detailed map with recommendations for things to do and restaurants/bars. Comfy room, hot shower, very clean, great aircon. It has everything you need. Would recommend to anyone.

Disliked: Nothing.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice homestay. We got a welcome drink and free coffee each morning. The room was clean and from the location you can reach all important things in HCMC very easy. We've got a lot of hints about thinks to do nearby and lot of things locals do. We would stay their again.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

11 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely staff :) beautiful family atmosphere

Disliked: Nothing!

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's a great guesthouse. Our room was very clean and the owner is so lovely and helpful. The location was also good. We had a great stay at this guesthouse and would definitely recommend it.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tamara Mason

With my spouse / partner

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

24 January 2015 Tamara would recommend this property

Liked: Vy is amazing! She was so helpful during our two different visits to her guesthouse. She made us feel at home and set us up so well for the next stages of our trip. We enjoyed our stay here and it's in a good location for seeing the main sights. Vy also has a lot of helpful tips to make your stay easier and safer

Disliked: Nothing! Great place to stay.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

luisa latini

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 January 2015 luisa would recommend this property

Liked: the staff is very helpful, ms Vk gave us a very useful map where you could find information about food, seightseeing,, massage, markets and so on.

Disliked: luisa left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

John Burnett

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

27 August 2014

Liked: Location

Disliked: No hot water!

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Frank Preusche

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

29 July 2014 Frank would recommend this property

Liked: The guesthouse was spotlessly clean, The staff were always friendly and very helpful.

Disliked: There was nothing to dislike

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

10 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Centrally located, very helpful staff with very adequate English, better value than fancy hotels that essentially offer the same facilities.

Disliked: Nothing to dislike.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Peter Moody

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 July 2014 Peter would recommend this property

Liked: With a warm welcome and knowledgable host - my stay at Vy Khana was a great choice for Ho Chi Minh City. It is situated perfectly to explore the city on foot and offer a range of tour options to suit every budget. Clean, safe and quiet with superb wifi and all the amenities you would expect in the finest hotel. Staying at Vy Khana will make your Vietnam experience all the more memorable.

Disliked: N/A

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Ms. Is really friendly, she welcomed us warmly and gave us a wounderful Map with her recommondations in places to eat, sightseeing spots, bars and spas. Not the typically Touristlocation. She was always helpful. The rooms are very clean and quiet with everything you need. The guesthouse is not a partyhostel, which was good for us. Many Bars and partyoptions down the street. We really liked the Place and stayed 2 days longer as planned.

Disliked: Only small things: No Safe in the room, some power points did not work

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the action, friendly staff and small but nice and clean room

Disliked: Its a bit light in the room because both window and door shine through a lot of light so you wake up quiete early but natural in the morning

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The service. Take care about the customer Alto of good edvice worth Alto of many and help for my confidence

Disliked: All good

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

28 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owner was extremely helpful & warm. she helps every customer from the begining (inquiry) untill we check-out. very customer oriented. The guesthouse very clean, very comfortable. the location also very strategic.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

20 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This was a home away from home. The place was clean, with strong aircon, wifi and hot showers. I was picked up from the airport without any issues, served a welcome drink, and given a wonderful hand-drawn map around the area. There were even bottles of water conveniently placed along the stairwell for guests to take and pay (at decent prices) later. Vy and her family were extremely helpful in arranging for our bus tickets to Dalat, a nice dinner on a boat and advising us on anything from snatch thieves to directions. Great place to stay!

Disliked: This wasn't something I disliked, but if there was another set of handrails along the open side of the stairwell, it would make carrying luggage up and down much easier.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Carolyn McGinty

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

13 April 2014 Carolyn would recommend this property

Liked: The family who own this place are just fantastic warm and welcoming. Fabulous location can walk everywhere. Very clean and comfortable a little oasis in the middle of chaos.

Disliked: Nothing

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

04 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: THIS GESTHOUSE IS VERY CLEAN AND STAF HELPFUL AND FRIENDLINESS.

Disliked: LOCATION IS NOT THE BEST.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrian Alfonso

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

31 January 2014 Andrian would recommend this property

Liked: Vy Khanh is known for the people running it. Miss Vy answered our questions dutifully and even warned us of pickpockets. Her cousin's wife from Hanoi is very warm and welcoming. She regularly offers free cup of coffee and banana every morning.

Disliked: The stairs to the superior rooms! :( Really narrow. It would have been great if each room has its own safe. :)