HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of A Huy Chuong (former Huong Viet hostel)

Hostel | 184 Tran Quang Khai, Tan Dinh Ward, Dist. 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam 1000

93.1% Overall Rating

94 out of 100 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (06/10/2011)

"Location ok near a normal part of Saigon and a nice walk to the center through market."

Read all A Huy Chuong (former Huong Viet hostel) reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Ho Chi Minh City?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Ho Chi Minh City

Evergreen Hotel
15.00 USD

Hotel 5 star 87.6% 17 reviews
The Alcove Library Hotel
51.00 USD

Hotel 3.5 star Not yet rated
A Kim Long hostel
4.00 USD

Hostel 82.9% 7 reviews
HANRIVER SAI GON HOTEL
13.89 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
A Song Thuong
13.77 USD

Hostel 87.5% 8 reviews
Tan My Dinh Hotel
100.00 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
HA MY HOTEL
32.38 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Mai Anh Hotel
10.31 USD

Hotel 2.5 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
93.1%

Overall Rating

94 out of 100 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'A Huy Chuong (former Huong Viet hostel)'

Atmosphere
90.4%
Location
91.2%
Facilities
92.8%
Cleanliness
96.0%
Staff
96.8%
Value
91.2%
Safety
93.6%
Refine your results Showing 94 of 94 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 October 2011

Liked: Location ok near a normal part of Saigon and a nice walk to the center through market.

Disliked: Overpriced, awful tourist information includes trying to con you into $33 bus to Mui Ne, etc... its $6 on a nice bus from the north bus station.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

James Lumley

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

25 September 2011 James would recommend this property

Liked: The property was clean, it turned out to be in quite a good location, the complimentary breakfeast was also quite nice. Overall I found the place to be much better than average. The owners English and conversation skills are quite excellent. The fact that he managed to pick me up at the airport with such late notice was also commendable.

Disliked: I would not recommend booking your excursions with them as the prices are slightly inflated. ie: a half day journey lasted around 5 hours and had us back quite earlier than would be expected. They are very helpful with giving you options for turther travel, but don't be suprised to find the commission a bit higher than expected. (for myself a difference of 20 USD) No hot water in the dorms.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Family Holiday

05 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great service. I got a pick up from the airport because i was arriving at midnight and everything from pick up to check in happened seamlessly. Free wi-fi and phone calls, great dorms and close to the airport.

Disliked: Nothing.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Most of the staff are absolutely lovely. They are more than happy to help.

Disliked: The managers wife at this hostel is over friendly. Quite intrusive at times...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Blake Johnson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

09 August 2011 Blake would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing Hostel, the concierge Xavier made sure that everyone of my needs was met immediately and made me feel right at home. I even had my room upgraded for free!

Disliked: Nothing

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 August 2011

Liked: Friendly staff

Disliked: No locks on the doors of the dorm room and no lockers available made me feel very uneasy in the place. Also although the owner was very friendly he did seem to be trying to push a lot of tours onto you. The rooster in the building across the way will also ensure there is no chance of a lie in if that is what you want and its location on a main road leads to a lot of traffic n oise aswell. It is also not located near any of the tourist sites.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Louise Mayman

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

31 July 2011 Louise would recommend this property

Liked: The free breakfast was served on the rooftop and the manager was so helpful and friendly. Room was nice and big and the location was near the central sights.

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

victoria hacker

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 July 2011 victoria would recommend this property

Liked: The owner & his family were very,very helpful. I loved the sun terrace on the roof and a good breakfast.

Disliked: The shower was poor.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa

27 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: personal relationship with staff

Disliked: no

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

27 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: everything but

Disliked: so sunny on the terrace during breakfast

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping

27 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Despite all my downgrades and changes due to personal reasons, management of Huong Viet hostel was very accommodating to find best and most affordable fitting solution. Thank you.

Disliked: Disliked: nil

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture

24 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean rooms and nice tours

Disliked: -

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

24 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice information and professional services

Disliked: the dorm was noisy

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

23 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I like their attentive service and immediate solutions

Disliked: no

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

23 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Room was clean

Disliked: -

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

22 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: In a quiet and authentic area apart from western city center, this place is ideal for immersion.

Disliked: 0

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very nice family rooms

Disliked: none

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anthony Stroyd

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 June 2011 Anthony would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff who helped us with everything we needed. Good location next to backpacker area but down a quiet street.

Disliked: Nothing to dislike, everything was good.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Relaxation/spa

31 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I extended one more week! it is very nice hostel, I appreciated the evening beer with night shift-man, watching the street. I will come back.

Disliked: nil

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

20 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Dorm is clean and inexpensive. Nice experience.

Disliked: no

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

20 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I really appreciated my stay at Huong Viet hostel: away from tourist hassles, yet still in dist. 1, with top entertaining tours and plenty of advices at breakfast.

Disliked: no

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the owner is really friendly and knows alot of history. lovely guy.

Disliked: too far from town for a backpacker. its not a traditional backpackers. 1 dorm room with 6 beds in a hotel with no common area.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice dorm, away from tourist hassles and in authentic environment.

Disliked: The dorm may be noisy if full

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

28 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice large dorms with huge bathroom. Nice service-oriented environment

Disliked: no

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

28 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cleanliness, large room and nice staff, especially manager. They were able to organize our continuing trip by bus to Dalat, inexpensively and efficiently. Their tours are more expensive, but private and top-level.

Disliked: nil