HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Thanh Thuong Guesthouse

Guesthouse | 241/6 Pham Ngu Lao Street, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam .

91.5% Overall Rating

357 out of 368 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (29/03/2014)

"staff was very friendly and helpfull. Location a bit difficult to find but in a really nice neibourhood"

Read all Thanh Thuong Guesthouse reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Laundry service
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 15.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Ho Chi Minh City?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Ho Chi Minh City

VY KHANH GUESTHOUSE
8.70 USD

Guesthouse 95.4% 124 reviews
RUBY Hostel
7.00 USD

Hostel 88.8% 44 reviews
Thien Hong Hotel
5.86 USD

Hotel 3 star 88.6% 50 reviews
My My Arthouse
6.00 USD

Hostel 81.7% 410 reviews
Ngoclinh Hotel
10.00 USD

Guesthouse 89.6% 103 reviews
Saigon Youth Hostel
8.00 USD

Hostel 83.3% 39 reviews
ANH DAO GUESTHOUSE
8.37 USD

Hostel 70.5% 3 reviews
96 GUEST HOUSE
7.00 USD

Guesthouse 82.5% 59 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.5%

Overall Rating

357 out of 368 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Thanh Thuong Guesthouse'

Atmosphere
90.4%
Location
97.6%
Facilities
92.0%
Cleanliness
88.8%
Staff
97.6%
Value
84.8%
Safety
89.6%
Refine your results Showing 343 of 355 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 13 | 14   Next
Reset filter
71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: staff was very friendly and helpfull. Location a bit difficult to find but in a really nice neibourhood

Disliked: I had a private room. It was ok, but not very clean and I think you can find better places for the money I spend.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Stefan Schulz

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

01 March 2014 Stefan would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff. Location is in the middle of the backpacker area, so only a few steps away you have a lot of bars and big choice of streetfood. We highly recommend this place.

Disliked: Nothing!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are really helpful with getting to know the area and booking trips/taxis. The guesthouse is in an ideal location for backpackers as the main 'strip' is literally at the end of the alley. I would recommend ABC bakery for breakfast!

Disliked: We did some laundry here and even though there are warnings, a couple of tops had yellow stains when returned... Depending on what floor you are on, it's leg day everyday haha.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really helpful staff, great location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

sara everitt

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 February 2014 sara would recommend this property

Liked: Great location for backpacker area Great and very helpful staff Good value for money

Disliked: We haddock a budget room and there is no window. That's the only bad thing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

nicolas juge

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Family Holiday
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 February 2014 nicolas would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff! Location is perfect! Near the backpacker area but in a small and charming street. No noise during the night so we can have a good rest. Own by a nice young couple. We will come back ;)

Disliked: Just our room was clean once during our 4 nights stayed. Had to ask toilet paper.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Work / volunteering

01 February 2014

Liked: Friendly, helpful staff.

Disliked: The room they showed me was so small, I had to 'upgrade' or end up sharing the bed with my suitcases.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ida Håkansdotter

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

31 January 2014 Ida would recommend this property

Liked: Everything about this place was really great and we ended up coming back to stay an additional two nights. Super friendly staff, nice rooms, very helpful and great English among most staff. We thought we had lost a flip flop in the entrance as we were leaving and the entire staff started looking for it, although we couldn't find it. No harm done, we found it as we unpacked when we got home :) Would definitely come back they have our warmest recommendations.

Disliked: Nothing - the only thing would be that it's located in the backpacking district so a bit far when you want to venture out of the tourist area.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jan Domanski

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

31 December 2013 Jan would recommend this property

Liked: Everything :))) GREAT place to stay. 6 star hostel :) Friendly and helpful stuff, clean, great location,

Disliked: Jan left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

peter williams

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 December 2013 peter would recommend this property

Liked: Good location,for backpacker area and for local and opennbus stops / offices. Clean and tidy, friendly staff and good Wi-Fi. Also to computers you can use for free in reception.

Disliked: Bit of noise from building work next door, from 7am, this should only be temporarily. Breakfast not offered but saying that you get get an English breakfast two doors away.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Caitlyn O'Dowd

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 November 2013 Caitlyn would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely and very helpful staff! We ended up staying with them again when we came back to Saigon a week later.

Disliked: Nil

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Vincent-Alexandre Fournier

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 July 2013

Liked: Location

Disliked: Dirty walls, broken roof in the bathroom, small room and no window (we will put some photos on trip advisor as soon as possible) Staff asked us to check out earlier because others guests were already there BUT the day before we waited until the afternoon to get our small poor room (we waited for our room even if the non profestionnal told us that he can ask the guests earlier so that we can check-in). Small common area and the staff take all the place

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

23 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room and location was great, but most of all the hostel staff were amazing. Helped us right from the start to find our way around the city, book tours and anything else we needed and were so kind all the time. The best hostel we stayed at in Vietnam.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

20 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff, great location, clean rooms, great value for money!

Disliked: nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location couldn't be better, and the staff is really eager to help

Disliked: Maybe the staff was a little too eager to help; when we arrived at night after about 24 h of travelling, an hour of map and sights Info was a bit too much (i just wanted to sleep!). But this must qualify as a very small 'dislike'...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ika Widyarini

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

30 June 2013 Ika would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the center of HCM city, only 3 minutes away from our bus drop off. The staff was friendly

Disliked: We got room at 5th floor, which is a bit of a shock after a day of travel but the condition of the room redeem itself

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Matija Mrazek

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 June 2013 Matija would recommend this property

Liked: location and staff

Disliked: security

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

scott reiffel

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

21 June 2013 scott would recommend this property

Liked: Great location Great family Good value for money This is a guest house not a hotel

Disliked: Nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

20 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent Location in Ho Chi Minh, staff very freindly and helpful on arrival. Has everything you need. It was clean, safe and quiet enough to have a good nights sleep. Guesthouse contacted us personally before the stay

Disliked: It is a guesthouse, not a hotel and you get what you pay for, I have stayed in a lot worse than this for a lot more money. Such as there was no view, location is down a dark alley and could be difficult to find. Very happy with the hostel

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff and great location

Disliked: They didn't really budge on trip prices when trying to negotiate

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jodie Kane

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 May 2013 Jodie would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were overly helpful and someone was always available to help. Any problem that we had we asked the owner and he fixed it straight away and with a smile :o) couldn't have asked for a nicer place to stay in the backpacker area of Ho Chi Minh. Try the bakery round the corner for breakfast :o) mini bar is also cheaper than buying drinks outside!

Disliked: Nothing, it was great!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Jonas Jäger

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 May 2013 Jonas would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. Tim and the others were really helpful and nice to us.

Disliked: Jonas left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: extremly helpful stuff. they even provited us to send our postcards after we ran out of time because of our flight. and last week they arrived in germany. thanks again for this!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

19 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were so friendly, like a second family while travelling. Wifi is quite temperamental but the location is great, rooms are super clean and there's no pressure to book anything. Advice on places to eat was spot on, in fact all advice was very helpful and without commission. Great location, everything is walking distance. We were on the 5th floor which was a bit of a trek.

Disliked: none

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Cyril Tomlinson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 May 2013 Cyril would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful family. Perfect location, nice and clean.

Disliked: Cyril left no negative feedback.