HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Nhat Thao Guesthouse

Guesthouse | 35/4 Bui Vien St, Dist 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam 084

87.8% Overall Rating

153 out of 165 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (28/03/2014)

Tasha Hayes thinks…

"While the location of this guesthouse is excellent not much else about it is. It was obvious the receptionist didn't speak much English and so he wasn't much help. I booked a twin room since I was…"

Read all Nhat Thao Guesthouse reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Currency Exchange
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 16.83

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Ho Chi Minh City?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Ho Chi Minh City

Seventy Hotel – former Phan Lan Hotel
11.00 USD

Hotel 1 star 91.4% 338 reviews
Duc Vuong Hotel
19.91 USD

Hotel 2 star 87.6% 6 reviews
Saigon Sports 1 Hotel
9.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 87.8% 242 reviews
Bizu Hotel District 1 – 198 Bui Vien
28.05 USD

Hotel 86.7% 3 reviews
Tuan Anh Hostel
7.01 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Nguyen Khang Hotel
12.34 USD

Hotel 2 star 91.1% 229 reviews
Saigon Youth Hostel
6.00 USD

Hostel 84.9% 35 reviews
Thien Hong Hotel
5.89 USD

Hotel 3 star 88.3% 46 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.8%

Overall Rating

153 out of 165 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Nhat Thao Guesthouse'

Atmosphere
80.0%
Location
94.4%
Facilities
82.4%
Cleanliness
88.0%
Staff
89.6%
Value
88.8%
Safety
91.2%
Refine your results Showing 155 of 164 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Tasha Hayes

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

28 March 2014

Liked: While the location of this guesthouse is excellent not much else about it is. It was obvious the receptionist didn't speak much English and so he wasn't much help. I booked a twin room since I was traveling with my brother and was given a double so he did swap that right away. Our room was basic as expected but it wasn't clean especially the bathroom had hairs and mold everywhere. The toilet is in a position which makes a person unable to sit down. We also had an ant infestation and upon making the receptionist aware was sprayed but the poison was also sprayed on my brothers bags. Breakfast was decent but we had to wake the receptionist up so we could get it served. Not worth the money, I've found hotels for the same price and won't be returning here.

Disliked: Tasha left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The property was located in an area that was oozing with nightlife; bars and restaurants were aplenty. The receptionists were helpful with booking tours and taxis etc, and always offered me a breakfast each morning. The reception area was manned 24 hours which is good for security as well as late night revellers returning after an evening out. Although the property is located in the centre of the backpacker district, it's just tucked away from the main road meaning it's quiet. The room was a good size for a single traveller with a comfortable bed and functioning air-conditioning unit. The shower was warm and quite powerful.

Disliked: The primary problem with the property was merely that there were scuff-marks on the walls which could be easily removed, and the room itself could perhaps be a little cleaner.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Michael Fitzgerald

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 February 2014 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: Location....heart of back packer land. EVERYTHING to hand!!

Disliked: Some rooms do not have windows Can be noisy if guests clip clip around on stone flooring

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

John Luong

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

06 January 2014

Liked: Could not get a better location. Highly recommend.

Disliked: John left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

lauren brown

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

10 December 2013 lauren would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location, people were friendly and helpful. Free breakfast and very clean!

Disliked: lauren left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Anne Boogaard

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 December 2013 Anne would recommend this property

Liked: The location is good, in the backpackers area. Rooms are simple but clean.

Disliked: It's a bit noisy. Breakfast is sober.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice staff, good room.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Erich Metzger

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

22 April 2013 Erich would recommend this property

Liked: All ok, Verr nice place

Disliked: Erich left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rita Field

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 March 2013 Rita would recommend this property

Liked: Well located in a quiet side street this guesthouse is very clean, secure and centrally located in district 1, close to bars, restaurants and arms. The staff are very friendly and although they do no have good English they will go to great lengths to understand and assist you as I found out when I arrived to the guesthouse with the wrong luggage, they helped me sort everything out and were lovely.

Disliked: nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

18 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hotel is VERY CLEAN and secure. Fantastically located in District 1, the guesthouse is tucked down a safe backstreet and so you aren't kept awake by the noisy HCMC streets.

Disliked: It's small and so there wasn't much of an atmosphere.'The staff didn't seem to speak much English.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

17 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is good as it is in a very busy area but down an alley so much quieter. Simple accommodation.

Disliked: Even though I had emailed ahead and got confirmation that we could arrive early (after sleeping overnight bus) and check in early, when we arrived the hotel was locked and we had to wait for an hour in an open hotel next door. When it opened, the night receptionist did not speak English so it was very hard to explain. The regular receptionist eventually came in and said he had the check-in date wrong and didnt have a room. They eventually sorted it out and we had a room. One of the receptionists (with limited English) was very nice and friendly, but the regular was quite rude and unhelpful. Even once the desk was unattended and we couldn't get the key to go up to our room and had to come back.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The receptionists are helpful and will give you as many informations and advises if you inquired.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

John Cronin

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

03 November 2012 John would recommend this property

Liked: Exceptionaly helpful staff, nothing was too much trouble. The location is perfect, in the heart of the city. Lots of nice bars and resaurants nearby.

Disliked: Nothing to speak of really except breakfest was very basic but Okay.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

07 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: ...

Disliked: ...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

kylie hicks

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

04 July 2012 kylie would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were friendly

Disliked: kylie left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

17 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very good, breakfast improved - includes eggs and fruit; staff very helpful; quiet location in a noisy area.

Disliked: no elevator

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

07 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: close to the action and quiet

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff,good location.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it is a quiete place with very, very friendly staff

Disliked: nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Daniel Francis

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 January 2012 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice staff that worked there and a nice little party for new years eve!

Disliked: -

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: If you want to stay in the backpacker district I would recommend Nhat Thao. They are right in the midst but in a quiet lane. Reception was very helpful to someone new in Vietnam. Rooms were clean and had fridge, good air con and a wide range of local/international tv. They helped us book buses to Cambodia at a better price than the local travel agents.

Disliked: As others have mentioned, the breakfast lacks. It's not bad, just basic (ie a bread roll instead of toast). You get what you pay for!

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Sightseeing & culture

18 August 2011

Liked: The location

Disliked: The receptionist was not so friendly, but the old man , though he doesn't speak English, was very helpful and friendly.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ALONSO LECUONA DAVID

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 July 2011 ALONSO LECUONA would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was really helpful

Disliked: it was a little difficult to find

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is amazing, the staff is very nice and kind, the cleanliness, the atmosphere of this place, there is rattan chairs in a very nice courtyard.

Disliked: Everything was great!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: two thumbs up! :) will stay again here when i return to Saigon. Thanks cherry, and all the staff..and the girl ( i forgot to ask her name ) who prepares breakfast for me.

Disliked: none at all :)