HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Luan Vu Hotel

Guesthouse | 35/2 Bui Vien Street, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam .

93.8% Overall Rating

368 out of 387 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (24/02/2014)

Brian Park thinks…

"The location of this property is great. Right on the bar street where all the action happens. It's a bit hard to find the first time (or a drunken second time) since it is tucked away in a little…"

Read all Luan Vu Hotel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • Room service (24 hour)
  • Wake-up calls
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Sofa

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Ho Chi Minh City?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Ho Chi Minh City

ANH DAO GUESTHOUSE
8.50 USD

Hostel 70.5% 3 reviews
Le Le Hotel
12.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 86.3% 49 reviews
DUNA HOTEL
11.57 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 84.0% 10 reviews
NGOC THAO GuestHouse
7.00 USD

Guesthouse 92.5% 100 reviews
Bali Boutique Hotel
13.89 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
LY Guesthouse
7.00 USD

Guesthouse 74.9% 19 reviews
Saigon Mini Hotel 5
9.45 USD

Hotel 2 star 88.6% 68 reviews
96 GUEST HOUSE
7.00 USD

Guesthouse 83.8% 58 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
93.8%

Overall Rating

368 out of 387 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Luan Vu Hotel'

Atmosphere
87.2%
Location
98.4%
Facilities
88.0%
Cleanliness
96.0%
Staff
97.6%
Value
95.2%
Safety
94.4%
Refine your results Showing 327 of 333 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 13 | 14   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Brian Park

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 February 2014 Brian would recommend this property

Liked: The location of this property is great. Right on the bar street where all the action happens. It's a bit hard to find the first time (or a drunken second time) since it is tucked away in a little alleyway, but this can easily be remedied by getting a taxi from the airport or bus station. (However, it is very walkable from the bus station). The entire location is quite clean with a very friendly and attentive staff. Breakfast is included with your room and can be noodles or an omelet with toast along with some fruit. The rooms were very nice, especially for the price. Warm showers, A/C, and comfy beds.

Disliked: My only issue with the place was the lack of soundproofing. You could hear anyone in the hallway or downstairs clearly.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

11 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was ridiculously wonderful, so friendly and accomodating. I was nervous about traveling since this was my first trip to Vietnam and the staff was so helpful and put my mind at ease. I was also shocked at the quality of the facilties. My friends and I agreed this was the best hostel we had ever stayed in and for the price it was a super deal. Breakfast was simple (2 eggs, unlimited toast, jam, coffee and bananas) but very filling, the rooms were very clean, including the bathrooms (we received clean towels and toiletries everyday), and the staff were extremely helpful in booking sightseeing trips (but weren't pushy). I also appreciated that we were able to pay the hostel in U.S. currency. I will be recommending this hostel to friends.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nurul Afiqah Hamzah

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

05 January 2014 Nurul Afiqah would recommend this property

Liked: The hotel is located on an alley. You will find it eerie at first, but when you enter the hotel. It feels great. Friendly staff and really nice room makes your stay more than pleasant. If youre unsure ask the staff, they are more than helpful to help you. The tour that you may go for paid which is a service by the hotel with an external tour guide is good. English speaking. Overall its goood.

Disliked: Nurul Afiqah left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kevin Murphy

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

01 December 2013 Kevin would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean room, excellent staff. Helped with flight bookings, could not do more to help. My friend had his phone stolen by a guy passing on a motorcycle on a night out, one of the girls from the hotel came to the police station with us and helped with the whole process of getting a police report for the insurance, translating etc, effectively giving up her whole morning. This is actually the third time I've stayed here in the past four years and the only place I would stay if I'm ever in Ho Chi Minh City again.

Disliked: Kevin left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Miriam Selby

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 July 2013

Liked: Good location, okish breakfast

Disliked: Our room smelled of damp and now all our clothes smell the same a the room, we returned to the hotel one afternoon to find a building site in the reception, the staff explained it was minor maintenance and would be finished soon, at 12midnight the noise and banging finally stopped. At 7.30am the noise started again although it was in the hotel next door, some advance warning would have been nice. We left this hotel exhausted as we couldn't sleep because of all the noise. Even without the building work it's just a loud place with doors banging all night.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff and location

Disliked: The fan is a bit noisy

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were very helpful, wifi was good, the place was very affordable and very clean.

Disliked: The sign on the main road was really small and hard to spot.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

tracy renkas

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

22 January 2013 tracy would recommend this property

Liked: clean spacious room with very friendly helpful staff

Disliked: hard to find as it is located in a side street

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Arista Budiman

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 December 2012 Arista would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff, very helpfull and kind

Disliked: na

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Chantel van Niekerk

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 November 2012 Chantel would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, friendly run hotel. Location is great as its close to the tourist attractions but you get sleep as it is in an alley.

Disliked: No lift means a long walk if you are on the 4th floor.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Steven Bos

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 November 2012 Steven would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was really, really helpful. The Internet dropped out a couple of times, but one word at the reception and it was up and running again. This wasn't the only thing that the staff helped us with, when we needed a taxi or so the helped us out. Sometimes not by arranging it for us, but by telling that if we went there and there, they'd offer us better price.

Disliked: Maybe a downside is that we stayed at the top floor and there was no elevator. I live myself at the 5th floor without an elevator, so I didn't mind, but I can see that other people might.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

02 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: tout. L'hotel est trés propre, les chambres sont confortables avec un frigo et le cable.Le personnel est trés attentionné. Le petit dej inclus est trés correct.

Disliked: C'est un petite chose, mais le service de blanchisserie s'il est rapide, n'est pas efficace. Mes vetements sont revenus aussi sales qu'ils sont partis.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Trevor Ingram

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

20 August 2012 Trevor would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, in a good location and with helpful staff

Disliked: Nothing really, maybe the breakfast could be a tad larger, but apart from that, nothing untoward

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Extremely clean, great bed, the best room we have had for our budget! The staff were so friendly and helpful. We are stating there again!

Disliked: Nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, beds made and bin emptied everyday. Friendly staff. Breakfast included. Good shower!

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Meng Li

With my spouse / partner

City break

18 June 2012 Meng would recommend this property

Liked: very clean and comfy

Disliked: well maintained but dangerous staircase

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nader Jalinoos

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

07 April 2012 Nader would recommend this property

Liked: excellent friendly staff. Quite because of being at the end of an alley but right in the centre backpacker district.

Disliked: my room did not have any windows, but that is expected in this type of accomodation

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

alan hamilton

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 March 2012 alan would recommend this property

Liked: the staff are very friendlyand the place was of a very high standard for the money paid. i would stay at the again at the luan vu hotel if i returned to ho chi minh city on another visit

Disliked: i dislike nothing about this property

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alexandre Correia

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 January 2012 Alexandre would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is amazing kindly ! Really helpfull and symphatic. The all hotel is super clean. Best guys in Vietnam.

Disliked: Alexandre left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great, helpful staff... you get the feeling they care about your trip. Rooms are nice and clean.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Renae MacAlpine

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

09 December 2011 Renae would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are extremely friendly and helpful, but also allow you privacy. The room was impecably clean and well maintained.

Disliked: The only bummer was that we had the top storey room and had to walk up lots and lots of stairs everytime we wanted to go to our room.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jane ngo

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 October 2011 Jane would recommend this property

Liked: Lucky to find this hotel on Hostelbookers,com, this hotel is better other hotels I stayed in Vietnam. The room is extremly clean and quiet because it is in alley, centrally located, the staff is very friendly and give you all information in the city. Great value for money on room rates.

Disliked: nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

03 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent service from staff, clean rooms and bathrooms, centrally located, great value for money on room rates

Disliked: Breakfast could be improved

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jose E. Jimenez Baroja

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 September 2011 Jose E. would recommend this property

Liked: Good

Disliked: small breakfast

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Sightseeing & culture

18 August 2011

Liked: The location

Disliked: The kitchen staff was not friendly at all, never smiled and showed that they were disturbed. The receptionist could not show that she served the customers sincerely.