HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Hanoi hostels
See all Hanoi hotels

Reviews of Green Diamond Hotel

Hostel | 96 Hang Bac Street, Hanoi, Vietnam N/A

95.7% Overall Rating

35 out of 36 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (30/04/2014)

Ceire Hill thinks…

"Right in the middle of the old quarter surrounded by great shops and restaurants. Really nice people who were really helpful when we wanted to book halong bay and got a good price too. Happy to give…"

Read all Green Diamond Hotel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 18.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Hanoi?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Hanoi

Hoan Kiem Hostel
3.07 USD

Hostel 90.7% 58 reviews
HOAN KIEM DOWNTOWN BACKPACKERS HOSTEL
3.72 USD

Hostel 83.3% 63 reviews
HANOI WHITE PALACE HOTEL
7.90 USD

Hotel 3 star 85.3% 34 reviews
Hanoi Dolphin Hotel
16.25 USD

Hotel 3 star 90.9% 5 reviews
The May De Ville Backpackers Hostel
5.00 USD

Hostel 90.7% 128 reviews
Hanoi Youth Hostel
4.88 USD

Hostel 77.9% 41 reviews
Hanoi Discovery Hotel
5.00 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Hanoi Central Inn
6.00 USD

Hostel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
95.7%

Overall Rating

35 out of 36 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Green Diamond Hotel'

Atmosphere
89.6%
Location
98.4%
Facilities
93.6%
Cleanliness
99.2%
Staff
98.4%
Value
94.4%
Safety
96.0%
Refine your results Showing 33 of 36 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Ceire Hill

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

30 April 2014 Ceire would recommend this property

Liked: Right in the middle of the old quarter surrounded by great shops and restaurants. Really nice people who were really helpful when we wanted to book halong bay and got a good price too. Happy to give us recommendations of places to eat too.

Disliked: Ceire left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

amanda clark

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 April 2014 amanda would recommend this property

Liked: Green Diamond hotel is right in the middle of the Old Quarter, making it the perfect location to stay. The rooms are very spacious and clean and the staff has been extremely helpful. They even gave us breakfasts "to go" before we hopped on the bus to take us to Halong Bay

Disliked: There is no elevator, but the staff will bring up all of your luggage for you.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Georgia Morrison

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 February 2014 Georgia would recommend this property

Liked: It was quiet and clean, and close to a market with fresh fruit and vegetables. Walking distance in to town.

Disliked: Nothing in particular.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

maria Nguyen

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

09 January 2014 maria would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were so welcoming and friendly, nothing was too much trouble for them, room was spacious and clean, hotel position was really close to the lake so we were able to go for long walks and still find our way back to the hotel, loved hanoi and would definitely stay at this hotel if I were passing through again

Disliked: maria left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Liam Hanlon

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

08 January 2014 Liam would recommend this property

Liked: Everything! The location is fantastic, the staff are very helpful, the rooms are great and clean. They also organised a tour to Halong Bay for us which was good. The WiFi worked great throughout the entire building.

Disliked: Nothing!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, staff are friendly, rooms get cleaned everyday, snacks on arrival are awesome, fridge is stocked.

Disliked: The cleaning staff still knock even when you have do not disturb on. We were ill for a few days and wanted to be left alone. Otherwise it's perfect!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were all very friendly and speak good English. We booked our train tickets to Sapa and the Halong Bay cruise with them and one of the staffs was so nice that he arranged someone to see us to the train station. We stayed here on two separate occasions and stored our luggage with them while we were away in Sapa. On the second night, they upgraded us to a large room with balcony for free! We really enjoyed our stay there with the friendly staff at the hotel. Their friendliness makes a difference!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Leonado victory

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
Events / festivals
Family Holiday

19 June 2013 Leonado would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were amazing - everything was done efficiently and in a friendly manner. All staff knew us by name which was impressive. We were given a welcome drink on arrival with a map and suggestions of where to go with opening times, which was really useful. We booked a Halong Bay trip through the hotel which was one of the highlights of our holiday - no pressure was put on us to book through them, we approached them. The door staff were great and helped us across the busy road outside each time they saw us arrive back. Our room (301) was enormous, comfortable and had a balcony and computer. The bed was really comfortable - not hard like some Vietnamese beds. We had a balcony which was a welcome addition and we sat out enjoying sundowners on most evenings. The breakfast was fine and there was a good mix of Western and Vietnamese. There were always enough tables

Disliked: Leonado left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Simon Lai

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

06 May 2013 Simon would recommend this property

Liked: In the middle of the Old Quarter. Staff are helpful and obliging.

Disliked: The premises are a little old but still okay. Room was spacious though.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hamdan sopian

With a large group / tour

Business / conference
Shopping

27 April 2013 Hamdan would recommend this property

Liked: Exceptionally helpful staff. We arrived at 1am and the staff waited up until we got there. It was our first hotel in vietnam and we were given tips about which taxis were honest, a map with helpful suggestions where good places to eat were and good sights to see. It was my daughter's birthday and they surprised her with a birthday cake. It was a quiet room, good wifi,very clean

Disliked: Hamdan left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Helena Melnikovova

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

03 April 2013 Helena would recommend this property

Liked: very helpful and friendly staff, nice and clean rooms

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Elena Christ

As a family with children

Business / conference

26 January 2013 Elena would recommend this property

Liked: The hotel has nice clean rooms with all facilities provided. The breakfast was okay. The staff in the hotel was really friendly and helpfull. They gave you information about the area and also helped you with ordering transport. The area where the hotel is situated is near the lake and quite a few restaurants. We can recommend Restaurant Gecko almost next door.

Disliked: Elena left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Amata Rebort

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

18 January 2013 Amata would recommend this property

Liked: This was a very nice hotel, the staff were friendly and knowledgable - they spoke excellent english and were always available with a smile. We reserved a superior double room. The room was large and comfortable. Very clean and visually pleasing. The bed was comfortable with big pillows and extra linens available in the room. The bathroom was large and well appointed, but the water pressure is a bit low, but was not a problem. The staff helped set us up with an excellent HaLong Bay overnight cruise and worked with us to extend our room an extra night. Breakfast was very good and even offered when we came down after the scheduled hours. Excellent location in the Old Quarter. We would definitely stay in this hotel again and happily reccomend it to anyone who is going to Hanoi. They offer very reasonable pick up and departure service to the airport. Exceptional value for the money. Thanks to the staff.

Disliked: Amata left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

18 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly service

Disliked: Wifi did not work in room

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very good location, close to the lake and to food and shopping

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bostjan Lavric

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

30 December 2012 Bostjan would recommend this property

Liked: The room was clean and the staff is very kind and helpful, the breakfast is OK (you can choose local and western food). They arrenged a nice trip for us to Halong bay with AST travel (guide nicknamed "Lucky" was great) on boat Cristina (really nice cabins, good food, 95 USD 2 days trip, I reccomand). They also picked us up at the airport for free and made reservations for our further transportation.

Disliked: The room had 2 really small windows... but I thinks the houses are built like this, so that was really not a problem.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Natalie Penova

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

01 December 2012 Natalie would recommend this property

Liked: great location, nice staff, very clean rooms

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

onglili lilisg

With a large group / tour

City break
Family Holiday

19 November 2012 onglili would recommend this property

Liked: This hotel is very nice: Good location, great service! The staff is very helpfull with booking trips, traintickets and taxi pick ups. We where able to leave our luggage in the hotel during trips to for example Sa pa! Every time we had a short stop over at the hotel we could use the shower. I recommend this hotel to everyone who wants to visit Hanoi.

Disliked: This hotel is very nice: Good location, great service! The staff is very helpfull with booking trips, traintickets and taxi pick ups. We where able to leave our luggage in the hotel during trips to for example Sa pa! Every time we had a short stop over at the hotel we could use the shower. I recommend this hotel to everyone who wants to visit Hanoi.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

amanda Hopes

With a large group / tour

Family Holiday
Shopping

27 October 2012 amanda would recommend this property

Liked: This is a good budget hotel. The rooms are large, the staff very pleasant and helpful and the included breakfasts were good. It is located in the Old Quarter of Hanoi but the street is relatively quiet ( relative to other streets in Hanoi Old Quarter, that is) but it is easy to walk to most of the major things tourists would want to see.

Disliked: amanda left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maxim Lebail

As a family with children

Events / festivals
Family Holiday

26 October 2012 Maxim would recommend this property

Liked: My sister and I stayed at this hotel for 2 not consecutive nights. The hotel helped us book train tickets to sapa and even made sure we were on the correct cabin and picked us up when we got back. They also helped us book a cruise to halong bay and got us tkts to the water puppet show when we arrived back. The breakfast was great with many options to choose from and you won't leave hungry. When we'll come to Hanoi we'll definitely stay there again.

Disliked: If it's possible avoid booking a 2 day one night cruise to halong bay as it is very touristy and you can manage seeing everything in one day

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Davir Tomy

As a family with children

Visiting friends or family

25 October 2012 Davir would recommend this property

Liked: Shortly after booking with Green Diamond Hotel, I was promptly contacted by David, the manager of the hotel. He was very attentive right from the beginning. Not only did he arrange for a private car to pick my friend and I up from the airport, he also arranged for our tours in Halong Bay and Sapa. The hotel staff were also first-rate! They learned our names very quickly and provided excellent service. On a few occasions, David even went out of his way to make some reccomendations for us whilst trying to save us money at the same time. We mentioned that we were looking to get a manicure and pedicure and we saw a place near the hotel in passing. David actually called a manicurist to the hotel to help us with these services (and the price was reasonable and substantially cheaper than the spa club down the street). We had a very hectic schedule. In between our tours of Sapa and Halong Bay, we were exhausted and in great need of a place to rest up and shower especially after a long 9-hour train ride from Sapa to Hanoi. David actually went above and beyond and provided us with a room to rest up for a couple of hours before embarking on our tour to Halong Bay (not to mention with complimentary breakfast. side note: the breakfast is awesome:)). All in all, my friend and I were extremely impressed with the service at Green Diamond Hotel. We highly reccomend this hotel to anyone seeking accomodation in Hanoi! I'd like to take this opportunity to thank the staff at the hotel for making our stay in Hanoi a very enjoyable and wonderful one.

Disliked: Davir left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

aitormate Mingul

As a family with children

Business / conference
Family Holiday
Shopping

24 October 2012 aitormate would recommend this property

Liked: My boyfriend and I stayed at the Green Diamond Hotel for 2 nights in October 2012. The location is great as it's right in the middle of the Old Quarter. On arriving, we were given a welcome drink and a member of staff took us through a map of Hanoi and outlined a possible 2 day itinerary for us and some places to eat. Our room was large, clean and well maintained and had a great view of the city. The room had a computer connected to the internet which was very useful. The staff were very helpful and friendly - they were able to organise tours to various locations such as Halong Bay (but we decided not to do this in the end). We were really pleased with the hotel and

Disliked: aitormate left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good service and friendliness of the staff : back very early from Sapa, receptionnist welcomed us and provided us a nice room at 5AM Nice and large room on the patio: very quiet

Disliked: Computers: bad conditions and internet slowlyness

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

eneko duke

With a large group / tour

City break
Family Holiday

17 October 2012 eneko would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic Hanoi travellers hotel - great location in the old town, lots of restaurant options nearby. We were upgraded to the honeymoon suite & loved our room (but also stayed in the cheapest room a few days before this stay & that was great too). Good wifi connection in both rooms we stayed in. Breakfast is very basic, but is all that can really expect for this price. We booked our Halong Bay tour through the hotel & this was great (bags were safe left at the hotel overnight). Staff are lovely, even got a hug when we left!

Disliked: Fantastic Hanoi travellers hotel - great location in the old town, lots of restaurant options nearby. We were upgraded to the honeymoon suite & loved our room (but also stayed in the cheapest room a few days before this stay & that was great too). Good wifi connection in both rooms we stayed in. Breakfast is very basic, but is all that can really expect for this price. We booked our Halong Bay tour through the hotel & this was great (bags were safe left at the hotel overnight). Staff are lovely, even got a hug when we left!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Steve Herman

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Business / conference
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

15 October 2012 Steve would recommend this property

Liked: The staff at the hotel were very friendly and extremely helpful. It did not matter if you were at the reception desk or in the restaurant, the staff would be ensuring that you were being looked after. All the meals we ate at the hotel were excellent quality and very good value for money. Our room was so quiet, we could not hear any street noise at all. We would definitely return to this hotel.

Disliked: Steve left no negative feedback.


See all Hanoi hostels
See all Hanoi hotels