We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Hanoi hostels
See all Hanoi hotels

Reviews of Hanoi Tony's Hostel

Hostel | -56 Ngo Huyen , Hoan kiem, Hanoi, Vietnam N/A

82.5% Overall Rating

84 out of 100 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (29/03/2015)

Shara amanda thinks…

"The hotel and the rooms were very nice and clean. When we arrived they gave us a welcome breakfast and the staff was really nice, specially Tony When we returned from Sapa in the night bus, we…"

Read all Hanoi Tony's Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 16.28

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Hanoi?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Hanoi

Hanoi Central Star Hotel
7.00 USD

Hostel 95.1% 25 reviews
Hanoi Hibiscus Hotel
9.50 USD

Hotel 3 star 100.0% 8 reviews
Hanoi Sans Souci IV Hotel
90.00 USD

Hotel 3 star 99.0% 3 reviews
Hanoi Lucky I Hotel
9.04 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Luxury Hotel
6.69 USD

Hotel 3 star 94.8% 18 reviews
Bluebell Hotel
6.78 USD

Hotel 93.5% 7 reviews
Hanoi Lucky II Hotel
6.78 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Splendid Jupiter Hotel
8.50 USD

Hotel 4.5 star 94.2% 37 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/07/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/07/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
82.5%

Overall Rating

84 out of 100 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hanoi Tony's Hostel'

Atmosphere
73.6%
Location
96.0%
Facilities
78.4%
Cleanliness
84.0%
Staff
82.4%
Value
80.8%
Safety
82.4%
Refine your results Showing 89 of 96 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
60.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 April 2015

Liked: Excellent location, friendly reception.

Disliked: We were given a room with no windows so the walls were really damp.

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

francesca jones

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway

20 April 2015

Liked: No comment

Disliked: We arrived to find out that we had been double booked and were shoved into a hostel across the road which was dingy and had no curtains or working appliances

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Shara amanda

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

29 March 2015 Shara would recommend this property

Liked: The hotel and the rooms were very nice and clean. When we arrived they gave us a welcome breakfast and the staff was really nice, specially Tony When we returned from Sapa in the night bus, we arrived in Hanoi at 5am so we went to the hotel and the staff let us stay us inside the hotel till they had an empty room. We recommend at all!

Disliked: Great Hostel

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

28 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I can't say anything bad about Hanoi Tonys hostel. Rooms were nice, I stayed in a few different rooms because I kept extending my stay and they were all nice enough. Free breakfast was good. Great location. If you stay here, definitely do the Party tour to Ha Long Bay, it was amazing. Definitely recommend this hostel!

Disliked: all good

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

tim black

Alone

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

15 March 2015 tim would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed in this hostel for a couple of nights, rooms were decent and the atmosphere was really nice, extremely easy meeting people during the hour of free beer. Also the Halong Bay party cruise was really nice. Definitely worth the five bucks

Disliked: tim left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Tony and the other staff were really friendly and helpful, and the hostel was safe and secure as we were able to leave our backpacks and valuables in the hostel when we went to Sapa and Halong bay. It was a quiet hostel so could be difficult to meet people, but if you want a party there's a hostel next door with a nightly pub crawl.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

bill tom

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

03 March 2015 bill would recommend this property

Liked: They are the most helpful nice people I have met all trip. We arrived after a horrible early flight and a nightmare arrival into hanoi and tony the owner greeted us as if he had been our friends for ages and sat us down and fed us and gave us whatever drinks we liked, checking we didn't need/want more food, just whilst they finished the last touches on our room. We were in a daze and went to our room and it was perfect. Massive bathroom, two huge beds each and a mini bar to choose from and TV and everything you could need for a few days chilling out seeing hanoi. We also booked our bus down south and ha long bay trip through them. We broke the golden rule and let out ha long bay trip lose our receipt and have had some problems with the bus companies getting down south but with one phone call tony and Ann bust their backsides to sort it out and have got us out of some stressful horrible situations through no fault of our own but the useless unreliable bus services. Our trip could of been hell without these two at hand and we cannot thank them enough and have already recommended this place to people visiting hanoi soon and will never pick anywhere different if I return. We honestly can't thank you guys enough and all for a very very good price considering room sizes and location and the unbeatable service

Disliked: Thanks Tony

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

harry nick

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference
City break
Sightseeing & culture

01 March 2015 harry would recommend this property

Liked: My boyfriend and I stayed here for a few days and it was amazing. The hostel is great, location is great, the staff were all friendly and helpful and even invited us back to the New Year party when we'd checked out. Easy to meet people in the bar and they do free beer for an hour every evening. We booked the 3 day Halong Bay tour through these guys too and had such a good time.

Disliked: all good

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location.

Disliked: Very dirty dorms that didn't even lock. There were no room keys. When I checked in very late because of a delayed flight the hostel was locked up and I had to yell to get someone to get up and let me in, and he was clearly not happy about it (even though it says reception is open 24 hours). He barked the room number at me and didn't bother to tell me anything else. I booked a four bed dorm but got a six bed one and he was ready back asleep when I went back down to tell him. Rude staff. Can't be bothered to assist you.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jacob muller

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

16 February 2015 jacob would recommend this property

Liked: Loved our staying at Hanoi Tonys Hostel. It had everything you could want only 5buck/night from free breakfast and free BEER, to clean beds, nice bathroom and lockers. Hostel was a great place to meet people and we enjoyed reading the graffiti on the walls. The staff were great, friendly and really helpful. They made it very easy for us by helping us book tours, open bus ticket and looking after our best interests in terms of value-for-money. There was always someone looking to party - we loved that! Would definitely stay again :)

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

fusion lauren

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

02 February 2015 fusion would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome backpacker hotel, super friendly and helpful staff members, good facilities and all of that right in the old quarter. We had a private room which was lovely and huge. It's also a great place to meet other travellers and have a good time. Recommended!

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

anna luise

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

02 February 2015 anna would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed here for our first two nights in Hanoi and have no complaints. The staff were really friendly and helpful. The dorm rooms were big and clean. All have a nice balcony and great bathrooms. The location is also very good. Walking distance to night market and beer corner. We booked the Halong Party Cruise for 3 days/2nights through the hostel and i can say, hands down, it's the best trip we ever did. When we came back from the trip we stayed for another two nights at the hostel in a different dorm room and it was just as good. Would recommend this hostel to anyone coming to Hanoi.

Disliked: all good.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

peter husk

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

02 February 2015 peter would recommend this property

Liked: I contacted the staff before the trip to make bookings for airport pickup, Halong Bay tour and also enquire about some places that I wish to visit. The staff was very helpful and arranged them for me. During the stay, Tony and Emma were very friendly and nice. Location It's at one end of the Old Quarters, but the famous streets are just one or two roads away. So many good food around this area. It's also located at the less busier street, so it will be not as noisy as the ones on the main road.

Disliked: no problem at all.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Jordn Fenton

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

28 January 2015

Liked: The staff were friendly, but a little pushy on tours. The property wasn't too far from Hoan Kiem Lake or the train stations.

Disliked: The place is fairly old and a little rundown. Our room's only window was to the corridor and there was no ventilation in the bathroom. The wifi was also quite patchy.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Oliver Hansen

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 January 2015

Liked: Location is very Central. Breakfast was really good. Tea and coffee were available at all times for free

Disliked: Boiler didn't work well and took long, one wall was a little bit moulded, bedrooms were very spartanic

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

amat gutierrez

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

11 January 2015 amat would recommend this property

Liked: Great value and location! Within walking distances to different tourist spots in the area and close to the lake. Enjoyed my stay here--hotel staff very friendly and helpful! IF you are looking to book something , Tony will be very helpful! she helped arrange Ha Long Bay cruise for me (highly recommended) and my trip to Sa Pa as well. Huyen will be able to arrange almost anything for you :) Will stay here again if I am in town again.

Disliked: amat left no negative feedback.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

07 January 2015

Liked: .

Disliked: Unfriendly and unhelpful staff.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

theo baland

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 January 2015 theo would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, helpful staff, breakfast included, 1L beer for 1$... can't complain!

Disliked: theo left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Christina Matthews

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

31 December 2014

Liked: The location is right around the corner from good food and Hoan Kiem lake.

Disliked: There are no charging areas in the rooms. No reading lights. The storage lockers are actually small cubbies, only big enough for a day pack. The place looks advertised as a popular hangout place, but lobby only has a couch and it seemed really quiet.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Madhur nayan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

30 December 2014

Liked: Located on backpacker alley. Close to all major sites. Good breakfast (eggs and baguette). Provide free towel on request.

Disliked: Booked this property based on previous reviews about a great social atmosphere and happy hour with free beer. Neither happened during my stay. When I asked when the happy hour was, the hostel staff said 11:30pm...who does happy hour at 11:30pm?? Not a good place for solo travelers.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Ivan Parenti

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 December 2014 Ivan would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was really nice. I really appreciated Chinh's advices and help in organizing my trips in northern Vietnam!

Disliked: The rooms and bathrooms could use some renovation works.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

pink paule

With a large group / tour

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Business / conference
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

20 November 2014 pink would recommend this property

Liked: I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough! Whilst the location is excellent, and the prices more than reasonable for what you get, it is the staff that really make this a must stay place in Vietnam. Even before I arrived, Tony and Trinh had arranged my visa, overnight train ticket, airport transfer, and trip to Halong Bay. When I arrived I was given a complimentary breakfast and that set the tone for the rest of my stay - always going above what I expected. Nothing was ever too much, they even sent a staff member to get a water puppet ticket for me and provided a free transfer to the train station on my departure. The rooms are clean and well-maintained also. Do yourself a favour and upgrade to the deluxe room with the balcony. Highly worth it! Paule

Disliked: great Hostel ..

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

marianna gr

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

20 November 2014 marianna would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed here for three nights and didn't want to leave! The staff were so friendly and helpful! I booked my tour to Sapa and Halong Bay with them and had a great time. The rooms were clean and spacious! There is free beer during happy hour! What more can you ask for! Highly recommended!

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

maria anna

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Business / conference
City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

12 November 2014 maria would recommend this property

Liked: It is very very nice hostel I lived! Everything is nice such as comfortable bed, clean room, nice bathroom, nice airconditioner, nice free breakfast, fast wifi. It is nearly to the river just work 10 minutes.I really like it super friendly and helpful staff members, good facilities and all of that right in the old quarter. We had a private room which was lovely and huge. It's also a great place to meet other travellers and have a good time. Recommended!

Disliked: super friendly staffs.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

alex pier

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
City break
Family Holiday
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

12 November 2014 alex would recommend this property

Liked: everything was wonderful and great about this hostel; the staff, the facilities, location etc. the only thing I would say, is that the breakfast is a little weak, there could be something more to it, but for 5 dollars its fine. I had a great time here. The free beer hour got everyone together and the yours to halong bay through the hostel are excellent. Do the 3 day 2 night halong bay versus the 2 day 1 night. You won't regret it!

Disliked: no lift


See all Hanoi hostels
See all Hanoi hotels