HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Hanoi hostels
See all Hanoi hotels

Reviews of Hanoi Tony's Hostel

Hostel | -56 Ngo Huyen , Hoan kiem, Hanoi, Vietnam N/A

90.6% Overall Rating

59 out of 67 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (19/08/2014)

haclay davidson thinks…

"We have a number of nights in different rooms at the Tonys hostel. Opposite the building with the front desk is a second building containing the private rooms. These rooms are fine (clean, big…"

Read all Hanoi Tony's Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Gym
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Wake-up calls
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Internet café

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 16.29

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Hanoi?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Hanoi

Hanoi Central Star Hotel
7.00 USD

Hostel 94.5% 17 reviews
Hanoi Hibiscus Hotel
9.00 USD

Hotel 3 star 100.0% 7 reviews
Hanoi Sans Souci IV Hotel
11.00 USD

Hotel 3 star 99.0% 3 reviews
Hanoi Lucky I Hotel
6.98 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Luxury Hotel
7.68 USD

Hotel 3 star 94.5% 17 reviews
PARAMOUNT HOTEL
25.61 USD

Hotel 5 star Not yet rated
Bluebell Hotel
6.98 USD

Hotel 92.9% 6 reviews
Hanoi Lucky II Hotel
8.85 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.6%

Overall Rating

59 out of 67 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hanoi Tony's Hostel'

Atmosphere
86.4%
Location
97.6%
Facilities
89.6%
Cleanliness
88.8%
Staff
92.8%
Value
90.4%
Safety
88.8%
Refine your results Showing 58 of 64 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

haclay davidson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference
Family Holiday
Romantic getaway
Visiting friends or family

19 August 2014 haclay would recommend this property

Liked: We have a number of nights in different rooms at the Tonys hostel. Opposite the building with the front desk is a second building containing the private rooms. These rooms are fine (clean, big enough, private shower). Value is really fine. . Lots of fun! However, if we did not feel like entertainment, it was in our room was quiet and silent as in any other hotel. We booked through the hostel the Halong Bay tour (2 days) and Sapa tour (3 nights) and this is still fairly regular basis. Cozy groups, tidy accommodation. It felt reliable and safe to book there and they also realized. Our big backpacks could remain safe in the hostel.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

marie elisabeth

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

18 August 2014 marie would recommend this property

Liked: Tony was the best . Invited me free beer and helping me travel tickets , halong bay and sapa . Rooms and location are great just next door to hanoi backpackers hostel . But much cheaper prices. I would recommend everyone . Cheers Tony.

Disliked: Best hostel

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

14 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excẹllant hostel. Friendly staffs.

Disliked: Hostel in central backpackers.staff are so friendly and helpful . Breakfast in cluded with price. I would recommend tony hostel.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

rasata coli

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

05 August 2014 rasata would recommend this property

Liked: I went with my friends to visit Hanoi and the surrounding areas, we were not on the quality of accommodation. But what was our good surprise! The welcome by the staff was very friendly, the hostel is located a few steps from the lake and shopping streets. A large market is nearby. You can walk all around. Regarding the breakfast, well everything you can expect bread eggs , butter ,jam , tea ,coffe with fresh fruit. The hostel offers activities such as on-demand, so do not hesitate this is a good choice not more expensive that "orking and the guarantee of a successful excursion. I recommend this hostel to all travelers wishing to discover Vietnam..

Disliked: talk to Tony if you need any help.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Visiting friends or family

22 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Frost Desk Manager Tony was the most polite and friendly person. He greeted us with a huge smile and a loud hello, had other staff take our bags and bring us water bottles and pineapple. He engaged with us about our travels and about being in Vietnam for the first time, and He upgraded us on arrival. The room was extremely spacious and the bed was alright. There was even this old fashion safe that looked pretty cool. An also gave us extremely good dinner recommendations (best meal in Vietnam) and party places like Beer Corner. We saw the night markets and He even spent over 45 minutes with us trying to schedule and plan our Ha Long Bay tour - making sure we got a good price. We checked out very early the next morning but they gave us breakfast to go and everything. They did our laundry for us very quick and affordable.

Disliked: We wish could stay longer.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Kim Leyendeckers

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 June 2014

Liked: The location is good, near the city centre and in a quiet street between other bigger streets

Disliked: The staff was very very unfriendly. We were booked a room but when we got there they said our room wasnt available anymore. A bit strange because we booked online. also out airport pick up was late and expensive. We got a bigger room so that was nice but the whole room smelled like mold and was very moist. We left the room for a quiet bite and when we came back I noticed that my earplugs had bitemarks in them. And there were crumbs of my earplugs all over my bed so there were rats or mice in my bed. When I told this to the staff they blamed us, yes you should close the windows (eventhough they made a sign with please open windows after showering) and that we shouldnt eat in our room, which we didnt. We asked for another room but they said we couldnt have another room. Very strange. Then we said we wanted to leave but we couldnt get our money back so we were angry and started packing our bags and then all of a sudden there was another room available. Very strange. The staff kept acting very mean to us during our stay because of our complaining about mice. Another strange thing, the keys of the room said: Titanic hotel. When we searched on this name we saw some not so positive things about this hotel. So dont go here, it is a strange hotel with unfriendly staff.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

04 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location , super friendly staff ..cheap and save place

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

30 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: just one word perfect ,enthusiastic staff. Always smiling and say hello every time you go somewhere pass reception desk . rooms are big and clean . wifi , breakfast are free in hostel.

Disliked: no elevator, but no problem for me

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

andry thomas

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

28 May 2014 andry would recommend this property

Liked: lovely place ..Tony was the best , friendly and helpful , willing to help you with many request, clean and cheapest hostel I have been .would recommend to everyone . thanks Tony

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

petter hosk

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break

26 May 2014 petter would recommend this property

Liked: excellent hostel .Friendly staff, great location .. wifi in all floor . I booked halong 2 days 1 night here , with a reasonable price and great service .I can not find any fault for this hostel . Thanks Tony for your hospitality.

Disliked: nothing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

01 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were really friendly. Let us shower after Halong Bay before catching a night bus even though we weren't checked in!

Disliked: Booked us with camel travel (and over charged for it) but the other excursions we booked with them were great!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Davidson sun

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

15 April 2014 Davidson would recommend this property

Liked: It's very very cool !! Atmostphere, room, staff, drink and even smell are really really awesome. It is like small town in the big city, different from other hotels. The staffs were friendly and helpful. This was my favourite places that i stayed over the duration of my trip. The room was very clean, specially rest room!!. I had great time and made some great friendships with the other backpackers. I had many new friends when i stayed there ^_< I will come back !!

Disliked: no

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed in a private room that was quiet on the top floor and clean. Good wifi and the people at the desk were helpful without being pushy :)

Disliked: We heard some shouting about a room that was very moldy and even though the staff apparently tried to clean the people staying in that room weren't happy.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

choi jeong

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

26 March 2014 choi would recommend this property

Liked: Nice room with free breakfast , the 6 beds dorm was better than other . cheaper tour than opposite office . freindly staff and good location

Disliked: There are 4 computers for guest useing but 2 broken

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

antony micheal

Alone

Business / conference
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

23 March 2014 antony would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap hostel and very friendly staff . nice room and clean , great location.. I would recommend this hostel to everyone. love it here.

Disliked: nothing .

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

andrey somotin

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
Events / festivals
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

23 March 2014 andrey would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed here 2 nights and We enjoyed Our stay very much. It was a very nice and funniest place to stay . Very helpful and they arranged tours to Halong Bay and bus tickets for Us with a reasonable price . Their 6 beds dorm was nice and clean .. room come with free breakfast and coffee or tea.

Disliked: almost nothing .

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Mathew Brusell

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 March 2014 Mathew would recommend this property

Liked: good location close to everything

Disliked: alittle loud at times down the street but only for a few minutes

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

nigel myatt

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

20 February 2014 nigel would recommend this property

Liked: Good value, central .very friendly and helpful staff.i would tell anyone coming to Hanoi to stay there.

Disliked: Nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Jostein Fyhn

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 February 2014 Jostein would recommend this property

Liked: Liked the really hot showers, the friendlyness and the good beds :-D

Disliked: WiFi is pretty fucked up for some of the costumers. worked for me the two first hours of my stay at the room.. the rest of the stay I had to sit in the cold reseption to get WiFi.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

17 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location and price

Disliked: noting

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

13 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was one of the best parts of hostel. They will do everything to pleasant you . In case you don't like this hostel ,the fault is at your side. Thanks Tony

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

anthony chim

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

05 February 2014 anthony would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed here during new year .. everything was great ..nice room and clean with window ..wifi , breakfast are available and free ..staff friendly ..good lacation next door to Hanoi backpackers , but much cheaper price. I would recommend Hanoi Tony's Hostel

Disliked: high floor , no lift

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Centrally located, really cheap, good (included) breakfast

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

12 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great service staff

Disliked: Facilities kind of old

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Tony is great! Very helpful. I stayed in 3 different rooms over the course of my stay in Vietnam and enjoyed my stay at Tony's Titanic Hostel. Nice breakfast (eggs and baguette) included in the price. They have good Bai Tu Long Bay tours from which to choose. Staff is friendly. Single private rooms are spacious. Tony is attentive and funny! The hostel is on a cute little street and very close to Hoan Kiem Lake. I always felt safe. If you want to get up early to see the lake activity, tell Tony the night before or else the door will be locked in the morning and when you try to open it, the alarm will go off. :) Big waters and other drinks are 15,000 VND.

Disliked: On my last morning there, the hot water didn't work and I had an international flight home and couldn't take shower before I left :( The single private rooms don't have windows, fyi. TV's didn't work in any of my rooms but I didn't want to watch TV so not a problem, but just a warning for someone that does....hopefully, that is no one's priority when in Vietnam though. :) Would be good to have electrical outlets in the bathroom and close to the bed in the single private rooms. These are the only negatives I can think of, but not dealbreakers by any means.


See all Hanoi hostels
See all Hanoi hotels