We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Hanoi hostels
See all Hanoi hotels

Reviews of Hanoi Tony's Hostel

Hostel | -56 Ngo Huyen , Hoan kiem, Hanoi, Vietnam N/A

89.1% Overall Rating

78 out of 91 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (16/02/2015)

jacob muller thinks…

"Loved our staying at Hanoi Tonys Hostel. It had everything you could want only 5buck/night from free breakfast and free BEER, to clean beds, nice bathroom and lockers. Hostel was a great place to…"

Read all Hanoi Tony's Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Gym
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Wake-up calls
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 16.13

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Hanoi?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Hanoi

Hanoi Central Star Hotel
7.00 USD

Hostel 93.9% 20 reviews
Hanoi Hibiscus Hotel
9.50 USD

Hotel 3 star 100.0% 8 reviews
Hanoi Sans Souci IV Hotel
11.00 USD

Hotel 3 star 99.0% 3 reviews
Hanoi Lucky I Hotel
9.22 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Luxury Hotel
7.61 USD

Hotel 3 star 94.5% 17 reviews
PARAMOUNT HOTEL
5.07 USD

Hotel 5 star Not yet rated
Bluebell Hotel
6.91 USD

Hotel 93.5% 7 reviews
Hanoi Lucky II Hotel
6.91 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/03/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/03/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.1%

Overall Rating

78 out of 91 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hanoi Tony's Hostel'

Atmosphere
84.0%
Location
97.6%
Facilities
86.4%
Cleanliness
88.8%
Staff
89.6%
Value
88.0%
Safety
89.6%
Refine your results Showing 80 of 87 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jacob muller

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

16 February 2015 jacob would recommend this property

Liked: Loved our staying at Hanoi Tonys Hostel. It had everything you could want only 5buck/night from free breakfast and free BEER, to clean beds, nice bathroom and lockers. Hostel was a great place to meet people and we enjoyed reading the graffiti on the walls. The staff were great, friendly and really helpful. They made it very easy for us by helping us book tours, open bus ticket and looking after our best interests in terms of value-for-money. There was always someone looking to party - we loved that! Would definitely stay again :)

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

fusion lauren

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

02 February 2015 fusion would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome backpacker hotel, super friendly and helpful staff members, good facilities and all of that right in the old quarter. We had a private room which was lovely and huge. It's also a great place to meet other travellers and have a good time. Recommended!

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

anna luise

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

02 February 2015 anna would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed here for our first two nights in Hanoi and have no complaints. The staff were really friendly and helpful. The dorm rooms were big and clean. All have a nice balcony and great bathrooms. The location is also very good. Walking distance to night market and beer corner. We booked the Halong Party Cruise for 3 days/2nights through the hostel and i can say, hands down, it's the best trip we ever did. When we came back from the trip we stayed for another two nights at the hostel in a different dorm room and it was just as good. Would recommend this hostel to anyone coming to Hanoi.

Disliked: all good.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

peter husk

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

02 February 2015 peter would recommend this property

Liked: I contacted the staff before the trip to make bookings for airport pickup, Halong Bay tour and also enquire about some places that I wish to visit. The staff was very helpful and arranged them for me. During the stay, Tony and Emma were very friendly and nice. Location It's at one end of the Old Quarters, but the famous streets are just one or two roads away. So many good food around this area. It's also located at the less busier street, so it will be not as noisy as the ones on the main road.

Disliked: no problem at all.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Jordn Fenton

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

28 January 2015

Liked: The staff were friendly, but a little pushy on tours. The property wasn't too far from Hoan Kiem Lake or the train stations.

Disliked: The place is fairly old and a little rundown. Our room's only window was to the corridor and there was no ventilation in the bathroom. The wifi was also quite patchy.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Oliver Hansen

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 January 2015

Liked: Location is very Central. Breakfast was really good. Tea and coffee were available at all times for free

Disliked: Boiler didn't work well and took long, one wall was a little bit moulded, bedrooms were very spartanic

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

amat gutierrez

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

11 January 2015 amat would recommend this property

Liked: Great value and location! Within walking distances to different tourist spots in the area and close to the lake. Enjoyed my stay here--hotel staff very friendly and helpful! IF you are looking to book something , Tony will be very helpful! she helped arrange Ha Long Bay cruise for me (highly recommended) and my trip to Sa Pa as well. Huyen will be able to arrange almost anything for you :) Will stay here again if I am in town again.

Disliked: amat left no negative feedback.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

07 January 2015

Liked: .

Disliked: Unfriendly and unhelpful staff.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

theo baland

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 January 2015 theo would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, helpful staff, breakfast included, 1L beer for 1$... can't complain!

Disliked: theo left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Christina Matthews

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

31 December 2014

Liked: The location is right around the corner from good food and Hoan Kiem lake.

Disliked: There are no charging areas in the rooms. No reading lights. The storage lockers are actually small cubbies, only big enough for a day pack. The place looks advertised as a popular hangout place, but lobby only has a couch and it seemed really quiet.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Madhur nayan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

30 December 2014

Liked: Located on backpacker alley. Close to all major sites. Good breakfast (eggs and baguette). Provide free towel on request.

Disliked: Booked this property based on previous reviews about a great social atmosphere and happy hour with free beer. Neither happened during my stay. When I asked when the happy hour was, the hostel staff said 11:30pm...who does happy hour at 11:30pm?? Not a good place for solo travelers.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Ivan Parenti

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 December 2014 Ivan would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was really nice. I really appreciated Chinh's advices and help in organizing my trips in northern Vietnam!

Disliked: The rooms and bathrooms could use some renovation works.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

pink paule

With a large group / tour

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Business / conference
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

20 November 2014 pink would recommend this property

Liked: I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough! Whilst the location is excellent, and the prices more than reasonable for what you get, it is the staff that really make this a must stay place in Vietnam. Even before I arrived, Tony and Trinh had arranged my visa, overnight train ticket, airport transfer, and trip to Halong Bay. When I arrived I was given a complimentary breakfast and that set the tone for the rest of my stay - always going above what I expected. Nothing was ever too much, they even sent a staff member to get a water puppet ticket for me and provided a free transfer to the train station on my departure. The rooms are clean and well-maintained also. Do yourself a favour and upgrade to the deluxe room with the balcony. Highly worth it! Paule

Disliked: great Hostel ..

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

marianna gr

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

20 November 2014 marianna would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed here for three nights and didn't want to leave! The staff were so friendly and helpful! I booked my tour to Sapa and Halong Bay with them and had a great time. The rooms were clean and spacious! There is free beer during happy hour! What more can you ask for! Highly recommended!

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

maria anna

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Business / conference
City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

12 November 2014 maria would recommend this property

Liked: It is very very nice hostel I lived! Everything is nice such as comfortable bed, clean room, nice bathroom, nice airconditioner, nice free breakfast, fast wifi. It is nearly to the river just work 10 minutes.I really like it super friendly and helpful staff members, good facilities and all of that right in the old quarter. We had a private room which was lovely and huge. It's also a great place to meet other travellers and have a good time. Recommended!

Disliked: super friendly staffs.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

alex pier

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
City break
Family Holiday
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

12 November 2014 alex would recommend this property

Liked: everything was wonderful and great about this hostel; the staff, the facilities, location etc. the only thing I would say, is that the breakfast is a little weak, there could be something more to it, but for 5 dollars its fine. I had a great time here. The free beer hour got everyone together and the yours to halong bay through the hostel are excellent. Do the 3 day 2 night halong bay versus the 2 day 1 night. You won't regret it!

Disliked: no lift

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

david nguyen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference
City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

12 November 2014 david would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed here for 2 nights, before leaving home from Hanoi airport. It's a great location - slap bang in the center of the Old Quarter, it's cheap (cheaper than hostels of the same comfort level i've stayed in) good wi-fi, very nice staff. Beds are clean, huuge lockers, great wi-fi, clean bathroom nice common area and super fun .Can't really say anything other than good things about this place. If you're travelling alone and want to meet people to socialize and have a good time - this is the place for you! My stay was thoroughly enjoyable,The hostel did very much have a party vibe, which I quite enjoyed for the most part, it was good to be able to sit down and meet fellow travelers over a pint. The hostel do a great job of trying to get people to mix and get involved at night time. The service at the hostel was good and the staff helpful and friendly. I booked two tours through the hostel as well. big thank you to HanoiTonys hostel- i will definitely be back!

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

peter pan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

08 November 2014 peter would recommend this property

Liked: Many of the travellers I met in the Hostel considerred this place the only place to stay!The staff are laid back, really helpful and honest - there are always plenty of staff on hand to help and for a solo traveller the Hanoi Tonys Hostel is a great place to make new friends. Stay here if you want to come to a safe, clean place with a great atmosphere. Great place to meet other travelers and to book decent priced SAPA and Ha Long bay trips that you can TRUST!

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

18 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is great hostel .friendly and helpful staffs , Location right to hanoi backpackers hostel. . Room rates was cheaper , so I stayed here and hang out at next door hostel . Rooms are clean with A/c and fast wifi , breakfast included with prices. Would recommend this Tonys hostel.

Disliked: No trouble

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

david paul

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Romantic getaway
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

12 September 2014 david would recommend this property

Liked: Located in a perfect area in the old quarter. Most of the sites are walking distance - if you like walking (I also went to Ho Chi Minh mausoleum by foot). Offers all sorts of services you might need as a backpackers and also has a travel desk where you can get booked on any tour, transportation or anything you need., you should book tours, etc. in their travel agencies The breakfast is ok. I always had the egg , jam butter and they were good. Coffee as much as you like. Wifi is not a serious problem.. Wifi worked rather well (do e guests still having issues) at reception. . Doors are locked and there is a guy outside who puts a number tag in your luggage and unless you don't show him your half, he will not let you in. I left my luggage stored there for several days while I was out to Halong Bay and Sapa and everything was perfect. For the rest the please is great. Impeccably run, plenty of occasions to socialise. Clean and good backpackers vibe.

Disliked: everything was good.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

30 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: THE STAFF! The staff are all awesome, especially Tony and Anh, really helpful and couldn't do enough for us. Great location, close to loads of great restaurants, shops etc. Free breakfast. Good wifi.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Thomas William

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 August 2014 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel . Location and staffs. Arranged good price for Halong bay and sapa tours .

Disliked: Thomas left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

haclay davidson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference
Family Holiday
Romantic getaway
Visiting friends or family

19 August 2014 haclay would recommend this property

Liked: We have a number of nights in different rooms at the Tonys hostel. Opposite the building with the front desk is a second building containing the private rooms. These rooms are fine (clean, big enough, private shower). Value is really fine. . Lots of fun! However, if we did not feel like entertainment, it was in our room was quiet and silent as in any other hotel. We booked through the hostel the Halong Bay tour (2 days) and Sapa tour (3 nights) and this is still fairly regular basis. Cozy groups, tidy accommodation. It felt reliable and safe to book there and they also realized. Our big backpacks could remain safe in the hostel.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

marie elisabeth

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

18 August 2014 marie would recommend this property

Liked: Tony was the best . Invited me free beer and helping me travel tickets , halong bay and sapa . Rooms and location are great just next door to hanoi backpackers hostel . But much cheaper prices. I would recommend everyone . Cheers Tony.

Disliked: Best hostel

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

14 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excẹllant hostel. Friendly staffs.

Disliked: Hostel in central backpackers.staff are so friendly and helpful . Breakfast in cluded with price. I would recommend tony hostel.


See all Hanoi hostels
See all Hanoi hotels