HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of May De Ville Backpackers Hostel Hanoi

Hostel

1 Hai Tuong Lane, 24 Ta Hien str,Hoan Kien District, Hanoi, Vietnam

Atmosphere 82%

Cleanliness 90%

Facilities 83%

Location 97%

Safety 89%

Staff 90%

Value 90%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Airport Transfers
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • Currency Exchange
  • DVDs
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Pool Table
  • Postal Service
  • Restaurant
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup 18.00USD

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 10:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Hanoi?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 82%

Cleanliness 90%

Facilities 83%

Location 97%

Safety 89%

Staff 90%

Value 90%

Showing 1-10 of 84 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Nov 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Family Holiday, Romantic getaway, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities, Visiting friends or family

Liked: May De Ville Backpackers Hostel was a pleasure to stay at while in Hanoi. They welcomed us with a drink and snack when we first arrived and helped organise trips to Sapa and Halong Bay. All the tours that they recommended were perfect and they were very flexible with plans. When returning from an overnight train from Sapa, they allowed us to stay in a spare room to shower and sleep until our actual room was ready. They went above and beyond and I would definitely recommended this hotel in future.

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Nov 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Shopping, Visiting friends or family

Liked: It has elevator with good breakfast

Disliked: Outside noise can be heard because one traveller opened the window, but if its closed maybe filtered.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Nov 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Family Holiday, Romantic getaway, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Get to know about May De Ville Hostel from my wife. We send online enquiry regarding our annual trip to Hanoi which including number of days and guess what Mr Micheal from May De Ville Hostel give us a number of options with well planned itinerary and with several choices of price range. We have decide to choose a moderate package including Hanoi+Sapa+Halong Bay.On our trip to Hanoi, It was so much better than expected in term of the price that we have paid. We have given a temporary room for shower after we have went back from Sapa @ 6:00 am morning! Sapa trip and Halong Bay trip are remarkable and we truly enjoy both homestay and cruise. The staff are so well went over and above their duties and responsibilities. My wife and I really enjoy our trip to Hanoi.Lastly, I would like to highly recommend May De Ville Hostel to all people who would like to holiday @ Hanoi.

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Nov 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Very helpful staff allowing us to leave bags and organising trouble free transport from and to the airport. Clean and comfortable room, great value for money

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Business / conference, Family Holiday, Partying / nightlife, Romantic getaway, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: The staff were amazingly friendly and helped out with booking a super Ha Long Bay tour and train tickets. A great location with clean and spacious rooms.

Disliked: None. Too good hostel

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Business / conference, Family Holiday, Partying / nightlife, Romantic getaway, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: this guys really know what they are doing. For a very good cost they managed to provide an excellent service all around. Very professional and helpful.- Great check in- Very good facilities- Very good location- Very good breakfast- excellent rooms, that are both clean and silent!- best of the staffs, really friendly and most of all professional- Just stay there, it's worth it.

Disliked: customer left no negative feedback

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Romantic getaway, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I think this is the best place to stay in Hanoi. Rooms are clean and cozy, verry friendly and welcoming staff, they are always present to help you booking a bus or a train, leave your bag during a trip or give you best place to visit in Hanoi. Good location. Good and large choice for the breakfast!Nothing bad to say, i recommend you!! +++

Disliked: No

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Romantic getaway, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great hotel for the price! Staff very friendly and accommodating. We asked so many questions and they were glad to answer all of them.Hotel location is perfect, just a few minutes away from the lake and there are many good food places nearby.Room was very big and comfortable, clean up was done everyday. Wifi was fast and reliable.Would recomend this hotel to future visitors of Hanoi.Thank you for a wonderful stay! :)

Disliked: Friendly staff

Customer would recommend this property

31% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 20%
31% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: the location is quite good, you can find restaurants and bar just next door, take a few minutes walk can go to the city center, the lake and night market.

Disliked: The room was so old and smelly, totally different from the photos. The toilet was so small and the water split over after we took shower. the bed-linens were not really clean. The restaurant of the hotel is in refurbishment, we need to have breakfast in another floor, The food was just layout in the corridor on that floor, it looked so dirty and not hygienic. We were just sitting inside the room of that floor for breakfast. It was so weird.


The property's response is

Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience this must have caused you. Every effort is made to ensure that our Guests receive the very best service. Our management is working deeply in the noise matter of the construction site next door and we step by step improved it. They almost completed the hard thing of the construction, it is only have soft thing left now. We also work closely with them to make sure it will not affect our guest anymore. We are looking forward to welcome you .

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Stayed in a private double room for the first part of our stay which was nice but had no window so no natural light. They allowed us to store our luggage there whilst we were on trips to sapa and halong bay. Breakfast buffet was good but mainly just Vietnamese food.

Disliked: Some staff on front desk unfriendly. Wouldn't recommend booking tours through them. We booked through a travel agent on the street outside and ended up on the same trips as we would have through the hotel, but saved well over $100.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability