We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Hanoi hostels
See all Hanoi hotels

Reviews of The May De Ville Backpackers Hostel

Hostel | No 1 Hai Tuong Lane, Ta Hien Street, Hoan Kiem District Hanoi, Vietnam 1000

87.2% Overall Rating

143 out of 148 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (19/05/2015)

Sarah Scanlon thinks…

"The location was excellent for walking around the old quarter and exploring the city. Any farther we wanted to go we got a taxi, which the staff helpfully called and directed. They booked out inward…"

Read all The May De Ville Backpackers Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 18.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Hanoi?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Hanoi

Hanoi Youth Hostel
4.82 USD

Hostel 77.4% 42 reviews
Hoan Kiem Hostel
3.03 USD

Hostel 83.8% 65 reviews
Hanoi Dolphin Hotel
16.25 USD

Hotel 3 star 90.9% 5 reviews
A Dong Hotel
6.00 USD

Hotel 2.5 star Not yet rated
Hanoi Discovery Hotel
5.00 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Green Diamond Hotel
7.20 USD

Hostel 95.4% 37 reviews
Aurora Hostel
6.00 USD

Hostel 92.0% 35 reviews
Hanoi Sports Hotel
6.89 USD

Hotel 93.4% 16 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/05/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/05/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.2%

Overall Rating

143 out of 148 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The May De Ville Backpackers Hostel'

Atmosphere
80.0%
Location
96.0%
Facilities
83.2%
Cleanliness
85.6%
Staff
89.6%
Value
88.8%
Safety
87.2%
Refine your results Showing 139 of 148 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Sarah Scanlon

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

19 May 2015 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: The location was excellent for walking around the old quarter and exploring the city. Any farther we wanted to go we got a taxi, which the staff helpfully called and directed. They booked out inward train and bus and were very helpful and informative. They do garage commission though so be wary if you're really budgeting.

Disliked: When we arrived at 3pm, the room had not been cleaned but the front desk called the maids who cleaned it immediately.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Minsung kwon

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 April 2015 Minsung would recommend this property

Liked: 저렴한 가격에 조식을 포함하고 위치까지 좋아 추천할만합니다. 매일마다 청소를 해주고 각종 편의를 제공해서 정말 편하게 있다가 갑니다

Disliked: 도미토리룸은 좁아서 불편했습니다

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was amazing, old quarter was brilliant, new towels everyday, huge room, great free breakfast in the morning, people at the hostel organised for us to get our train tickets to hue and also told us how to get to cat ba island by bus. really helpful place, smooth stay, wifi a bit touch and go, great showers

Disliked: sometimes room had a bit of a damp feel to it but only because of the season in vietnam

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Collen Hellen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

10 April 2015 Collen would recommend this property

Liked: There is not one thing I can fault! We did two trips away from Hanoi while we were in the area and not only did they store our large backpacks while we went to sapa and the bay but when we where back in Hanoi and awaiting transfers they allowed us to use a room for a couple of hours and eat breakfast. That and other small things really puts them above the rest and made our time in Hanoi unforgettable and far too easy to organise our trips as they did all that as well.

Disliked: No bad experiences, everything was excellent

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

hannah emily

Alone

Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

13 March 2015 hannah would recommend this property

Liked: Very good spacious room. Helpful and very kind service speaking good English. Very delicious breakfast. Best arrangement tour to Sapa and Halong bay. We stayed two times in this hostel and were impressed by the way hotel staff made our stay in Hanoi so enjoyed and comfortable. Highly recommended!

Disliked: Hannah Emily left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 March 2015

Liked: Location is good. Staff are nice enough. Breakfast is free!

Disliked: The so called safes in my dorm were not secure at all. Anyone could easily remove the hooks which the padlocks attach too without any tools. Also the bathroom door wouldn't shut properly and had no lock.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sarah Murphy

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

28 February 2015 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: Thank you for everything. Thanks for all the help with booking Sapa & Halong Bay . Great staff , nice room and good breakfast. Will recommend this hostel to other backpackers :) . Love from England.

Disliked: Nothing

62.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location. Clean cheap

Disliked: Not good environment for meeting people in the hostel.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Elizabeth Wan

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

07 February 2015 Elizabeth would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, right smack in the centre of everything- good food, shopping and sightseeing. Room and facilities were better than what I expected. They had a hair dryer, In-room safe and LCD TV with cable tele! Bonus- hot water was really hot! Breakfast was ok, don't expect 5-star gourmet in a hostel. Staff will be friendly, if you are friendly. Be smart about booking your tours there, you might want to go out and check with other agents, there are heaps outside. But then again, booking through the hostel also means security ( you know you willbe returned to the hostel!

Disliked: Elizabeth left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Vicky Bertorelli

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 January 2015 Vicky would recommend this property

Liked: Thought I was in the wrong place when I arrived. Far too classy to be my hostel I thought! The reception area is like an expensive hotel lobby. The service from the staff is too. Very impressive. Very clean, professional, comfortable dorms, big lockers for your stuff. Buffet breakfast on the 10th floor is unbelievable. I wanted to stay for hours grazing. Free computers in the lobby to sit and upload my photos. Wonderful place.

Disliked: Tiny points: never got the wifi to connect in my dorm. The bathroom's not perfect because it's essentially a frosted glass box at one end of the dorm which has no way to close or lock the door properly. However, my dorm-mates and I rarely crossed paths so I never really worried about any aspect of privacy.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

iancu mircea

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

24 January 2015 iancu would recommend this property

Liked: Hotel room for the price of a hostel Nice staff

Disliked: iancu left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Doan Thanh Tuan

With a large group / tour

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

10 January 2015 Doan Thanh would recommend this property

Liked: Wow ! Your hostel is absolutely fantastic. All of staff of May De Ville Hostel have been so kind, welcoming and helpful. We had a wonderful stay and hope to be back. Thank for take care us !!!

Disliked: Nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 December 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and comfortable. very convenient.

Disliked: they said my room wasn't available (because there was a problem with it) and asked me to stay the first night in a dorm. But they did the right thing and comped that night.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 December 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location and very good breakfast

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Paul Bailey

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 December 2014 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic location and good value. The rooms are great quality.

Disliked: Difficult to find. No wifi in the room (but available in lobby).

31.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Matt Lindley

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 December 2014

Liked: This a hotel rather than a hostel, and the dorms are clean, quiet, comfortable and a great deal for the price.

Disliked: Don't go near the tourist booking office in reception. I was told that it would be the same price to book a train ticket to Danang from the hotel as it was from the station. This was untrue, and it ended up costing me about 17 USD more arranging it through the booking office at the hotel. This lack of transparency is reprehensible and I won't be coming back or recommending this hostel to a friend.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ashley Young

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

01 December 2014 Ashley would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is just awesome. The service is excellent. Staff is really friendly and helps out a lot. We actually felt like home in that guesthouse. Breakfast was really nice and they offer a wide variety of food and drinks. Rooms were very clean and had been cleaned every day. It is a really good value for money.

Disliked: No complain

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alex Maxell

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
Family Holiday
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

29 October 2014 Alex would recommend this property

Liked: This was by far the best welcome we have ever had to a hotel, city and in this case a country. After correspondence with the hotel via email prior to arrival, we were picked up by a driver at Hanoi airport as promised and taken straight to the hostel. Our flight had arrived at 8.30am from Bangkok so we were really tired. We were welcomed straight away by the staff and offered breakfast in the dining room before checking in. Fresh fruit, juices and coffee. Even though we were arriving way before check-in time we were given a room straight away, and had been upgraded to a larger room. The room was lovely and clean, comfy and spacious. We wanted to go out straight away as we only had one day in Hanoi. The staff gave us a map and told us how to get to the main sights. The hotel is right in the middle of the old quarter which was great and a 5 minute walk to the lake area. They also called a taxi for us to get over to the mausoleum. We had also booked a tour through the hotel via email before arriving so the day after we arrived we went to Halong Bay 3days - 2 night . It is a best trip in Vietnam & wonderful .I was worried as we were catching the 10pm night train to Huė (also booked through the hotel) that evening and timing was tight. The guide was great though and made sure we were first to be dropped off back in Hanoi. The hotel staff then booked us a taxi to the train station and one of them followed us on his motorbike and took us all the way to our train compartment. It made everything so easy for us - amazing service. The best thing about the hotel is definitely the staff - they really made our first experience of Vietnam an enjoyable one. They all knew who we were and what our plans were, from arriving early to making sure we caught our train ok. I would definitely stay here again!

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Kwonil Noh

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

06 July 2014 Kwonil would recommend this property

Liked: Very kind. Nice staffs

Disliked: Had some problem about reservation. But it was also nice

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap, great location

Disliked: Noisy, dorm room was damp and had leaky roof

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dominik Zeilinger

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

02 June 2014 Dominik would recommend this property

Liked: breakfast buffet!! 5$ for the dorm incl. the breakfast, fair enough! free pool table, big movie room with ac

Disliked: it's not possible to lock the toilet in the dorm ;)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Deepak Barua

Alone

Business / conference

01 June 2014 Deepak would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast was great , staff was very helpful and friendly , service excellent

Disliked: Crowded stores nearby , haggling with street vendors

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: staff was friendly.

Disliked: nearby street is very loud from the early morning (6am) untill late. it is difficult to sleep under that condition. toilet and shower are in the dorm room and can't be locked. that is a bit intimidating.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Theo Reuter

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 April 2014 Theo would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very helpful and friendly! Thank you so much!

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Paul Thomas

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 March 2014 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: Very Nice room. Clean and good shower. Safe the room was good.

Disliked: The breakfast was a bit basic and cheap ingredients although paying for the private room we got an omlette included which was good


See all Hanoi hostels
See all Hanoi hotels