We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Hanoi hostels
See all Hanoi hotels

Reviews of The May De Ville Backpackers Hostel

Hostel | No 1 Hai Tuong Lane, Ta Hien Street, Hoan Kiem District Hanoi, Vietnam 1000

93.5% Overall Rating

127 out of 129 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (29/10/2014)

Alex Maxell thinks…

"This was by far the best welcome we have ever had to a hotel, city and in this case a country. After correspondence with the hotel via email prior to arrival, we were picked up by a driver at Hanoi…"

Read all The May De Ville Backpackers Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 18.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Hanoi?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Hanoi

Hanoi Youth Hostel
4.88 USD

Hostel 77.9% 41 reviews
Hoan Kiem Hostel
3.07 USD

Hostel 90.7% 58 reviews
Hanoi Dolphin Hotel
16.25 USD

Hotel 3 star 90.9% 5 reviews
Hanoi Discovery Hotel
5.00 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Green Diamond Hotel
8.00 USD

Hostel 95.7% 36 reviews
HOAN KIEM DOWNTOWN BACKPACKERS HOSTEL
3.72 USD

Hostel 85.8% 65 reviews
HANOI WHITE PALACE HOTEL
7.90 USD

Hotel 3 star 85.3% 34 reviews
Hanoi Aurora Hotel
8.00 USD

Hostel 92.0% 35 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
93.5%

Overall Rating

127 out of 129 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The May De Ville Backpackers Hostel'

Atmosphere
85.6%
Location
96.8%
Facilities
92.0%
Cleanliness
93.6%
Staff
95.2%
Value
95.2%
Safety
96.0%
Refine your results Showing 122 of 129 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alex Maxell

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
Family Holiday
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

29 October 2014 Alex would recommend this property

Liked: This was by far the best welcome we have ever had to a hotel, city and in this case a country. After correspondence with the hotel via email prior to arrival, we were picked up by a driver at Hanoi airport as promised and taken straight to the hostel. Our flight had arrived at 8.30am from Bangkok so we were really tired. We were welcomed straight away by the staff and offered breakfast in the dining room before checking in. Fresh fruit, juices and coffee. Even though we were arriving way before check-in time we were given a room straight away, and had been upgraded to a larger room. The room was lovely and clean, comfy and spacious. We wanted to go out straight away as we only had one day in Hanoi. The staff gave us a map and told us how to get to the main sights. The hotel is right in the middle of the old quarter which was great and a 5 minute walk to the lake area. They also called a taxi for us to get over to the mausoleum. We had also booked a tour through the hotel via email before arriving so the day after we arrived we went to Halong Bay 3days - 2 night . It is a best trip in Vietnam & wonderful .I was worried as we were catching the 10pm night train to Huė (also booked through the hotel) that evening and timing was tight. The guide was great though and made sure we were first to be dropped off back in Hanoi. The hotel staff then booked us a taxi to the train station and one of them followed us on his motorbike and took us all the way to our train compartment. It made everything so easy for us - amazing service. The best thing about the hotel is definitely the staff - they really made our first experience of Vietnam an enjoyable one. They all knew who we were and what our plans were, from arriving early to making sure we caught our train ok. I would definitely stay here again!

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Kwonil Noh

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

06 July 2014 Kwonil would recommend this property

Liked: Very kind. Nice staffs

Disliked: Had some problem about reservation. But it was also nice

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap, great location

Disliked: Noisy, dorm room was damp and had leaky roof

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dominik Zeilinger

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

02 June 2014 Dominik would recommend this property

Liked: breakfast buffet!! 5$ for the dorm incl. the breakfast, fair enough! free pool table, big movie room with ac

Disliked: it's not possible to lock the toilet in the dorm ;)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Deepak Barua

Alone

Business / conference

01 June 2014 Deepak would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast was great , staff was very helpful and friendly , service excellent

Disliked: Crowded stores nearby , haggling with street vendors

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: staff was friendly.

Disliked: nearby street is very loud from the early morning (6am) untill late. it is difficult to sleep under that condition. toilet and shower are in the dorm room and can't be locked. that is a bit intimidating.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Theo Reuter

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 April 2014 Theo would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very helpful and friendly! Thank you so much!

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Paul Thomas

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 March 2014 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: Very Nice room. Clean and good shower. Safe the room was good.

Disliked: The breakfast was a bit basic and cheap ingredients although paying for the private room we got an omlette included which was good

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jryun chang

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture

25 February 2014 jryun would recommend this property

Liked: No

Disliked: jryun left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Armagan Kuscu

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 December 2013 Armagan would recommend this property

Liked: Good breakfeast, clean dorms, free pool table and game area. Very kind staff.

Disliked: Here is kind of hotel, don't expect cozy backpackers hostel.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Alan Chen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 December 2013 Alan would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms are clean and good. Service staff are friendly. Tours provided were at a reasonable price.

Disliked: Wifi is not so strong in the room, but it's good at common areas

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was way above what I was expecting. This is like a hotel but for backpackers. The free breakfast was good! Some eggs would be nice though, and the staff were friendly always saying hello.

Disliked: The wi-fi was really poor on the upper floors, i couldn't even connect in my room unless i sat beside the door. Perhaps put a password on the upper floors so that guests at other hotels cannot use it. The movie rooms dvds should be better taken care of in a book, you can't watch any of them without the disk stopping because all of them are badly scratched. The things on top can be easily resolved but what I really didn't like was that the tour company in the hotel really overcharges for trips, I booked a bus to phonsavan laos and I met a girl on the bus who paid less than me and went farther to Luang Prabang. Also they overcharge for the one day halong bay trip. If you want to go for a day look elsewhere as you will be spending one day in halong for $35 while you'll be sharing a boat with those who paid $15.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The people here are awesome and are always willing to help! Michael at the front desk was wonderful in helping us book all of our busses in Vietnam which made our lives so much easier. The common room had a big tv with lots of movies to watch as well as a pool table in the other room which I thought was a nice touch. Overall great value for the money!

Disliked: The internet kind of sucked in our room but that wasn't a big deal.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rob Ainsley

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

24 November 2013 Rob would recommend this property

Liked: Hostel space is a (long and narrow) bunk room inside a high quality hotel. Lockers, ensuite bathroom. Apart from the shared space, it's like staying in a hotel, for a fraction of the cost. Four free internet PCs, friendly and helpful staff, a room upstairs with a pool table and cinema, and a superb location 15 seconds' walk from the Ngoc Quyen / Ta Hien junction, the centre of the Old Quarter's ultra cheap bia hoi bars. (Hint: Walk east up Ngoc Quyen for best deals!) Superclean and comfy, very good buffet breakfast with an eyrie-like view over Hanoi's roofscape, and no problem to use the hotel lobby space before or after checkin or checkout. Thoroughly recommend to anyone looking for a cheap, clean, quality, comfy stay right in the centre of the Old Quarter - having stayed here, I've already booked another stay. Fantastic value for money.

Disliked: The Google map location as shown on the hostelbookers website isn't quite right. May de Ville is actually a few metres *south* of Ngoc Quyen, on the *west* side.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

evgeny morozov

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 November 2013 evgeny would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed at the 6-bed dorm it was really really nice. seems that is actually a really good hotel that has also a dorm room.

Disliked: evgeny left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

01 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is definitely not a Backpackers Hostel. Its a very nice HOTEL in the old town of Hanoi, great Location! Very helpful staff, nice rooms. TOP!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

CHONG PEING LOW

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 August 2013 CHONG PEING would recommend this property

Liked: It's clean, new and wow, their buffet breakfast was really great ! At least value for money !

Disliked: CHONG PEING left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Family Holiday

01 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room was nice; the staff even better!

Disliked: No real bad points.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The view from the room was brilliant (9th floor), the room itself had comfortable beds and lockers big enough for a backpack.

Disliked: The breakfast wasn't great, the coffee both mornings was cold and after asking for hot coffee I still didn't get any. There isn't really a social area to meet other backpackers as it is like a hotel but its still worth a visit.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great location. super clean. wifi on all floors. excellent buffet breakfast each morning

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

30 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing place just in the middle of the Old Town. I couldn't believe this was a hostel. Staff was very nice, breakfast was so tasty and the room small but clean. I would definitely stay there another time with that price!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stijn Debuysscher

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

28 July 2013 Stijn would recommend this property

Liked: Everything!!! Top-quality rooms with bathrobes, fancy shower, locker, laptop with free internet, quiet well-working airco and city view from 10th floor restaurant. Pool table available at all times and a lot of place to chill and relax. Free maps and luggage storage

Disliked: Breakfast could have been a bit more varied with e.g. orange juice or good coffee

31.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 July 2013

Liked: It is located in the old quarter of Hanoi.

Disliked: Everything else. You can't trust anyone. The staff tries to screw you, the bathroom was aweful, the rooms were not really nice.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Crystal Williams

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 July 2013 Crystal would recommend this property

Liked: Very centrally located, cheap but very clean and nice dorm rooms. A communal lounge and games room with lots of movies, nice place to relax.

Disliked: Crystal left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, nice staff and cool view from the top floor. It was a very nice single room, a rare treat for me during several months of hostel travel. Very nice bed and one of the best bathrooms I saw during my time in SE Asia

Disliked: The breakfast was picked clean by the time I got there, which was still an hour or 90 minutes before it was supposed to end. They were making some more dishes but it was taking a long time and I didn't have time to wait.


See all Hanoi hostels
See all Hanoi hotels