We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Hanoi hostels
See all Hanoi hotels

Reviews of Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - Original

Hostel | 48 Ngo Huyen st, Hoan Kiem, Hanoi, Vietnam .

92.8% Overall Rating

258 out of 267 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (19/04/2015)

"Decent location and the walking tour helped to orientate. Huge lockers for all your stuff so it felt secure. Pretty social too, most people very friendly."

Read all Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - Original reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 23.00
  • Towel USD 0.80

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Hanoi?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Hanoi

Tonkin Hostel
4.57 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Hanoi Lucky II Hotel
6.85 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hanoi Serendipity Hotel
8.00 USD

Hostel 97.3% 57 reviews
PARAMOUNT HOTEL
5.02 USD

Hotel 5 star Not yet rated
Splendid Jupiter Hotel
9.50 USD

Hotel 4.5 star 92.6% 34 reviews
Hanoi Impressive Hotel
20.00 USD

Hotel 3.5 star Not yet rated
Hanoi Ciao Hotel
7.00 USD

Hotel 3 star 90.5% 46 reviews
Bluebell Hotel
6.85 USD

Hotel 93.5% 7 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
92.8%

Overall Rating

258 out of 267 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - Original'

Atmosphere
90.4%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
95.2%
Cleanliness
93.6%
Staff
93.6%
Value
90.4%
Safety
92.8%
Refine your results Showing 208 of 212 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Decent location and the walking tour helped to orientate. Huge lockers for all your stuff so it felt secure. Pretty social too, most people very friendly.

Disliked: Only 1 shower in a room for 10 people so I often had to walk to another floor to use another bathroom.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Angelina Doyle

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 March 2015 Angelina would recommend this property

Liked: I'd stayed here about 3 years ago and always remembered it as a nice place to stay. Its still as good as I remember. Only stayed one night but left my rucksack in the storage. The staff let me use the showers and hang out at the hostel until my night train which was great.

Disliked: Some of the girls in the dorm were a bit inconsiderate with making noise when they came in but thats not the hostels fault.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jonelle Margallo

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Family Holiday
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

15 March 2015 Jonelle would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is very helpful in terms of touring in Hanoi and beyond! Every morning, a staff member gives a mini tour of the city. It's very helpful since Hanoi is a packed and has crazy confusing streets. Also, one of the staff members set up a whole plan making our way down to HoiAn full of activities, and of course Backpackers accommodations. Wonderful staff and wonderful chain of Backpacker Hostels! Bathrooms are lovely with a bathtub and curtain!! Woooow:) Love free breakfast too! And free water refilling coolers.

Disliked: We stayed at the Original Backpackers Hostel. I think the Downtown location is a little better. That's not really a dislike, just a preference:)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

deanne charles

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

24 January 2015 deanne would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is really well run, very clean, good breakfast, friendly staff and excellent for socialising and booking tours.

Disliked: It's a little more pricey than some other places nearby.. but you definitely get what you pay for.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Matthew Mason

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

11 October 2014 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: Very centrally located with a true hostel vibe about it. Fantastic!

Disliked: Matthew left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location easy to meet people good tours!

Disliked: nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

03 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were helpful! Free walking tour! Clean rooms with good security. Great free breakfast!

Disliked: No wifi in rooms.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly environment. Very helpful with questions about tours and travel options.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

lee thomas

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 March 2014 lee would recommend this property

Liked: good atmosphere, great palce to meet other travellers

Disliked: none

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Christoph Krauss

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 March 2014 Christoph would recommend this property

Liked: Social Place, Good for Partying

Disliked: Christoph left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alison Leggett

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 February 2014 Alison would recommend this property

Liked: I wish I had stayed here longer! The place is buzzing and has a great atmosphere which reminds you why you chose to go backpacking in the first place! I think it attracts a certain kind of person- a laid back and positive kind of traveller. I would go back in a heartbeat!

Disliked: nothing!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Steph McNally

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 February 2014 Steph would recommend this property

Liked: All the staff were incredibly helpful and friendly with great knowledge of the area and things to do in and around Hanoi. There was a nice vibe about the hostel and bar area throughout the day and the pub crawl meant there was a group to hang out with every night. Giant Jenga was a personal favorite! Breakfast was good and burgers on the roof top bar were a hit. Rooms were very clean and beds comfy, compared to the chaos of downtown it was nice to be staying somewhere more relaxed whilst having the option for a big night down the road.

Disliked: Wifi was pretty absent in the main building but across the street was better, there are computers if your in dire need of internet and some of the food was a bit overpriced for what you got. Other than that one of the best hostels I've stayed in yet!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lots of nice people. Has a rooftop bar which is very convenient! Staff over the reception are helpful and friendly :D

Disliked: None.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: -

Disliked: -

62.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Dmitry Krivochenitser

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 January 2014

Liked: It was clean and the front-desk staff was alright.

Disliked: The atmosphere was not as social as in their sister hostel. For those looking for a quiet atmosphere, this is it for them.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great to have lockers under beds for bags and little ones above bed for charging things. Comfy beds. Great atmosphere - it was the hostels birthday when I was there so a big party! Helpful staff and good walking tour. It is definitely a party hostel, so if you want a good night's sleep, probably better somewhere else.

Disliked: Expensive drinks in the hostel bar. More expensive than other hostels, not totally sure why. I bought a bus ticket from Hue-Hoi An through the hostel. When I arrived in the same company's hostel in Hue, I found out that if I'd bought my bus ticket in Hue, it would have cost half of what I paid the hostel for it in Hanoi. When I queried this, the girl in Hue was told by Hanoi that they used a different company to book tickets. It seems ridiculous that the hostel in Hanoi didn't tell me it would be cheaper to buy a ticket in Hue - after all its the same company, so the money is going to them anyway!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very much a party hostel, a good place to meet other travellers and socialize. The staff are good at getting all the guests talking to each other, which generally involves drinking games. Average to good 'free' breakfast

Disliked: The bag store were you keep your bag if you're going on trips is open most of the day, anyone can walk in and out! If you want to sleep before 12am it's difficult. The tours available are convenient but not the best value for money

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Gemmel Soussi

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

30 November 2013 Gemmel would recommend this property

Liked: A definite party hostel, there are tonnes of activities and trips you can do through the hostel itself. Lots of ways to meet people, as long as you're into drinking

Disliked: Wifi was pretty sketchy most of the time

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Tom Prendergast

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 November 2013 Tom would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were especially friendly and helpful and this hostel is a great place to meet other travellers! Also the free breakfast!

Disliked: The wifi was always dodgy.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

17 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Its the complete package, its got everything you need and more. Friendly, party atmosphere.

Disliked: Its quite expensive for South East Asia, but its still good value for money. But I wouldn't recommend it to real budget travellers unless they are splashing out on a treat. One of the members of staff is bit much.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marika Bauerhin

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 November 2013 Marika would recommend this property

Liked: That is the best run hostel I stayed in on my 6month trip through SEA. Well organisrd, a lot of offers, and it is the right place for you to stay, if you want to party OR want to have a quiet night. Both is possible. And, yes, the tours they offer are a bit more expencive then those on the street, but they are also so much better. I enjoyed my time to the fullest!

Disliked: Marika left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Vey helpful staff, parties at the hostel are a must

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere in the hostel - different things happening each day/night e.g. quiz, pub crawl, food tour, etc. Dorm rooms are well designed and comfortable. Wish we could have stayed for longer!!

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

07 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff could not be friendlier - it was nice to stay in a local place not a foreign-owned mega hostel. They had a great local map & the downstairs area is an easy way to meet people ... Not in a boozy setting

Disliked: Nothing but its not a party hostel so go somewhere else of that's your thing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

hayley symes

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 October 2013 hayley would recommend this property

Liked: Young amospherr, lots of free offers and activities to do. Free morning walking tour was great. Free beer and plenty of evening games were a bonus. So many friendly people. Great!

Disliked: Cost of food was high. And beer was more expensive but they had plenty of offers and cheap beer opposite the hostel


See all Hanoi hostels
See all Hanoi hotels