HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - Original Hanoi Hostel

48 Ngo Huyen, Hoan Kiem, Hanoi, Vietnam

Atmosphere 91%

Cleanliness 86%

Facilities 90%

Location 94%

Safety 90%

Staff 94%

Value 89%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Late Check-out
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Airport Transfers
  • BBQ
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • Currency Exchange
  • DVDs
  • Free Internet Access
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Reading Light
  • Restaurant
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • WiFi

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup 23.00USD
  • Towel 0.80USD

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Policies

  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Hanoi?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 91%

Cleanliness 86%

Facilities 90%

Location 94%

Safety 90%

Staff 94%

Value 89%

Showing 1-10 of 52 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Dec 2016

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: Great atmosphere , Friendly staff . A lot of planned fun activities

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hey

Thanks for taking the time to leave a great 100% review.

We always strive to achieve a fun and friendly atmosphere. Its fantastic that you enjoyed some of our daily and nightly free events and activities.

Safe Travels

Regards
Alex Gelling
General Manager
VBH Original Hostel

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Dec 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Relaxation / spa, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Age Range:
18-24

Liked: I spent a few nights at VBH. The service is great, dorms are clean and the hostel is very comfortable, make you feel at home!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hey

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a really good review.

We are really pleased you felt at home with us here. We pride ourselves in having the highest standards in cleanliness and providing the best possible service.

Safe Travels

Regards
Alex Gelling
General Manager
VBH Original Hostel

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating


23 Jul 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: Staff are really friendly, there are lots of services on offer and they helped me to sort out the itinerary for the rest of my trip.

Disliked: I enjoyed the lively vibe of this hostel and it was a great way to meet others however probably suits a younger traveller more than myself.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Apr 2016

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
18-24

Liked: Friendly staff and great atmosphere

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Mar 2016

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: I liked the atmosphere and the helpful staff

Disliked: NOTHING

Customer would recommend this property

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Jan 2016

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: good located

Disliked: Room is not really clean, no hot shower, room was very cold inside.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great to meet people when travelling solo. Very clean

Disliked: The free breakfast is a bit basic but not bad for SE asia

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife

Liked: The attractive tour guides

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Decent location and the walking tour helped to orientate. Huge lockers for all your stuff so it felt secure. Pretty social too, most people very friendly.

Disliked: Only 1 shower in a room for 10 people so I often had to walk to another floor to use another bathroom.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Mar 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: I'd stayed here about 3 years ago and always remembered it as a nice place to stay. Its still as good as I remember. Only stayed one night but left my rucksack in the storage. The staff let me use the showers and hang out at the hostel until my night train which was great.

Disliked: Some of the girls in the dorm were a bit inconsiderate with making noise when they came in but thats not the hostels fault.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability