HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Hanoi City Hostel Hanoi Hostel

95B Hang Ga, Hoan Kiem, Hanoi, Vietnam

Atmosphere 82%

Cleanliness 89%

Facilities 93%

Location 96%

Safety 94%

Staff 98%

Value 97%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Airport Transfers
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • Currency Exchange
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Hot Tub
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Parking
  • Postal Service
  • Reading Light
  • Restaurant
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Shuttle Bus
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 12:30

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Hanoi?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 82%

Cleanliness 89%

Facilities 93%

Location 96%

Safety 94%

Staff 98%

Value 97%

Showing 1-10 of 15 reviews

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Nov 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The staff were very friendly and helpful right from the time we made the booking, they emailed us with all the details we could require for our trip and sent us some tour options which was very helpful.

Disliked: The property could be maintained better. The bathrooms were a little disappointing, particularly the shower. The bath tub in the bathroom seems to serve no purpose but to take space.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The hotel has very helpful and attentive staff. It is at a very convenient lo vacation and value for money. Staff make and effort to prepare early breakfast for us as we are taking the 6.30am bus.

Disliked: Nil

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Mar 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break

Liked: Sweet staff, good location - not that touristic around the hostel, I liked that

Disliked: Don't recall anything

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Nov 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: this is a great hostel. convenient location in the heart of the old quarter. the breakfast included was good and came with unlimited coffee or tea. the staff was really friendly and helped us book two separate tours- one to halong bay and one to sapa. they let us store our bags while we went to sapa and were so nice, not pushy at all. we would absolutely stay again and recommend if you are visiting hanoi

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The staff is very helfpul and we got free breakfast, while we were waiting for our room. We booked our tour to the Halong Bay (Luxury Imperial Cruise) 3 days and 2 nights there and our tour to Sapa. During our tours we could store our luggage in the hostel for free. The expensive properties were stored in a safe. I would stay again at this nice and central place!

Disliked: less water pressure on the top floor

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 May 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Family Holiday

Liked: This hotel is amazing value for money and the staff were so friendly and helpful. I Would definitely stay here again if I return to Hanoi

Disliked: Nothing really.

Customer would recommend this property

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 40%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Moon was very friendly and it was fairly clean- I think it'd be fine for couples travelling together or if you wanted private rooms but as a solo traveller looking to meet other people it wasn't for me.

Disliked: Despite booking a bed in a dorm, I was asked to stay in a single room (for $14 a night) as two boys in the dorm were apparently sick. The next day I was told I'd have to move to a friend's hostel to stay there in a single room.I'm pretty sure they've got rid of their dorm facilities but didn't want to lose my business so were lying to me about it. I felt extremely uncomfortable so I ended up checking out after one morning and heading to another hostel- they were however very nice about me going elsewhere, giving me my full change and a bottle of water. If you've intentionally booked a private room, you'll be fine. But if you've booked a dorm don't stay there.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: All the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The rooms were amazing value for money! My friend and I paid $8.79 (AUD) for a twin room, and it was spacious, good bathroom, TV, safe, closet, phone, fridge, air con, fan - everything. I will definitely stay here again.

Disliked: Nothing!

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Jan 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Everything. We stayed at the property on 25-26th Jan and 28th Jan - 2nd February (we went to Halong Bay for 2 nights in between on a trip arranged by this hostel). The hostel is right in the centre of the old quarter, very clean and the rooms are very spacious and modern. Quiet so able to get a good night's sleep and the breakfast is very good.The staff are brilliant - very friendly and helpful. They arranged a 2 night trip for us to Halong Bay which we enjoyed. We also found out that we had paid substantially less for it than other people from different hostels which emphasises how good the owners are.We travelled for 3 months and this was the best hostel we stayed at

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Jan 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Staff was incredibly helpful here, and helped organize Halong Bay and other tours as well as train ticket bookings. Internet was good, breakfast was good. They let us check in after an early train arrival and let us stay and use their facilities well after check out. Very friendly!

Disliked: The room was a bit run-down, and the shower took some effort to get hot.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability