HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Hanoi hostels
See all Hanoi hotels

Reviews of Hanoi City Hostel

Hostel | 95 Hang ga Str, Hanoi, Vietnam 10000

91.7% Overall Rating

83 out of 85 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (07/03/2014)

"Moon was very friendly and it was fairly clean- I think it'd be fine for couples travelling together or if you wanted private rooms but as a solo traveller looking to meet other people it wasn't for me."

Read all Hanoi City Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Currency Exchange
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Wheelchair accessible

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Hanoi?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Hanoi

Little Hanoi Hostel
6.00 USD

Hostel 95.0% 473 reviews
Hanoi Culture Hostel
6.00 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 94.9% 10 reviews
Hanoi View Hotel
35.00 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hanoi Vega Hotel
14.01 USD

Hotel 4.5 star Not yet rated
Hanoi Blue Sky Hotel
5.90 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
hanoi triumphal hotel
10.00 USD

Hotel 3 star 96.8% 8 reviews
Stars Hotel
6.09 USD

Hostel 98.6% 12 reviews
CAMELLIA - MY KINH I Hostel
5.00 USD

Hotel 1.5 star 73.4% 16 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.7%

Overall Rating

83 out of 85 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hanoi City Hostel'

Atmosphere
80.0%
Location
95.2%
Facilities
89.6%
Cleanliness
91.2%
Staff
96.8%
Value
96.0%
Safety
92.8%
Refine your results Showing 81 of 83 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 March 2014

Liked: Moon was very friendly and it was fairly clean- I think it'd be fine for couples travelling together or if you wanted private rooms but as a solo traveller looking to meet other people it wasn't for me.

Disliked: Despite booking a bed in a dorm, I was asked to stay in a single room (for $14 a night) as two boys in the dorm were apparently sick. The next day I was told I'd have to move to a friend's hostel to stay there in a single room. I'm pretty sure they've got rid of their dorm facilities but didn't want to lose my business so were lying to me about it. I felt extremely uncomfortable so I ended up checking out after one morning and heading to another hostel- they were however very nice about me going elsewhere, giving me my full change and a bottle of water. If you've intentionally booked a private room, you'll be fine. But if you've booked a dorm don't stay there.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Robert James Goodwin

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 February 2014 Robert James would recommend this property

Liked: Everything. We stayed at the property on 25-26th Jan and 28th Jan - 2nd February (we went to Halong Bay for 2 nights in between on a trip arranged by this hostel). The hostel is right in the centre of the old quarter, very clean and the rooms are very spacious and modern. Quiet so able to get a good night's sleep and the breakfast is very good. The staff are brilliant - very friendly and helpful. They arranged a 2 night trip for us to Halong Bay which we enjoyed. We also found out that we had paid substantially less for it than other people from different hostels which emphasises how good the owners are. We travelled for 3 months and this was the best hostel we stayed at

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

26 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good hostel close/in the old parts of town. Big rooms, friendly staff. Helped us to book tours. We ended up staying five nights.

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Kyle Gifford

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 February 2014 Kyle would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was incredibly helpful here, and helped organize Halong Bay and other tours as well as train ticket bookings. Internet was good, breakfast was good. They let us check in after an early train arrival and let us stay and use their facilities well after check out. Very friendly!

Disliked: The room was a bit run-down, and the shower took some effort to get hot.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Paige Berry

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

02 February 2014 Paige would recommend this property

Liked: All the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The rooms were amazing value for money! My friend and I paid $8.79 (AUD) for a twin room, and it was spacious, good bathroom, TV, safe, closet, phone, fridge, air con, fan - everything. I will definitely stay here again.

Disliked: Nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

weiwei thng

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 December 2013 weiwei would recommend this property

Liked: We intended to stay for 1 night but ended up staying for 4 nights here in total and hanoi city hostel is AWESOME :) Last minute decision to stay here, contacted them for airport pick up & they were prompt and professional in replying.. Hannah & Moon, the two beautiful ladies working at the reception welcomed us warmly & were a great source of help during our stay here - they arranged our tour to Halong Bay at a really good price (we compared with some others on the cruise and ours was the cheapest) and helped in booking train tickets to sapa without extra charges. Room was great at 14usd a night for 2- two comfortable beds & good hot showers, clean & decent size for the price. Breakfast was good enough too :) they were kind in giving us more portions/ more food :) All in all, this place is perfect for backpackers, alone or in groups, & even families! Wifi is strong and working well on rooms Best place to stay in hanoi & we will definitely be back next time :) Thank you again, Hannah & moon!

Disliked: weiwei left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

STELLA MCINTOSH

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

09 December 2013 STELLA would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were super helpful and friendly, went out of their way to help. Organised bus tickets to our next destination and transfers to the bus and even gave us fruit while we waited! Nice clean rooms, really good location in the old quarter and decent breakfast included Definitely recommend and will come back next time we're in Hanoi. (They also said we looked good, that's always nice)

Disliked: Nothing! !

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family

11 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Extremely pleasant staff who really helped us find our way around and re-arrange our schedule with news of a Typhoon. Bedroom was large, light and clean. Breakfast was good and the organised tour (2 days around halong bay) was as advertised.

Disliked: Couldn't fully shut window which would have helped reduce traffic noise.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Extremely friendly and helpful staff, clean rooms, warm showers and convenient location. Best hostel stay in our trip yet and would definitely stay here again when we return to Hanoi.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Annika Corbijn

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

06 August 2013 Annika would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent value for money hostel with superb service. Amazing local food recommendations, last minute trip booking when the typhoon created havoc - even sorted us out a room to stay for an extra night when required. Very honest and friendly staff helped us get money back from a local tour operator who overcharged. Eager to help with money changing, taxi booking and day trip itineraries. Room was large, clean and tidy - AC isn't great but it's cheap and cheerful and the service more than makes up for it! Definitely would recommend this hostel to anyone, can't say enough good things about it!

Disliked: Airconditioning units weren't great but at these prices and with this service it's not a major problem

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jeremy Jones

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 July 2013 Jeremy would recommend this property

Liked: This is a very comfortable place to stay for a few nights in Hanoi. The rooms are clean, air conditioned and en suite, with a TV, safe and small fridge - excellent value for the money! More of a budget hotel than a hostel really, as there is no common room apart from a small breakfast room so meeting other guests/travelers is not easy. The staff are very helpful, particularly Hannah who gave us loads of recommendations of restaurants, Halong bay tours and travel options to Sapa. We can also leave our bags here when going to halong for 3 days, which is a nice touch!

Disliked: Nothing!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is extremely helpful! They helped book tours, bus/train tickets, taxis and anything else you need. My friend and I were coming back from Sapa and arrived at 4am, they let us in and gave us a room and free breakfast for the day until we caught our bus onwards. Excellent place to stay!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

06 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great service and helpful staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

05 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent hostel. Very friendly and very helpful. Would cook us breakfast earlier if we need t go out earlier. Made lots of good recommendations on where to go and places to eat. Helped us book all our trips. Excellent value for money as breakfast included. Would recommend if you're looking for a quiet hostel.

Disliked: There was no communal space except the breakfast room so it was difficult to meet other travellers there.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

03 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are helpful and tour cost is reasonable!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Agathe Pérusse-Deschênes

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 May 2013 Agathe would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is really helpful and it's really easy to book bus/train tickets. The location is perfect and the rooms are big and clean. You should defenetly come here !!

Disliked: Agathe left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

16 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Large Rooms. Friendly staff. Very helpful.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

15 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were really friendly and helpful. For the price paid, this is great value for money. The location is really central too.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

08 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful staff--they answered all our questions and went out of their way to make sure we were comfortable and had an enjoyable stay.

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very big room. Comfortable massive bed. Great bathroom... It even had a bath in it! Staff were very friend and helpful, it was no problem looking after our bags and arranging taxi to airport.

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendliness of the staff who help you to book other destinations from Hanoi

Disliked: Room on the street are noisy because of the traffic jam.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Veronica Griffin

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break

15 April 2013 Veronica would recommend this property

Liked: the staff was great, they even offered me some pineapple as I overslept the breakfast, they give you information about the main sights in town and how you get there and can also book bus tickets for you, the room was very clean and spacious

Disliked: for me it was no problem that there was no window in my room, but it could be one for other travellers

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hannah Lee

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 March 2013 Hannah would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent service, friendly staff that spoke good english. Always there to help and answer any questions.

Disliked: Hannah left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Annabel Bailey

As a family with children

City break
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

27 March 2013 Annabel would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were really wonderful and went out of their way for us and our baby.

Disliked: Annabel left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location in the heart of town, big clean and bright rooms, good breakfast, friendly and helpful staff

Disliked: Nothing


See all Hanoi hostels
See all Hanoi hotels