HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Search Accommodation

 
Please select from the dropdowns
 
Please select from the dropdowns
Property type
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/04/2015
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/04/2015
 
Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
 
Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.
processing

Top Rated Hostels in Washington, USA

90.2%
177 reviews Book Now 
1

Duo Housing Washington DC

Hostel
1223 11th St NW, Washington, USA 20001

166 out of 177 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Duo Housing Washington DC

Atmosphere - 92% Staff - 94% Facilities - 84% Safety - 93%
Location - 89% Cleanliness - 89% Value - 88%
Ursula Rodriguez
Alone
Relaxation/spa, Sightseeing & culture, Work / volunteering
65.7%
Ursula would recommend this property 07 April 2014

The only think I really loved was the staff. STAFF IS AWESOME at the property. They are all helpful and great people to talk to. The people I met were all nice and even this is a random thing I was happy to meed this kind of people. I also liked the lockers to store personal stuff.

Customer review
Alone
Sightseeing & culture
80.0%
Customer would recommend this property 02 April 2014

Friendly staff and really appreciated the free dinner on Sundays and free pancakes every morning. Great that they provided towels as well for showering and have more than enough toilets available for everyone. The setup of two common areas also make it easier for fellow guests to chat with each other.

89.5%
3 reviews Book Now 
2

Quality Inn - Mount Vernon/Washington

2 star Hotel
7212 Richmond Hwy, Washington, USA 22306

3 out of 3 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Quality Inn - Mount Vernon/Washington

Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 93%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 73% Value - 100%
Luisa Aurora Martinez
With friends / other travellers
Sightseeing & culture
88.6%
Luisa Aurora would recommend this property 13 July 2013

Everthing was Ok. It is a litle far away from dowtown but very nice place. Full breakfast and good price

Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Sightseeing & culture
80.0%
Customer would recommend this property 05 October 2010

Beds are very comfortable, free wifi, room is quite big and well equiped, firendly staff

88.9%
1158 reviews Book Now 
3

Hostelling International – Washington, DC

Hostel
1009 11th Street, NW, Washington, USA DC 20001

1069 out of 1158 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Hostelling International – Washington, DC

Atmosphere - 81% Staff - 88% Facilities - 88% Safety - 95%
Location - 92% Cleanliness - 89% Value - 87%
Anthony Kang
Alone
Work / volunteering
62.9%
05 March 2014

Good location just a 20-minute walk from most major sites. There was also free food on a few occasions and the complimentary bananas are great.

RICARDO FABIAN MALAGUEÑO
Alone
Sightseeing & culture
94.3%
RICARDO FABIAN would recommend this property 23 December 2013

As it is usual in HI hostels, everything was excellent. Comfortable beds with individual ligth and plenty of electric outlets, great breakfast, very good location, lots of free activities every day. And the giant bowl with free bananas is awesome!!!

85.7%
10 reviews Book Now 
4

Downtown DC Hostel

Hostel
506 H Street, Washington, USA 20002

8 out of 10 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Downtown DC Hostel

Atmosphere - 88% Staff - 92% Facilities - 80% Safety - 86%
Location - 84% Cleanliness - 86% Value - 84%
Customer review
Alone
Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 31 March 2014

This was my first time ever staying in a hostel and I have to say it was an amazing experience. I wasn't sure what to expect at all, but the staff was incredibly nice, helpful and just friendly. I went on the bar crawl with them which was super fun. It was a totally relaxed, comfortable place to be. The location is great, too. It's a short, easy walk from Union Station and a moderate and also easy walk to the national Mall. The area has a lot of great restaurants and bars, but also a grocery store should you want to cook. The kitchen has just about everything you need. The hostel was very clean! Bring plenty of socks or flip flops, because they have a no-shoes policy to help with dirt. They also have quiet hours (and no alcohol) after 10 which they enforce. This is not to say that you cannot still stay up all night for a Netflix marathon! I loved it here and I am looking forward for my next stay.

Carol Tough
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Business / conference, Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Carol would recommend this property 23 March 2014

Great location. Brilliant staff. I've hostelled all round the world and this is one of the best. If you're coming to Washington DC, look no further.

84.7%
83 reviews Book Now 
5

DC Lofty

Hostel
1333 11 th Street North West, Washington, USA 20001

74 out of 83 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend DC Lofty

Atmosphere - 84% Staff - 84% Facilities - 80% Safety - 89%
Location - 82% Cleanliness - 84% Value - 86%
Customer review
Alone
Business / conference, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family
94.3%
Customer would recommend this property 25 March 2014

I appreciated there were only 4 beds in my room, there were lockers available, it was a woman's only room and the bathroom was ensuite. I also appreciated that they have a dishwasher and the kitchen was clean each time I used it.

Alice Combs
Alone
Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family
100.0%
Alice would recommend this property 20 March 2014

Far cleaner than I expected and friendly people! A roommate snored, but it wasn't that big a deal.

84.4%
15 reviews Book Now 
6

Canal Inn

Hotel
1061 31st St., Washington, USA 20007

15 out of 15 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Canal Inn

Atmosphere - 78% Staff - 73% Facilities - 70% Safety - 90%
Location - 97% Cleanliness - 94% Value - 85%
Customer review
Alone
Work / volunteering
94.3%
Customer would recommend this property 02 April 2014

Great location for touring Georgetown area. National Mall only about 35 minutes away walking. On "Circulator" bus route that takes you almost anywhere in DC for $1. Staff very helpful and accommodating! Super clean bathrooms with towels provided and cozy rooms.

Customer review
Alone
Sightseeing & culture
85.7%
Customer would recommend this property 25 September 2013

So conveniently located to where I wished to visit, right in a nice neighborhood of the university. So safe that I could walk alone in the lats night. Like a little breakfast offered right in time as it said, with fresh fruits, bagels, cream cheese, jellies with other breads and fresh coffee :) line that they have a filtered water cooler for us in the gathering area. Free wifi is very good. Nice hot shower with shampoo, conditioner and soap. Just remodeled and very clean. Multiple electric outlets for the easy access for the cellular etc.. TV on the wall. For me, it was my money's worth in DC.

82.7%
292 reviews Book Now 
7

Simpkins' / Hostel Capitol City

Hostel
2411 Benning Road, NE, Washington, USA 20002

232 out of 292 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Simpkins' / Hostel Capitol City

Atmosphere - 84% Staff - 97% Facilities - 84% Safety - 83%
Location - 68% Cleanliness - 72% Value - 89%
Farida Mukazhanova
With my spouse / partner
Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Farida would recommend this property 13 October 2013

the hostel is nice, clean and good value for money. the host was incredibly friendly and helpful. we really enjoyed staying there

Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 07 October 2013

Bill is the best host I've ever encountered at a hostel in my travels around the world! His popularity is evident in the many messages of gratitude left by previous guests on the hostel walls. He makes every effort to get to know every guest and is helpful at giving advice on what to see and do in DC and how to get around. The other backpackers here are a good mix of people and a great place to make new friends. The hostel is kept clean. There is free tea, bread, butter and jam for you to make breakfast, and the kitchen is well equipped. Easy to access the hostel by bus, easy to find. Nearby are some eateries and a supermarket a short walk away. My bed was spacious, and the room isn't cramped. Wifi is super fast, and there are computers for those without laptops, and even a printer. This hostel really caters to the needs of the modern backpacker, and with a friendly host, look no further!

82.7%
205 reviews Book Now 
8

Loftstel

Hostel
4115 8th Street NW, Washington, USA DC 20011

189 out of 205 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Loftstel

Atmosphere - 84% Staff - 88% Facilities - 76% Safety - 84%
Location - 77% Cleanliness - 83% Value - 84%
Customer review
Alone
Shopping, Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 19 May 2013

It's really well-run and organized. The staff is very friendly, and the guests are mostly interns or job-seekers, so you know you'll get to sleep at night. The no alcohol policy is great because people don't act drunk and crazy.

Park Yuson
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture
97.1%
Park would recommend this property 01 March 2013

the amenities they offer are really nice, free use of a computer, free wifi, a nice kitchen, laundry facilities. they also provide free towels and linen.!

81.3%
13 reviews Book Now 
9

Comfort Inn

2 star Hotel
1587 Springhill Road, Washington, USA 22182

10 out of 13 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Comfort Inn

Atmosphere - 76% Staff - 86% Facilities - 86% Safety - 87%
Location - 58% Cleanliness - 87% Value - 86%
Patrick McGarrah
With friends / other travellers
Family Holiday
91.4%
Patrick would recommend this property 22 January 2013

Great stay, good staff. GREAT deal through hostel bookers, I am SOLD and will use HotselBookers again for sure. I LOVE HOSTELBOOKERS. I had trouble with my reservation and they went out of their way to help me resolve it.

Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family
94.3%
20 May 2012

Housekeeping and service was great, free and plentiful parking, good tv, a lot of amenities offered. Very very clean and no bugs seen. No problems with smoke smells. Beds are average comfort wise. Good location. Felt very safe and secure. I felt accommodated.

81.1%
28 reviews Book Now 
10

Capital View Hostel

Hostel
301 I Street NW, Washington, USA 20001

24 out of 28 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Capital View Hostel

Atmosphere - 77% Staff - 84% Facilities - 80% Safety - 78%
Location - 85% Cleanliness - 82% Value - 79%
Customer review
Alone
Shopping, Sightseeing & culture
77.1%
Customer would recommend this property 11 December 2013

Good location, within walking distance of various Metro stations (or, if you're feeling up to it, to the major tourist destinations!)

Amanda Barrett
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture
74.3%
Amanda would recommend this property 29 July 2013

Quite clean helped by the no shoes policy. Loved the little roof garden. Excellent location for walking into city. Felt very safe here.

Washington

19 Hostels from 20.00 USD

WHY BOOK WITH HOSTELBOOKERS?

  • No booking fees
  • Lowest price guarantee
  • Find the same cheaper and we'll refund double the difference
  • Over 1 million customer reviews
  • Over 200,000 bed nights booked every week
  • More than 20,000 properties in 3,500 destinations worldwide

Our top-rated Washington hostels have only been scored by HostelBookers customers who’ve stayed in them. With honest reviews, it’s that much easier to choose the best place to stay in Washington. Reviews take into account the atmosphere, cleanliness and value for money; not to mention if staff welcome you with a smile. Just scroll the list to find a hostel that best suits your budget.

No booking fees

The only major hostel booking site that doesn't charge a booking fee.

Guide to Washington

Guide to Find our best travel tips, advice and inspiration on what to do and where to stay in our guide to Washington. Discover how to travel on a budget and don’t forget to check the weather before you go!

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Washington?

Monthly Newsletter

 
Please enter valid email address
Check out this month's newsletter