We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Search Accommodation

 
Please select from the dropdowns
 
Please select from the dropdowns
Property type
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/05/2016
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/05/2016
 
Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
 
Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.
processing

Top Rated Hostels in Washington, USA

88.1%
212 reviews Book Now 
1

Duo Housing Washington DC

Hostel
1223 11th St NW, Washington, USA 20001

200 out of 212 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Duo Housing Washington DC

Atmosphere - 87% Staff - 91% Facilities - 85% Safety - 88%
Location - 92% Cleanliness - 85% Value - 87%
Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture
85.7%
Customer would recommend this property 24 April 2015

Excellent location in good neighbourhood. Good powerful showers. Generous amount of pancakes for breakfast. Lovely roof terrace.

Jennifer Yi
Alone
Work / volunteering
100.0%
Jennifer would recommend this property 08 April 2015

The staff was very friendly and helpful. The facilities were very clean and offered a lot for the money I paid for it. I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to others.

87.3%
47 reviews Book Now 
2

Downtown DC Hostel

Hostel
506 H St NE, Washington, USA 20002

41 out of 47 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Downtown DC Hostel

Atmosphere - 89% Staff - 92% Facilities - 83% Safety - 84%
Location - 88% Cleanliness - 88% Value - 84%
Catherine Pearce
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Catherine would recommend this property 29 April 2015

Had a great stay, quiet hours gave everyone a chance to sleep whether they went to bed early or got up late. Staff worked really hard to make everyone welcome and keep the hostel very clean.

Customer review
Alone
City break, Sightseeing & culture
71.4%
Customer would recommend this property 06 April 2015

-Staff!!!! -Good location, within walking distance to lots of the major attractions

86.9%
1214 reviews Book Now 
3

HI - Washington DC Hostel

Hostel
1009 11th Street, NW, Washington, USA DC 20001

1119 out of 1214 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend HI - Washington DC Hostel

Atmosphere - 78% Staff - 84% Facilities - 84% Safety - 94%
Location - 93% Cleanliness - 88% Value - 84%
Chrysanthi Papazoglou
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Partying / nightlife
100.0%
Chrysanthi would recommend this property 21 April 2015

Excellent, cheerful staff and great atmosphere! they gave my friend and I a free upgrade to a private room with bathroom.really luxurious.breakfast was absolutely fantastic!would definitely go back!

Thomas Janssen
Alone
City break, Relaxation/spa, Sightseeing & culture
94.3%
Thomas would recommend this property 09 April 2015

Great breakfast, free bananas at the reception in the afternoon. That's good in a country where good food is rather expensive.

84.9%
220 reviews Book Now 
4

Loftstel

Hostel
4115 8th Street NW, Washington, USA DC 20011

202 out of 220 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Loftstel

Atmosphere - 83% Staff - 85% Facilities - 85% Safety - 84%
Location - 84% Cleanliness - 87% Value - 83%
Ethel Horton
Alone
City break
100.0%
Ethel would recommend this property 19 February 2015

Really nice dorm. Warm and cozy. The staff are all very nice and helpful. The rooms and bathrooms are nice and clean and cleaned regularly. The kitchen is open to all guests. The staff also prepare activities each week for the guests so it's really easy to get to know people. The rooms had adequate closet and storage space. They also provide free lockers. You just need to bring your own lock for it.

Anita Schultz
Alone
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture
91.4%
Anita would recommend this property 14 February 2015

Clean rooms and bathrooms, fast internet, friendly staff and great location. It's clean, secure and cosy. It was near a metro station so commuting is super convenient.

84.3%
4 reviews Book Now 
5

Quality Inn - Mount Vernon/Washington

2 star Hotel
7212 Richmond Hwy, Washington, USA 22306

4 out of 4 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Quality Inn - Mount Vernon/Washington

Atmosphere - 75% Staff - 100% Facilities - 90% Safety - 85%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 70% Value - 90%
Lisa Cavanagh
With my spouse / partner
City break, Events / festivals, Sightseeing & culture
68.6%
Lisa would recommend this property 04 March 2015

Close to DC and lots of exurb shopping. Smoking rooms and pet friendly! Front desk staff was great.

Luisa Aurora Martinez
With friends / other travellers
Sightseeing & culture
88.6%
Luisa Aurora would recommend this property 13 July 2013

Everthing was Ok. It is a litle far away from dowtown but very nice place. Full breakfast and good price

83.7%
18 reviews Book Now 
6

Canal Inn

Hotel
1061 31st St., Washington, USA 20007

18 out of 18 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Canal Inn

Atmosphere - 76% Staff - 74% Facilities - 72% Safety - 90%
Location - 95% Cleanliness - 92% Value - 84%
Customer review
Alone
Work / volunteering
94.3%
Customer would recommend this property 02 April 2014

Great location for touring Georgetown area. National Mall only about 35 minutes away walking. On "Circulator" bus route that takes you almost anywhere in DC for $1. Staff very helpful and accommodating! Super clean bathrooms with towels provided and cozy rooms.

Customer review
Alone
Sightseeing & culture
85.7%
Customer would recommend this property 25 September 2013

So conveniently located to where I wished to visit, right in a nice neighborhood of the university. So safe that I could walk alone in the lats night. Like a little breakfast offered right in time as it said, with fresh fruits, bagels, cream cheese, jellies with other breads and fresh coffee :) line that they have a filtered water cooler for us in the gathering area. Free wifi is very good. Nice hot shower with shampoo, conditioner and soap. Just remodeled and very clean. Multiple electric outlets for the easy access for the cellular etc.. TV on the wall. For me, it was my money's worth in DC.

83.3%
41 reviews Book Now 
7

Capital View Hostel

Hostel
301 I Street NW, Washington, USA 20001

36 out of 41 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Capital View Hostel

Atmosphere - 83% Staff - 85% Facilities - 80% Safety - 83%
Location - 84% Cleanliness - 81% Value - 84%
Customer review
Alone
City break, Sightseeing & culture
91.4%
Customer would recommend this property 06 April 2015

Top staff and a good atmosphere. Lovely roof top deck. Will stay again if back in DC.

Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture
71.4%
Customer would recommend this property 23 February 2015

Staff was really nice and helpful! Plus the location was quite good. If you don't mind walking a bit , you can get everywhere on foot .

83.1%
122 reviews Book Now 
8

DC Lofty

Hostel
1335 11th street NW, Washington, USA 20001

108 out of 122 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend DC Lofty

Atmosphere - 81% Staff - 84% Facilities - 81% Safety - 86%
Location - 84% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 82%
Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 13 May 2015

We stayed in a mixed dorm with shared bathroom and it was great. Clean linen, fresh towels, personal locker, lamp/ plug socket and our bunk was in the corner so it felt quite snug. Location was fine for us, you get those people who complain about a 5/10 minute walk but it's not that bad, 5 minutes from the train station, 10 minutes to Chinatown and 15 minutes to the main area with all the sights! There is a supermarket and liquor store less than 5 minutes away and the communal kitchen has 3 fridges and shelves to put everything away. Kitchen facilities were great - lots left behind by other travellers e.g. salt, oil etc so check before you go to the supermarket! There were slippers by the front door if you wanted them but don't listen to the other reviews - we were never asked to remove our shoes! Staff were very friendly and helpful. Communal living areas were pretty nice; 2 computers and free printing if needed, outside smoking area, lots of seating and 2 huge TV screens with access to Netflix etc. Security codes needed for front door and bedroom door so it is safe.

Dylan ROBERTSON
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Events / festivals
82.9%
Dylan would recommend this property 08 March 2015

The neighbourhood was good -- Shaw is a formerly dodgy, now up-and-coming place with a lot of good, cheap Salvadoran and Ethiopian restos. The hostel was comfy, quiet, clean enough. Saved $2 by having them reserve a museum spot.

81.6%
14 reviews Book Now 
9

Comfort Inn

2 star Hotel
1587 Springhill Road, Washington, USA 22182

11 out of 14 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Comfort Inn

Atmosphere - 77% Staff - 85% Facilities - 85% Safety - 88%
Location - 61% Cleanliness - 87% Value - 85%
Patrick McGarrah
With friends / other travellers
Family Holiday
91.4%
Patrick would recommend this property 22 January 2013

Great stay, good staff. GREAT deal through hostel bookers, I am SOLD and will use HotselBookers again for sure. I LOVE HOSTELBOOKERS. I had trouble with my reservation and they went out of their way to help me resolve it.

Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family
94.3%
20 May 2012

Housekeeping and service was great, free and plentiful parking, good tv, a lot of amenities offered. Very very clean and no bugs seen. No problems with smoke smells. Beds are average comfort wise. Good location. Felt very safe and secure. I felt accommodated.

80.2%
304 reviews Book Now 
10

Simpkins' / Hostel Capitol City

Hostel
2411 Benning Road, NE, Washington, USA 20002

242 out of 304 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Simpkins' / Hostel Capitol City

Atmosphere - 74% Staff - 95% Facilities - 84% Safety - 81%
Location - 64% Cleanliness - 72% Value - 89%
Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Shopping
88.6%
Customer would recommend this property 05 September 2014

Nice owner, everything is easy, good service, good connection to the important points (new streetcar is even better now!)

Customer review
With friends / other travellers
City break, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family
85.7%
Customer would recommend this property 02 September 2014

the hostess was very friendly and helpful. as soon as we got there, he explained how the metro works, what to do, etc.

Washington

15 Hostels from 24.95 USD

WHY BOOK WITH HOSTELBOOKERS?

  • No booking fees
  • Lowest price guarantee
  • Find the same cheaper and we'll refund double the difference
  • Over 1 million customer reviews
  • Over 200,000 bed nights booked every week
  • More than 20,000 properties in 3,500 destinations worldwide

Our top-rated Washington hostels have only been scored by HostelBookers customers who’ve stayed in them. With honest reviews, it’s that much easier to choose the best place to stay in Washington. Reviews take into account the atmosphere, cleanliness and value for money; not to mention if staff welcome you with a smile. Just scroll the list to find a hostel that best suits your budget.

No booking fees

The only major hostel booking site that doesn't charge a booking fee.

Guide to Washington

Guide to Find our best travel tips, advice and inspiration on what to do and where to stay in our guide to Washington. Discover how to travel on a budget and don’t forget to check the weather before you go!

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Washington?

Monthly Newsletter

 
Please enter valid email address
Check out this month's newsletter