We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Search Accommodation

 
Please select from the dropdowns
 
Please select from the dropdowns
Property type
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 06/07/2016
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 06/07/2016
 
Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
 
Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.
processing

Top Rated Hostels in Washington, USA

89.9%
50 reviews Book Now 
1

Downtown DC Hostel

Hostel
506 H St NE, Washington, USA 20002

44 out of 50 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Downtown DC Hostel

Atmosphere - 92% Staff - 96% Facilities - 86% Safety - 88%
Location - 88% Cleanliness - 89% Value - 88%
Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 30 June 2015

As a traveler, you know that feeling when you walk into a hostel and are extremely relieved that you made the best choice? That's honestly how good the Downtown DC Hostel is. It had a terrific, homely atmosphere. Its location is terrific, right next to Union Station. The staff member on duty 24/7, Savino, was terrific and really friendly, and definitely contributed to the wonderful atmosphere. Even when I checked in so late at night, he gave me the full detailed tour and answered all of my questions fully and patiently. The hostel plays a huge role in how good your trip is and I couldn't ask for a better hostel experience in DC.

Keisha Hanbury
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Keisha would recommend this property 05 June 2015

I've stayed in a lot of hostels and this is definitely up there as one of the best. You're welcomed by awesomely awesome, super-friendly staff who put on nightly activities (pub crawls, game nights, TACO TUESDAY). There's also happy hour every night with two free beers so what's there to complain about that? The living area is open 24/7 and has Netflix, Xbox, Wii, board games etc etc. The kitchen has everything you need + plenty of storage for food. There's no lock out and no curfew though quiet hours 10pm-10am as it is a small hostel. In saying that, it's not the world's biggest hostel but that is definitely a good thing, it's so easy to meet other travellers and make friends with both the people staying there and the staff (who are always up to hang and have a chat if they're around. I've never felt more comfortable in a hostel than I have here. Thanks Jude, Carolyn, Savon, Amsal and Dylan!!!

89.1%
215 reviews Book Now 
2

Duo Housing Washington DC

Hostel
1223 11th St NW, Washington, USA 20001

203 out of 215 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Duo Housing Washington DC

Atmosphere - 88% Staff - 89% Facilities - 87% Safety - 90%
Location - 92% Cleanliness - 89% Value - 86%
Philipp Mentis
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
80.0%
Philipp would recommend this property 23 June 2015

Good atmosphere for young travellers who mostly want to meet people and have a good time. Enough space to hang out and alcohol allowed.

Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture
85.7%
Customer would recommend this property 24 April 2015

Excellent location in good neighbourhood. Good powerful showers. Generous amount of pancakes for breakfast. Lovely roof terrace.

86.6%
1216 reviews Book Now 
3

HI - Washington DC Hostel

Hostel
1009 11th Street, NW, Washington, USA DC 20001

1121 out of 1216 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend HI - Washington DC Hostel

Atmosphere - 77% Staff - 84% Facilities - 84% Safety - 94%
Location - 93% Cleanliness - 88% Value - 83%
Dylan Price
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture
94.3%
Dylan would recommend this property 22 June 2015

In a great location a few minutes walk from a key Metro Station as well as the Circulator bus. The hostel has great facilities including a very good kitchen. The common areas are good and the TV area has both cable and Netflix if your inclined to watch! The free breakfast is excellent - be prepared with a good morning in a language other than English though - this is your cost to access the free breakfast! Activities are good with normally one or two each day and all free. The staff are outstanding and having John run the breakfast and always ready with a smile gets your day stated well!

katie dale
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
100.0%
katie would recommend this property 15 June 2015

Everything about this hostel is great. I've stayed in tons of hotels and this is one of the best. The events and location is great.

85.3%
20 reviews Book Now 
4

Canal Inn

Hotel
1061 31st St., Washington, USA 20007

20 out of 20 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Canal Inn

Atmosphere - 79% Staff - 77% Facilities - 75% Safety - 91%
Location - 96% Cleanliness - 93% Value - 86%
Customer review
Alone
Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 02 July 2015

Cleanliness, kindness of staff, location - so handy to transport, restaurants, boutiques, hop-on-hop-off bus was just down the corner, in Georgetown, a great area. Already recommended to friends.

Anibal Serra
With friends / other travellers
City break
100.0%
Anibal would recommend this property 26 May 2015

Really good. Perfect location, great price. Clean and breakfast is also very reasonable.

84.9%
220 reviews Book Now 
5

The Intern Inn of Washington, DC

Hostel
4115 8th Street NW, Washington, USA DC 20011

202 out of 220 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend The Intern Inn of Washington, DC

Atmosphere - 83% Staff - 85% Facilities - 85% Safety - 84%
Location - 84% Cleanliness - 87% Value - 83%
Ethel Horton
Alone
City break
100.0%
Ethel would recommend this property 19 February 2015

Really nice dorm. Warm and cozy. The staff are all very nice and helpful. The rooms and bathrooms are nice and clean and cleaned regularly. The kitchen is open to all guests. The staff also prepare activities each week for the guests so it's really easy to get to know people. The rooms had adequate closet and storage space. They also provide free lockers. You just need to bring your own lock for it.

Anita Schultz
Alone
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture
91.4%
Anita would recommend this property 14 February 2015

Clean rooms and bathrooms, fast internet, friendly staff and great location. It's clean, secure and cosy. It was near a metro station so commuting is super convenient.

84.3%
4 reviews Book Now 
6

Quality Inn - Mount Vernon/Washington

2 star Hotel
7212 Richmond Hwy, Washington, USA 22306

4 out of 4 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Quality Inn - Mount Vernon/Washington

Atmosphere - 75% Staff - 100% Facilities - 90% Safety - 85%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 70% Value - 90%
Lisa Cavanagh
With my spouse / partner
City break, Events / festivals, Sightseeing & culture
68.6%
Lisa would recommend this property 04 March 2015

Close to DC and lots of exurb shopping. Smoking rooms and pet friendly! Front desk staff was great.

Luisa Aurora Martinez
With friends / other travellers
Sightseeing & culture
88.6%
Luisa Aurora would recommend this property 13 July 2013

Everthing was Ok. It is a litle far away from dowtown but very nice place. Full breakfast and good price

83.8%
42 reviews Book Now 
7

Capital View Hostel

Hostel
301 I Street NW, Washington, USA 20001

36 out of 42 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Capital View Hostel

Atmosphere - 83% Staff - 86% Facilities - 80% Safety - 86%
Location - 86% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 83%
Customer review
Alone
City break, Sightseeing & culture
91.4%
Customer would recommend this property 06 April 2015

Top staff and a good atmosphere. Lovely roof top deck. Will stay again if back in DC.

Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture
71.4%
Customer would recommend this property 23 February 2015

Staff was really nice and helpful! Plus the location was quite good. If you don't mind walking a bit , you can get everywhere on foot .

83.7%
128 reviews Book Now 
8

DC Lofty

Hostel
1335 11th street NW, Washington, USA 20001

114 out of 128 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend DC Lofty

Atmosphere - 81% Staff - 86% Facilities - 81% Safety - 88%
Location - 88% Cleanliness - 75% Value - 84%
Ana Caldas
With friends / other travellers
Sightseeing & culture
97.1%
Ana would recommend this property 24 May 2015

Having a kitchen is great and the room was good too. Walking distance to the National Mall Close supermarkets

Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 13 May 2015

We stayed in a mixed dorm with shared bathroom and it was great. Clean linen, fresh towels, personal locker, lamp/ plug socket and our bunk was in the corner so it felt quite snug. Location was fine for us, you get those people who complain about a 5/10 minute walk but it's not that bad, 5 minutes from the train station, 10 minutes to Chinatown and 15 minutes to the main area with all the sights! There is a supermarket and liquor store less than 5 minutes away and the communal kitchen has 3 fridges and shelves to put everything away. Kitchen facilities were great - lots left behind by other travellers e.g. salt, oil etc so check before you go to the supermarket! There were slippers by the front door if you wanted them but don't listen to the other reviews - we were never asked to remove our shoes! Staff were very friendly and helpful. Communal living areas were pretty nice; 2 computers and free printing if needed, outside smoking area, lots of seating and 2 huge TV screens with access to Netflix etc. Security codes needed for front door and bedroom door so it is safe.

79.4%
305 reviews Book Now 
9

Simpkins' / Hostel Capitol City

Hostel
2411 Benning Road, NE, Washington, USA 20002

243 out of 305 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Simpkins' / Hostel Capitol City

Atmosphere - 73% Staff - 95% Facilities - 83% Safety - 80%
Location - 62% Cleanliness - 72% Value - 88%
Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Shopping
88.6%
Customer would recommend this property 05 September 2014

Nice owner, everything is easy, good service, good connection to the important points (new streetcar is even better now!)

Customer review
With friends / other travellers
City break, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family
85.7%
Customer would recommend this property 02 September 2014

the hostess was very friendly and helpful. as soon as we got there, he explained how the metro works, what to do, etc.

77.5%
15 reviews Book Now 
10

Comfort Inn

2 star Hotel
1587 Springhill Road, Washington, USA 22182

11 out of 15 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Comfort Inn

Atmosphere - 73% Staff - 81% Facilities - 81% Safety - 84%
Location - 58% Cleanliness - 82% Value - 81%
Patrick McGarrah
With friends / other travellers
Family Holiday
91.4%
Patrick would recommend this property 22 January 2013

Great stay, good staff. GREAT deal through hostel bookers, I am SOLD and will use HotselBookers again for sure. I LOVE HOSTELBOOKERS. I had trouble with my reservation and they went out of their way to help me resolve it.

Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family
94.3%
20 May 2012

Housekeeping and service was great, free and plentiful parking, good tv, a lot of amenities offered. Very very clean and no bugs seen. No problems with smoke smells. Beds are average comfort wise. Good location. Felt very safe and secure. I felt accommodated.

Washington

15 Hostels from 24.95 USD

WHY BOOK WITH HOSTELBOOKERS?

  • No booking fees
  • Lowest price guarantee
  • Find the same cheaper and we'll refund double the difference
  • Over 1 million customer reviews
  • Over 200,000 bed nights booked every week
  • More than 20,000 properties in 3,500 destinations worldwide

Our top-rated Washington hostels have only been scored by HostelBookers customers who’ve stayed in them. With honest reviews, it’s that much easier to choose the best place to stay in Washington. Reviews take into account the atmosphere, cleanliness and value for money; not to mention if staff welcome you with a smile. Just scroll the list to find a hostel that best suits your budget.

No booking fees

The only major hostel booking site that doesn't charge a booking fee.

Guide to Washington

Guide to Find our best travel tips, advice and inspiration on what to do and where to stay in our guide to Washington. Discover how to travel on a budget and don’t forget to check the weather before you go!

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Washington?

Monthly Newsletter

 
Please enter valid email address
Check out this month's newsletter