HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Capital View Hostel

Hostel | 301 I Street NW, Washington, Washington DC, USA 20001

81.1% Overall Rating

24 out of 28 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (11/12/2013)

"Good location, within walking distance of various Metro stations (or, if you're feeling up to it, to the major tourist destinations!)"

Read all Capital View Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Washington?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Washington

Hostelling International – Washington, DC
36.00 USD

Hostel 88.9% 1158 reviews
Capital Comfort Hostel
18.00 USD

Hostel 65.8% 98 reviews
Duo Housing Washington DC
29.95 USD

Hostel 90.2% 177 reviews
DC Lofty
27.79 USD

Hostel 84.7% 83 reviews
Downtown DC Hostel
25.01 USD

Hostel 85.7% 10 reviews
The District Hotel
35.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 77.9% 333 reviews
Washington International Student Center
28.41 USD

Hostel 61.0% 64 reviews
Comfort Inn & Suites Near Union Station
69.99 USD

Hotel 3 star 65.7% 170 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
81.1%

Overall Rating

24 out of 28 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Capital View Hostel'

Atmosphere
77.6%
Location
85.6%
Facilities
80.0%
Cleanliness
82.4%
Staff
84.8%
Value
79.2%
Safety
78.4%
Refine your results Showing 21 of 26 reviews
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Feels like a home away from home. Very helpful staff.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

27 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and new

Disliked: Location isn't the best

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Chong Zhou

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

19 February 2014 Chong would recommend this property

Liked: Easy to find, near by Capital Hill.

Disliked: the building is old

The property's response is...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

17 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Security

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

11 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, within walking distance of various Metro stations (or, if you're feeling up to it, to the major tourist destinations!)

Disliked: Common room/kitchen can be a bit untidy, but that's more to do with the other guests, rather than the establishment itself

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

JIAMIN GAN

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 November 2013 JIAMIN would recommend this property

Liked: 离国会山很近,根本不用坐地铁就可以把所有景点都走一次,但是第一次去的时候花了近半个小时找路。CHECK OUT了后可以免费把行李放在他们那里

Disliked: 不包早餐

The property's response is...

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

24 September 2013

Liked: Good facilities and proximity to sights and train station

Disliked: Staff were not overly friendly. The door bell is tempermental. Quite a dangerous area. We departed the hostel at 6am (still dark) and there were prositutes and other unsavoury characters ride outside on the corner. I didn't feel very safe.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break

19 September 2013

Liked: No shoes inside, kitchen, the building itself, location, roof lounge.

Disliked: Arogant staff, treated us like a piece of shit, impossible to get in after 1o pm.Cameras everywhere,Big brother is watching you.

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Amanda Barrett

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 July 2013 Amanda would recommend this property

Liked: Quite clean helped by the no shoes policy. Loved the little roof garden. Excellent location for walking into city. Felt very safe here.

Disliked: We booked a double room NOT a twin and were given a bunk bed - not the best for a couple. The page states parking available which is misleading as its either paid parking in other lots close to the building or 1 street that fits 8 cars and never has a space.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was not too bad and most of the main sights were within walking distance. Nice common area and a good kitchen so we were able to cook when we wanted to. We stayed in a 4 bed dorm which had lockers in the room. The staff were really friendly and helpful.

Disliked: The bathroom was right opposite our dorm and the extractor fan in there was so loud you would not even believe it... so we got woken up every time someone went to the bathroom in the night and it was generally really annoying. It was also very noisy outside with police sirens at night. The hostel also has a no shoes policy which was a bit weird as you are just meant to leave your shoes in their downstairs cupboard. I wouldn’t have minded but I didn’t feel comfortable walking around barefoot / in slippers in the kitchen when people are rushing around and cooking.

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Toa Thredgold

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

19 July 2013 Toa would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly helpful staff

Disliked: the policy on taking off shoes was a bit strange but not a huge deal.

The property's response is...

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

19 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location.

Disliked: We had a private room which was poorly furnished. We realise it is a hostel but a small table and a proper chair, a bin and a small mirror not an unreasonable expectation. Part of the window in our room is held together with tape and some of the frame rotten. Toilet paper ran out during last night, no staff seen till 8am to ask for more.

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

30 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Had a great time, staff member (Jordan) was great, helped me with everything I needed and more, sad to leave (stayed for 3 nights instead of 2).

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Katie Bassett

Alone

City break
Events / festivals

30 April 2013 Katie would recommend this property

Liked: I really enjoyed the location is close to a lot of things including the capital.

Disliked: The open public computers were extremely slow. The wifi was also extremely slow. The housekeeping could use some extreme work.

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

16 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Basic hostel but fine for a few nights stay in Washington.

Disliked: Wouldn`t have been ideal location for lone traveller if coming back late at night.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

gonzalo lastra aguila

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 March 2013 gonzalo would recommend this property

Liked: Really good place

Disliked: Just a little flat de pillow

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alejandro Rosas

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

09 March 2013 Alejandro would recommend this property

Liked: Everithing..!

Disliked: Nothing..!

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Julia Jochim

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 February 2013 Julia would recommend this property

Liked: very clean and new bathrooms, big rooms, lockers in every room, lots of plug-ins

Disliked: no breakfast included, somebody ate my labeled food, room was cold in the night

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: They have a good community room and while I was there some people were cooking dinner for the entire house. It was very quiet and clean. But people were also hanging out and mingling which was nice.

Disliked: The front desk is not 24/7 (10a-10p) late fee if you come in after 10p. You have to take off your shoes at the door. I don't mind, but I feel like some people might have an issue being barefoot...

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

23 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everyone stayed to themselves. The Russian guy with the broken arm and head injury who works there did't ask about me, I didn't ask about him.

Disliked: I thought the bathroom smelled permanently of sewage but then I realized that all of DC smells like that.

The property's response is...

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

11 November 2012

Liked: Reasonable location

Disliked: When we arrived there was no one at reception, and it appeared as though there were no staff members on the property. We able to check in after waiting for 45 minutes and having the good fortune of another guest using their mobile to call a member of staff. The bathrooms were filthy, and one of the bunk beds in out room was broken. I would not recommend staying at this hostel

The property's response is...