We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Capital View Hostel

Hostel | 301 I Street NW, Washington, Washington DC, USA 20001

87.3% Overall Rating

41 out of 47 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (31/08/2015)

Kymberly Harris Dainty thinks…

"The best thing about the hostel was the staff, they're very friendly and helpful."

Read all Capital View Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Gym
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Washington?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Washington

HI - Washington DC Hostel
29.00 USD

Hostel 85.8% 1223 reviews
Duo Housing Washington DC
24.95 USD

Hostel 84.8% 225 reviews
DC Lofty
20.84 USD

Hostel 83.2% 129 reviews
Washington DC Hostel
25.01 USD

Hostel 90.1% 58 reviews
The District Hotel
35.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 70.2% 348 reviews
Washington International Student Center
28.42 USD

Hostel 68.0% 80 reviews
The Intern Inn of Washington, DC
35.00 USD

Hostel 84.9% 220 reviews
Simpkins' / Hostel Capitol City
28.00 USD

Hostel 77.4% 306 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.3%

Overall Rating

41 out of 47 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Capital View Hostel'

Atmosphere
87.2%
Location
88.8%
Facilities
83.2%
Cleanliness
84.8%
Staff
89.6%
Value
85.6%
Safety
92.0%
Refine your results Showing 34 of 45 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kymberly Harris Dainty

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

31 August 2015 Kymberly would recommend this property

Liked: The best thing about the hostel was the staff, they're very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Kymberly left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Vladimirs Svetlicnijs

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

12 August 2015 Vladimirs would recommend this property

Liked: Easy to find. Close to all museums and Capitol. Friendly staff, explain where and how to get there.

Disliked: Only problem is, have to wait for a hot water for about 5min

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Shuang Chen

Alone

City break

07 August 2015 Shuang would recommend this property

Liked: near to the Union Station

Disliked: Shuang left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Emma Briant

Alone

Work / volunteering

12 June 2015

Liked: Nice staff, quiet safe area. Desk in room.

Disliked: You MUST declare it on the website if the hot water is iffy!!! 2 out of 3 of the showers I tried did not have hot water - I let it run a LONG time (10 mins) and tried the dial in multiple positions - this is frankly expected when hostelling in South America, or Africa, but is unacceptable in Washington DC. The toilet on level 2 had a broken handle/no lid and you had to pull a piece of string dangling out of the top of the open cistern. It had clearly been that way a long time by the look of the bedraggled notice on the door. They clearly invest in nice furnishings over very basic essentials.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

18 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to Chinatown, Union Station and other attractions.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

06 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Top staff and a good atmosphere. Lovely roof top deck. Will stay again if back in DC.

Disliked: Building is a touch old giving rise to a few minor issues (showers, toilets and other minor amenities).

The property's response is...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was really nice and helpful! Plus the location was quite good. If you don't mind walking a bit , you can get everywhere on foot .

Disliked: You could never bei sure whether to get a hot shower or not. Hairdressers were basically all broken. Furthermore the temperature was a massive problem! The heating is installed in The ceiling, which means that people in the upper bunk bed were sweating while the ones in the lower one were freezing. I was in the upper one and could hardly sleep!

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Martin Panek

Alone

Visiting friends or family

18 February 2015 Martin would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location.

Disliked: A little too chilly in the common area.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Darryle Endfinger

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 January 2015 Darryle would recommend this property

Liked: Location excellent, Wifi superb in all areas, staff was helpful and friendly, Roma and Sarah makes your stay rewarding and have a focus to make your stay wonderful Thank you for a great stay

Disliked: No dislikes, I have experience staying in 20 plus hostels, this one ranks number 1 Well managed, Thank you for a great stay

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Shopping

15 November 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean...good location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tom Faraday

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

26 September 2014 Tom would recommend this property

Liked: It was a very warm an welcoming place to stay, had a home like feel! The staff were excellent and helpful, it was also more of a hotel quality stay more than a hostel.

Disliked: At the time the 1 of the 3 showers was broken and another wouldn't go hot, the final was quality though, Beds were also very clean and comfortable but wernt supportive more springy

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Dunya Habash

Alone

Business / conference
Visiting friends or family

11 June 2014 Dunya would recommend this property

Liked: Met some great and really nice people here. The staff is super nice and everyone is very trusting.

Disliked: Water pressure in the shower is low, the stairs squeak really loudly, and I did not know I needed a lock for the lockers.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

carl lowery

Alone

Work / volunteering

06 May 2014 carl would recommend this property

Liked: The international clientele. An excellent place to meet folks from abroad.

Disliked: carl left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Feels like a home away from home. Very helpful staff.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

27 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and new

Disliked: Location isn't the best

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Chong Zhou

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

19 February 2014 Chong would recommend this property

Liked: Easy to find, near by Capital Hill.

Disliked: the building is old

The property's response is...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

17 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Security

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

11 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, within walking distance of various Metro stations (or, if you're feeling up to it, to the major tourist destinations!)

Disliked: Common room/kitchen can be a bit untidy, but that's more to do with the other guests, rather than the establishment itself

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

JIAMIN GAN

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 November 2013 JIAMIN would recommend this property

Liked: 离国会山很近,根本不用坐地铁就可以把所有景点都走一次,但是第一次去的时候花了近半个小时找路。CHECK OUT了后可以免费把行李放在他们那里

Disliked: 不包早餐

The property's response is...

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

24 September 2013

Liked: Good facilities and proximity to sights and train station

Disliked: Staff were not overly friendly. The door bell is tempermental. Quite a dangerous area. We departed the hostel at 6am (still dark) and there were prositutes and other unsavoury characters ride outside on the corner. I didn't feel very safe.

The property's response is...

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break

19 September 2013

Liked: No shoes inside, kitchen, the building itself, location, roof lounge.

Disliked: Arogant staff, treated us like a piece of shit, impossible to get in after 1o pm.Cameras everywhere,Big brother is watching you.

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Amanda Barrett

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 July 2013 Amanda would recommend this property

Liked: Quite clean helped by the no shoes policy. Loved the little roof garden. Excellent location for walking into city. Felt very safe here.

Disliked: We booked a double room NOT a twin and were given a bunk bed - not the best for a couple. The page states parking available which is misleading as its either paid parking in other lots close to the building or 1 street that fits 8 cars and never has a space.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was not too bad and most of the main sights were within walking distance. Nice common area and a good kitchen so we were able to cook when we wanted to. We stayed in a 4 bed dorm which had lockers in the room. The staff were really friendly and helpful.

Disliked: The bathroom was right opposite our dorm and the extractor fan in there was so loud you would not even believe it... so we got woken up every time someone went to the bathroom in the night and it was generally really annoying. It was also very noisy outside with police sirens at night. The hostel also has a no shoes policy which was a bit weird as you are just meant to leave your shoes in their downstairs cupboard. I wouldn’t have minded but I didn’t feel comfortable walking around barefoot / in slippers in the kitchen when people are rushing around and cooking.

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Toa Thredgold

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

19 July 2013 Toa would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly helpful staff

Disliked: the policy on taking off shoes was a bit strange but not a huge deal.

The property's response is...

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

19 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location.

Disliked: We had a private room which was poorly furnished. We realise it is a hostel but a small table and a proper chair, a bin and a small mirror not an unreasonable expectation. Part of the window in our room is held together with tape and some of the frame rotten. Toilet paper ran out during last night, no staff seen till 8am to ask for more.

The property's response is...