We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of DC Lofty

Hostel | 1335 11th street NW, Washington, Washington DC, USA 20001

81.9% Overall Rating

107 out of 121 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (13/05/2015)

"We stayed in a mixed dorm with shared bathroom and it was great. Clean linen, fresh towels, personal locker, lamp/ plug socket and our bunk was in the corner so it felt quite snug. Location was fine for us, you get…"

Read all DC Lofty reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Washington?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Washington

Duo Housing Washington DC
27.95 USD

Hostel 88.1% 212 reviews
The District Hotel
35.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 70.2% 348 reviews
HI - Washington DC Hostel
37.00 USD

Hostel 86.9% 1214 reviews
Capital View Hostel
27.95 USD

Hostel 83.3% 41 reviews
Washington International Student Center
28.42 USD

Hostel 58.7% 73 reviews
Loftstel
35.00 USD

Hostel 84.9% 220 reviews
Downtown DC Hostel
25.01 USD

Hostel 87.3% 47 reviews
Canal Inn
50.00 USD

Hotel 83.7% 18 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/05/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/05/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
81.9%

Overall Rating

107 out of 121 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'DC Lofty'

Atmosphere
80.8%
Location
84.8%
Facilities
79.2%
Cleanliness
78.4%
Staff
84.8%
Value
80.0%
Safety
85.6%
Refine your results Showing 97 of 118 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed in a mixed dorm with shared bathroom and it was great. Clean linen, fresh towels, personal locker, lamp/ plug socket and our bunk was in the corner so it felt quite snug. Location was fine for us, you get those people who complain about a 5/10 minute walk but it's not that bad, 5 minutes from the train station, 10 minutes to Chinatown and 15 minutes to the main area with all the sights! There is a supermarket and liquor store less than 5 minutes away and the communal kitchen has 3 fridges and shelves to put everything away. Kitchen facilities were great - lots left behind by other travellers e.g. salt, oil etc so check before you go to the supermarket! There were slippers by the front door if you wanted them but don't listen to the other reviews - we were never asked to remove our shoes! Staff were very friendly and helpful. Communal living areas were pretty nice; 2 computers and free printing if needed, outside smoking area, lots of seating and 2 huge TV screens with access to Netflix etc. Security codes needed for front door and bedroom door so it is safe.

Disliked: Nothing - it was great!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

06 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Convenient and central to Washington sights/transport.

Disliked: Hot water supply was a bit eratic (though there was a sign explaining why!)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

27 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Está muy bien ubicado. Es limpio, relajado y cómodo.

Disliked: Todo estuvo bien.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Eri Yamashita

Alone

Business / conference

14 March 2015 Eri would recommend this property

Liked: rooms are very clean, staff was really nice and kind.

Disliked: Eri left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

13 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, Safe, Friendly

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Dylan ROBERTSON

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

08 March 2015 Dylan would recommend this property

Liked: The neighbourhood was good -- Shaw is a formerly dodgy, now up-and-coming place with a lot of good, cheap Salvadoran and Ethiopian restos. The hostel was comfy, quiet, clean enough. Saved $2 by having them reserve a museum spot.

Disliked: My only complaint was that the desk isn't open very long. The window wasn't open until 10 (you don't need them to check out) and was closed by I think 8. But the staff are there if you're in deep need. Basically, you could find someone who worked there who was helping clean up; they're short on staff so no permanent desk person.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Colleen Chen

Alone

Work / volunteering

04 March 2015 Colleen would recommend this property

Liked: There are small 4-bed room. It is reasonably quiet. You can get sleep.

Disliked: Colleen left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

14 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was pretty good and easy access to majority of famous attractions. I enjoyed walking in DC and hardly used any public transportation in DC. Staff are friendly and helpful, and I enjoyed good companies with the guests during my stay there.

Disliked: The heater was incredibly hot during the nights while I stayed there. The hot shower turned cold frequently. Apart these two issues, it was okay.

The property's response is...

42.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 December 2014

Liked: The living room is nice and spacious

Disliked: This hostel is old and dirty! It is VERY cold and you need to keep yourself warm with dangerous electrical heaters! The place has a no shoe policy, however floors are dirty as well as bathrooms and stairs. The staff are not recognizable, unfriendly and uninterested. The welcoming was nothing more than mentioning all the rules (and there are MANY), the staff is walking around on shoes while they make me walk on too small white slippers! What a joke. It is not much of a hostel as most people are staying permanent. It feels like an expensive homeless shelter.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Elsa Fridl

Alone

City break

10 November 2014 Elsa would recommend this property

Liked: Very good rate. No hassels. Friendly staff. Clear rules.

Disliked: Can't think of anything.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

13 October 2014

Liked: Beds were comfortable. Pleasant staff. Good location within walking distance to the major attractions and city centre. Lots of facilities/activities available if you were there for a longer stay. Rooftop only available or Thursdays or if they have a large enough group.

Disliked: They make you take your shoes off which seems a bit unnecessary given the run down nature of the place. I think some of the carpet is new so I guess they are trying to protect that. There were only two showers on our floor for around 20 guests (at a guess) which meant a wait for the shower in the morning. When i finally got into the shower the water pressure is dreadful. Also due to an energy saving shower head which doesn't generate enough water for the hot water to work you have to run the hot tap while you shower which does not save much water!

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Relaxation/spa
Shopping

13 October 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Convenience.

Disliked: A little bit of old age and less maintenance and servicing.

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

06 October 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were spacious. The beds were very comfortable.

Disliked: It was a very run-down building

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Mario hussa

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 September 2014 Mario would recommend this property

Liked: Safe area, functional kitchen, nice lounges, free coffee and tea, every bed has power supply and a bed light

Disliked: Air conditioning was not working

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Chris Dwyer

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

14 September 2014 Chris would recommend this property

Liked: It doesn't do itself justice in its description, there are 2 lounge areas, one with a 6-8 person dining table, one with some sofas, separated by the computer area 2-3 pcs free to use and free wifi. There are big 42"+ size TVs with Netflix, amazon, and cable TV. It's near a local and cheap supermarket so it saved me lots of money cooking my own food. The staff were very friendly and helpful, on my first night they set up a poker game so some of the guys could relax, have a beer and get to know each other.

Disliked: It would take little effort to take the standard of this hostel from very good to great: a lick of paint here, a thorough scrubbing there.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bethani Jones

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Work / volunteering

07 September 2014 Bethani would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were all excellent and the property was clean and well looked after. The rooms were cosy and safe with lockers and padlocks available (especially loved the slippers!). The hostel was a good distance away from the metro station so we got taxis to the airport to save us carrying our luggage, however it was fine to walk in the day to sightsee.

Disliked: Bethani left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the kitchen and common room areas - very social spaces

Disliked: The floorboards and bed were creaky - awful when trying to leave early in the morning. Shower seemed outdated, pot of food left in the kitchen untouched for the duration of NY stay.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

YOUNESS LASFAR

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Relaxation/spa
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 August 2014 YOUNESS would recommend this property

Liked: very good

Disliked: nice

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Teresa Leese

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 August 2014 Teresa would recommend this property

Liked: Within walking distance to all main attractions. There are individual lights and power sockets next to each bed even top bunks which was a nice touch. Nice big kitchen with everything you'd need if you were to cook during your stay.

Disliked: The internet was not great, it would work fairly well in the day but we found it hard to connect in the evening when most people were back at the hostel and using it.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Qing Zhao

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

17 August 2014 Qing would recommend this property

Liked: Cute neighbourhood close to everything

Disliked: Not many eating choices in the immediate vicinity

The property's response is...

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Nienke Postma

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

19 July 2014

Liked: Location was very good (in walking distance to the National Mall), lockers were available in the room

Disliked: The room wasn't very clean. It looked very old and could definitely need an update. The shower didn't work as it should be (there was barely any pressure + you had to turn on the faucet of the sink in order to get warm water in the shower)

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location. Friendly place, cleanliness a good standard.

Disliked: The weather in DC during my stay really mean I needed a room with AC so took away from the enjoyment - but not the hostels fault.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

20 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I felt safe and it was a relaxing and quiet place to stay in

Disliked: I felt safe and it was a quiet and relaxing place to stay in

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

19 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: bedroom

Disliked: bathroom, very small

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

14 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was good and close to metro stations for both bus and subway.

Disliked: Advertised air conditioning but we didn't get it in our 3rd-story room for 2 days (they finally brought up one and rigged it outside our window.