We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of DC Lofty

Hostel | 1335 11th street NW, Washington, Washington DC, USA 20001

79.5% Overall Rating

97 out of 109 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (13/10/2014)

"Beds were comfortable. Pleasant staff. Good location within walking distance to the major attractions and city centre. Lots of facilities/activities available if you were there for a longer stay. Rooftop only available…"

Read all DC Lofty reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Washington?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Washington

Duo Housing Washington DC
24.00 USD

Hostel 86.4% 195 reviews
The District Hotel
24.75 USD

Hotel 2 star 73.8% 345 reviews
HI - Washington DC Hostel
29.00 USD

Hostel 88.8% 1199 reviews
Capital View Hostel
30.77 USD

Hostel 82.2% 34 reviews
Washington International Student Center
22.23 USD

Hostel 61.5% 69 reviews
Loftstel
25.00 USD

Hostel 81.4% 212 reviews
Downtown DC Hostel
23.99 USD

Hostel 83.8% 40 reviews
Canal Inn
50.00 USD

Hotel 84.7% 17 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
79.5%

Overall Rating

97 out of 109 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'DC Lofty'

Atmosphere
76.0%
Location
83.2%
Facilities
75.2%
Cleanliness
73.6%
Staff
85.6%
Value
78.4%
Safety
84.8%
Refine your results Showing 87 of 106 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

13 October 2014

Liked: Beds were comfortable. Pleasant staff. Good location within walking distance to the major attractions and city centre. Lots of facilities/activities available if you were there for a longer stay. Rooftop only available or Thursdays or if they have a large enough group.

Disliked: They make you take your shoes off which seems a bit unnecessary given the run down nature of the place. I think some of the carpet is new so I guess they are trying to protect that. There were only two showers on our floor for around 20 guests (at a guess) which meant a wait for the shower in the morning. When i finally got into the shower the water pressure is dreadful. Also due to an energy saving shower head which doesn't generate enough water for the hot water to work you have to run the hot tap while you shower which does not save much water!

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Relaxation/spa
Shopping

13 October 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Convenience.

Disliked: A little bit of old age and less maintenance and servicing.

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

06 October 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were spacious. The beds were very comfortable.

Disliked: It was a very run-down building

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Mario hussa

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 September 2014 Mario would recommend this property

Liked: Safe area, functional kitchen, nice lounges, free coffee and tea, every bed has power supply and a bed light

Disliked: Air conditioning was not working

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Chris Dwyer

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

14 September 2014 Chris would recommend this property

Liked: It doesn't do itself justice in its description, there are 2 lounge areas, one with a 6-8 person dining table, one with some sofas, separated by the computer area 2-3 pcs free to use and free wifi. There are big 42"+ size TVs with Netflix, amazon, and cable TV. It's near a local and cheap supermarket so it saved me lots of money cooking my own food. The staff were very friendly and helpful, on my first night they set up a poker game so some of the guys could relax, have a beer and get to know each other.

Disliked: It would take little effort to take the standard of this hostel from very good to great: a lick of paint here, a thorough scrubbing there.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bethani Jones

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Work / volunteering

07 September 2014 Bethani would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were all excellent and the property was clean and well looked after. The rooms were cosy and safe with lockers and padlocks available (especially loved the slippers!). The hostel was a good distance away from the metro station so we got taxis to the airport to save us carrying our luggage, however it was fine to walk in the day to sightsee.

Disliked: Bethani left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the kitchen and common room areas - very social spaces

Disliked: The floorboards and bed were creaky - awful when trying to leave early in the morning. Shower seemed outdated, pot of food left in the kitchen untouched for the duration of NY stay.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

YOUNESS LASFAR

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Relaxation/spa
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 August 2014 YOUNESS would recommend this property

Liked: very good

Disliked: nice

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Teresa Leese

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 August 2014 Teresa would recommend this property

Liked: Within walking distance to all main attractions. There are individual lights and power sockets next to each bed even top bunks which was a nice touch. Nice big kitchen with everything you'd need if you were to cook during your stay.

Disliked: The internet was not great, it would work fairly well in the day but we found it hard to connect in the evening when most people were back at the hostel and using it.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Qing Zhao

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

17 August 2014 Qing would recommend this property

Liked: Cute neighbourhood close to everything

Disliked: Not many eating choices in the immediate vicinity

The property's response is...

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Nienke Postma

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

19 July 2014

Liked: Location was very good (in walking distance to the National Mall), lockers were available in the room

Disliked: The room wasn't very clean. It looked very old and could definitely need an update. The shower didn't work as it should be (there was barely any pressure + you had to turn on the faucet of the sink in order to get warm water in the shower)

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location. Friendly place, cleanliness a good standard.

Disliked: The weather in DC during my stay really mean I needed a room with AC so took away from the enjoyment - but not the hostels fault.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

20 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I felt safe and it was a relaxing and quiet place to stay in

Disliked: I felt safe and it was a quiet and relaxing place to stay in

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

19 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: bedroom

Disliked: bathroom, very small

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

14 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was good and close to metro stations for both bus and subway.

Disliked: Advertised air conditioning but we didn't get it in our 3rd-story room for 2 days (they finally brought up one and rigged it outside our window.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Robert Minney

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 June 2014 Robert would recommend this property

Liked: .

Disliked: On the first night the room was unbearably, ludicrously hot. Bathrooms don't always smell good.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Safe and secure. No heavy boots being worn on premises. Good location.

Disliked: Steep staircases when carrying heavy luggage. No lift.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Tina Nettles

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

27 May 2014 Tina would recommend this property

Liked: All the staff were very very helpful with information such as how to get to the great sites and places to eat. Also they all made me feel at home. This was my first time on the east coast and with the help of the staff it was an AWSOME vacation Yaya, Mike, Tom, Alison and Matt you guys rock!!!!

Disliked: The basement bathroom.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Todd Lambourne

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 April 2014 Todd would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and tidy, has everything you need in a hostel

Disliked: Shower was poor, no pressure and had to wait for ages until the hot water came through

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

25 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I appreciated there were only 4 beds in my room, there were lockers available, it was a woman's only room and the bathroom was ensuite. I also appreciated that they have a dishwasher and the kitchen was clean each time I used it.

Disliked: While I liked the policy people had to take off their shoes slippers should have been available.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alice Combs

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

20 March 2014 Alice would recommend this property

Liked: Far cleaner than I expected and friendly people! A roommate snored, but it wasn't that big a deal.

Disliked: The phone number online didn't go directly to the property.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

27 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful and friendly staff (until it came time for check-out).

Disliked: NO HOT WATER. Apparently this had been an ongoing issue for multiple days. Not mentioned by the staff, had to find out the hard way.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hannah Bird

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 February 2014 Hannah would recommend this property

Liked: Everything! - location - people - staff - cleanliness - atmosphere

Disliked: A little cold, but the heater in our room helped.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

23 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice staff, clean rooms, great stay!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

19 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The great atmosphere in the kitchen and TV room. Clean bathroom, clean towel and bedlinen...

Disliked: ---

The property's response is...