HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Capital Comfort Hostel

Hostel | 1610 7th Street NW, Washington, Washington DC, USA 20001

67.8% Overall Rating

61 out of 97 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (25/03/2014)

Maria Carmen Royo Gracia thinks…

"It is very comforting to me. Management has being very helpful to accommodate my needs."

Read all Capital Comfort Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Hostel reserves the right to charge your booking price 48 hours prior to your arrival. If your credit card is declined, your booking may be cancelled. To avoid cancellation, you must contact the Hostel directly, within 24 hrs of your receipt of the cancellation notice, to provide a valid/active credit card. Once your booking has been made please confirm your booking directly with the hostel with an arrival time. If this is not provided then the booking may be cancelled. The general consumer sales tax in the District of Columbia is 5.75 percent. However, Washington, D.C., actually levies a sales tax with five different rates. the current sales tax rates are: 5.75 percent for tangible personal property 9 percent for alcohol sold for off-premises consumption 10 percent for restaurant meals, take-out food, rental cars and telephone calling cards 12 percent for commercial parking 14.5 percent for hotel and motel rooms. Items exempt from the District of Columbia sales tax include groceries, prescription and nonprescription medicines, and residential utility services. Failure to cancel within 48 hrs will result in charges for the first night.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Washington?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Washington

DC Lofty
27.79 USD

Hostel 84.7% 83 reviews
Duo Housing Washington DC
29.95 USD

Hostel 90.2% 177 reviews
Hostelling International – Washington, DC
36.00 USD

Hostel 88.9% 1158 reviews
The District Hotel
35.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 77.9% 333 reviews
Capital View Hostel
34.24 USD

Hostel 81.1% 28 reviews
Washington International Student Center
28.41 USD

Hostel 61.0% 64 reviews
Downtown DC Hostel
25.01 USD

Hostel 85.7% 10 reviews
Loftstel
55.17 USD

Hostel 82.7% 205 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
67.8%

Overall Rating

61 out of 97 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Capital Comfort Hostel'

Atmosphere
64.0%
Location
80.8%
Facilities
62.4%
Cleanliness
64.0%
Staff
71.2%
Value
69.6%
Safety
62.4%
Refine your results Showing 76 of 90 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 April 2014

Liked: i do not like it

Disliked: overbooked

34.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Maiko Usami

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 April 2014

Liked: Location is good.

Disliked: I could not get a room even though I surely booked the room because of the overbooking. When I arrived there, there were a lot of people who were waiting for checking in this hostel. I waited a hour, but the receptionist could not solve this problem. He called another booking system, and he tried to get rooms for guests, but another hostel was too expencive. I was supposed to stay there for just $30, but he found it for $140. I stayed at the robby of this hostel this night. I had no choice. It was a terrible experience. In addition, the restroom was dirty and few. I do not want to go there again.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

radu borza

Alone

Events / festivals

14 April 2014

Liked: location

Disliked: unsafe

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

02 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Just like every hostel with everything needed

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maria Carmen Royo Gracia

Alone

Business / conference

25 March 2014 Maria Carmen would recommend this property

Liked: It is very comforting to me. Management has being very helpful to accommodate my needs.

Disliked: sometimes people staying there do not care about people or things.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

21 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is in a great location, and for the price, it is definitely worth it. They didn't have my reservation on file, but luckily I anticipated that due to the comments on hostelbookers.com. No frills, but it is close to a lot of sites.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Zuanne Kyle

Alone

Business / conference

11 February 2014 Zuanne would recommend this property

Liked: I really enjoyed my stay here. The employees really made my stay very pleasurable. I was given an upgrade to a smaller more private room at the same rate because of an misunderstanding. The staff was very helpful...

Disliked: I couldn't find any thing wrong with the property for me not want to return. I was satisfied being this was a hostel and not a hotel.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Jose Vitor da Silva Macedo

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 January 2014

Liked: It`s close to the white house.

Disliked: It`s very dirty and there was a fight at the room. I got sick because it is very dirty.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

brenda moore-edwards

Alone

Events / festivals

09 January 2014

Liked: The cost and accessibility to the subway and downtown Washington, as well as a nearby library branch and grocery and take out restaurants.

Disliked: The Staff.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Sayum Khan

Alone

Work / volunteering

20 November 2013 Sayum would recommend this property

Liked: its cheap

Disliked: the heater is turned off for couple of days

62.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Shagai Tsend-ayush

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 November 2013 Shagai would recommend this property

Liked: No comment

Disliked: Zero level of safety

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tara Bardella

Alone

Work / volunteering

01 November 2013 Tara would recommend this property

Liked: Location, comfort of rooms.

Disliked: Nothing.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Jon Rodriguez

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

31 October 2013

Liked: The location is not bad.

Disliked: We were charged more money than it was suposed when we rented the place. In addition to this, when we arrived at the hostel at night it turned that one of the travelers' bed was occupied, so he had to sleep with another guy. Summarizing, don't go there!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tara Bardella

Alone

Work / volunteering

23 October 2013 Tara would recommend this property

Liked: Comfort, affordability.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff very helpfull, everything in walking distance

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was very very nice; guy at the front desk helped us with city map. Location is good.

Disliked: Beds are not comfortable.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

02 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was very clean. The staff was very friendly. It was very quiet. It's very close to the metro.

Disliked: I would not recommend getting to the hostel very late at night, the area doesn't seem to be very safe. It was fine during the daylight though.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Taylor Sylva

Alone

Work / volunteering

30 September 2013

Liked: It was cheap; there were lockers available for valuables.

Disliked: Staff was incompetent and rude (I even walked in on on peeing with the bathroom door open, and he did not wash his hands), no one enforces and "quiet time," facilities are old and dirty.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Wen S

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

05 August 2013 Wen would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and good price.

Disliked: Wen left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

daniel mitrano

With my spouse / partner

Work / volunteering

20 July 2013 daniel would recommend this property

Liked: WE only used the place for 45 minutes to change clothes. The manager didn't charge us. At the time the entire place was empty.

Disliked: Nothing, it looked clean and friendly.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Did not like

Disliked: Bad service

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location Staff were helpful and friendly

Disliked: No one was there to allow us to check-in when we arrived

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

12 July 2013

Liked: The lobby in the main building is nice.

Disliked: The 14-bed room is in a building like 5 blocks far from the main building, so it is very unattended by the staff, some beds do not have towels, no toilet paper in the bathroom, etc.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Andrei Hlybin

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

24 June 2013

Liked: Convenient location, close to metro

Disliked: No one cleans the room, linen is not changed, in rooms no wardrobe

54.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 June 2013

Liked: Friendly staff

Disliked: Betbuks in the first room, second room with an horrible bathroom