We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Capital Comfort Hostel

Hostel | 1610 7th Street NW, Washington, Washington DC, USA 20001

61.6% Overall Rating

70 out of 113 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (27/05/2014)

Sean McCabe thinks…

"Capital Comfort Hostel is a really good hostel. It is located perfectly on a metro station and around the corner from a Giant super market, 711 and Starbucks. one block away the bus goes straight to…"

Read all Capital Comfort Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Hostel reserves the right to charge your booking price 48 hours prior to your arrival. If your credit card is declined, your booking may be cancelled. To avoid cancellation, you must contact the Hostel directly, within 24 hrs of your receipt of the cancellation notice, to provide a valid/active credit card. Once your booking has been made please confirm your booking directly with the hostel with an arrival time. If this is not provided then the booking may be cancelled. The general consumer sales tax in the District of Columbia is 5.75 percent. However, Washington, D.C., actually levies a sales tax with five different rates. the current sales tax rates are: 5.75 percent for tangible personal property 9 percent for alcohol sold for off-premises consumption 10 percent for restaurant meals, take-out food, rental cars and telephone calling cards 12 percent for commercial parking 14.5 percent for hotel and motel rooms. Items exempt from the District of Columbia sales tax include groceries, prescription and nonprescription medicines, and residential utility services. Failure to cancel within 48 hrs will result in charges for the first night.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Washington?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Washington

DC Lofty
25.80 USD

Hostel 80.6% 106 reviews
Duo Housing Washington DC
24.00 USD

Hostel 85.5% 192 reviews
HI - Washington DC Hostel
33.00 USD

Hostel 88.8% 1198 reviews
The District Hotel
35.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 73.4% 344 reviews
Capital View Hostel
31.76 USD

Hostel 82.2% 34 reviews
Washington International Student Center
28.41 USD

Hostel 61.5% 69 reviews
Downtown DC Hostel
23.99 USD

Hostel 83.5% 39 reviews
Loftstel
55.29 USD

Hostel 81.0% 211 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
61.6%

Overall Rating

70 out of 113 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Capital Comfort Hostel'

Atmosphere
55.2%
Location
80.8%
Facilities
50.4%
Cleanliness
59.2%
Staff
66.4%
Value
62.4%
Safety
56.8%
Refine your results Showing 85 of 106 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

06 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it's secure & clean linens & great location

Disliked: phone nbrs on website all 3 are Fail. wifi doesn't work.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

26 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Located in a good area to travel around Washington DC.

Disliked: They not well orginise like other hostels I've been into around the world.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

02 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very nice place I recommend!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Sean McCabe

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

27 May 2014 Sean would recommend this property

Liked: Capital Comfort Hostel is a really good hostel. It is located perfectly on a metro station and around the corner from a Giant super market, 711 and Starbucks. one block away the bus goes straight to the museums and Chinatown DC. The bathrooms are clean and the people at front desk are courteous. All in all the hostel is a fine place to sleep and rest from the huge DC blocks.

Disliked: The bathrooms need to be constantly monitored because travels seem to never seem to be considerate of other people.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

26 May 2014

Liked: Close to metro green line

Disliked: I would not recommend this hostel to anyone. I have stayed at more than 50 hostels and this is easily the most poorly run one I have been to. We arrived a couple of hours before proper check in to drop off our bags. The woman on reception gave me a key but didn't tell me which room we were in. We came back in the evening after exploring the city to find the lobby full of confused people and bags everywhere. This was after 10 pm. The new receptionists could not understand that we had already checked in and just needed to know which room number we were in. They tried to find us on their list and kept saying they were fully booked?? We waited for 45 mins, while others sat there even longer not getting helped. We had booked a 6 bed mixed dorm, but then got led to a 4 bed dorm. At 12.30am the receptionist says to me that I am in a 4 bed female dorm and that we would have to clear it with the other girls if they were comfortable with me being there. AT 12.30AM. If not, they could put us in a 6 bed dorm, (which we had booked and paid for). The beds were not made and we had to make them ourselves. One of the bed had 50% broken slats and was dangerous to sleep on. There is absolutely no communal space to sit down and meet people, no outdoor area, the TV in the room did not work. Absolute rip off for the service and standard of living we received.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

16 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was really helpful. Someone working there helped me carrying my luggage to the hostel and showed me the place. The day of my departure they accepted to keep my luggage in their office so I could pick it up later during the day. Not too far from the touristic places and quite cheap.

Disliked: The metro is five blocks away. The neighbourhood might be a little bit sketchy too. Maybe travel with someone else if you plan to arrive by night.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: How the staff treat u

Disliked: Beds

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is good, walkable to Downtown about 20 mins. Easshawl Howardsportation to downtown. It takes about 5 mins to the shaw-howard uni metro station .

Disliked: The facilities is old.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Nicholas Westbrooks

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Visiting friends or family

21 April 2014 Nicholas would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the convenient location. Stores, restaurants and public transit were all easily accessible from the property. I liked the cleanliness of the bedrooms and bathrooms and having a key to get into the front door which stayed locked.

Disliked: I disliked not having any windows in the room. It felt stuffy at times. There were some challenges with sharing a community bathroom with both genders.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 April 2014

Liked: i do not like it

Disliked: overbooked

34.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Maiko Usami

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 April 2014

Liked: Location is good.

Disliked: I could not get a room even though I surely booked the room because of the overbooking. When I arrived there, there were a lot of people who were waiting for checking in this hostel. I waited a hour, but the receptionist could not solve this problem. He called another booking system, and he tried to get rooms for guests, but another hostel was too expencive. I was supposed to stay there for just $30, but he found it for $140. I stayed at the robby of this hostel this night. I had no choice. It was a terrible experience. In addition, the restroom was dirty and few. I do not want to go there again.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

radu borza

Alone

Events / festivals

14 April 2014

Liked: location

Disliked: unsafe

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

02 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Just like every hostel with everything needed

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maria Carmen Royo Gracia

Alone

Business / conference

25 March 2014 Maria Carmen would recommend this property

Liked: It is very comforting to me. Management has being very helpful to accommodate my needs.

Disliked: sometimes people staying there do not care about people or things.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

21 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is in a great location, and for the price, it is definitely worth it. They didn't have my reservation on file, but luckily I anticipated that due to the comments on hostelbookers.com. No frills, but it is close to a lot of sites.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Zuanne Kyle

Alone

Business / conference

11 February 2014 Zuanne would recommend this property

Liked: I really enjoyed my stay here. The employees really made my stay very pleasurable. I was given an upgrade to a smaller more private room at the same rate because of an misunderstanding. The staff was very helpful...

Disliked: I couldn't find any thing wrong with the property for me not want to return. I was satisfied being this was a hostel and not a hotel.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Jose Vitor da Silva Macedo

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 January 2014

Liked: It`s close to the white house.

Disliked: It`s very dirty and there was a fight at the room. I got sick because it is very dirty.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

brenda moore-edwards

Alone

Events / festivals

09 January 2014

Liked: The cost and accessibility to the subway and downtown Washington, as well as a nearby library branch and grocery and take out restaurants.

Disliked: The Staff.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Sayum Khan

Alone

Work / volunteering

20 November 2013 Sayum would recommend this property

Liked: its cheap

Disliked: the heater is turned off for couple of days

62.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Shagai Tsend-ayush

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 November 2013 Shagai would recommend this property

Liked: No comment

Disliked: Zero level of safety

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tara Bardella

Alone

Work / volunteering

01 November 2013 Tara would recommend this property

Liked: Location, comfort of rooms.

Disliked: Nothing.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Jon Rodriguez

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

31 October 2013

Liked: The location is not bad.

Disliked: We were charged more money than it was suposed when we rented the place. In addition to this, when we arrived at the hostel at night it turned that one of the travelers' bed was occupied, so he had to sleep with another guy. Summarizing, don't go there!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tara Bardella

Alone

Work / volunteering

23 October 2013 Tara would recommend this property

Liked: Comfort, affordability.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff very helpfull, everything in walking distance

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was very very nice; guy at the front desk helped us with city map. Location is good.

Disliked: Beds are not comfortable.